Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Barcelona City Centre Hostal 2 stars

Balmes, 60. Entresuelo., Eixample, 08007 Barcelona, Spain

#227 of 281 B&Bs and Inns in Barcelona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 286 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    6.7
    Barcelona, you amazes me every time!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Traffic sounds from the street and very loud visitors of the gay club just beneath during weekend nights. I have nothing against LGBTIQ people, but it was very drunkenness loud. The poor internet connection in the room.

    The location and very nice hosts.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Comfortable, city centre stay with a reasonably priced breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a problem getting into the building from the street on one occasion but fortunately someone came coming out was able to let us in. We think someone had locked it from the inside.

    Lovely staff. Easy to get around the city from the location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    5.0
    only the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    we walked to a different hotel to get the keys which we haven't informed before. we paid a tax which I also wasn't aware of that I should.

    only the location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.1
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room didn’t have a window! It had a door that opened on a terrace area that was at the base of the light well. The lack of natural light was a challenge for me.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    Location, staff are nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Said the room had a coffee machine in the description but this was not the case. AC did not warm the room much and we found hair in the shower.

    Location, staff are nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Very nice place in good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had only one small window which was not outside, so it was always dark in the room.

    Personnel was very kind and helpful. The location is great, close to the bus and metro stations.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.5
    I would not pick the hotel ever again if I drive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    they dont have a parking.It advertised to have a parking but they dont. In fact they offered me a parking which was situated the other side of the city and I supposed to pay 21 euro per day. I did not accept it. It caused me so much inconvenience.luckily I managed to park the car about six miles away but I had to drag the belonging back to the hotel. Also the reception is only open till 6 pm and as we arrived after 6 pm we had to go to aother hotel to pick up the key. totally unacceptable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    4.6
    Stay away from this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Were shall I start.....arrived 18:30 to find reception shut so we rang number given to which we were asked to collect key to room at another destination 15 mins walk away ( had parked car up and walked 10 minutes with luggage already) and then was told that I should have read small print saying the reception closed at 17:00, so I left my daughter and wife and all luggage on the door step in the middle of Barcelona and walked to collect key...I could go on and on but I will just let you know about breakfast which I had to clear the table for as the girl was to busy surfing the internet to even help, so I am sure you know I will not be returning, shame this place made our Barcelona stopover such a mess as the other 8 places we stayed were all outstanding but as they say there is always 1.

    Only good thing is that it is in the center

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    spotlessly clean, staff really helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    spotlessly clean, staff really helpful Would highly recommend this place, I will definitely be staying there again. Brilliant location for all the sights, restaurant and bars.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    7.1
    clean and quiet but overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast wasnt all that great, packaged "little debby" like pastries, toaster that didnt toast too dark, plates of cheese, ham brought in by the attendant who had a bad cold, and didnt speak or understand english too well,so you were kind of left on your own to figure what to do.... lastly their computer did not work at all.

    very quiet despite being in the city center. clean and had a window to an airshaft that had a tiled floor wich i went out and pretended it was a outdoor patio. had a refridgerator wich worked very well. great flatscreen tv

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    8.3
    Reasonably priced good place to stay in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I really minded not having a safety deposit box to use at this accommodation and some hooks on the main bedroom door would have been good (although there were some on the bathroom door).

    Was a modern looking place inside taking up a storey in an old building, was very quiet, clean and well decorated with air conditioning in our bedroom. The room was nice and bright and the bedding was white and of good quality with very comfortable cushions. Towels were provided. There was a good shower, a hairdryer provided and a shaving mirror. The room was ensuite and even had a cupboard with a few hangers. However, the best thing about this hostal was it's location - close to many fine eating places but we chose it because it was close to the tourist office at Placa de Catalunya and incidentally where the bus stops from the airport as well as being well placed for famous Gaudi landmarks on the housing side you can virtually walk to all the main sights in Barcelona from this location. Re nearby eating places a particularly fine one was one in Carrer del Consell de Cent between Carrer de Balmes and Rambla de Catalunya, it was a white stylish restaurant with wicker lampshades, large and gorgeous inside with absolutely delicious food, which was a sort of twist on normal tapas but very reasonably priced it was called something like La Laterna, or Laverna and always had Spanish people eating there. The salmon and advocado tapas, and meatball tapas and salad with mozorella cheese with tomatoes etc and sherry was also a winner. This place deserves more people. My friend told me not to be boring and eat out there every day but even she agreed nothing was as good as this place.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    7.1
    Great location, value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a sign asking people to respect their neighbours which a lot of the people staying there did not follow. Obviously we understand people are there for a good time but I think with there being no staff present off an evening some people took advantage! We wanted to be well rested on our holiday so we could fully experience all of Barcelona and because of the noise out of some people this was not totally possible.

    The location was great and the hostel had everything we needed. Breakfast would be put out every morning and we thought that was a really nice touch!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    4.6
    Barcelona merita una diversa accoglienza
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of the rooms and in the entire structure is awful. The breakfast is so sad and poor and expensive. You can have better at half price just outside.

    It is very close to Casa Batlo and the city center.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    It’s nice, clean and central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you come after 6pm you have to go to another hostel to check in. Then come back!

    It’s nice, clean and central

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.2
    Sweet and clean hotel with lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoking is not allowed.

    The staff was very kind. The room was very clean. Location is great. High recommendation.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    6.3
    The room was dark.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dark. Is not windowse in the room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.5
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room

    Receptionist very friendly, cooperative

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    10
    nice location nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    perfcet location clean and very friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    7.9
    It was really good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no hot water for a night and no good internet connection

    It was really good location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    7.5
    Good position, nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great position!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    10
    very accomodating, I highly recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing wrong

    Accomodating us with twin beds as requested

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    7.5
    The staff was helpful and room spacious.
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No receptionist in the evening

    The staff was helpful and room spacious..

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    7.1
    Breakfast and place for this.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast and place for this.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    4.6
    Not good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures and the reality of the facilities wasn't the same - not even close.

    We believe the staff tried their best.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    7.1
    The staff are friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wifi was too weak

    The staff are friendly

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    5.8
    Short stay only
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea and coffee facilities can only be made if the office was to get milk.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    10
    Efficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Efficient. Centric. Friendly staff. Clean and neat.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    4.2
    The room was dark and smelled of mold.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was dark and smelled of mold. The paint on some of the walls was darkened by humidity and peeling. The place was incredibly hard to find, and the stairwell was quite creepy. Staff was nice though -- I guess it's not their fault for the facilities. It would've scored higher had it not cost 67 Euros per night, for which amount I was expecting a lot more.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    6.7
    Excellent location, walking distance to the centre,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Having stayed there before, was disappointed with the standard, it had gone down, rooms could do with a good going over and a coat of paint !!

    Excellent location, walking distance to the centre, restaurants and clubs

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2015

    8.8
    Place for sleep!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Place for sleep! Good WiFi! Tasty breakfest coffee! Breakfast sufficient, but a small selection! City center! For 10* need litle room refreshment!

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    9.6
    Great location, quiet place, staff was very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location, quiet place, staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2016

    8.3
    All was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    All was great

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    5.8
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was small, bed uncomfortable and late check-in was difficult.

    Location was great.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2015

    4.2
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35

Browse Barcelona City Centre Hostal traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: