Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hipotels Barrosa Palace & Spa 5 stars

Urbanización Novo Sancti Petri, s/n Edificio 3, 11130 Novo Sancti Petri, Spain

#3 of 39 hotels in Novo Sancti Petri

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 401 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the water from the pool was quite cold considering that was the only pool where my 3 year old son was allowed to enter.

    excellent breakfast and a la carte restaurant!! the beach is fantastic!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    beds had plastic type cover under the sheets to protect them, the beds would be more comfortable without them

    Rooms were large, big bathroom and shower, great breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very attentive staff, reception, restaurant and bar. So friendly and relaxed. Restaurant was buffet, all fresh and good variety. We got room 368 , very quiet and top located. Balcony overlooked beach and beautiful sunset. Thank you so much and hope to see you again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child )
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The indoor pool is very small and rather cold. Bad experience with rude pool bar staff

    The closeness to the beaches, the quiet - the restaurant is great and the restaurant staff as well as reception staff are fantastic- the beach bar is also great - fantastic actually!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimmers cap is obligatory in the indoor pool and jacuzzi.

    Excellent hotel with helpful staff. Facilities are well kept. Rooms are very comfortable and clean. The spa is nice too. Great beach in front of the hotel with a convenient beach bar.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to report on this subject!

    Very nice hotel, pool and grounds nearby beautiful beach. Excellent breakfasts and attentive staff. Nice rooms and balcony area. Separate beach bar/restaurant short walk away also very good. Hope to return.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The menu at the beach bar was not the snack type selections you would ordinarily expect but more substantial, which meant eating at the pool side bar which did have those options. The hotel is opposite a shopping precinct which has some eating establishments. We had to go further afield to find better quality places to eat. But taxis are not expensive.

    The hotel met all our expectations. It was made particularly special because they gave us a free upgrade of room. We had the B&B option and the breakfast options were very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booked 2 rooms and requested that the rooms were close to one another. They couldn't have put us in further ends of the hotel. Hotel staff was not very accommodating to requests made. Hotel is more suited to Elderly guests. No young people seemed to stay at this hotel and was full of Elderly Guests mostly from Germany. Food at the pool side bar was AWFUL. a simple sandwich order was messed up 3 times. Air conditioning in my room was not working correctly and was boiling inside the room with 34 degrees outside. This hotel is overpriced for the level. Definitely has a long way to go from what i expect from 5*.

    Rooms were nice and spacious. Hotel was in a good location with a nice big pool. Spa was free and that was nice. Parking Was easy to find.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It is difficult to access this place, if you are on your own; the taxi from Jerez is around 75 Euros, and local transportation is rather complicated

    The place is excellent; close to the Ocean, where sunsets are so beautiful. Very clean, very well kept hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for a safe! This is a more sedate hotel suitable for older people. There are no organised activities like aquagym etc , but there is a mini club which is very quiet and out of sight. Not a place for teens!! The clientele are predominantly older German couples, with a few Spanish. The standard rooms were very standard, not really good enough for the price that you pay. All in all if you are looking for a very quiet week away this will work for you !

    Beach was fantastic, though you pay forthe beds. Buffet was excellent. Staff were super friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firstly bear in mind that I was the ONLY Brit in the hotel!! Germans, Dutch snd Spanish. So if you want to meet fellow countrymen forget this place! We like quite hard beds but theirs were VERY hard. Had to pay for umbrellas on the beach, to park the car in the garage, and the safe!! Never paid for a safe before🙄. This isnt a cheap hotel, but for a very quiet and relaxing holiday it does the job. I would say it is perfect gor older people rather than young- not for teenagers as it is quite sedate. Only long trousers at dinner etc make for a very civilized bunch, but lively isnt on the menu!! They really must address the issue of towels hogging the loungers- it was ridiculous!!

    The location is fantastic! Amazing beach, out of the way of crowds. We are not fans of buffets, but this is the best we have come across to date! Staff were super efficient and friendly. Pool never seemed crowded, though most of the beds were taken by phantom towel owners😡 Have to say that the beach was fantastic. Clean and miles long with lovely clean water.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Considering the high risk of strong winds, there should be much more possibilities for shadow around the pool since one can not open the parasols when it is windy. Several people left the pool area to find shadow inside, which is really a pity.

    Coming to this hotel is like coming home. We enjoy everything: the staff, the food, the surroundings, the spacious and very comfortable room... This time it was summerseason, and the pool is excelently maintained, big, and very clean. A big plus was the new bar/restauramt at the beach, perfect for sunsets and cocktails.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 19 nights

    Absolutely nothing. I am very familiar with the area and what is available. This hotel is way above high averages for this area.

    personnel were very friendly and ready to assist in any way to make your stay more enjoyable. Food was of excellent quality and sufficient quantity. Facilities were in good condition and in very good shape.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the ramps for wheelchairs are difficult to use. The bathroom for handicaps are not fully adapted.

    The attention of the staff and the quality of the food

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    .Amazing staff -the best I have ever encountered. Spacious comfortable public areas and guest rooms.Fabulous location and the beach bar is wonderful, Great facilities.superb buffet breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service throughout

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    WE WERE NOT IMPRESSED WITH THE BUFFET.

    Nearly everything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No staff spoke English Food was horrible Beds terrible

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tha Location, Tranquility and the Expeirence. Adding to that the layout of the buffet was lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child )
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Proximity to a wonderful beach - fabulous walk-ing facility steps from the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Excellent room and amenities (spa and pool). Buffet dinner was excellent with a wide choice (Euros 23.50)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large structure not a 5 star in anyway

    Breakfast was good and various

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fabulous hotel and fabulous location 😀

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mouse in morning of furniture being pulled across rooms above mine Very disturbing and lasted 2 hours

    Everything was good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child )
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea facilities in the room would be ideal

    Wine at reception, smoothies at breakfast and staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 15 nights

    Excellent delicious buffet each evening and lovely breakfast, helpful and charming staff, wonderful location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No entertainment

    Swimming pool very clean...... Rooms nice and comfy ... Food very good and chiringuito excellent .

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location pool and proxemity to beach

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Occasionally the staff at breakfast were not very attentive or not attentive at all in some cases. Overall we loved the staff.

    Excellent

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The beds were very hard! Maybe the hotel could provide better services on the beach area near the hotel.

    The pool area & Spa was lovely & staff were very helpful & friendly.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel has all the facilities you may expect from a 5-star hotel - easy boardwalk to the beach, indoor pool, spacious room with a separate sitting area, excellent breakfast and dinner buffet. What sets it apart is the service from the staff - absolutely every single member can find a greeting with a smile, every time!

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing - maybe one very small detail, the bath towels were thin and probably it is time to replace them all.

    Fabulous buffet with a huge variety of foods to choose from. Very comfortable quiet room with large balcony and view of the sea and gardens, we were upgraded to a junior suite as it was a special birthday. Excellent staff, friendly and efficient. Beautifully kept gardens, and hotel in superb position on Barrosa Beach.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff kindness and helpful is just outstanding. In my opinion, better than other famous Spanish brand hotels. Beach facilities and access better than closer hotels (from experience)

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The wifi needs improving it offered a very poor signal generally. A business option should be made available for those who want faster wifi with a small daily charge.

    The staff were superb and so helpful. Nothing was too much trouble.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I booked a double room, as we are a couple on a romantic break. when we arrived, which was late and we were feeling unwell, as we booked last minute, the beds had been made up as 2 singles, when I complained I was told that is how they are and to complain to Booking.com. which was not my Idea of dealing with the problem, we were a couple on a romantic break, we pushed the beds together, but they were made up as single beds so the sheets did not fit.

    The location was amazing, the breakfast was the best I've seen around the world.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were informed that we would be allocated a table, which we would have to keep for the entire stay. The first table given was ridiculously close to the next 2 tables. When we asked to change the following night, we were given a table right in the sun so had to eat an hour later than usual due to strong evening sunshine. This is ridiculous for a 5 * hotel

    The food- great standard and variety in the buffet

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The fact that we were not able to get breakfast on Sunday morning early enough to make the Moto GP in Jerez. Had to go to the next door hotel.

    The facilities, the pool area and the room

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff didn't really speak English but mainly German and we felt a little bit apart. Umbrellas and sun bed were to be paid extra.

    very good care of babies and preparation of daily food for them. food buffet very rich and big variety and changes daily juinior suite spacious and excellent sea view

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very tough to find any area for improvement.... The only disadvantage of the quiet location at the Barrosa beach is the fairly long drive to get on the highway; this might be a factor to take into account if your first purpose is to travel around in the Jerez-Cadiz area.

    Location is excellent and quiet; Very nice room with sea and dunes view, excellent breakfast and also a-la-carte restaurant is to be recommended. Barrosa beach is amazing, we will remember the long walks on the endless beach forever...

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic breakfast. Very clean hotel.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Massive hotel, with somewhat strange design elements.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful location on lovely beach and gorgeous grounds.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Never have.If we had, we every would not have returned ev.ry year since 2000

    The rooms. staff and the choice of food is excellent.

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Guests also reviewed these properties: