Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hotel Best Alcazar This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Camino de la Playa s/n. Urb. Marina Del Este, 18690 La Herradura, Spain

#13 of 18 hotels in La Herradura

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 2251 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    7.1

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    6

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    4.2
    No frills hotel, bring food and drink.
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. No drinking water in room. 2. Room Safe, no instructions, when collected from reception, room safe did not work. 3. No iron and board to press cloths. 4. No meals in the evening except hot dogs at the bar and junk package food such as crisps. 5. Breakfast was chaos and just like feeding time in a "refugee camp", hotel had no supervision or control over the people. Slow Automatic Coffee Dispensers used for coffee with big queues, instead of several staff poring from large pots. Spanish people love their coffee. 6. Big queues also for toast machine, need faster toaster machines. 7. Hotel isolated from anywhere need a car to go out to eat at night. 8. Room view- 6 meters from my balcony was a piece of open cut ground excavated to build the hotel, with a broken down rusted cement mixer and rusted scaffolding discarded in an overgrown weeded area, no effort made at all to tidy this up. 9. Room TV channels very limited one onlyEnglish Channel, very much set up for the Spanish only. 10. Looks like hotel built in a hurry, get your cash and get you out...

    1. Car parking facilities. 2. Check in and out very efficient. 3. Reception and Bar Staff wonderful, without which the hotel would have been a complete disaster.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    3.3
    It was hot nights!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They turned off the airconditioning in all rooms every night between 2.00 to 7.00. We complained every day and they told us that it was repaired. BUT IT WASN'T!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    6.7
    Great buffet but family room lacked size and amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our family room was just a regular room with 2 double beds pushed together. The website seemed to suggest a separate bedroom but this was not the case. No kitchenette and a tiny fridge that didn't work. Also the AC is controlled by the hotel so you can't adjust it to your liking.

    Nice quality buffet and good pool area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    6.3
    A much needed family break, clean, cheerful and would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The evening entertainment could have been better, the kids get all the fun and the parents only a little. The rooms for 4 are literally two double beds side by side so dont expect too much 'adult time'. Spa looked great but my wife booked in and was then told they were shut which was upsetting as she really wanted time out. The gym is very basic, for the gym goer it's not up to much. On the whole a nice clean hotel but just in need of a little TLC and refinement in places. As an example if you order a G&T from the bar thats's what you get! No fruit, nothing to give that holiday feel which was the same in the cocktails. Jug of Sangria was out of the carton with no extras. Just these little things could be improved but i think that must be the all inclusive idea, no frills! It's rated a 4 star but it's a 3 star so as long as you dont expect too much you'll have a great time.

    Good kids club with a responsible team, food was more than acceptable for us with a good choice for everyone. Kids loved the pools although they open subject to the amount of guests. Bowling alley was great and had a nice little bar with snacks available. Rooms were ok, pretty quiet with comfy beds and thankfully a cold fridge for keeping the wine cool. This is a very Spanish hotel, great for us as we live not far and our family speak a good amount of Spanish, but for the average UK visitor you may have found yourself isolated. Only 20 mins walk into the main beach downhill, bus available to beach if required.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    4.6
    Hotel from hell.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Kids kids kids, noise was terrible, parents didn't care, they were banging on doors late at night, asked for quiet location, waste of time. Don't think of booking this hotel, you also have to hike down hills to get to stoney beach.

    Bed was reasonable, booking out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    5.4
    Poor at best average!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lot! Way over priced, I would of felt aggrieved paying half of what I did, simply a dated hotel with dated amenities, not even a plug socket next to the bed! And you can see the budget cuts everywhere you look! Breakfast was poor and after breakfast we were locked out of the room to top it all off! Best seems a massive overstatement!

    Friendly and attentive staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2018

    7.5
    helpful staff at the Reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When we booked it was it was not obvious that this hotel is located on the top of a hill/ mountain. You need a car otherwise you can just walk 50 metres without. To reach the centre or beach or supermarket you have either a car or you must take a bus with fixed shedule, which was not comfortable with a baby.

    helpful staff at the Reception. Nice Pool Area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    10
    Really most enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not a lot really the food was a bit disappointing but the hotel was a little quiet just before the season,then it really did pick up loads to choose from then.

    We really always enjoy our time here and will be back again on Sunday 6th for a few more days. The pool area is great with different pools to enjoy, and the bar staff are very friendly and helpful. Had a super relaxing holiday and also fabulous comfortable beds.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    9.2
    Well equipped hotel for a relaxing and pleasurable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only two lifts available to our rooms and so had to wait a while for lifts at peak times. Lounge areas away from noise were basic and unwelcoming and large lounge with entertainment had bright white lighting and no stage lighting so the ambiance could have been improved.No plugs near bedside tables only at the other side of the room.

    Large rooms with comfortable beds Great selection of food both at breakfast and evening meal. Good variety of facilities including bowling alley and good value spa. Bar prices for drinks very reasonable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    7.5
    Good budget break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Outdoor pools empty until leaving,I would have thought the pools could have been filled by easter holidays period even if cold.....

    Interesting variation of food, dogfish was nicer than I expected!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    10
    We had a lovely time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Outdoor pools were all empty and being maintained, this should have been communicated to us before hand, we had specifically chosen the hotel over a boutique hotel on the beach to be able to use the outdoor pools. Its position could prove difficult for some guests as up a really steep winding road.

    Spotlessly clean, lovely staff, views from our room were amazing, we asked for a sea view and the hotel were kind enough to grant our request

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    7.1
    This hotel is an example of poor property with great staff. The staff made the stay enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The entrance is dark and grim. The food hall and other main rooms are dated as are the bedrooms.

    I liked the indoor pool. This was created like a conservatory so allowed the sun in which made it feel like you were outside with the benefit of a warm indoor pool.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly staff, comfortable and clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If you are a TI (all inclusive). The cocktail quality are not the best.

    Very friendly staff, comfortable and clean rooms. Good buffet, varied and fresh. The spa area was great, as well as the recreation area, bowling alley, arcade machines, totally fun.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2018

    8.3
    Good experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food was fine but we have been to other 4 star hotels with better quality food. There are lots and lots of children, so if you are a couple looking to relax I wouldn't recommend it.

    Comfy beds, I think the mattresses have been changed recently. Beautiful surroundings.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    4.6
    Overall disappointing, would not stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The food lacked variety and was always cold. The entertainment was poor. The room disappointingly small. In general the hotel did not seem to cater for nationalities other than Spanish.

    The building itself was quite good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2018

    6.7
    We enjoyed our stay here. La Herradura is beautiful. We walked everywhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not for fussy eaters. Unfortunatly my son did not like the food. It was raining whilst we were there so lots of buckets out to collect the rain. Does need a refurb

    La Herradura is beautiful. The hotel is good. The bedroom was cleaned daily and well. The staff do try to speak English for you. Francesco is a fantastic waiter and made us feel very welcome.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable and enjoyable for all ages
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It dod not effect our holiday in any way but it should be noted thatthe hotel is on a hill and getting to the beach/cove wpuld be better in a car.

    Great family hotel with indoor and outdoor pool, games and entertainment, gym, clean, friendly amd good selection in the buffet. If your are looking for a few days relax with plenty of options for children then this is highly recommended. Optional extras include bowling alley and spa, hairdresser and nail studio.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2018

    10
    Best Alcazar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Property in a great location especially room 424 upper brilliant sea view room. Food was nice and choice for everyone . Highly recommend..!!! Located in mountains 10 min walk downhill to the beach...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    9.2
    We had the all inclusive package which we found to be excellent and would definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food wasn't as hot as I'd like. There was a microwave which I used all the time for coffee which I thought was only luke warm. The view from our balcony was grubby if you looked down but the view to the left was beautiful (sea view and a view of the marina).

    The staff were lovely very helpful and friendly. The bus for La Harradura and Almunecar stopped right outside the door and was only €1 to travel there and €1 back per person. The food was lovely lots of choice (could have been hotter).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2018

    8.3
    Relaxing 4 night break in a lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Spa was a little expensive @ €10 each, and the tennis was expensive @ €10 an hour. The hotel is quite away from any local shops and bars.

    Lovely Hotel the Bowling Alley was a bonus. The heated outdoor pool was great as was the jacuzzi. Beautiful views.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2018

    10
    Perfect place for a short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing we would recommend as being improved would be the evening entertainment.

    what did we like about Best Alcazar, just about everything. We had a fantastic all-inclusive 3 night stay here, perfect for a short break. We stayed in room 523 on the top floor with pool and sea views, very clean and comfortable. Food was great with plenty of choice, any drink we wanted they had. The hotel is in a fantastic location with a great walk down to La Herradura or the harbour, both walks take approx. 20 mins.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2017

    9.6
    The food was excellent, entertainment good for kids and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just small things: No plugs beside the bed, no hooks in the changing rooms in the Spa.

    The food was excellent, entertainment good for kids and adults. The Spa was good for the price (10€ per person 90 minutes).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    9.2
    It was a very good value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Eating area is very loud during dinners, could hardly talk, because very many people eating at the same time! The emergency exit of the eating hall is blocked by the tables! The beds are somewhat hard.

    Room was spacious! Very big choice of food, fresh fruits and veggies! Very friendly personnel! The room was thoroughly cleaned every day! At the reception people were very quick and friendly!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    9.6
    Amazing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The location of the hotel is great, and the views are amazing but it is quite difficult without the car. If you do rent the car then you have to pay expensive parking charge and the parking was quite full. The hotel could do away with parking charge! There is a bus going down to la herradura and almunicar, that costs 1 euro pp. The walk down to the city is not challenging at all as others say, it is very pleasurable and a bit of exercise on the way back won't hurt! I hope that the hotel will one day in the future organise their own shuttle from the airport as the taxi drivers by malaga airport will rip you off! We paid 130 euros for the taxi to the hotel from the airport and 90 on the way back.

    I loved the hotel, the food was amazing, delicious dinners, loads to chose from, every night bit different meals as well so you don't get bored. Great pools, superb spa area, gym, everything was nice and clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2017

    3.8
    Not again
    • Solo traveler
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5-6 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast not great, not even any muesli. Cooked stuff was greasy. Parking difficult, long walk up hills. Walls very thin, lots of noise through the night. Some staff were very nice but they need to sack the non smiling unhelpful lot who would rather you weren’t there.

    the Cleaner was nice as were some reception staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2017

    6.7
    Dissapointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5-6 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too noisy you could hear everything from other rooms and children screaming in corridors late at night. No duvet or blanket on bed just a sheet and thin bedspread

    Large airy apartment. Cleaned daily.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2017

    9.6
    Last minute decision to stay here was a good one, offered us the break we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No kettle in the room!

    All staff we met were very friendly. We were there out of season and only very briefly so can't comment much on facilities or local beach but enjoyed the hotel, room and food on offer.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2017

    9.2
    Very enjoyable one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Steep hill down to the Marina, but there was a shuttle bus provided, I think that is seasonal

    Very enjoyable one night stay. Accommodation was clean and ready when we arrived at midday. The prices are reasonable and staff were very helpful. There was a great choice of food at both the dinner and breakfast buffets. We will definitely return.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel for couples or families in a beautiful area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No issues really. It was a little starnge accessing our apartment block via the underground car park but that isn't really a problem.

    Initially having seen some less than complimentary reviews we were a little dubious as to what the hotel would be like. However we were very pleasantly surprised. Overall its a moidern hotel with a mix of rooms and apartments of various sizes. We had a 1 bedroom apartment which was very generously proportioned with nice furniture, adequate kitchenette and lots of storage. Very clean and tidy. The location is high up on the headland between La Heradura village and Almunecar with views out over the sea and along the coast, beautiful! We used the courtesy bus which has a very frequent service throughout the day both to La Herradura beach and to Marina del Este which has a lovely Marina with nice bars / restaurants and also a small beach which was very popular with scuba classes. Although on a hill the walk to either of the 2 places was not difficult and was an excuse to burn off a few holiday calories. It took in the region of 20 minutes, maybe a little longer on the way back uphill. We had the buffet breakfast twice while there and it was what you would expect, lots of choice and nicely done. Because there was such a good choice of bars and restaurants in the village and Marina we only had one evening meal in the hotel restaurant. It was buffet with again lots of choice and very nice. There were 4 or 5 pools and plenty of space to find a lounger, and the provision of a number of lifeguards was good to see. The staff were great, but bear in mind that although English is spoken , and very well by some staff, this is primarily a hotel that has Spanish guests and is not as geared towards Engish holidaymakers as some other hotels in other resorts. But we found that to be part of the charm of the place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    7.5
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Food in general was never hot, just having hot plates to put it on would have improved it. Very Spanish in character with lots of noise and too many children. Up to 1000 guests when we were there and for an older couple it was off-putting.

    Room reasonable size with good beds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2017

    8.8
    great choice for budget family holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the loud music at night and sometimes during the day in the swimming pool area might be bit too much for someone and so meal times the buffet at the restaurant, I can immagine it gets worse during peak season months

    the location and price was unbeatable, we had a large 2 bedroom flat with a small kitchen so this really gave us a lot of flexibility, food was good and varied, staff very efficient and organized, cleaning service was punctual and thorough

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2017

    8.3
    Great location just 80 km away from Malaga
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Paid parking and impossible to park outside on the street. 7 day parking cost almost the same as if you leave your car in the airport for the week. Would be nice to reorganize the restaurant and introduce the seating area outside. Also smoking everywhere outdoors should be prohibited, instead, there should be smoking areas, so people who are not smoking could equally enjoy the evening show. Cocktails in the bar were not great either.

    The room was great, I asked for the sea view when I booked it and was not disappointed when I woke up the next morning to the gorgeous view. Could see the sea on the right and on the left side of the peninsula the hotel is situated on. Good selection of food for breakfast, two big swimming pools outside, animation every evening. The room was always spotless clean. If you expect candles and champagne in Spa, this is not the case, it is rather simple and tidy with a few Jacuzzi and indoor pool. Two beaches are about 20 minutes walk away from the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2017

    10
    Everything was super . Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    English language

    Everything was super comfort food 5 swimming pools. Animators was ok but ever was in Spanish language, English was poor. But anyway I was very pleased. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2017

    9.2
    fantastic value like a 5* holiday for much less very authentic Spanish
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    there was not anything i didn't like

    The staff were very friendly and helpful there was free nibbles on the bar and around the pool the room was large and comfortable and very clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2017

    5.4
    The 3 bed apartment was very big with two bathrooms and two...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5-6 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Aircon worked sometimes, the upstairs stank of sewage and had to be deep cleaned, the fridge and phone needed replacing, apartment was bear and very plain. All guests were Spanish and staff did not seem to like us being there. Way too far from anything without a car. Beach is definitely NOT within walking distance! Will not return.

    The 3 bed apartment was very big with two bathrooms and two balconies. Good parking at €8 per day.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2017

    3.5
    Sorry to say, nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5-6 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was so bad from the bathroom to the bedroom and the housekeepers was awful, they didn't change the glasses in our I'll make as 2 stars not more. In my trip I stayed 5 hotels this hotel was awful

    Sorry to say, nothing....

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    7.1
    Geared towards all-inclusive. Beach/marina not within walking distance but hotel provide shuttle bus
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Facilities in the room very limited. Family room was all in one space so very difficult to separate children at bed-time.

    Lots of pools suitable for all ages from adults, kids to babies. Plenty of sun loungers available throughout the day by the pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2017

    7.1
    a rather enjoyable experince
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The aircon seemed to cut out for no reason in the middle of the night

    The waiter Francisco was really friendly, helpful and accommodating especially seeing as we where travelling with our 3 year old son.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    8.3
    Fantastic and Friendly ☺
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5-6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great,plentiful food;superb staff could not have been more helpful. Upgraded on arrival to a bigger apartment with private roof terrace. Lots to do for all ages.Free bus all day long down to the town and beach. 🌞

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2017

    8.8
    Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was very busy but it was the height of the season. Check in was slow and not all the reception staff were friendly.

    The choice of food in the restaurant was really good. The staff were extremely efficient in the restaurant and work long hours. The room was lovely and spotlessly clean. Lots of parking. The free bus service down to the beach was wonderful. Good range of facilities for children.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2017

    9.2
    Good hotel for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was hit and miss. Children liked the fresh pancakes but the food for adults left a lot to be desired. There was no fresh orange juice (why? when there was fresh melon and pineapple juice!), the bacon was not good at all and the coffee could have been better. One thing that would REALLY help is to provide a safe and easy walking path to the beach in the port behind the hotel. I nearly fell on a sheer mountainside trying to get down there! My son and his friends got so scratched they were bleeding!

    The restaurant had very good and reasonable lunch and dinner options. Wish I'd got the half board!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2017

    5.8
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location of the Hotel is on top of a hill ,about 4 km away of the beach at Heradura and the same towards the other side which takes you to another beach and small private Mariana. Although only 20 to 30 min walking up is not for everyone. Shuttle bus is provided by the Hotel to take you down to the small beach resort of Heradura where there is a small town with the typical bars, restaurants and shops. The Beach is like a cove and feels very relaxed and nice, but not much to do other than get a tan and swim. For my money the hotel's location is more suited to those who want to stay in enjoy the amenities provided but for those who like me like to walk out of the Hotel and go for a walk this is not for you as the Hotel is somewhat secluded from civilisation. I found the Hotel entertainment to be poor, mostly geared towards children. Also found access from the underground carpark to my room difficult on my first day as there was not enough information provided and it can be confusing until you get your bearings after a few days. We found the Reception staff did not provide enough information on arrival. The room was fine and clean, but our air conditioning was a bit noisy at times and the unit did let us control it to our liking because of a lack of remote.

    The hotel has 4 excellent swimming pools which gives you a choice of selections depending on your mood. The food we found to be very good and there was variety to choose from, on one night there was live music whilst we had dinner, which was different and welcome.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2017

    10
    Great hotel in a lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bowling alley only opened after 5pm.

    Great range of facilities and lovely excellent value spa. Amazing variety of buffet food on offer both in the evening and for breakfast. They even have a courtesy bus to the local areas.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2017

    4.2
    Leaving was our favourite bit of the stay.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No facilities in the room such as tea / coffee. The tv was terrible. The underground car park was a nightmnare to use. Constantly blocked with parked cars outside.

    Leaving.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2017

    5.0
    Avoid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Customer treatment, bedroom practicality (only one socket far from bedside tables, no information booklet or number to the reception provided). It took 20 minutes to check us in (all 20 minutes with us). Restaurant was a big place with a large amount of people fighting to get coffee and food ahead of others. Food was poor quality. Overall it was a truly unpleasant experience, nothing felt proper of a 4-star hotel. Bedroom walls were damaged, bathroom sink leaking and reception furniture looking run down.

    La Herradura is a beautiful town of the Tropical coast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2017

    8.3
    Great hotel excellent food and fantastic friendly staff
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel is on a hill walking to seafront is arduous and at night is very dark with the road poorly lit which is not a reflection on the hotel moreover the Council should install footpaths and street lighting

    Very nice hotel with helpful staff and a deceant dining area. Nice holiday atmosphere in hotel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2017

    8.8
    Hot La Herradura!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A 5 minute drive to the beach, (car hired at Malaga) this huge hotel with it's stunning views across the bay of La Herradura is officially a 4 star hotel for the numerous facilities on offer, but I'd say the rooms were of a 3 star comfort level. Although clean (serviced and linens/towels changed daily) with large comfy beds, the walls were paper thin with no carpet on the tiled floor to aid the acoustics so, if we'd spoken Spanish, we'd have understood our immediate neighbours' every word (?!) but this is also due to the fact that the passionate Spanish seem to shout when talking, even when standing next to each other!? Maybe ensure you have an extra glass of Rioja before bed!? Air conditioning isn't turned on until 1st June but the average highest temperature we enjoyed from 6th-13th May '17 was 22 degrees (that "lay out all day comfortably" heat) so this wasn't a problem. Breakfast is a lavish affair! If you can get there before it closes at 10.30am you can feast on everything from fresh fruits to traditional fry up and every pastry in between!? The lunch and dinner buffet looked equally appealing but we were breakfast only board; £12.00 each if you wanted to dine in - very good value! We opted to eat at the restaurants in La Herradura on the beach front and never had a bad meal throughout our stay as it's all fresh fish, prawns, chicken etc and puddings to die for!? La Herradura is not like Benidorm or Torrimolinos, it's clean and classy, no visible nightclubs! It's all bars and restaurants - a glass of wine is about £2.00, meal for 2 about £20.00. The beach is shingle sand and pebbles with crystal clear blue water - this place is just beautiful!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2017

    9.6
    Stayed just one night with family members who were visiting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed just one night with family members who were visiting us. Food was very good as was the accommodation. Checked in before 1pm and room was ready. Outside pool was very large and plenty of sunbeds. No hesitation in going back to this hotel again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2017

    2.5
    avoid at all costs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    everything - dirty, dingy, ten times worse than a travelodge - at least they are clean and tidy! food inedible - mass produced rubbish and a hideous scrum to get to it

    nothing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2017

    5.0
    Best alcazar la herradura
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Outdoor Pool closed at 5pm in April, children under 12 not allowed in the spa. Indoor heated pool too little and too crowded. No views of the sea from the pool, restaurant or anywhere else except some of the rooms.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2017

    8.3
    Great for a winter break in low season
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast coffee was pretty terrible (instant with I suspect powdered milk). Coffee at the bar was great.

    This was a nice sleepy hotel in low season. Once it filled up for carnival it became far more lively. Great views!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2017

    7.1
    a bit isolated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    no coffee machine in the room. no coffie or tea during diner. parking charges a bit to high.

    a bit isolated. if you have car you car is quite easy to commute without is a bit tricky.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2017

    10
    Great hotel in part rural location, with far reaching views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walk down to the Marina and back is pretty steep.

    Location was great with far reaching views. Very traditional hotel with mostly Spanish guests, but plenty of thought for other nationalities too. Rooms were clean and modern, with a nice sized bath. Great value and really enjoyed the buffet meals. Bar prices were also very reasonable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2016

    7.1
    Lovely pool and garden areas set high above La Herradura and the Marina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5-6 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Food / snacks on sale at poolside café - limited and pricy Hike to town or marina - no shuttle bus Lack of kitchen utensils - no kettle, toaster, scissors, sharp knife, cereal bowls. One of the outdoor pools supposed to be heated but extremely cold - covered, heated pool but not as nice

    Room cleaned and fresh towels every day Sea Views Pool and garden areas indoor spa (extra charge) indoor bowling (extra charge) Friendly staff cats!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2016

    8.3
    Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If travelling there for the 1st time, it's difficult to get to by public transport from Airport (a few buses but it's doable) as it is located just outside La Herradura, but worth staying in, no matter how you get there.

    Spacious rooms, asked for quiet accommodation and got it. Great shower. Good staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2016

    8.3
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    - lack of English knowledge by the staff - wifi not everywhere good

    + good prices + nice apartment with super view + free bus till the sea + good food

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2016

    6.3
    Could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - very noisy. The lack of any sound insulation between rooms. Noisy people and children primarily in restaurant and pool area. - food in most of the poor quality of the ingredients. - very, very slow Wi-Fi, - dirty around the pool in the afternoon - far away from the beach and city centre. The hotel is situated on a hill. The last shuttle bus from beach 18:40. - safe deposit box in room extra paid - using computer and printer extra paid - Why receptionist at check does not indicate that you can not hold the key with your mobile phone?

    + stunning wiev from room. + shuttle bus to the beach with friendly driver :) + large and spacious room + clean in room and bathroom + fridge in room + mostly Spanish people + nice and big pool area + tasty breakfast and fruits

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2016

    6.3
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No WiFi in room only at reception. Only 2 English TV channels (news only) Kitchen very poorly equipped. Parking cost very expensive @ 10 euros per day. This caused massive congestion on surrounding roads. One disabled space for whole site. Not 4 star more like a holiday camp.

    Stunning views from 4th floor apartment.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2016

    6.7
    The shuttle bus to the beach was a bonus and the size of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The queues to enter the dinning room for dinner. No available umbrellas or sunbeds or space in the pool. The bus should return from the beach at a later time.

    The shuttle bus to the beach was a bonus and the size of the room and beds was great. Food was very varied and nice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2016

    8.8
    I would go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking and in room safe an extra cost. A bit out of the way so you will need a car of you want to leave the hotel

    Great breakfast, loads to choose from. Lovely pools. Very clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2016

    7.1
    Great for families that love the Spanish!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5-6 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Most of the staff were lovely but a few could have been friendlier - would have liked a small shop to buy food as we were not all inclusive

    Great pools, apartment fantastic size and lovely and airy. Lots of Spanish and no English which was great.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2016

    9.2
    Good apartments and location with hotel shuttle to the beaches 4 minutes away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5-6 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Kitchen is missing some basic equipment such as: sharp knife, board for cutting, corkscrew, tea cups. Essential if you are cooking. No dishwasher and no washing machine in the apartment. Parking is expensive (10 euros/day), area around hotel is packed with cars on the road side, which makes driving difficult.

    Apartment: pools are good, clean, enough territory which is well planned, facilities for kids, bar. Bus to the beach is handy. Rooms are in good condition, cleaned daily.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2016

    9.2
    Nice clean hotel with great pool area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a little far from the beach. The shuttle bus definitely helped but at night (when the shuttle stopped running - I think it stops around 7pm) I found it hard to get back. We walked but the hills up to the hotel were steep and dark. + The wifi was very slow in our room.

    The shuttle bus from the hotel to the beach was definitely a plus and a nice surprise. The pool area was also great, very big and clean. The staff was super nice too and the breakfast buffet had a wide selection.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2016

    5.4
    Scenic but very isolated
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5-6 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too isolated deffinitely need a car and at €10 a day parking its not cheap.no grocery shop in the area so not good for self catering .bar food appauling. restaurant ok good selection of food.mostly spanish hotel very few english speaking staff.taxi to nearby beach and town expensive approx €9 each way.definitley would not reccomend to irish people.website very decieving .its not possible to walk to town because your high up the mountains and would be very dangerous this is not mentioned on any of the discriptions of the hotel.very badly equiped appartment except bathroom.

    Very scenic.beds easily available.we checked out early as our teenage kids very bored and 1 english speaking girls was very helpful and we got a refund for the days we didnt stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2016

    7.1
    Holiday with the locals on pretty Costa Tropical
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Only one pillow on the bed, I prefer a few more for sitting up and watching telly etc. Parking is expensive and there is limited space outside the hotel on the road.

    The hotel is in a lovely spot of the Spanish coastline, with lovely towns nearby to explore. The food had good variety, the rooms were a little dated but kept very clean and the beds were comfy. There is a small fridge in the room which was great for buying our own drinks and keeping cool in the room. Mostly locals at this resort, which was nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2016

    5.4
    Possibly acceptble out of high season
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food truly appalling, very lowest quality ingredients used to produce junk food at its most disgusting. Really inedible...even form a buffet of choices.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2016

    5.8
    Not for Irish families too secluded
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5-6 Adults)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is mainly for spainish families holidaying here I think we were the only English speaking family there. Kids didn't make any friends because of language barrier. It's too far away from Nerja taxis too expensive. Scenery is lovely but just confined to hotel and town and that's it unless you have rented a car.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    5.0
    Rubbish 2 *
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Restaurant

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    6.7
    normal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    la animacion

    en general normal todo

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    8.3
    Nice pools, friendly staff, very clean and great bowling...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice kitchen but not very equipped. No kettle, tiny cups etc

    Nice pools, friendly staff, very clean and great bowling alley.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    10
    Nice room with very nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean room, good breakfast. Nice view from balcony. Efficient air conditioning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    6.7
    En general normal
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    El buffet bastante regular

    En general normal

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    5.0
    Very disappointed as was for a special occasion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Terrace on bedroom too small. And no view. Hotel furniture needs updating

    Food was good. And staf friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    7.1
    Nothing special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing special...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    6.3
    The window sea view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel don't look a real 4 star

    The window sea view

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: