Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Barceló Marbella 4 stars

Urbanización Guadalmina Alta - Camino de Granadillas s/n, San Pedro de Alcantara, 29670 Marbella, Spain

#34 of 59 hotels in Marbella

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1347 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Excellent all round a couple of suggestions, the mini fridges don't get very cold, and as the property is a cab ride to local shops, it would be good if there was a vending machine, All the English TV stations were either business or news, it would have been nice to have a film or maybe documentary channel. Generally it is a Excellent Hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been cleaner Should have had someone coming round by the pool taking drinks orders Dinner was awful. Felt food poor quality Breakfast was ok. Buffet selection not nice

    Very comfortable bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious rooms, very comfortable beds and pillows, great chilled pool area, very clean, good offerings for breakfast. Not too far from Puerto Banus marina (€10 euros in a taxi approx) and very good quality accommodation for the price too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is a little too far out and we always had to wait between 20-50mins for a taxi to get into the town

    The hotel rooms are lovely and the breakfast was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No balcony, not a great selection of food at lunch but what was there was lovely.

    Great choice at breakfast, room was lovely and modern, quite spaciest.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I love to swim, but unfortunately the pool water was too cold for me and in the gym wasn't always clean and towels. After asking what i needed, they always provided everything.

    The whole experience was more than we imagined. The food and room were excellent, 4 stars indeed, helpful happy staff, full gym equipment, excellent matress : ) I definitely recommend it!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Club Premium Access (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    ask many times for tv to be sorted not one english channel not even news no transport for family as only four can get in taxi

    rooms were very clean and spacious so was the rest of hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was really cold and very uncomfortable to use , kids were freezing after 10 mins , could make more effort here so the parents can mix with there children in pool , lovely pool but was empty all the time .

    Nice rooms overlooking pool

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We were very surprised at the BUFFET MENU's each day, best we have ever had. The hotel is lovely and the staff put themselves out and very friendly and helpful. This should be 5* Hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    3 times had to report the air con not working and still wasn't fixed. the time waiting at reception always seemed very long even with just one customer in front multiple times. the food was not good re rooms service. the pool was dirty, a lot of grime on the tiles. floor in bedroom was never cleaned. tiny elevators not conducive for families to be honest. tiles on the floor on level 2 just outside the elevator were broken and loose and particles kept popping up. the halls were very very echo so when there was noise outside the room it was always very loud and carried. hotel is called Bareclo Marbella, its not in Marbella. staff not helpful when dealing with issues.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff were not very helpful. Most were very helpful (especially the kitchen staff who were brilliant!)

    The beds and bedrooms were so comfy!! The cleanliness was spot on too!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Morning coffee was poor & that the steam room ect was not on ( possible seasonal ) & I thought it was to be classed as a spa type hotel!

    The vibe of the hotel & rooms where real nice , breakfast was unreal !!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location wasn’t ideal no shops or anything near by, not much choice of food and also food was cold

    Room was very clean and comfortable staff where friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was disgusting other than the fruit it was very poor quality There was quantity but zero quality The person cooking eggs to order do don’t have a clue! Their posters said the breakfast was amazing! Like no other! Well it was but in a very poor way! Also parking at €15 per day could be expensive if staying longer

    The bar area was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are really helpful & go above & beyond to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The hotel is really lovely & has some great facilities. Would definitely recommend & will be back. Thank you to the staff for all there help.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Club Premium Access (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought we couldn't use the privilege pool as it had a large plastic cover on, but when checking out were told we had to ask reception for them to remove it but we were not told this, having said this the main pool area was lovely

    Very clean and the food is very nice, we paid for the privilege room and it was so lovely

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Junior Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    you need to have a car (luckily we had). Walking distance to the beach is about 3 km. around only golf fields.

    spacious appartment. big bathroom, clean, very good beakfast and dinner (a big variety of fruit, healthy food)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly some of the facilities were not open due to non season, and on a rainy day it was nothing to do t the hotel while staying with a child.

    The breakfast and dinner buffet was very good, the options for lactose intolerant and vegans as well were very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound isolation... in the mornings you can hear the cleaning ladies and how they are cleaning the rooms next to you :-/

    Clean and fresh furnished room and bathroom , nice breakfast and dinner buffets ! Staff Service was friendly , especially Armando from the bar ( if I remember his name right) and Sara from the reception ( also if I remember right , she wears glaces !) , they two are - top service . They were very profficional and caring ! In general we liked everything! Good job!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival you are given no help with suitcases or room location, I was packed off with lots of luggage children and had towels dumped on top of me. There are quite a lot of “rules”, but once you get them...you settle in nicely.

    The rooms were spacious, comfortable and nicely decorated. The pool area was very clean. Breakfast was nice. Some gorgeous hard working staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Junior Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At least the kids pool should have been heated as water was too cold and children were just running around not really gettin in the water. Lack of games facilities. Restricted bar and room food service. Little choice for cocktails.

    The hotel, room and pool area was nice and spacious. It was clean and front desk staff were kind and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have used an iron and board like barcello malaga , keycard needed recoded a few times, dinner buffet was a bit disappointing

    Comfy bed, large room and nice lobby in hotel , breakfast was very good each day, nice bar and courtyard

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    They should advise that it is far from Puerto Banus or Marbella and that no lunch is served and the buffet is 18 euros per head. Need better english channels not just news as nothing else to do in hotel if weather is bad.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No facilities were available. I ended up using the hotel for sleeping only. I would have had to book special category of room/suite to be granted access to indoor pool and receive coffee/tea and water in my room. Such stuff is normally available to all rooms and suites in similar hotels.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed at the second floor and in the corridor was strange small both 2 nights of our staying. The fee for the parking.

    The size of the room. We had the extra bed and still room was very comfortable and includes two chares with table. Big closet. Big bathroom. Hotel is close to Marbella ( about 10 min drive), to the greate restaurants in Puento Romano and Puerto Banus. The hotel has big parking ( additional fee). The breakfast was very nice with huge choices of cold and hot dishes. You can start your day with the glass of cava. It is close enough for the day trip to the white willages of Olvera, Sintel and to the beautiful Ronda

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Biggest let down about this Barcelo Hotel was the fact there was no complimentary coffee, tea and water in the room.......others do! After travelling all day and feeling like you just want to relax in your room with a cup of tea or coffee it was really disappointing not to have this in the room. The bar in the reception area was unwelcoming and boring, no back round music, bar lighting was intrusive and bright, 3 tv's that were not neccessery were on constantly and very distracting. Having a drink at the bar should be a social occasion not a tv session. We felt like second class holiday makers in a 4 star hotel, as day after day the pool was machine cleaned, re grouted, the grounds were being power washed for the Easter weekend. This hotel surrounded by golf courses and nothing else, not a bar, not a restaurant .....nothing!

    The room was very nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Club Premium Access (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We don’t have nothing to say.

    We liked everything about the hotel very friendly the room was fantastic,, we are looking forward to going back again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have liked tea/coffee making facilities in the room. I love to have a cup of coffee in the morning while I read the news before I get washed and dressed to go to breakfast. With a minimum room service charge of €15 it wasn't worth ordering a coffee from room service. Next time I will have to bring my own travel kettle and supplies.

    We had a large family celebration and the staff did everything possible to make it an enjoyable experience for us. The beds were comfortable, the restaurant was excellent. A couple of small problems with some of the rooms but the staff sorted out the issues very quickly and efficiently.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing worked. Everything was either broken, under renovation or just closed. The walls were made of paper and the noise was horrible. I was unable to sleep for the entire week. The advertising was false. Do not believe the photos. The manager was a rude bully. I will never again visit this hotel.

    The hotel might have been good if the staff would have been more keen on the customers intrests. Everything was under renovation, closed or broken and it didn't show on the price. The experience was over all horrible.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Club Premium Access (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location very near to Puerto banus shopping center el corte ingles and LA Canada golf course was lovely and only 2 minutes away

    Very clean breakfast was very good staff was excellent the deluxe double room premium class was amazing loved it

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A, so called, 4* hotel with one restaurant that was closed for lunch and dinner to normal guests such as ourselves BUT open to groups staying in the hotel! The response of the guest satisfaction member of staff when this issue was raised was less than satisfactory.

    The breakfast choice and quality was very good. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is clearly not a 4* star hotel. Isolation of the rooms should be improved asap. You can hear people in the corridor as they are in your room. Location of the hotel can only be reached by car, however the parking is £15 per day. There is no other parking around so you don't have a choice. The temperature of the water cannot be controlled, it changes every 5 seconds from too cold to too hot. The floor in the rooms is very cold (specially in winter) i would expect slippers that are not provided. The ventilator on the ceiling switches on or off depending on your neighbours, as it is controlled from the other room as well!!! Messed up electricity. The rest was good, nice service and friendly staff. Good quality breakfast and nice views from the room. The value for money overall was good, however I personally would not come back.

    Nice views from room, good quality breakfast and friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleanliness in bathroom, dirty, black hand shower head Very noisy Paper thin walls, you can hear what is going on in the room above, under you and next door No restaurant open (not season), just a bar, burned steak for dinner No minibar (not season) 15 euros for parking pr day is too much

    Reception staff very helpful Nice big room Nice big bathroom Large tempting breakfast table with everything you want

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like your question about who I travelled with, there wasn’t an answer for your question, I went with my husband I thought parents were for business.

    The view and we really felt welcomed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived we were allocated a room at the back of the hotel. I complained and was offered a room overlooking the pool.

    The buffet evening meal was excellent and good value for money

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been good if there was a kettle with tea making facilitys in rooms. A little entertainment after dinnet would have been good.

    I loved the hotel,nothing was to much trouble.The room was very spacious.It was a great place to unwind and relax.The selection of food was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a superior family room for 4 people but the kids was meant to share a bed ( I didn’t read the small print!) reception did arrange another mattress to come up which was fine but if u book for 4 people u expect 4 beds! It did not ruin our stay at all and reception was happy to help.

    Very clean, decorated lovely, nice bathrooms, good breakfast kids loved the donuts and pancakes!! nice pool area, pool was chilly (we come in October but kids didn’t seem to mind it) family friendly. We hired a car found on street parking fine. Would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was quite noisy. I could hear traffic from the street and noise from neighbouring rooms.

    The bed was comfortable and the staff was very courteous and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You need a taxi to get to Puerto Banus. It isn't walkable.

    Very well run hotel with very helpful efficient reception staff. Very good breakfast - well organised. Great pool although reserving of sun beds with towels was going on.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints

    I have stayed at the Barcelo before, and had forgotten what a lovely and classy hotel it is. My room overlooked the golf course, the bed is extremely comfortable and huge, I nearly lost my girlfriend one night! Nice buffet breakfast, IMO nothing was missing, pleasant poolside terrace if you choose to eat outside. 10 minutes drive to Puerto Banus, and a 15-20 minute walk to local restaurants. Incredible value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one English Channel, BBC world news, but not there to watch TV.

    Rooms on 4th floor are spacious with views to pool. Reception staff are very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at the hotel was very slow, checking in and checking out took a long time. There was only one person working in the bar during the day and he was serving inside and outside so drinks took a long time.

    Loved our room, we got upgraded to a suite 👍

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Club Premium Access (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The voice comes to my room from nighbering , there's no voice insulator , I can't sleep until late night , it was noisy hotel .

    Friendly staff , very clean room and service , good food and drinks .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wouldn't recommend for people trying to relax as there was lot's of noise from all the children - didn't bother us personally but I did hear other people comment on it.

    Clean and safe area room tidied every day and sheets changed every other day. Pool area tidy and lot's of entertainment for adults and children. Very family orientated hotel. We made the mistake of getting lunch in the buffet one afternoon 18euro per person good selection but very pricey! We ordered food in the bar a few times and it was OK usual sandwhiches, burgers, salads, pasta and frozen pizza with toppings of choice for extra charge. Few nice restaurants in San Pedro - The Hogan Stand, Da Brunos. We relyed on Taxis to get everywhere but spoke to a few people who had rented cars but it cost 15euro a day to park in the hotel. Free shuttle bus daily @11 and 12 ask at reception drops to three locations 1. Estopona - good for shopping, nice cafes and people watching. 2. Puro Beach - lovely beach club and restaurant 15euro for a sunbed for the day suitable for children too. 3. Puerto Banus - we never got off here so can't give any feedback.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noise room. Next to the road of the hotel entrance. Each time a car entered a very hard sound was hearable. Allot of sound from the evelavator next to our room and sound from the rooms next and above us.

    Breakfest and swimmingpool ok, beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No concierge Some staff members not good some were ok No room service fridges were empty surprising It's wud better to stay in a apartment which have all same faculties and r cheaper because you stay in hotels to get facilities and service but I would rate service as very very poor

    The hotel premises r good but paying so high for the room they did not have concierge facilities just puts you off Some of the staff was good but some of them are like they don't care a damn

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Club Premium Access (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our first room leaked, whole bathroom was wet. Very slow response time, after 30 min of constant calling manager appeared, saying that they can move us to different room. In general cleaning is very bad in both rooms we found few hairs, which is always nothing good. Room service works until 11pm, afterwards you have to go down to the lobby bar to get a bottle of water. In the room we were moved in after the leak there were nothing in minibar... People at the reception is non-professional - few questions we asked was without proper reply... The hotel is opened in ex-hostel building, so for everyone to know when consider the stay here. And the last marvelous moment - they do mojito cocktail in blender...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facilities are quite aged. The location is not very convenient but is expected. The other guests were not very friendly towards Asian tourists (which is quite surprising when comparing with many other places in Europe). The hotel does not look to have a very internal clientele. The refrigerator in the room is not cold at all.

    The room is clean and spacious. The breakfast has a lot varieties. Staff are friendly and helpful. Our room has very nice view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Club Premium Access (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Smoking that occurred in public areas such as the swimming pool seating / sun lounges. The location was a little bit too far remote. Is it worth consideration for the hotel to operate a courtesy bus to and from the Town Centre for its guests ?

    Apart from the facilities and the choice of food that was served, it was the staff I was impressed with most. They all made our our stay a fantastic experience ! This ranged from the housekeeping staff to the Director General of the Hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Junior Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The old staff ( woman & the men, i guess 1 of them is the head) had to ask us all the time and we noticed they were talking about us in a not good manner (as i have seen them making faces everytime I uld ask something) as they were whispering but looking at our direction ( i find it rude considering we were the only Asians clients at that time). Please look into these matter as clients are clients & we r paying our dues so we deserve equal treatment as with the rest of the paying clients there no matter the colour of their skin.

    I love the food (kudos to the chef & his team!!!) & the room (big n clean) the pool & the activities for children. The staff at the reception (Sarah) were very nice & accomodating as well as the morning shift lady & the young night shift chef in the restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator i think you should make them look more cool its like nice shoes for man" Make elevator wider l,lighter more space if u can so it looks more prestije for hotel. Am giving you good idea for marketing ; )

    Hey

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room wasn't ready on arrival, we were happy to wait but we had to go and ask after an hour to see if it had been sorted, which it was but they forgot to tell us. Nothing major, but the staff could have been a little more helpful.

    So clean and comfortable. Loved our room! So modern and an amazing view of the golf course and mountains in the background. We will definitely come back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Club Premium Access (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The Premium Club - which we upgraded to - was naff! First, it was not promoted within the hotel and on the occasions we checked it out, there was NOTHING there! A bit of a rip off, we thought!

    The breakfast was very good, even if the interior dining room was a bit cafeteria like. We opted to eat outside on the terrace - which was lovely!! The Adults Only pool area, whilst a bit small, could do with smartening up with some pot plants etc., it just looked a bit bare.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WIFI doesn't work. I was there for business and could not work in the hotel. Had to find a nearby premises to use the WIFI. Very disappointing for a hotel that boasts conference facilities.

    Comfortable and clean room and helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did have a bad experience with a fellow hotel guest. He decided to take pictures of me and my friend within permission. I immediately moved when I saw him do this and went outside the lobby behind he seat and to my surprise I caught him scrolling through multiple pictures of us through the glass. Disgusted me and my friend confronted him and asked what he thought he was doing to which he then said " so what?" And said he didn't speak English. This happened right in front of the reception desk so we told the receptionist. She said she would speak to the manager and find his room and talk to him. The hotel never contacted us again about the incident and there was no follow up. Throughout the rest of our stay this guest kept looking at us and moving to where we were sitting at the bar/pool/lobby etc making us feel most uncomfortable! Would have been nice if the hotel took this seriously and followed up to put our minds at ease.

    The hotel looked 5*. Staff were very accommodating. Hotel was peaceful and only a 10 minute drive from the city centre

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception area was a pleasure to be in. Staff extremely courteous, it smelt of flowers, free flavoured drinking water and it was a nicely decorated place to be.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    not close to the beach and walking to the beach is not simple through the suburbs. Taxi or bus is likely the best / only option. Must say that the swimming pool is not bad!

    Nice and clean with sized room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's far away from everything. The food in the snack bar is terrible and there's not much choice for food by the pool.

    The grand entrance. The hotel is very clean and the rooms are big. Good swimming pool. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a room for a family of 4 children's ages 8 and 10. When we arrived our room was a standard double and the children were expected to share a SINGLE campbed!! This is either down to booking.com or the Barcello but is totally unacceptable. The price was circa 380 euros for one night and the room was sold on ypur site to sleep us all. The hotel were able to change us to a junior suite, luckily they had space. As a loyal fan of booking.com i am now wary and reluctant to use you again!!

    Buffets very good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is far from beach and Puerto Banus nightlife

    Very comfortable stay in Marbella at Barcelo. Barcelo is a nice resort in the hills of Guadalmina Alta above the main tourist area of Puerto Banus and nearby beaches. The only bad thing is I needed to take a taxi EVERYWHERE! It's 10 minutes to Puerto Banus, and it's far from Old Town and 45 minutes from Malaga AGP airport...costs really added up. I recommend you take a city bus from airport to Marbella bus station for 6 Euros and then take a taxi from there to hotel for 18 Euros, versus the 70+ Euros directly from airport each way. The daily breakfast was complimentary and awesome! The double room I received was larger than I expected, but when requesting a double bed I got 2 twins put together. Bathroom is spacious with great shower, bathtub, toilet and bidet. I received a balcony with a view of nearby golf course and gardens. Late checkout costs 30 Euros until 3PM, however they seem to calculate it based on the time you actually checkout so ask in advance. I would stay again with family for a resort type of trip, but not as a traveler who likes to see the sights and enjoy the local culture.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the mini bar was empty, the phone was not working,, you need to have a car to be there otherwhise too far from averything

    The breakfast was superbe, the pool also was great, nice view in the room, the bathroom was incredible, the food was not that expensive but really good quality

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Club Premium Access (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We did upgrade to the 4th floor with some extra facilitates. Then we got free minibar, cakes, and some extra items in the room. That was nice. The adult pool included in the upgrade was little and with no wind because of the location. The hairdryer was the old type, a small one. In 4th floor, they should have better hairdryer, my wife with long hair was not happy. However the room was nice, big and clean. The staff was very nice. Possibility to park in a road close by for free, however often very full. They have parking at the hotel if wanted. Free bus to the beach was nice. Entertainment at the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing at all near the hotel to walk too, however a €5-7 taxi to San Pedro a lovely Spanish town with great bars and restaurants and €10-12 to Puerto Banus a lively port with great bars and restaurants too but drinks/food double the price.

    Great hotel, room spacious and very clean, excellent breakfast choice including omelette bar, lovely poolside area. If you like biking hire a bike in San Pedro and bike all along the promenade to Marbella passing through Puerto Banus on the way.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are abrupt and inconsistent. Fine one moment and then when busy the next, abrasive. Wouldn't return. Not much sound proofing - so can hear all the noises you might find in a hotel.

    Large rooms with view overlooking pool area. Had a leak with air conditioning which was fixed pretty quickly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to leave

    My suite was just how I like it...! Comfortable clean and very quiet. The restaurant provided a mouth watering breakfast, and the staff could not have been more helpful. I was sad to leave.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tea and coffee in the room would be nice but maybe that's just being picky and English!! Location is a but out of the way, supermarkets, shops etc. and 10-15 min walk into San Pedro which is fine for us but some people might not like. San Pedro is lovely though

    Huge rooms and beds Great gym Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our stay at the hotel was lovely. The hotel is clean, quiet, fresh. Breakfast was super. We all loved everything. If you are a golfer (which I am not) it looked awesome, plenty of golfers there. Our room had a cracking view of the golf course. Very relaxing. I went with friends, but I wold most certainly go with my family.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Club Premium Access (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast options could have been a little bit better, the spa should be open all the time and not just in certain months

    Loved the quietness of the hotel, the room I stayed in was amazing! Excellent staff, knowledgable of the area and where to go etc

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Room great suite for 3 people was perfect. Comfy bed and enough space in the 2 rooms and bathroom for 3 ladies! Late check out cost was good and the staff throughout were lovely.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The only fault I have is that my Two year old boy was able to open the bedroom door and run out to the lifts, which isn't safe, so I would suggest a latch/chain of some kind well above the door handle so that it can prevent the door opening fully. We put a buggy and chair up against the door so all was ok in the end.

    I really liked the bedroom, nice and spacious. The outside pool area was gorgeous. Breakfast was gorgeous

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The dinner buffet was good, but didn't offer vegetables other than potatoes. I wished for some variety. We got a discount if you pay at the desk, but then the waiter was confused about payment. There are no other places to eat nearby, unless you want to walk a distance, or drive. The bar was nice for drinks, but I don't recommend ordering food.

    Very good breakfast buffet with the option of having an omlette cooked for you. It was an easy walk into the town to find a little grocery store or pharmacy for forgotten items! We enjoyed the pretty landscape and view of the mountain in the distance, even though we weren't golfers, and then drove into Marbella to see the old city.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about the hotel! It was clean throughout. Rooms were spacious and kept to a high standard! I've stayed in hotels that were meant to be 5 star and Barcelo was far superior! Will definitely be coming back.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were upgraded to larger room. The bathroom with jacuzzi was something that we and our kids will never forget. Our 4y son is a type of extreme picky eater. In Barcelo Marbella even he was enjoying dinners thanks to wide choice of dishes offered and live cooking.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food at dinner could be better and restaurant very noisy when the hotel is full. Pity there's no shuttle to Puerto Banus and Marbella, even just once a day would have been nice.

    Very nice, large and clean room and bathroom. Taxiride to the centre of Puerto Banus only around 10€.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Club Premium Access (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better beds

    The beds we where so light and moved every time you turned over The air con wasn't working , the room safe was locked and our room wasn't cleaned for 1 night

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: