Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Be Live Adults Only La Cala Boutique Hotel 4 stars

Gavina, 4, Cala Major, 07015 Palma de Mallorca, Spain

#63 of 73 hotels in Palma de Mallorca

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 129 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff. Everything was very clean. We will come again. Very good breakfast. Special Thanks to the nice nighty who checked us in. And even late checkout for 1 hour was no problem.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All 6 groups we were travelling with had to upgrade (at extra 20 euros per night) their rooms due to the noise out the front of the hotel, sadly this was joined by the building work out the back & at breakfast (drilling etc!). the room was so small we had to put the desk seat outside on the balcony to squeeze in our two cases! There was also no space to hang anything & we had two single beds pushed together rather than a double. The restaurant for lunch was good although out of the 7 items 3 were unavailable more than once.

    Beach front location & nice bar area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When booking a superior double room through Bookings.com, I requested a quiet room because reviews said that the ground floor was very noisy. I never heard from the hotel despite sending another message 2 days before arriving. We arrived at the Be Live Adults Only La Cala Boutique very late and was greeted by an intense man. He did not inform us about the safe instructions nor WIFI access code. When we got to the room on the 2nd floor, the toilet door was broken which was a bit unfortunate because it is the only door in the bathroom. The next morning, we were woken by immense noise outside and it transpired that the room was just above a delivery bay to the hotel. Also, we discovered that the toilet window did not work and all the amenities were empty. Monica, the lovely receptionist, was very sweet and handled the situation well because we wanted to move room or leave the hotel. For a small extra charge, we were upgraded to a superior double room (2215) with sea view – also on the 2nd floor. Bathroom very small and open. Room 2215 only had 1 double cupboard and no drawers. Curtains smelled dusty. Strange smell from aircon. Cleaning lady folded and hung our wet towels everyday which made them impossible to dry. The pods for the Nespresso machine and the tea bags are not replenished and can be purchased at extra costs. There was no communication about this in the room. Bring your own repellent for possible mosquitoes in the room. The Marivent sells repellent for €15 for a bottle. All in all, I think this hotel has great potential to improve and be a real jewel however it should be transparent from their website which rooms, such like 2219, are noisy from either daily deliveries or workmen in the hotel. Also little things such as better information about coffee/the replenishment, safe information, WIFI and size of bathroom.

    The hotel is in an excellent location right on the beach and fairly close to Palma by taxi (10 minutes) and airport (15 minutes) Stunning views from superior double room with sea view. When booking, I would advise to get a room on the second floor or above with sea view. The bed was comfortable however not very romantic with 2 singles pushed together moving apart during the night. Very clean room but a little tired looking with repaired holes in the wall. A nice touch is the large free bottle of water provided every day in the room. Good walks to either Club de Mar, Palma (50 minutes) or Calanova. The staff are excellent, friendly and helpful, apart from the intense man who greeted us upon arrival. The breakfast is fabulous with nothing to fault. The pool and direct access to beach is equally fabulous. Drinks at the Masai are fantastic thanks to superb views over the ocean and great service from Gian Franco. Make sure you try the tuna for dinner. It is utterly delicious. Avoid the lamb ribs because they are tasteless with no meat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The men working in the reception were not nice. They looked like they hated their job, no smile and just looked at the computer not eager to help. The women working there were ok. There was Three men working at my stay. None of them were nice. The hotel should give them another job. If you can not give service and smile- you should not work in a reception.

    Perfect location. Beutiful view over the osean. Nice spa. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The netpresso pods were not replaced, they were apparently available to purchase at reception and although this was fine it wasn't made clear.

    Loved the room Bed was very comfy with nice linens Liked the funky bed side lights and the blue tooth speaker tower Netpresso machine was a nice touch And the mini bar had a great selection of drinks and was a nice surprise

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise, unable to relax due to building works ongoing all day. We were not informed of any upgrades at times of booking or from update after booking.

    Comfy bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were NOT in our booked hotel but in the neighbouring HOTEL MARIVENT owned by the same group.A much larger hotel but of a similar standard. We were NOT advised until arrival. Unsatisfactory.

    Meals good. Staff helpful. Location and ease of transport into Palma excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As a couples should one double bed but to put two single bed so it was awfuly because we can't sleep on single bed even you put togehter but still separate.

    The breakfast diner variety

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was very big, which was super cool for a single person but the smell in the room and the bathroom was disgusting even after cleaning the smell was still there.. would book again but not book a room at the ground floor very loud in the morning - because office and cleaning room was next to my room and it was very dark inside the room

    Breakfast was great - a lot of fresh juices and vegan food very healthy food Restaurant very nice and very good to eat at The view from the restaurant and the pool is outstanding private beach

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had booked a Superior Double Room with SEA VIEW. On entering the room I was shocked to find that the SEA VIEW was totally blocked by a tree growing in restaurant below. I had to stand on my toes to get a glimpse of the sea and I am 6 feet tall. I felt totally cheated. I would advice no one to book these rooms as all rooms face this problem. Further the electrical fuse kept tripping all the time and we had to go without current for most of the night. Coffee maker is provided but of no use due to non availability of electricity. When I called up the reception at night and complained I was told that as the technician would come only in the morning he could do nothing. When I asked what I should do about coffee I was told that the breakfast room would open at 7 and I could get it then. As if I was not aware of that. Therefore, notwithstanding other plus points my stay was disappointing. DONT BOOK THIS CLASS OF ROOM IN THE MAIN BUILDING.

    Property is well situated and easily accessible.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Sense last year, the Hotel has changed a lot of the staff Part of the staff didn't like their job and the season has just started ? it will be a long season for these peorple. The reception was very kind and helpful.

    The location is perfect , very nice beach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No double bed even if when we've made the reservation that was proposed Bathrooms too small The beach accommodations aren't linked to the hotel and you need to pay for it

    Nice breakfast with beach view

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner at Marivent was quite modest. Limited options. Breakfast at La cala was much better. The water in the Pools were as cold as the sea which was very dissapointing.

    Excellent rooms. Very comfy beds. Easy access to lovely beach. Staff was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet was tiny and the bathroom (toilet, shower and sink area) open to the bedroom. The toilet door wouldn't close seamlessly but leave an almost 1cm slit open... The water faucet wasn't working smoothly and water would spill everywhere when turned on. Water would not drain off well in the sink. The safe was broken.

    The sea view was great, the restaurant and bar (Masai) were fabulous, both food and waiters/service clearly a highlight. Beach access from the hotel. The beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is 'open' (glass shower), so no door leading into shower and sink area. There is a frosted glass sliding door where toilet is, but I was traveling with my friend and it made it a bit uncomfortable with the bathroom situation.

    Recieved glass of champagne upon arrival which made it extra special. All personnel very attentive and helpful; even our bartender/waiter gave recommendations of beaches on the island, how to get there, drew map,etc. Also, breakfast buffet was outstanding, so many choices, including gluten free, yummy fresh juices like 'detox' green juice, and even sparkling wine. Beautiful view of the sea at restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is quite close to Palma, but it's still half an hour on a bus. Although there are a few restaurants close by, there is no nice walking area, and no possibility to take a walk or run next to the ocean.

    Excellent breakfast buffee, fantastic to have it outside looking out at the ocean. Really good coffee. Very nice beach, although small.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    a kettle in the room to make tea or coffee in the room would be nice , not everyone likes coffee .and there was only a machine to make coffee and you had to pay for the coffee pods after the first day .not good .the lift is way too small for more than one person even without luggage

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    value for money was not totally satisfying, we found it a little bit overpriced

    supergood breakfast, friendly staff, the pool area and that you're just one step from the beach, view from the restaurant and breakfast terrace, conveniently situated, bus stop to Palma just outside the hotel, booking of a rental car by the hotel staff was very handy

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location excellent food excellent staff helpful enjoyed my holiday

    The room was good but the first room not acceptable had bars on the window lumpy bed disabled room not good value for money but staff sorted out a better room the next morning

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When we got into the room the room was dirty. The way this was dealt with was actually quite poor. Management had to come down to see the room to be able to get an apology for the state of the room and for the behavior of the staff up to that point. After 30 mins a cleaner came to clean the room again but it was extremely disappointing to have to deal with this in the first place. Also disappointing that nothing was offered as an apology after being treated not in a nice way at all just by stating the fact that the room was not cleaned prior to our entry. Making our holiday have to start off with a sour note. Shame as if this had not happened I would have offered a 10/10.

    Went with one friend for 3 nights. Beach of the hotel was great. Illetas only a 10 min bus drive away, do make sure you add illetas and playa conseta to your plans. Hotel restaurant and cafes by the hotel beach are all great. Staff are very knowledgeable and willing to recommend where to eat and to visit! Overall a great place to stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For some reason because I was only travelling alone, they put me in a single room with a single bed. I was paying 135 euros for the night and I found it a rip-off and really deceptive from when I booked it. The pools were really small and the website made it look like a lovely hotel but I found it basic.

    The set up of being on the beach was handy.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Hotel was overbooked for the first night and 4 guests out of the 6 were re-located in Palma. The hotel and staff were very friendly during the remainder of the stay but due to the initial issue was a disappointing to start to the holiday in this way.

    Friendly and helpful reception staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe upgrade the gym

    We love children but for parents with grownup kids this is paradise with "adult only". Smooth and cool feeling with a top class breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was not very good. Smell of sewage.

    On the beach!! Unique pol bar area. Convenient to little stores and places to get quick bites to eat.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ideally located in small cove, the beach was perfect. view from hotel room was gorgeous.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was beautiful and all the staff were lovely and helpful. Great location only 5 minute drive to Palma and the food provided was amazing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely room and right on the beach!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was Excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe they must replenish supplies after one day. It's unrealistic for someone use the same supplies for 3 days.

    Great location and helpful stuff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money in the restaurant

    Fantastic sea view

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Extracharges of internet, access of PC's, ground-floor rooms smell very bad. Extracost for individual occupancy in double room??

    Location. Breakfest.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It was like gods waiting room! Full of very old Germans! Even got asked not to play bat and ball on the pool as it was to noisey, fight for sun beds and brolly!

    Location of hotel in the sea front, God food!

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tatty hotel, air con poor in 30c heat. Staff indifferent/rude. Charges for every extra, rubbish in pool, noisy staff from 5am, smell of sewers and rubbish.

    Comfy bed, near nice beach.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I don't like being charged for use of the safe in the room and for internet service. At the rates charged by this hotel, these items should be included. If the hotel was not on the beach, there is nothing else about it that would warrant a return visit.

    It has a great beach location

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor breakfast, poor quality of products, artificial juices etc. Paid wifi - 10 euro a day!!! Paid sun chair at the beach - 8 euro per day!!! While we paid 135 euro per night at this hotel!!

    Close to Palma

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was spacious, clean, well-equipped, well located, staff were excellent, breakfast times good and food good, pool area spacious and clean. I will returning here.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was given a double room at the ground floor, close to the reception area with a disable toilets. I did not request this and on top of that you can hear the lounge music and the telephone ringing all the time. I the end I was given a single room - that I booked- just because I've been lucky that there was one available. They still charge a fortune for the wifi that is quite annoying.

    It right on the Cala Major beach, which is very good. There is a lovely terrace with the sea view. The staff was nice and helpful. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There's no minibar

    By the sea, best view.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bar, breakfast, tbe pool,and the location.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everything was very bad . short- haired woman at the front desk was very rude. bad food . the rooms are dirty

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lesbian conference on at same time

    Overall atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    paid wi fi

    mostly all

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No free wi fi and poor English speaking TV channels

    The staff couldn't do enough for us.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location was fantastic, very helpful staff, would definitely go back.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Was our honey moon,and they surprised us with champagne and they made a heart shape with flowers and chocolate

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Browse Be Live Adults Only La Cala Boutique Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: