Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Barceló Ponent Playa 3 stars

Avenida De Felanitx, 1, 07669 Cala d´Or, Spain

#10 of 15 hotels in Cala d´Or

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 666 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    Everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Rooms situated to beach are beter because the isn't so hot and more quite than in the rooms which are situated to swimming pool. Our room was under the restaurant and we get up early because the chairs were rubbing the floor, but it wasn't so terrible.

    Everything was perfect. Friendly and helpfull staff, delicious food and you can taste a lot of type of food (every evening is other type of cousine - spanish, italian, mexicana, maroco, asia...). The beach is smaller, but it wasn't crowded. There is a lot of restaurant and small shops near the hotel and in Cala D'or generaly... so half-board was good choise for as because we make a trip (we rent a car from Wiber rentcar in airport).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location, friendly staff, very good food and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    We booked for half board but we also like to try various restaurants in the resort. The hotel facilitated us by allowing us to swap dinner for lunch on many occasions.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    seven nights definitely too short in this hotel and Cala D'or
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    very nice location right on the beach, nice big and deep pool at the hotel, very good, delicious and varied food, clean and nice rooms, very nice staff, professional and cool animators .... 100 percent will be back there

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    We got a nice room a few steps from the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price a kettle in our room would of been nice and air conditioning seemed to just circulate the warm air instead of cooling but since we didn’t discover this till our last full day we didn’t make an issue.

    We got a nice room a few steps from the beach. Room was clean and serviced every day. Staff helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.5
    Clean hotel near the beach. But not for young couples
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pool area a bit off, why not near the beach? no music at the pool area or the bar. the bar don´t take credit cards(why?). mostly old people and familys. The buffe was a bit tasteless, only ate hear once. Really crappy elevators.

    Great staff very friendly. Near the beach. clean rooms and great cleaning. cleaning staff always says hi, thats good. If going for really good food, go directly to the marina/harbour restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    6.7
    The food was awful we ended up eating out, they catered only...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was awful we ended up eating out, they catered only for European, and not enough staff in dining room, it was like a free for all, god knows what it will be like in high season

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    3.3
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food at hotel was not nice. We were half Biard with our family and all ate out every night. Facilities bery basic. Wouldn’t stay again

    Beach and location was lovely!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.7
    Average 3 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Typical cattle market hotel, not writing this as a bad review it is just not we tend to like as a hotel. By all means it looks good on site but far too many people herding around and too noisy. Typical 3 star hotel. Average at best.nice location. Entertainment was poor. In fact quite embarrassing. The nightly shows are dated. I don't think the hotel grasps the concept of adult entertainment as I'm sure you would not want to watch a children's entertainer blowing bubbles at 10pm at night. Plenty of food available if you like buffet style. Not for us but ok for the masses.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location for the value of the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we were put in right next to the reception and the lobby facilities first night no sleep. Had to wake up at 5am because of too much noise.

    Great location for the value of the money. We didnt stayed that much in the hotel but the rooms are ok just to stay take a shower and sleep overnight there. I would say if you want a cheap good holiday go for it depends on what you want to do.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.7
    Amazing location but hotel needs an urgent upgrade.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom weren’t troughly clean. Blankets had some stains and AC didn’t kept the bedroom cold enough for the Summer nights.

    Location is amazing!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    5.4
    Mostly disappinting but good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost all elevators were broken, the only one that worked fits 5 people (I imagine at least a 2000 people were staying there). On the second night, there was no water to shower or use the toilet. From the pictures, the Hotel looked much better and was in better conditions whereas in person it needs a renovation urgently. On the pool, people reserved all the chairs with their beach towels but they weren’t there, so people that were really using the pool didnt have a place to stay. Everything costs extra. The air conditioning isn’t good. The room smelled used and old. We asked for a double bed room, we got two single beds, and when we complained they said someone was going to fix it but no one showed up until the end of our stay.

    The area is very nice. The location of the hotel, in front of a beautiful beach, is a plus. The staff is very friendly. In general, it’s a good price for stay and meals but don’t expect good rooms and amenities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    6.7
    Average but enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything else is payed: parking and even the minifridge must be rented separately. Food is below average but not all bad. Pool needs better management since people will leave their towels in the chairs and leave to do something else.

    Most of the staff was nice and attentive. Entertaining shows for children and adults. Rooms were clean enough. Location was pretty good with lots of things to do outside.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous holiday and would definitely go back and would recommend without hesitation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lifts were dreadful, unreliable and the time waiting on them was ridiculous, they are in serious need of an upgrade A sign needs to be displayed for hygiene purposes asking guests not to handle the baguettes or rolls without using the napkin provided as after seeing a guest pick up a large baguette in her hands break it in half and put one half on her plate and the other half back in the rack it turned me off and didn't eat any for the rest of the holiday

    What we loved was location, beach bar, Music bar, the hotel was lovely and cleaned regularly and the food was gorgeous

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent value and relaxing holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for 3 nights in June. Inga who checked us in was so helpful and cheerful. Our room was on the top floor overlooking the beach, it was quiet and peaceful. The choice of food in the restaurant was good they catered for everyone. We stayed fully inclusive so had the use of the beach and swimming pool bars for food and drink which was very good. We enjoyed our stay and would go back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.1
    The location of this hotel was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lifts broke down a lot and we got stuck in one for half an hour and had to be dragged out between floors. I slipped on wet tiles in our apartment on our first day and damaged my ligaments pretty much ruined my holiday. Some of the rooms could have done with a refurbishment smelt slightly damp. Food hall absolutely chaotic unless you got there really early.

    The location of this hotel was fantastic. Pool bar and beach bar good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    5.0
    Not to recommend. Would never come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot ... quality of the room. Far to busy in the restaurant. Awfull smell in the room. Walls like paper, so like you are in the same room with your neighbours. After complaining about the strange and strong smell, they have me an other room. But it didn t solve the problem.

    Next to the beach. But that is really the only positive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    Perfect! I will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are quite thin so expect a little noise at night

    It was a great holiday from start to finish. Staff were amazing. Food was great for all inclusive and location spot on. Thank you

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Absolute perfection!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is literally nothing I can fault

    this hotel is absolutely amazing! Perfect location, beach is incredible, food is delicious, water is crystal clear, staff were so helpful and our room and the view were just HEAVEN!!! We didn’t want to leave!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.9
    We will book for next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I would like to see the 30 minute unoccupied sunbed policy enacted. Towels were reserving beds in the early hours. People would understand if a consistent policy was invoked and unattended sunbeds had the towels removed.

    Superb location of the beach. This hotel meets all the reasonable expectations for a family holiday. It is clean. The food is varied and of reasonable quality. The staff are pleasant and helpful. There seemed to be plenty of activities during the day and evening, but we went to Cala D'or during for the evening. The beach is adjacent to the hotel and is safe and sandy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    It was very enjoyable and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The rooms allocated were right above the entertainment, so it was very noisy until entertainment was over. It could be noted that no towels are supplied for the pool. you have to take your own towel for the pool. There was no coffee served at supper.

    Rooms were very comfortable. Were ever I went, everything was keep nice and clean. Lovely being right on the beach. Toilets available close to the beach so you didn't have to walk far. Wide range of food at meal times. Bus route close by or Taxis waiting right outside.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.5
    Typical 3 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool area needs updating and fresh water pool would be better than salt water. Hotel location means not very suitable for those with mobility problems as lots of steps and steep slope up to main road. Didn't understand why pool bar serves hit snacks for hour then stops and 2 hours later offers them again for 30 minutes to all inclusive guests.

    Quality of sunbed by pool. Food was good. Staff very helpful and reacted quickly if any issue raised

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.8
    Amazing sea view from balcony, i would come back definitely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Amazing sea view from balcony, i would come back definitely only to get this view again. Staff is extremely friendly and ready to help with everything. We got sea view room without any demand and additional fee. We asked about massage and master of massage has been invited to the hotel just for us. Service in restaurant was good as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.1
    You pay for what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needs major refurbishment as there is some green residue all over silver wear. The water did not seem to be very clean either it smelled of chlorine.

    The food was quite good, variety of choices every day. The staff is incredible, very helpful every time. The hotel has an amazing programme every day for activities for everyone including stretching, yoga, karaoke nights etc and the little ones are always occupied with various games.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    Location perched above the beach, easy walk to Cala D’Or and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was a little too cool considering the weather, food wasn’t always piping hot.

    Location perched above the beach, easy walk to Cala D’Or and good value for the money paid

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely entertainment group! And waitress are stars!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Afternoon I wanted to have a shower and found I didnt have shampoo. Reception didnt have any so I waited like 30 min until they got me shampoo. In the spa NO SOAP, NO SHAMPOO neither and neither sauna or turkish sauna was working. Dissapointed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing in a nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The steps into the pool were a little bit low down. It was nearing the end of the season so some facilities were not available.

    The view from the room was beautiful. Staff were helpful and efficient also friendly. Food was varied and plentiful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel in an ideal location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our daughters jacket was taken from our room but this did not spoil our holiday in all fairness.

    The friendliness of the staff throughout the hotel, the location of the hotel sits on the edge of cala dor and cala ferrera so plenty of shops to visit while out and about

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    We had a comfortable stay, food was catered for everyone. Good position of hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a double room but the beds were made up of two single beds put together which were on wheels. Comfortable beds but wasn't appropriate for a married couple. If they say a double room the bed should be a double bed. Didn't like through bed on wheels. No problem with the room.

    First time in cala d'or,very good position of the hotel, room overlooking the beach which was fabulous, clean beach with beautiful turquoise water. Also good position for the evenings going out to have a walk about. Would highly recommend the hotel. Would go back for a next visit. We loved our holiday.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    6.7
    Friendly and helpful staff, quiet good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was in very, very noisy area (up the show scene), it's not for families with kids. Problems with parking.

    Friendly and helpful staff, quiet good food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    Relaxing & excellent food drink & company
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints as all very good nothing was too much trouble

    Friendly staff - very clean everywhere- excellent food - position of hotel next to beach - in fact everything- been before & would go again - been twice this year 😎

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    4.6
    Very busy and noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exceptional thin walls our neighbors kept us awake with his snoring. Old building in need of moderation throughout Entertainment only on a Sunday & Thursday which was ok apart from that our phone and Bluetooth speaker was the way forward. Beer soup is an experience not to attempt at any cost awful. Extra charges for beach towels Extra charges for car parking space Extra charges for padlocking parking space All inclusive ends at 11pm which is a tad early

    Very little

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    6.3
    Sea View was Stunning, However Sleeping was Difficult and Don't Rely on Car Park!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are paper thin (I'm not exaggerating) so you can hear every conversation, baby cry, snor, sneeze, cough, door close and wardrobe slide all night long. This combined with the rock hard bed made for lots of very uncomfortable night sleeps. We also noticed some little bugs on the walls (hoping they weren't bed bugs). Booking.com also makes it sound easy to get a car parking space at the hotel... it's not. We asked every day for a space and told there are none available and they can't reserve us one for when they do become free. We were also offed no advice on where to find street parking. We had to drive around until we found something.

    The sea view from our room was sensational, truly mind blowing! The location of the hotel to shops, restaurants and bars was amazing. The beach is on the door step. Food was decent and varied for a hotel of this size and cost. Cost of stay was reasonable and access from the airport simple (under 1 hour). There is a lot to love about this hotel and the negatives seem a little harsh, however a good nights sleep should be the staple of a hotel in my opinion.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    8.8
    Hotel's staff are the most friendly and helpful! the property is located right next to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Food quality is very much canteen-like, pretty repetitive, greasy at times, and not always very tasty. Paid sunbeds in the beach bar.

    Hotel's staff are the most friendly and helpful! the property is located right next to Cala Ferrera beach. Direct access to the beach from the beach bar.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.6
    beach front hotel, clean rooms, staff good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    very crowed at evening meal times, everyone seamed to go down at 7o clock when restaurant opened for some reason. it would be nice for if the bar opened at 6 instead of 8 o clock so you could have a drink in the last of the sun this time of year.

    beach front hotel, clean rooms, staff good. staff very good despite being run off their feet at evening meal times.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trying to get a sunbed in morning. Noticed towels were on the beds, but the people didn't turn up until late afternoon.

    Location. Beach on doorstep. Staff lovely. Centre was about 15- 20 mins walk.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    5.4
    Nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise of trucks picking up garbage and delivering things. No privacy at all in balcony. Right across wall and pool. Everywhere to crowded. At the pool bench beside bench, same at the beach. Food, mostly poor quality. Old facilitys, ready to be completely renovated.

    Nice staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.3
    beautifull setting on the cliff above the sea with the beach...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    beds were not so comfy,the food even thought it was plenty to choose from was not very delicious,no terrace at the restaurant, and veery noisy too,no gym - that would be nice to have on a rainy day, pool was outside the hotel across the street with no views

    beautifull setting on the cliff above the sea with the beach bar and nice views, close to the center with all the shops and bars, staff was very helpfull and friendly,very clean hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    6.3
    Bland but servicable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge or coffee in room. Bins not emptied daily, but maid did turn up on the last day for a top.. Brick wall view. Queues everywhere

    Convenient, facilities all there

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    3.3
    Location was great right in the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Took 1.5 hours to check in. Staff were rude. Hotel understaffed. Food very very average, we didn't even make use of the breakfast and dinner every day. Room had a bad smell!!!! Had to pay extra for all little things which are usually included such as beach towels and safety deposit box. Staff Hotel understaffed and staff were frustrated and rude as a result. Hotel dated and needs an upgrade

    Location was great right in the beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    6.3
    Very excellent location of the hotel, but quality has to be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The cleanliness from the carpet on the stairs stayed very dirty for 2 days. The isolation is very bad. When you are in your room, you hear everything from the hallway, from the room next to you. The beds are shifting, what makes noise, especially in the morning when cleaning staff is working in the rooms around you. Mattresses are too soft, every morning I had lower back pain. Restaurant staff can be more friendly, you see they are suffering from the hard work. Quality of food could be better in the evenings.

    The location is great, next to a beautiful beach! It is close to restaurants, supermarkets, a place for renting bikes and close to the tourist office. Animation is good during day and the evening show.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was lots of food on offer but I just found it quite bland and so ate out a couple of times instead.

    Everything was very clean and tidy. All the staff were very friendly and easy to communicate with.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    5.4
    Great location, lots of room for improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    90% of the staff were unfriendly, building dated, over half pool area has no umbrellas. Restaurant dark, packed, queues, not enough food for all the people! Limitations on food service times at the pool.

    Beach, weather, house keeping staff, great location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    6.3
    Location to beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much sodium in food. If you can ensure all food is tasted prior to being served before being served to guests to ensure good taste that would be a good start.

    Location to beach

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    8.8
    We loved our holiday and are thinking about booking the same place next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The hotel is clearly in need of renovation - a stale smell of the rooms is off putting, and it would be great to have a double bed rather than two beds pushed together, particularly when the preference option is given when booking! Our stay would be even better if a dark bread was available at breakfast:)

    We absolutely loved the location - returned to this hotel after 6 years and found the stay equally, if not more, relaxing and enjoyable. We loved the entertainment team who made our holiday extra special with their friendly approach. The hotel has a big enough swimming pool and an easy access to the beach with crystal clear sea water.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Excellent stay going again next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is me and my daughters 4th year in a row to the hotel.. my daughter is now 10 and doesn't want to go any where else. She loves the animation team willam and Maria especially as they have been there for the start.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.8
    A nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevators are small (there were 3) and take a long time to arrive. Took especially long if you were waiting to get in with a baby stroller. The shower to rinse off coming up from the beach was not effective!

    The beach was very nice and child-friendly,if a little crowded. The breakfast and dinner had a good variety and was quite good. The indoor pool was also good. Staff were friendly and helpful. Cleanliness was also up to par.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    4.6
    Airconditioning did not work after telling them a number of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airconditioning did not work after telling them a number of times, supper is not very good and they don't serve and tea and coffee you have to pay for all drinks. Service is also not very good, the hotel is looking run down and really needs a face lift

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    7.1
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The lifts seemed to have a mind of their own and only one could just about take a double buggy which meant a long wait or carrying it down the stairs. Only wine, bottled beer or water served in the restaurant. Drinks served only in plastic beakers at the terrace bar. Lack of convenient toilets. If you don't have a room with a sea view you may have to put up with loud music at night from the entertainment.

    Proximity to the beach. Lovely view if you have a room with sea view. Rooms cleaned every day. BBC 1 & 2 available on the TV.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.6
    Nice hotel at a good price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con could be a little better and balcony isn't very big but as a 3 star hotel we were happy with the room as a whole.

    Nice staff on reception and good cleaning staff. Lovely cove to swim in right next to hotel. About ten minutes walk to main area of restaurants and bars but a few around the hotel as well. Good hairdryer in room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to pay to use an iron. There was no coffee/tea making facilities in the room.

    The location is perfect. Cala Ferrera beach is right next to the hotel, stunning little bay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    3.3
    Beautiful view, however there are better hotels around with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I'm not usually the one who likes to write negative reviews about anything. Unfortunately, this particular hotel was an extraordinary case. On the first day of our arrival, there happened a power outage in Barcelo Ponent and a few surrounding hotels. It lasted for 22 hours, during which there was no electricity at all and no internet connection. Also there was no water in the hotel for about 12 hours. It took about 40 minutes to stay in the queue to get some water to drink at breakfast. During our 5 days stay there were numerous cases of false fire alarms, 2 times at night, and every day about 10-20 times at lunch and dinner time. The stuff even stopped taking notice of the horrible noise. The hotel takes money for every small service it provides - like safe, wi-fi in the room and so on. However, when I asked a manager for refund for a whole day and night without electricity she refused it in a rude way and advised me to complain to Spanish Power Company. Which is obviously not possible because I’m not a citizen of Spain and don’t have any dealing with Spanish Power, I had only relationships with the Hotel. And Barcelo Ponent refused to compensate for a day of ruined vacation in an outrageous way. Compared to that I don't even bother to mention some other disadvantages like extremely slow lift, dirty carpets and that beach administrators reserve the majority of sunbeds for some external price negotiable price for some tourist - so that's almost impossible to find a sunbed even early in the morning.

    Beautiful view, however there are better hotels around with the same great views and much friendlier service.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    3.8
    Worst hotel we have stayed in
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food ,rooms ,lift,buffet service having to sign and give room number for everything you order

    Sadly this is one of the worst hotels we have stayed in we was all inclusive and the food was extremely bad snails and rabbit also dogfish nothing for kids to eat .The room small bunk bed blocking the balcony door and no aircon .we had a wheelchair with us and had to wait for lifts all the time .All inclusive drinks finish at 11pm .they only have one type of cocktail a night and you can only order one after 7pm

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    6.7
    Correct one
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of fridge in room. Forced to buy refreshment in the restaurant. Pool was overcrowded from the early morning. Hotel parking 6€ per day, if you are unlucky to find free public spot on area. A lot of older people with bad manners in a restaurant. Many things with additional paying, like sunbeds at hotel terrace.

    Nice location, food was fine. Room was OK. Cleaning and fresh towels every day. Big TV, but nothing to watch. On the Cala Ferrera beach.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.9
    We stayed 3 persons in one room, 1 adult and 2 kids, and we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed 3 persons in one room, 1 adult and 2 kids, and we only get 1 doublebed. It wasn't enough space for all of us, because one of us had to sleep in the seam between the 2 90 cm beds

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    8.8
    Great location, half board not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We chose to go half board for convenience and the breakfast was ok but the dinner options were awful, didn't taste good and not enough variety to cater to all people. Small room with almost no amenities for the money spent. The front desk staff could have been more informative and a leaky sink wasn't fixed during our whole week stay after informing the staff of the leak on day one.

    The location of the hotel was incredible, close to the beach and tons of shops and restaurants. The maid service was great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    8.3
    Just what was needed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coming home! Oh and air con not the best in our rooms. Don't expect all mod cons and rooms a little dated But perfectly function-able, we really didn't spend much time in them anyhow.

    Location was amazing and the surroundings, pool bars, steps down tho the beach, sun beds. Etc..The beach was beautiful the water clear enough to snorkel and sea various fish. If your feeling more adventurous you can swim from your beach to another very easily. Great guy on the beach selling fresh watermelon and pineapple etc..delicious. Boat trip available from the hotel too, literally pulls up from right outside. It's ideal for a family holiday also, even tho we were two couples we were talking about bringing our children next time! Our flight home was a late one so we made use of the courtesy room for a shower and luggage room to leave bags. Reception staff were faultless and very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    7.1
    Interesting
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was ok; except the noise level. There is live entertainment every night until 11:30pm at the center of the resort which could not be avoided (even after room change). The power went out for almost a full day during our stay. No wifi was available. But we were able to charge electronic devices at the main entrance. They were able to make due with the meals but there was a difference due to the unforeseen circumstances. However, they did their best to get things fixed before dinner time the following day. Unfortunately, during our power outage; using our cell phone lights, we found two large roaches in our room in the middle of the night. I went to the front desk for help and was given bug spray. We managed to kill one, but the other got away. Didn't get much sleep that night.

    The location was excellent. The food served (included in our booking) was good. It is family friendly. The staff were great as well.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.2
    A very relaxing place to be with the family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We had a room next to the elevators, so it was bussy during evening and morning hours. The cleaning lady was not very friendly. There were times where you had to wait long to get a elevator. If you could not get a parking place on the street next to the hotel (there are very few places), than you had to pay for the hotel parking around 8 Eur/day.

    Great location next to the beach. Great food and bars in the hotel and on the beach. I recomend to take the all inclusive offer. You can eat and drink during the whole day. The lift will take you directly onto the beach, that was the best feature of the hotel. The town center is near. You have shops, restaurants, car and bike rentals right next to the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking a bit expensive.

    The quickness of booking in and the rooms ready for occupation. The food was very good. Parking very good but just a little expensive. Will book again thank you.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.8
    The stuff are perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel is old, need some repair.

    The stuff are perfect! Extremely helpful and very friendly, all of them. Thank you! Book a room with Sea view - it's worth all the money (see the pictures attached).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.6
    Good hotel, price/quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I believe cleaning of the rooms could be a little bit better, but there was nothing terrible, overall good!

    Good hotel, comfortable and overall clean and tidy. Good breakfasts and dinners, VERY friendly personnel. Thank you very much!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    7.1
    The location was fabulous and staff were very good and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were two singles on wheels which was a disaster for our sex life , no cuddles at night . The food wasn't the best either

    The location was fabulous and staff were very good and helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.9
    Good value, nice little beach, very nice location close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old lifts take forever! Smokers dropping butts on the beach (an issue on most beaches)

    Good value, nice little beach, very nice location close to the restaurants of Cala D'or

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    Will go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You had to pay to park in the hotel and there were not a lot of places to park nearby as everyone parked to go to the beach.

    The views were wonderful. Nice looking clean hotel on a fab beach and very helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    5.0
    An Hotel for the masses.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We stayed in All Included mode, and it was awfull. All the food in all the meals is no good. The food isn't well cooked, and some of the ingredients are from low quality. The alcoholic drinks the hotel serves, in the All Included mode, are almost all of them of cheap quality (wine and gin could be better). For example -> wine is from the brand Canals & Nubiola. A wine with a medium pontuation of ~2 out of 5 stars in Vivino app. I tasted the White and the Tinto - Negre flavours and they were bad. The Hotel is far from be a quiet place, and taking breakfast or dinner suffer from that, because of the many people carrying small children's that are eating, drinking, and making (sometimes) a great amount of noise noise. The noise isolation between rooms is one of the worst i have ever seen. Basically if someone talks, have a bath, laugh or cry in the nearest rooms, you hear inside your accommodation. The All Included hours (it's not all day like in the caribbean) are very limited, and if you want to have a drink after 11 PM you have to pay. Regarding the animation crew of the hotel, we have only watch part of their acting during the night show, but from what we saw it was always awful. Finally, in the last day, at the checkout we asked for an invoice with our fiscal number, they gentle told us, that the reception manager was not there, and only him could create that kind of document. They also told us, that if we wait a short amount of time (how much???, time is relative) he could appeared (they don't know were he was). I think this is bad, and because we were in a hurry, we leaved the hotel without the invoice document and headed to the airport.

    Liked the Staff. They were very friendly. Liked the hotel beach (cala ferrara). It's small, for the amount of people using it daily, but it's very beautiful and has nice warm clean water.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.1
    Not too bad at all!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    We had a sea view apartment but during entertainment phases it might get noisy. If you don't like a hearty British breakfast, the rest was slightly below average or what other people call "intercontinental" breakfast.

    The place has seen better days but is nevertheless clean and well-maintained. Before one is disappointed, just always bear in mind that this is a family/good-value deal hotel. Therefore, it is maybe sometimes more practical than charming. In any case, the sea view is simply beautiful and the focus groups are well served. The beach location is for sure the big plus. Sunbeds and umbrellas are not included but we knew that in advance. Compared to other Mallorca beaches it's an average price of 15 € for 2 beds and umbrella. The service is very nice and they try their best to cope with all of the customers' requests (which is difficult enough during check-in rush hours). Breakfast is great for British people (enjoy your fry-up buffet). The fried-egg station and the sweets were pretty nice, too. To sum up, we enjoyed our trip a lot!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful location, great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Transfer from airport took almost as long as flight to Majorca.

    Very clean, great location. Beautiful view from balcony. Excellent value for money, would stay there again. Lots of shops , bars restaurants and small beaches within easy walking distance. Resort very well kept in general and great for families.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good

    Brilliant location everything you need is walking distance. Staff and entertainment was brilliant very helpful & talkative. Food was nice. Overall would go back and I enjoyed my stay

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    6.7
    Avoid unless u like cheap resorts
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was really awfull all processed , cheap and nasty , beach tiny and crowded , no logic flow in the place and the easiest/ quickest thing was the check out ! Loud , wine on all inclusive basis was terrible. Outdated , would not recommend! Luckily only 1 night !!

    Not much, perhaps beer.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    9.2
    A great value for money :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Um.. bathroom smells & thin walls

    We had a perfect choice for 2 nights stay. Food & drinks were great, we absolutely loved the beach, and hotel staffs were very kind & cheerful. Felt sad we couldn't stay more!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    5.4
    Good location, nice beaches are nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is crowed, the beach area is nice but small. The hotel feels old, our first room was not clean at all, if you have a room with views to the events area downstairs you are not sleeping until 12am, they changed us to a similar room but with beach view, much better. Food is terrible, not trusting an all inclusive in the area again. Too overwhelmed with so many people. Definitely disappointed with Barcelo, have been to others and that is why I picked this one, but think twice, read the reviews.

    Good location, nice beaches are nearby.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    6.7
    This hotel is very tired and needs more staff in the dining area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel in General could do with an upgrade especially the rooms. We asked for a room change as the room given was grubby and very tired. There is a small pool area for the amount of guests stating at the hotel. It was difficult to get a table on most occasions we used it and not enough staff to reset the tables and serve drinks. We felt really sorry for the staff in the restaurant, they were continually run off their feet.

    The hotel staff were friendly. The location of the hotel is good and right next to a beach

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    6.7
    Get what you pay for I guess....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rooms need upgrading desperately. The headboard just came off the wall, and revealed an absolute mountain of dirt and dust. Disgusting. Managed to change rooms, but still not acceptable. Ended up having to pay for an upgrade just to get an acceptably clean room.

    Nice pool area, close to the beach and bars/restaurants. Food was okay, lot of variety. Staff were friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.8
    We had a great time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a little dated

    Hotel and variety

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.5
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. And beach

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Barceló Ponent Playa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: