Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostal Benamar

San Mateo, 20, 2º piso, Madrid City Centre, 28004 Madrid, Spain

#28 of 372 B&Bs and Inns in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 385 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location and value for money, spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff, brilliant location and the room was bigger than expected - bigger than the pictures. Not one of those hostel rooms where there’s only room for the bed - there was space for the little one to play on the floor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very nice, even though we arrived at midnight😀 spotless clean, quiet street , 3 min from the metro station and 20 from the central landmarks. The room was cleaned each day , definitely recommened it

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Sleep here and spend your time nearby - you won't regret it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in was easy, check-out - even easier and that gentleman who welcomed us - I would certainly have a cerveza or two with him, if only I spoke Spanish... :-) I recommend having a breakfast in Xanacuk, as it's quite near and offers delicious sandwiches and cereals.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    9.6
    Excellent base to explore Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location in the heart of Malasaña. The room was simple, but really new, clean and silent. The shower worked great. And the price was reasonable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    This is a very comfortable place to stay in a wonderful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought everything was beyond my expectations. Thank you!

    Very nice location, very convenient. Very comfortable, clean rooms. Very kind and helpful manager. This is our second time to stay here, and we already have reservations to stay again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    10
    Good quality for a good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location: in a quite street close to the main streets and sights. One can get everywhere by feet. Very hospitable owner. Very good value for a very good price.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.6
    It was a nice place to stay, basic but well worth the money it was good value and very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All the stairs up to our floor.

    I liked the Hotel because it was near to the centre, easy to get to the Metro. The owner was very nice and friendly, always chatted. It was a real nice Hotel and I would go here again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    excellent place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing. we were happy with our stay there. and we did know that there is no elevator, so we were not surprised.

    an excellent room - very quiet, clean, and comfortable. great value for money! ask for an inward-facing room - they are quieter than street-facing ones. and we got twin beds, as requested (in many other places we still got a double despite our request). there was a minifridge in the room. nice bonus - Romanticism Museum is right across the street - definitely worth a visit!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    9.2
    Since the window of the room I was staying was always locked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Since the window of the room I was staying was always locked, the air was not so good in the room with many people living in. Other than that the place was cool and the people working there was very helpful!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    10
    We enjoyed it so much and the value is so good that we are going back when we return in a few weeks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better signage as the place is a little hard to find and it was a little noisy but probably not noisy at all by Spanish standards.

    Great location, the owner is friendly and helpful, very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    10
    Just renewed hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    none

    Just renewed hotel. Everything is new and clean. the room was big and comfortable. Well located 2 min from metro Tribunal and 10 min from city center. gran especial gracias a el propietario para el cuidado de nosotros

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    9.6
    - The manager was super friendly and was always happy to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - We knew before we booked so this was ok, but there are no elevators in the building and the rooms are on the 2nd/3rd floors.

    - The manager was super friendly and was always happy to answer any questions or comply with our requests. - The room was better than expected - really spacious with a great, modern bathroom. - The hostel's located very close to the centre. We reached most of the attractions on foot. All in all a great stay, thank you!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    8.8
    Good location, clean, friendly but thin walls.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very thin walls!! I could hear people in the next room and the reception (my room was next to the reception) as if they were in my room. At night it was quiet enough to sleep. The hotel is on the second floor of a building and there is no elevator.

    Great location, nice staff, clean, good value for Money. Overall I would recommend it and come back.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    8.8
    Nice, clean and a good location. Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was as promised.

    Nice and clean room, great location in a lively neighbourhood but on a quiet street, just opposite the Museo Romanticismo. Fresh towels and sheets every day. Fridge in the room and the little balcony facing the street was a pleasant surprise.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    Super clean accommodation in great location
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything.

    Very clean bathroom and bedroom. Great location. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.8
    Room with a view jn Central Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisey at night; Didn't realise it was Saturday Night Party Central area too

    Great location, cosy beds, helpful Owner / Manager

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    7.9
    Very good for a couple nights, if you wanna stay in the centre and wanna go out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator, simple room

    Good location, good wifi, comfortable bed, clean room, view to rhe street

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.9
    Museum romantismo is in front of hostal, also good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Museum romantismo is in front of hostal, also good location. Stuff was kidness.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    9.2
    The whole establishment is well cared for and scrupulously clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing needs improving

    The owner is so helpful and welcoming, just as he was the first time I met him

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    -
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    -

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.1
    Friendly staff in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive for the quality of the room !

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.2
    Helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Helpful staff. Good location, Minifridge in the room. Clean. Well working air-con. They stored our baggage for a half-day more after check-out.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.8
    The housekeepers are very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The housekeepers are very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.6
    Well maintained hostal right in the centre of Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Simple but well maintained hostal right in the centre of Madrid Nice and helpfull staff Excellent value for money

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    8.8
    Great location at an affordable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    9.2
    totaly new accomodation, clean, good location, perfect staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bed could be more comfortable

    totaly new accomodation, clean, good location, perfect staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    8.8
    A bit steep on the price, but well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit steep on the price, but well... it's Madrid on the high season, so it's a market issue rather than an issue of the establishment.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    10
    The boss is very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The boss is very nice.I will check in again if I back to madrid.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    7.9
    The owner is amazing, great customer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner is amazing, great customer service.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    8.8
    Very good hostal!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good hostal!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    8.8
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and comfortable, airconditioning, very friendly staff and excellent location. Lots of value for little money.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    6.3
    Extremely clean, almost sterile.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place lacks soul or identity. Owner was extremely rude

    Extremely clean, almost sterile. Good location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    10
    Great place, was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Everything was perfect.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    10
    Perfect place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillow was really hard...

    The was very kind and helpful, the room is big, quite, great location, air-conditioning, very comfy.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    10
    This is a great place, in the city centre, close to any...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    n/a

    This is a great place, in the city centre, close to any possible sights, shops and restaurants. The owner was exceptionally friendly and helpful for any requests we had. The room was clean beyond perfection - every day. I totally recommend this hotel if you want to get the best value for your money.

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2015

    10
    The cleanliness of the room different class.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The most minor gripe, but the shower holder wasn't tight enough, so the shower wouldn't spray down, it was just at an angle

    The cleanliness of the room different class. A lot of places I've stopped in don't give you fresh towels, toilet roll refills and soap daily but Jose and his benamar staff never disappoint. Wifi fantastic too.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    9.6
    Very central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very central location. Manager was very helpful for restaurants and sites. He carried our luggage up the stairs and called the cab for us to the airport. We were very pleased with the service, facilities and location. Very quiet room!Happy in Madrid

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    8.8
    Near the center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing.

    Near the center. Owner was waiting for me at 1am and in a friendly mood. Place is well furnished (nothing fancy) and is clean. 40€ for a single room is very reasonable.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    10
    Good location, room was very clean and the bathroom was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing...

    Good location, room was very clean and the bathroom was spotless and big. Helpful advices were given at arriving from a very nice and cheerful owner. Excellent price-quality ratio.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    9.6
    Central location close to metro and main attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No complaints.

    Central location close to metro and main attractions. Very helpful host who pointed out all the major sights and gave recommendations for local restaurants etc. Accommodation was basic but of excellent quality and very clean. No hesitation in recommending.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    8.8
    It was very nice to stay near Museo del Romanticismo :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We arrived late at night, and it was difficult to distinguish the name of the hostel so high among the trees )

    It was very nice to stay near Museo del Romanticismo :)

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    9.6
    From the external view I thought this might have been a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    From the external view I thought this might have been a mistake but the rooms and staff were excellent. Had everything we needed and was very clean. Loved the daily room clean too.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    10
    Five minutes walk to Gran Via, Metro & main atractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I loved everything about this Hostel!!

    Five minutes walk to Gran Via, Metro & main atractions. Excellent value for money and friendly reception staff. Comfortable rooms & clean overall.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    8.8
    Staff was most helpful, especially Jose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No elevator (however hostel did advertised as having no elevator to the second floor)

    Staff was most helpful, especially Jose. After the first night with a room on the noisy street side we were accommodated with a room away from the street for our next two nights.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    7.9
    Great location, good staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The entrance of the hotel is not very nice. The hotel begins in the second floor and you have to get there through a dark and old staircase.

    Great location, good staff. Room was ok.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    9.6
    The hostal has an excellent location , near metro, shopping,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    The hostal has an excellent location , near metro, shopping, bars and restaurant. It is in a calm street so I had a good sleep. I booked a single room and I had a big twin room . Jose is a very nice person . I arrived by 2am and he was there awaiting for me. He is very helpful and friendly. Definitely a very nice stay and a place I recommend

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    10
    El dueño es muy agradable y amable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No hay ascensor. Pero es lo normal en esa zona de Madrid.

    El dueño es muy agradable y amable. Las habitaciones están muy bien, son amplias, con un buen baño, todo muy limpio. La situación es muy buena.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    10
    Perfectly renovated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfectly renovated Spacious room Absolutely quiet (we stayed on 3rd floor in the room hidden from the main street) Very clean Very friendly owner who attends the guests Close to the metro and in a nice area

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    10
    Great location in the Centre of Madrid, opposite Museo del ...
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Great location in the Centre of Madrid, opposite Museo del romanticisimo. A few minutes walk from Tribunal tube station. Close to Puerta del Sol and Plaza Mayor. Large, spotlessly clean, comfortable room, good bed. Jose, the owner was really friendly and eager to help with everything. Strong Wi-Fi.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    9.6
    Very friendly welcome and thoroughly cleaned every day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Older oersons should be aware there is no lift to the second floor establishment. but if you have carted baggage up in the metro this is no problem.

    Very friendly welcome and thoroughly cleaned every day. Located a few hundred meters from the 1/10 metro station and the 5 station you can get anywhere easily. Plenty of tapas and food outlets close by. My plane arrived at 7am but was happily placed in my room at 9am.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    8.8
    new towels, beds cleaned and soap and toilet rolls always...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    shower hook loose so didn't stay still. Also one day the hot water didn't come out of it

    new towels, beds cleaned and soap and toilet rolls always stacked up. The owner a nice man. Limited English but looked after us well

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    10
    i would say that this hostal is the best in Madrid!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    i would say that this hostal is the best in Madrid!!! It's located in the center of the city, rooms are very big and clean, the personnel is very helpful !!! Moreover the price for 1 night is perfect!!! I recommend this Hostal to everybody!

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    10
    The manager was very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Wi-Fi could be hit or miss, but it wasn't a big deal.

    The manager was very helpful and friendly. Rooms were clean. Great access to metro and a wonderful pedestrian area.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    10
    The owner of the property is so generous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owner of the property is so generous!! The place is cozy and comfy. Value for money:)

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2016

    9.2
    there is no elevator
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    there is no elevator

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    8.3
    Situation, rigth in the centre but still a calm street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Don't expect a fancy reception orstylish decoration

    Situation, rigth in the centre but still a calm street. Nice to only be there to sleep

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2015

    8.3
    The location is near two metro, in a quite street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is near two metro, in a quite street. Staff is nice and room is clean

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    7.5
    I stayed there only for 1 night - so no complaints so far.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I stayed there only for 1 night - so no complaints so far. Very close to Tribunal metro station and in a walking distance to Gran Via. Quite calm.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    9.6
    Very friendly host and good location for getting around town...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly host and good location for getting around town ana going out at night!

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    10
    The manager was amazing and great price for Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The manager was amazing and great price for Madrid.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    9.6
    Quiet,friendly,convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Quiet,friendly,convenient

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    9.5
    Reception :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    wireless

    Reception :)

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    8.8
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    9.2
    very clean, good airconditionner
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    very clean, good airconditionner

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    9.2
    Great location, quiet room and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great location, quiet room and very clean.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    9.2
    Clean and clise to Gran Via
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Clean and clise to Gran Via Staff friendly

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    9.6
    Clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No elevator

    Clean

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    10
    Hostal benamar is in a prime location for shopping, Spanish...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Hostal benamar is in a prime location for shopping, Spanish tapas and bars. The staff were super friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    10
    This hostel is extremely clean and very comftable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All good.

    This hostel is extremely clean and very comftable. The owner of the hostel is very helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    7.9
    Very nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very nice staff. Good location. Comfortable

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    10
    I was greeted with great friendliness by Jose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was greeted with great friendliness by Jose. The whole stay was very secure and the room was very suitable and cleaned every day

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    10
    As clean as ANY accommodation we have used.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    As clean as ANY accommodation we have used.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    9.2
    Our host was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our host was very friendly and helpful. We got a peaceful room and it was Super clean.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    10
    Location, price, friendlyness of host, comfy bed, good wifi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Location, price, friendlyness of host, comfy bed, good wifi.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    8.3
    Clean place, centrally located, helpful host
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Clean place, centrally located, helpful host

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: