Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostal Bavieca 2 stars

Campo de S. Nicolás 6, 42240 Medinaceli, Spain

#2 of 8 hotels in Medinaceli

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 648 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Stay & enjoy this wonderful Spanish town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the restaurant attached to our hotel was closed for the night. Not really a problem.

    This hotel is situated high up in the village of Medinaceli. The views alone are worth the stay. I would also advise the short walk into the town square. A little gem. All the bars & restaurants in the town offered quality food and drink.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    Copious breakfast at the terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Copious breakfast at the terrace. Perfect location for a walk in Medinaceli. Host Sonia was all the time very attentive and friendly and helped us to find our way in Medinaceli. Very clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location. We booked in for two nights and we're told that dinner was included in the price, a surprise but not a problem. The restaurant is mentioned in the Michelin guide as a restaurant with rooms, a very accurate description. Dinner on both nights was excellent , would certainly recommend dining there. Breakfast was limited continental but fresh and good quality. Clean and comfortable beds but bathroom was in need of some repair work to the fixtures! Plenty of parking available (visited early June)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Clean, quite, comfortable, and great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My only recommendation would be for the hotel to provide a rack, even a folding rack, on which to place a suitcase. Even though there is plenty of hanging space and drawers, I'm not inclined to unpack my suitcase for a stay of only two nights. That said, I would happily spend a week at Hostal Bavieca.

    The hotel is in a very pleasant and extremely quiet location. Breakfast is varied and ample. They were happy to accommodate my request for scrambled eggs rather than fried eggs. The ambiance of the restaurant is pleasant and calm. The food is excellent and beautifully presented. The "menú del día" is a superb bargain.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    A little gem in the middle of nowhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The location is unbelievable. The property is totally unexpected for a "Hostal" The staff were brilliant, despite the language barrier - that's our fault not theirs. Dinner was very good and breakfast much more than expected. Definitely one to return to.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    One of the best I have stayed at this trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the best I have stayed at this trip. Very comfortable bed. Good breakfast. Great value. I went for the half board option and the evening meal was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    Awesome. 100% perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!!! Everything was perfect

    This place is amazing. The staff are really friendly welcoming and accommodating. Even though we arrived late 10.45pm the owner Mario had kept the chef here to cook our dinner which was absolutely delicious. We have eaten a wonderful meal here before in May this year and that is the main reason that we came back to stay. Our room is lovely with a double bed and lots of room. A smart TV and lots of lovely finishes. The WiFi is brilliant I could even watch film on on my tablet IF I wanted to. Although we did listen to the news this morning while we were showering etc. The breakfast too is outstanding. We are sad that we didn't have time to spend a couple of days here but we will be back very soon. Thank you very much Mario and your fantastic staff. Don and Susan Foster

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.2
    Lovely old stone-built hotel with a great restaurant and good value breakfast in a superb village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not sure there's enough parking for all the rooms but we were able to park right outside.

    Lovely old stone-built hotel in a beautiful village set high on top of a hillside with stunning views. Great restaurant and good value breakfast. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    Really enjoyed our stay here in this small town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really enjoyed our stay here in this small town. We were greeted well. We had dinner at the Hostal of local food and drink and really enjoyed it. I would stay again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic place to visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being isolated at the top of a big 'hill'-- you soon realise that prices are going to be high for tourists which proved true:- however this small unique place needs to be supported to help the community to survive--- I recommend you visit.

    Simply the most unique place to visit--- well worthwhile

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful food and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room quite small, air conditioning didn't work very well.

    Beautiful location in the walled city of Medinaceli. The food was wonderful, worth having dinner here too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    9.6
    Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean comfortable and excellent value for money. Well equipped rooms. Friendly and welcoming staff. Good and inexpensive evening meal which included good wine and coffee. Very good breakfast which included a hot dish. The beautiful village was an added bonus on this overnight stop which is convenient for the motorway.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.5
    Recomendado
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    La decoración

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    A visit to an ancient village with 21st century convenience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent beds, considerate staff, good food in a 2000 year old village with lots of history

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    friendly , helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    friendly , helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.6
    Great experience at a good price
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful value half board, great food and staff who were pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Estupenda
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Todo en general

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Best hill top village hideaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spotlessly clean and friendly helpful staff combined with excellent food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.6
    Unique location in a historical village.
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unique location in a historical village. Polite and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Extremely pleasant and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    none

    Extremely pleasant and helpful staff. Great breakfast with fresh local products. Free parking nearby.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    faltava ascensr¡or
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    faltava ascensr¡or

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Quality hotel offering great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff. No issues about storing my bicycle. I also had lunch in the restaurant, which was outstanding.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.6
    No answer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No answer

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.2
    Great stay
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous food and nice room with great view. Excellent value

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Wonderful Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gracious owner and staff, and quiet clean comfortable facilities ensured a delightful stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.2
    Very good up to date hotel ; a nice host,. Mario, and excellent food ; breakfast and dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A very good host ; Mario. Excellent breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.6
    Just wonderful
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    9.2
    SOMETIMES YOU FIND A GEM.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NOTHING

    EVERTHING WAS EXCELLENT, GOOD STAFF, GOOD FOOD ,IN A LOVELY INN, THE VILLAGE HAS A VERY INTERESTING HISTORY, WITH LOVELY ANCIENT BUILDINGS.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    Evening meal good and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Evening meal served before 9.00pm

    Evening meal good and friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    7.5
    Bacon and eggs for breakfast was a treat for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower screen

    Bacon and eggs for breakfast was a treat for us

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    9.6
    A very pleasant surprise
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loading up my motorbike, carrying all my gear downstairs!

    Excellent service and food.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    9.6
    Spot on.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike

    Spot on. We missed dinner one of the nights (included in the price) so were offered lunch instead the next day. They didn't have to do that ?

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    9.6
    The reception staff member spoke good English & was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was a very strong smell of air freshener in the room.

    The reception staff member spoke good English & was welcoming & helpful. The wifi connection was good. The breakfast provided was excellent with quality coffee, eggs & fresh orange juice. Free parking is available out front.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    9.2
    Totally fabulous stay in this amazing property in this even...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Walls are a little thin between the rooms..very quiet location but we could hear the guests next door part the way through the night!

    Totally fabulous stay in this amazing property in this even more amazing village! Great room...really lovely restaurant with great local food (though it doesn't open until 9pm! ) A great random find!

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    10
    Excellent restaurant and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent restaurant and location

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    10
    Lovely hotel serving delicious food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely hotel serving delicious food. very interesting village

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    8.3
    La habitación era confortable y el restaurante estupendo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    La habitación era confortable y el restaurante estupendo

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    9.2
    The warm welcome from Mario.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The warm welcome from Mario. The view and the Eagles swooping. Really good dinner and lovely wine. Surprise egg and bacon for breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    10
    Relaxing, beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing.

    Relaxing, beautiful location.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    9.2
    The location is fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The air con broke while we were there.

    The location is fantastic

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    9.6
    Most everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The walls were thin and I had to bang a couple of times when were going to sleep. I think it was the owners apartment.

    Most everything

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    10
    Nice quiet hotel in the old city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice quiet hotel in the old city. Great view, excellent breakfast, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    7.5
    Mario the innkeeper is wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beds in our room were horrible.

    Mario the innkeeper is wonderful. His restaurant chef is first rate. Very charming place.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    8.8
    Well appointed with some very interesting local area...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Well appointed with some very interesting local area historic sights. Generally a very pleasant experience.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Everything

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Guests also reviewed these properties: