Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Occidental Aranjuez 4 stars

Plaza de la Unesco, 2, 28300 Aranjuez, Spain

#5 of 12 hotels in Aranjuez

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 820 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 66

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    5.8
    Unfortunate Occidental
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Position of pool - very long walk through bars and restaurant. Absolutely ludicrous. No tea/coffee in room. NO HOTEL INFORMATION ANYWHERE. NO LOCAL PLACES OF INTEREST INFO. ANYWHERE. Lots of guests going out for early morning coffee. None available without breakfast!!!

    Clean, good sized rooms. Food good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    5.8
    Very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was very difficult to find and a VERY long walk through what was similar to an obstacle course! Not even opened up when we eventually found it. No tea/coffee in rooms. No hotel information books anywhere, no local points of interest available. No information on spa pools and we had paid for the privilege of using the spa which we did not use. Very sad lack of any informative or general reading matter anywhere. Very disappointing all round.

    Very clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.9
    High Quality Hotel with Disadvantage of Being Far from Town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Distance from town. Severe modern architecture.

    Extremely clean and orderly. Spacious. Good bar food. Efficient staff. Large swimming pool. Easy parking.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    4.6
    Never will return to this hotel.
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They had to double check our breakfast reservation and made me and my family wait considering they had already charged the breakfast to our credit card. I dont know what the internal issue was but they asked us to stand by and they began to assist other people in line and it was quite distastefull. Later in the spa there was no consideration with my children whom have a disability. They couldnt bend the rules and made them wear a swimming cap causing them to enter crisis. I had to leave the spa with one of my children to calm him down. My husband remained in the spa with my other disabled child and an employee approached to tell him he had to leave in 5 minutes. (We paid for an hour in the spa and there were 25 minutes left still). To top it all off, the wifi was very poor. I was expecting a lot more considering 140 euros the night plus 9 euros per person breakfast. Quite honestly i will never return to this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Great for families or if you are travelling
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pool is a bit of a walk outside the hotel and the bar was inside hotel, not near.

    BBQ buffet offer when we arrived. As our original room smelt strongly of smoke, we were quickly upgrade to the 2nd floor to a room with a balcony. Loved the pool, and also the quick service of food and drink.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.1
    Pool!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    end of a golf course, there's little to do in the surroundings (if you don't gamble, that is). No a la carte diner: only buffet or room service.

    Pool!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money. Ideal for business travellers, easy access to A4 motorway.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The surroundings lack character. It wasn't very well signposted (despite being a very large hotel) when arriving late at night.

    Very large and comfortable room. Good air-conditioning (quiet and efficient). Staff were both friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    8.8
    Big, comfortable room with a great balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A big comfortable room with a large furnished balcony, that we made the most of when deciding not to eat at the restaurant. Quite a drive back into Aranjuez (which we didn't want after a long drive to get there), so the supermarket within walking distance provided us with another option, as the nearby bars (one of which we used for breakfast the next day) were all very busy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    Great hotel, very clean, and good value for money, will certainly stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant wasn't open so we had to eat in the bar. However, the food there was excellent, I would really recommend the burgers.

    Surprisingly quiet, huge bathroom, good size room even with two massive beds in it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.1
    spacious well designed bedroom and ensuite with large...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far from town. Needed to use a taxi and taxi driver charge for drive to hotel to collect you then charge for journey on top.

    spacious well designed bedroom and ensuite with large comfortable bed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.8
    Nice place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I've been there twice within 2months and the "free" samples available in bathroom have lost in quality from the 1st visit to the 2nd. Nothing critical just a detail.

    Nice place. Very quiet with nice view. I'll for sure come again and recommend this place.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    Good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't feel this hotel has anything I dislike

    Stayed here a number of times. Great hotel, superb beds. Staff top class , room service excellent, food 100%. Cannot fault this hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    6.3
    The room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very far from Aranjuez, very expensive breakfast, very expensive entry to spa for an hour, no activities at all for children (the pool was closed)

    The room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    Lovely spacious bright rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was slow at the bar

    Lovely spacious bright rooms

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    8.3
    Spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The massages are too expensive

    Spa

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    6.3
    Brief and
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very mean not to include the pool and gym facilities in the price. Penny pinching at its worst.

    Clean, functional.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Pleasure to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Top class hotel and staff. Room service food exceptional choice and quality. Fabulous evening meal very competitive price

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent accommodation in the vicinity (half hour) of Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The surrounding area looks rather dry.

    Very spacious room, huge bed, good breakfast, excellent spa facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    all
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    all

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.8
    Excellent
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really was wrong

    Room was so comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.3
    ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Main restaurant was closed, leaving just snack food in the bar which was awful in terms of quality and selection

    The bed was comfy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.5
    Wonderful place to feel home
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 23 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed is super comfy and balcony provides

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.9
    RECOMENDABLE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    ATENCION DEL PERSONAL DEL HOTEL

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant, overall.
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Offer breakfast included in the price of the hotel.

    The room was spacious and the reception was willing to help. You could also choose the room heat.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel, but faster check-in facilities required.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely slow check-in and check out.

    Great rooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    7.5
    Clean,bright,spacious, staff v nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean,bright,spacious, staff v nice. Would stay again

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.2
    Perfect stay if you have a car
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather could have been better:)

    Comfortable rooms, very nice pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Nice place for a quick stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel did not offered breakfast after upgrading the room at additional cost.

    Very comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    7.5
    No tea or coffee available in room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee available in room

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    9.6
    Brilliant service, look forward to coming again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant service, look forward to coming again

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    7.9
    Nice spacious room with separate bath and shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fairly impersonal large hotel. Functional and modern. Set outside of the town so had to get a taxi to go into the town. Probably better in the summer as it has a large outdoor pool but no indoor pool for winter.

    Nice spacious room with separate bath and shower. Good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    3.8
    Bed was comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Restaurant closed except for breakfast. NO English speaking channels on TV. No tea making facilities in the room. You had to pay to use the spa facilities like steam room, jacuzzis etc. Should be free for guests surely. It was in the middle of nowhere. Staff miserable and unhelpful.

    Bed was comfy.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    7.1
    Picturesque quiet location, cozy rural atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    its cold to stay here in winter or early spring. Small radiator was not abble to warm up the entire house. We fired the fireplace, but firewoods were enough only for about an hour...

    Picturesque quiet location, cozy rural atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    4.2
    I spend approximately 140 nights of the year in hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I spend approximately 140 nights of the year in hotels. I had a uniquely unpleasant experience as a guest at the Barceló Aranjuez on 6-8 Feburary. I intended to treat my wife both to a relaxing weekend in a spa hotel, in turns, reading, dozing, using the sauna and the other facilities for three days, while treating my wife to a massage and beauty treatments. I found the Barceló Aranjuez hotel by Googling the search term "spa hotel." I noted that the hotel was rated with four stars. The spa facilities and the four stars - plus the many photographs - led me to make the booking. At reception, I was surprised to learn that there was a Euro 19.50 charge simply to use the spa. There was no mention of this charge anywhere in the material on booking.com that I read with care before making my booking. In effect, I was being asked to pay twice for the spa facilities: once, because the facilities on offer induce you to pay a little more to stay at such a hotel, and twice, because you have to pay extra to actually use them. For our Saturday afternoon, Sunday and early Monday, I was effectively being asked to pay Euro 120 more than the advertised price in order to treat your spa hotel as a spa hotel for three days. Presumably not wishing to break the bad news to me all at once, the hotel receptionist did not at the time inform me that the Euro 120 charge would not buy access to the spa facilities for three days, but only for three 90-minute guided Spa Experiences. This I learned at the spa reception. In the website material that I read carefully before making the booking, no mention is made that access to the spa is limited to a guided 90-minute Spa Experience. I was left to find out for myself that the spa had extremely limited opening hours during our stay, i.e., from 1830hrs until sometime before 2100hrs. In other words, this spa hotel was a spa hotel for something less than 3 hours per day.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    7.9
    Lovely room, great beds and easy parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was too warm and we could not turn down the heating so we had to open the window, which made it rather noisy.

    Lovely room, great beds and easy parking.

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    9.6
    Hotel is located on the outskirts of the town and is very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel is located on the outskirts of the town and is very quiet. Room was spacious with excellent en suite facility and the dressing area was a nice touch. The bed was huge, and one of the most comfortable I've slept in, with a choice of pillows, which is really good. Our balcony overlooked the tennis courts and the golf course. We ate in the bar area in the evening - the menu was limited but the food was fresh and well presented.Breakfast in the morning offered a good choice of cold meats, cheeses, breads and fruit. The hot food wasn't hot enough, but the overall experience was good. Staff were universally friendly and efficient. We would happily stay again.

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    9.6
    Even though location was not near any tourist attractions,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Even though location was not near any tourist attractions, that's exactly what we wanted. There is ample free parking on the street or cheap hotel paid parking (8 euro per night), so we could drive to the Aranjuez Palace in 5 minutes. The breakfast is top quality, I've traveled a lot and this was the best, most varied buffet breakfast I ever had on a hotel.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    7.9
    good spacious rooms, excellent breakfast,underground parking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    big hotel used for functions etc-a way out of town and our sat nav had trouble finding it.Put in a street that feeds into its location which did the trick by the way

    good spacious rooms, excellent breakfast,underground parking, very nice staff-we used it as an overnighter from the south coast to the ferry in the north-about half way so ok

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    8.8
    The hotel was very confortable and the staff at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is located near a golf course and the casino but it is quite far from Aranjuez. You need the car to visit the city centre. Besides the golf and casino there is nothing else to do at walking distance.

    The hotel was very confortable and the staff at the reception was very nice and helpful. The room and bed were very large.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    10
    Excellent location for us travelling to the warner park and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Excellent location for us travelling to the warner park and the zoo. Easy access to motorway. Nice relaxed atmosphere in hotel, staff were very helpful and friendly

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    9.2
    Very comfortable room and large swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant is closed on Sunday and Monday, the 2 days that we were there. Don't stay here during the school holidays as children running around the corridors at all hours, not good if you want an early night or late lie in!

    Very comfortable room and large swimming pool.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    9.6
    The pool area is lovely, food really good to
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    wasn't advised to book at table for dinner, and there was a conference on so we couldn't eat in the main part.

    The pool area is lovely, food really good to

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    10
    My wife in wheeichair every member of staff courteous and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Short stay

    My wife in wheeichair every member of staff courteous and helpfull. Ie. Hotel staff member saw us approaching lift with wheelchair called for lift for us. Small courtesy maybe , but helpfull Food superb!!

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2015

    7.9
    Great rooms and good service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Spa area use is not included in the rate. You must book a 1:30h tour. You can not use, let´s say, the swimming pool for 20 minutes.

    Great rooms and good service

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    10
    Quiet, comfortable beds and lovely view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No tea making in room

    Quiet, comfortable beds and lovely view

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    7.1
    excellent breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the rooms could be paint, the tiles in the bathroom damaged

    excellent breakfast

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    7.9
    Lovely room
    • Couple

    Lovely room Good for a stopover

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    7.5
    Lovely bedroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location poor.

    Lovely bedroom.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    8.8
    Breakfast is good, room size is good also.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi connection in the room was not so good

    Breakfast is good, room size is good also.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    9.6
    Great hotel, excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant not open Sunday evening. Bar food good though.

    Great hotel, excellent staff.

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    8.8
    Clean, quiet, comfortable and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not in centre of town

    Clean, quiet, comfortable and convenient

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    9.6
    Our huge, spacious and stylishly furnished room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant menu did not tempt us to eat there.

    Our huge, spacious and stylishly furnished room. Lovely, comfortable beds.

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    9.2
    Room very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Main meal time too late 8.30 pm. Spa opened too late 6 pm.

    Room very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    9.6
    It was really comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The pool was not available at the time of our stay.

    It was really comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    10
    Excellent quality of room, perfect for a short visit or stop...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent quality of room, perfect for a short visit or stop over, Plenty to see and do in the local area.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    7.9
    swimming pool, spa, facilities, bad-room, bad,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    a bit far away

    swimming pool, spa, facilities, bad-room, bad,

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    10
    Everything, it was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolutely nothing.

    Everything, it was perfect.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    10
    Really nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Really nice hotel. Excellent pool.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    10
    Da piscina e do SPA.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Da piscina e do SPA.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    7.9
    Do Local, piscina, golfe,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Do Local, piscina, golfe,

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    7.9
    Great rooms and great facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The cleanliness was worst than expected. Wifi was extremely slow.

    Great rooms and great facilities.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    7.0
    Wellness nőt opened!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wellness nőt opened!

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    8.0
    Staff friendly, modern facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Restaurant closed, wifi not working in rooms as advertised, pool closed, hotel location isolated.

    Staff friendly, modern facilities.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    10
    High quality room and bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    High quality room and bed

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    9.6
    suite at the end of hotel, and wifi not working in room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    suite at the end of hotel, and wifi not working in room

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2015

    8.8
    Comfortable room, nice big bed
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    i would have like if there was tea making facility in room

    Comfortable room, nice big bed

There are also 33 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 66

Guests also reviewed these properties: