Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Begoña 3 stars

Avenida de la Costa, 44, 33205 Gijón, Spain

#39 of 44 hotels in Gijón

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1271 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The room was very cute and quaint, and felt quite cozy. In addition, the staff were extremely friendly and happy to answer simple questions about Gijón. Since I preferred to learn by exploring, it was very nice to know I was coming back to a clean room at the end of the day, or even just if I needed to lay down and recharge for a half hour after lunch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room smelt musty. The first floor is noisy at the front. Get a room at the back but make sure it is not one of the smaller ones. Beds are not very good.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The whole hotel could do with a good refurbishing: beds and pillows, towels, etc. ; better breakfast choices (and fresher), and better soundproofing in the rooms.

    The waiter at the cafeteria was really nice and prompt. The location of the hotel is perfect for pottering around Gijón at leisure and shopping.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The main problem with the hotel was the fact that we could hear the person next door to us being sick during the night. Walls were obviously very thin. Maybe being on the top floor the rooms are not as good?

    The location was really central.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had too much furniture No air-con and overall too dated major issue for us way to much noice from road traffic and paper thin walls therefore we had noice from all directions and blaring TV from next door till am.

    Location Restaurant Breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole Hotel was totally outdated with all the facilities in need of upgrading Breakfast was totally befreit of any quality or selection, with the coffee being the only item that could be considered acceptable. Take this hotel of your website! Robert Seed

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor in the room is very slippery! It's easy to fall down.

    The room we got was facing the patio so it was really quite. The staff was really friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could hear everything from the room next door including snoring as loud as if the person was in my room. Plus staff didn't have much time for me. Old out of date hotel.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old building from the 60's charmless and apparently wihtout any capex since then... Bathroom was very old (the tap was half broken, poor quality plastic shower head, old shower curtain, etc. Very poor sound insulation: - We heard very loud noise, probably washing machines, in our room both days from 8am!!! - We could also hear noise from the street and people/tv in the other rooms Only one very slow lift... we were on the 5th floor and had to wait for ages for the lift

    Rather clean, 24h reception

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too noisey. Right on a bus stop. Had to leave window open overnight because there was no air conditioning. No fans. No functioning TV because for some obscure reason you had to log on to use it. Tired old decor. Verging on grumpy staff on arrival. Too busy on a computer to acknowledge our arrival.

    Great location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room was too noisy, facicing to an interior patio with the airconditioner and other motors from the kitchen. The staff was not very nice either.

    The location was very good

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we first entered our room it was very hot and there was no air conditioning. It was a relatively cool day outside (23 degrees Celsius) but the sun was streaming into the room and we were sweating the moment we entered. The hotel is very old fashioned and needs a coat of paint, new carpets, and some new bedding. The receptionist at check-out was quite unfriendly and definitely didn't leave us wanting to return. Parking was very tight and small. It was a two person job squeezing the car into the carpark, and we were actually surprised it didn't get scratched while parked down there as cars were so close together. The walls were like paper. We could hear everything from the surrounding rooms - conversations, tv, arguments... The lift was so slow it was usually more than twice as fast to take the stairs (4 floors!) and they only have one lift for such a huge hotel. The whole hotel smelled like cigarette smoke. Wifi was so slow it was essentially useless. Deeply religious symbols around the hotel made us feel uncomfortable as atheists.

    The location was good. If the hotel had a revamp it could be very nice. Our room was sunny and bright during the day. It was clean enough.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car park was difficult to enter and exit, very small spaces. Decor dated but not an issue. Although we didn't need it at the time, there was no air-con as far as I could see which might be an issue in the heat.

    Staff very friendly and helpful, good central location. Welcome drink of famous Gijon cider was a very nice touch.

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The traffic noisef from early in the morning was terrible

    Lovely room and facilities if a little dated

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were older than my grandma

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is in need of renovation.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Window With view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy in the morning

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit difficult way to the parking house.

    Friendly staff. City center is within walking distance

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower Holder needs fixing

    Location was excellent,

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paper thin walls!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel needs an update.

    Good location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelly carpet on landing.

    Superb location. Very nice staff and delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little dated, rooms were a little tierd

    Good location, helpful staff, clean and comfortable

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price

    Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should have been advised car park not high enough for our vehicle, struggle in and especially out!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    INTERNET NEEDS UPDATING

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy, internally and externally

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    All the furniture was really old 1970s, the shower in the bathroom was not good (it should not be call 3 stars...). I think it's the noisiest Hotel I have visited. Road noise, noise in the hallways, in the adjoining rooms ... at all times ... difficult to rest. It needs a good renovation.

    good position

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I had ordered one double bed, but there were 2 single beads aside. The shower in the bathroom was not good

    I liked the underground parking, even if it was difficult to find the way by car to the entrance.

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I found my room a little noisy with buses etc. on the road outside.

    Good central location.Room was a good size. Good bakeries and stores nearby. Close to the central bus depot and a laundromat!

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Post code was hard to find using Garmin, but a doddle with iPhone maps!!

    All of it lively staff making your stay memorable. The rooms were comfortable and the hotel was close to the twin park where there were lots of nice restaurants. Would stay again

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The reception ladies were unhelpful and rude. No aircon and pull de sighs facelift. The top floor rooms were extremely hot

    The male staff in the restaurant were extremely helpful despite our lack of Spanish. Locations the centre of the city was good

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    The decor is rather dated, but - as mentioned - it actually was interesting and not bad as such! The lift was very slow and not quite reliable. Breakfast not impressive, but good it's available all the same.

    The location was fantastic The staff was helpful and patient (!) throughout, at any stage of day or night. The room was spacious and the bed comfortable Decor - was dated, but it nearly felt like travelling back in time to 70s! :) In a very peculiar way, we all liked it.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Rooms on the small side

    Central location, clean & comfy room

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi was poor

    Very clean. Good location. Staff helpful.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very large impersonal hotel, with a lobby so small that it overflowed, which led to grumpy staff

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Rooms at front of Hotel on lower floors can be a bit noisey..

    Clean rooms helpful staff and good Breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    too big lot of noise no air conditioning

    central location

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    All the furniture was really old 1970s. (For me it should not be call 3 stars more similar to 2 stars)

    Nice Location in the center of the city.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40

Browse Hotel Begoña traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: