Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Best Semiramis 5 stars

Leopoldo Cologan Zulueta, 27 - Urbanización La Paz, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Spain

#31 of 108 hotels in Puerto de la Cruz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1799 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking. However usually there are parking places not far, so we did not fill upset about it.

    The room is the best we have ever stated, the view from the balcony is much more than fantastic, the staff is friendly and the food is good. We liked the hotel very much and in case we visit Tenerife again, we'll try to book this hotel again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    not 5 stars hotell, a bit away from center, but still good location

    nice view, good breakfast and dinner buffet, not so expensive drinks, most staff was very nice and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Drinks, especially for A.I. drinks were just awful. Worst Pina-colada in my life, and they claim that they are 5* hotel?? Please. For A.I. (All-inclusive) they serve cocktails pre-made from the kitchen not making them in front of you, thats just mind-blowing for "5*" hotel. Totally disappointed. Had far better meals and drinks and pool areas in 3* hotels like in Mallorca (same Spain). Pool area is too small, worst entertainment and evening shows ever. In general the hotel is outdated except rooms, they look nice. 90% of guests are elderly people but in all Tenerife is similar so have in mind. Would not stay there again. They need to shape up, especially with A.I. drinks and entertainment.

    Rooms are good, not too spacious but look modern, staff is friendly, great ocean view especially when you are on the upper floors , clean , nice gym. Food was good, not 5* good but still ok. The hotel is really big 18 stories tall, so have in mind that it will be crowded especially during meal time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only criticism this time was that breakfast time was a little chaotic. Lots of people trying to eat at the same time.

    The bed was really comfy. The situation is lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom decor a bit dated

    Everything about the hotel was great, staff were amazing, food was great, facilities awesome. Only thing I would say is the bathroom in the room was a bit dated in terms of decor.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People wearing beach shorts and vest type t shirts in the restaurant in the evening, It certainly lowers the tone of this lovely hotel. We heard quite a few other people commenting on this.Casual but Smart dress should be worn.

    Everthing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We are really content with the Hotel. The stuff was nice and helpful, and the room is just perfect with a wiew! The Ocean's voice is bit loud, you can hear it all day and night, but it's amazing! The bed is extra big and extra comfy, the bathroom is nice and clean. The meal was fine, it could be a bit tasty. Location is good. It's on the top, so it takes aprox. 20 minutes to the beach, and on the way back you have to climb a bit :) The rich vegetation is wonderful! Sailing with the dolphins and whales is a uniqe and breathtaking experience!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room Senator
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel doesn't have parking, So, if you have your car, you need to be lucky enough to find the parking on street. Also, the portar service is only until 8PM. So if you arrive later than that, like us, you need to carry your own luggage without and help or trolley from them.

    The room was clean and as it is located on cliff, the view was amazing. The breakfast is very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The TV was a waste of time, everything foreign, mini bar could be improved.

    The bedroom was great with a great sea view, breakfast was lovely with an excellent choice of things to feast on. We had water pouring through our bathroom ceiling on the 2nd last night just as we were going out so we told reception & maintenance staff had it all sorted & bathroom cleaned up by the time we got back, they even replaced the wet roof tiles with new ones & it was brand new. The place was clean & pleasant to be in so overall a good trip I'd say!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access to beach rocks from hotel was closed due road repair. The noise from repair was somewhat annoying. A bit shabby exterior condition at least for 5 stars hotel.

    The view from 11-th floor was stunning with ocean waves banging relentlessly against the rocks just below the hotel. Generous breakfast. All day round access to internal swimming pool with staff member watching over it all the time. Everything was perfectly clean. Not far from small botanical garden with some very large trees.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is outdated and does not seem like a 5-star, perhaps not even a 4-star. The dining area is not cozy at all and the buffet again - not a 5-star. If you decide to live on the top floor you have to take the elevator to the second-top-floor and then take the stairs.

    I paid extra for a better room, which was great. amazing view, private balcony, spacious and new bathroom and lots of closet space.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    Having food that was never properly hot

    All supposedly hot food was never better than warm. although hot food sat on 'warmer plates' they never kept food hot. This applied to all breakfasts and evening dinners. They should use instead ues 'bain maries'. Also to an hotel rated by them as 5* tea/coffee/water should be included for all evening meals free of charge. it appeared that all they wanted was to generate income by sellinf alcohol,soft beverages and water.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room Senator
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa, which is not run by the hotel but by an independent company, was disappointing. Two of the facilities were not working and the response of the staff was poor. Also, the entertainment in the evening in the bar was very disappointing.

    Choices for breakfast were incredible. View from balcony fantastic.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of clarity about availability of tea in the room. No one was aware of a local trips company that took tourists to see the Santacruz carnival, which is almost as good as carnival in Rio. My wife and I came specially to sit and watch carnival. We ended up standing with tall people abd waving cameras obscuring our view.

    Staff was absolutely brilliant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is starting to look dated, one lift not working all week plus they water ingress through the dining room ceiling and the bedrooms were dusty on the floors.

    Nice views and good size rooms. Beer and wine was reasonable price. All the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Indoor swimming pool is not indoor actually open roof and cold water also, not able to use. Entertainment week, not enjoyed at all.

    Very good location with beautiful sea view from balcony and in the restaurant. Very good breakfast and dinner. Drink price reasonable. Clean room and comfortable bed, good size.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Paying for extra for drinks even though breakfast and dinner was included in the room price (half board) Average age of people rather high in January.

    Excellent choice of meals. Fantastic location and view from the hotel. Would definitely recommend!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I went with my family and got 4 rooms. 3 double and one for 3 people. The size of all of the rooms was the same however we paid almost 4 times more for the triple room. On the second day, we found a couple of cucarachas.. totally unacceptable in a 5 start hotel specially a very expensive one! We were move to another room around 5am however, we noticed the sheets had several stains. Not happy I can tell!

    The restaurant was good, quite a few options to chose from however the drinks weren’t included (not even water!)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet style breakfast left a lot to be desired. Certainly not 5 star quality. More volume package tour quality.

    Excellent location. Every room has a sea view

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Hotel is quite old - does not look as a 5 star hotel. A renovation would be nice. But the price compensates.

    Wood go there again. The location is superb. All the rooms have ocean view. You wake up seeing the waves breaking on the rocks. Even though the hotel has a very small parking place we found easily free parking at max 5 minutes walk. Food was ok and diverse. Rooms are quite big and the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    5 star hotel? No way. Being a family of 4 with 1 3 years old and 1 3 months old baby, we arrived at the hotel with a lot of luggage and with high expectation. We had booked this as a 5 star hotel to have a relaxed last week of our holiday. After payment and checkin, there were zero help for us to take our luggage from the car to our room. I did it with huge difficulty. You would expect help from a 5 star hotel. At least twice i called them and asked for empty wine glasses for our room, they told me that they would charge for me just for bringing empty glasses to the room. Come on! 5 star hotel should do that at least, I have been to 3 stars who have done that for no money. The spa is not free! The indoor pools smell bad. The dinner and breakfast is absolutely designed and cooked after pure English taste and kitchen, i thought I was in Spain? More variety for food would be appreciated. I had lost my card key to our room and i went to the reception and asked for a new key. The receptionist asked for my room number and after that gave me the key without asking absolutely no security question! I told her why didn´t she ask my name or something similiar just for being sure it was my room, because I had a whole family in there including a baby and she shouldn't have given my room key to absolutely anyone who comes and asks for a key! She seemed to be surprised at my protest! Hääää?? The inside bar at the lounge is only open from 17:00. Why?? The room didn´t have air conditioning, only heating! Come on, a 5 star hotel should have air conditioning, don't you think so? The hotel is at its best a 4 star standard, but even then they need to fix a couple of attitudes and things I mentioned above.

    The hotel is fairly big. The location is great, the view from balcony is great. Some of staff are kind and smiling.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room Senator
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water in the outdoor pool was freezing! Some construction work was done during our stay, a bit noisy to hang around the pool. But these both are totally understandable.

    Nice view, great facilities, very clean and nice. Maybe best breakfast ever.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not 5 stars hotel. I will give strong 4 stars.

    Very good hotel. All rooms have ocean view. Big and bright. Good location near beach and centre of city. Friendly staff. Good food.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the beach and city mane promenade are 15-20 min by walk, but shorter road was under construction . anyway it wouldn't be faster then 10 min for sure:)

    staff is perfect! the hotel itself is more like 4 stars, but for discount price is more than good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The reading room was full of very noisy children. Parents did nothing to stop them. I suggest to remove the billiard table.

    New Year's diner was excellent. Dining room service very good, and Alexi and all the waiters wear extremely kind.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    One of the smartest places to stay in. Old(ish) building so don`t be too picky on this - rest is from good to amazing. Cheers to Manolo (the waiter) - he`s recommendation were spot on and a service with a smile can make a difference, please pass this to him we didn`t have time to say thank you when we left

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi in the room was very poor.

    The breakfast and dinner buffet were excellent. The dinner was difficult during my 4-day staying. The sea view was marvellous!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to park and construction work going on at the time

    The food was absolutely tasteless. Environment- not child friendly. Pool and jacuzzi was advertised as indoor, however it appeared outdoor, when I challenged this with staff, he said it was semi indoor 😳, get it straight .... it's either indoor or outdoor, as it was cold most of the time, my children didn't get to use the pool! It was mainly elderly guest in the hotel which off course I don't have a problem with but..... I'd rather a good mix!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room Senator
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was not reliable as there was no signal at all in the room. But as we were on a relaxing holiday the poor WiFi connection helped us to talk to each other more than staying on the phone. But if you are on a business trip you might find it hard.

    The location was excellent. I never struggled to find a parking space And all the lifts were working. The rooms were large with a Sea view balcony. Had a wide choices of good food. Excellent service for the money. The indoor pool area was well maintained and the hotel was close to town 10-15 mins walk. We have a 3 year old and even she was able to walk to town couple of times. There are plenty of shops and restaurants few yards up the road so you don’t always have to go to town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    ....rooms were renovated with tourists staying on the same floor, and noisy repair works on the road in front of the hotel

    Generous relaxation spaces, but can be classified as 4 stars ,we stayed in the senator's room that was Ok ,breakfast and dinner rich and diversified ,reception staff very friendly !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no Ac in the room and it was too hot. It worked for 1 day and then they switched it off for the next days. And there was construction work outside the room on road. They refused to change the room and said no other option was available. The workers outside were able to see inside the room on second floor and they said they wont do anything. They charged about 4 euros per day for providing kettle to warm water.

    Two doublebeds were spacious for 2.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    At the moment the road in front of the hotel is closed for works, therefore you must make a longer loop in order to access it.

    Scenic hotel located on a cliff overlooking Puerto de la Cruz bay and the Atlantic ocean. You hear the roaring of the surf at night, be sure you get a room on a high floor. Food is excellent and is served in huge room with terrace on the sea, every night a different ethnic menu. Staff is very polite and efficient. Rates are in my short list according to value-quality. I strongly reccomend this hotel !!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds in 14th floor were too hard. Work currently being carried out on nearby road and development site could be annoying for those staying for more than a short period.

    Fantastic location, food very mediocre.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there were some roadworks ouside our balcony resulting with drilling noise. The hotel mentioned this was not their fault, it would have been useful to know in advance so we could have planned early starts on those days. The small pool/spa was not working, this was mentioned on check in. No wifi in the bedroom.

    friendly professional staff. great selection of food at the buffet breakfast. good leisure facilities, we used the pool and tennis court. Nice walk into town.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No idea what are the standards for 5 star hotels but I doubt that this particular hotel deserves one. Our room had only towels and toiletries for two whereas we booked for three. No kettle in the room, subject to an extra fee. Really? Quite low varieties for lactose or gluten free people. 6 parking slots available, if you are lucky you can get some space in one of the nearby streets.

    Good location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff didn't speak good english (only the staff at the front desk). The spa was closed (no one warned us about that). One of the reason that we picked this hotel was that we wanted the option to go to the spa. There were silferfish in the rooms!! The were some construction on the road next to the hotel, very noisy!! and you couldn't sleep longer than 8 in the mornings :( I want too sleep on my vacation! The elevators very always broken and I would guess that I spent more than an hour overall just waiting for the elevators (I was there for 7 nights). This is my first time at a 5 star hotel and I was very disappointed!! Would not stay there again!

    Good beds, pillows, breakfast was ok for the first 3 days, then it was boring.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I had to clean the toilet seat with soap and water because although I complained it wasn't cleaned properly. I also requested soya milk and yogurt before our visit and was told it would be available, but only the milk was. The spa facility was closed during our stay. The hotel was simply not 5 star, more 3 star and being obviously renovated in places.

    The room was large and spacious with a good view. We were half board and good selection of food was available.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    On arrival there was construction work, on the 14th floor in the hotel and the hotel next door! Then our room was on the 3rd floor, which was bad as the road is directly next to the hotel and it is loud and busy! We asked to change floors but the reception were rude and said that the only way to move above floor 10 and away from the road was to pay more, the room was ok however the beds were really hard and uncomfortable. Also in a 5 star hotel you would expect the safe to be included in the price, it wasn't! 2.50 euros per day! Then there was the food! Breakfast was horrible everything was cold! eggs beans sausages, the only way for something warm was to queue for a long time! Evening meals were better but always similar. The hotel has seen better days, the grounds were run down and swimming pool tiles all broke. At best 2 from 4 lifts were working, meaning it was always taking a long time to get from the 3rd to ther 16th floor. longest wait was 15 mins! Would class this hotel as 2 1/2 stars not 5!

    Easy access to beach and town above Sea view from roof terrace was nice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Would be nice to have a possibility to have good real espresso at the breakfast, not only poor quality from the machine. if no possibility to get for free, to make a possibility to buy. that coffe from the machine was really shit:-) also there was one administrator girl who was very rood and not helpful when we asked about parking the car. we didn't find the place for parking and asked maybe we could leave our contacts and block one car near the entrance, but she said that it's no possible and police can be called, but all the others administrators were very friendly. so we just didn't go anymore to that angry lady to ask anything:-) at the moment of our stay, there was reparation of internal pool and jacusi, so it was a big dissapointment. would be nice if such things would be informed before coming, because our friends was booking hotel especially looking for jacusy and was angry finding it closed during whole stay.

    View from the window the best as You can get. Good location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room Senator
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We booked superior room, where it stated, one large bed 150-180cm, instead we got 2x120cm separate beds. We didn't like that. On the daily basis, the floor wasn't cleaned at all!! This is annoying! As you came to the room from the trips all dusty and sandy. And yet, the hair in the bathroom, which wasn't wiped the whole week! On the bath-tub edge was seen dust by the time our holiday week was over, which also mean that the bath wasn't cleaned the whole week. This isn't the 5* hotel, rather 3*. Old furniture, need an update. Not just furniture, but everything. The facade is about to crack (well seen on the balcony). But on the other hand, the price is speaking for it self that this couldn't be the 5* really. :-) Maybe was the 5* hotel in the old days... The wifi is working and it doesn't. Has its up&downs. And yet, it is slow. I wasn't using it as it was getting frustrating.

    The view is great, although keep in mind, the hotel is faced north, so no sun comes into the room. The food is OK (we had full board, but made it to lunch only once, but everything we tried was ok). The walking distance to the beach and city centre if nice as well (about 20minutes down or up-hill). The hand-disinfectant is available before entering the restaurant, which I find it great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - very weak Internet in the room, - small hotel parking and it's hard to find a place to park on the street, - hotel is quite old and, although it's being constantly renovated, you can feel it (some old equipment, wooden walls, smell).

    - nice breakfasts (eg. fresh omlettes, eggs, pancakes and juices), - interesting location, on a cliff a bit apart from the city center, but with a restaurant streets and botanical garden nearby - beautiful views (I think all rooms have view on the ocean)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The loud bump bump "music" around the swimming pool area. Quite a few people left the area because of it.

    The female disco lady she was amazing. The wonderfully happy staff throughout the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    all rooms are facing the sea, but actually there is a road between the sea and the building and you'll get a constant noise day and night. i'm a good night sleeper but i actually have troubles sleeping all the 14 days. this is not what you expect while on vacation. stuff is not really helpful, the restaurant is busy, hectic and noisy - not a pleasant atmosphere to have a breakfast of dinned: ques, mistakes in the bills, dirty dishes, lack of eggs for breakfast - is suitable for hostel not for a 5 star hotel. a funny thing is a dress code for the supper. for this type of a canteen this is really funny and even offensive. if you don't have a car - you will have no place to swim near the hotel, and the swimming pool is cold, definitely not suitable for children and people over 50. with car you'll be ok (20 km, and you'll have a place to swim in).

    The rooms are spacious and clean, that's all.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    First of all its not a 5 star hotel at all. I would say 4 at the best or even 3.. There is a highway going just under the hotel which is really noisy even during night time. We had to change our room from the 3rd floor to the 9th to get some sleep. If you want to take a walk to the centre you can go from downstairs or upstairs because the hotel is located on a hillside. From downstairs it takes about 10 mins, from upstairs like 25 mins. The problem is they are closing the ground level entry doors at 10pm so after this you need to take the longer option with 300 steps up to the hill. Its a good cardio training :) They dont really have a parking lot, you need to find something on the streets. Be careful and dont park just "under" the Hotel, next to the highway because you will get a fine. The funny thing is it was always parked full, so I parked there as well,and guess what happened, 40 EUR minus. Nobody told us in the Hotel to pay attention to this. At the pool you can smell some kind of canal stink as well. The dining is always overcrowded, you will need to fight for the tables.

    The view is quite stunning from the balcony and the rooms are clean and comfy. The hotel staff was really helpful and nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking appalling. Meat at evening meal variable to extremely tender, one night, to like leather next night. Bedroom faces onto one of the main roads into Puerto de la Cruz. Noisy !

    Staff were extremely polite and friendly, despite at times being overwhelmed by customers. Place was spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Hotel is a little tired, especially the pool areas, but everything else first class.

    Great hotel, 5 minutes walk from shops, bars, restaurants and Lago Martianez. Staff were very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extractor fan in bathroom did not work. Safe was expensive and not fixed down. Food often wasn't' hot enough, which spoilt the excellent range of food offered. No British te

    Being able to have all our meals outside. Great views of the sea. Very helpful reception staff, gave us excellent information on local places of interest. Spacious rooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Food in the restaurant during dinner was not good enough for a 5 stars hotel, the quality of the meat was cheap and not good. I did not like the buffet in the evening and during the snack time. But breakfast was ok. Swimming pool needs renovation asap. Because the parts of the decoration are falling on the ground and kids want to play with them. This is a no go.

    The room was very well renovated and clean. Employees of the hotel were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is situated really 5 minutes walking from the beach and the city center, with a fantastic view from the window.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed bit firm. Waiting staff didn't understand English. Access times to pool, gym & beach restricted. Outdoor pool bit cold. WiFi not accessible all floors and noise from road suggest mid floor room.

    Huge room and bed. Great buffet breakfast and eve meal. Would recommend it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast ok but could have had more choice, dinner buffet was ok but overpriced, not much to choose from

    Beautiful room, very clean, huge bed, view from balcony was amazing, friendly staff, breakfast ok.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bits here and there, overall state of common areas; they could easily redo the pool area in making it more attractive to the clients

    The hotel is situated close to the city center, only 15 minutes walk via the "secret passage". Food was great and tasteful, room was cozy and recently refurbished. Looks like an old hotel trying to get into 21st Century on turbo mode - which is actually good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is by no means a 5* hotel, more like a good 3* in the UK. So many items not included- if you want to use the safe in the room- that's 14 euro/ week, kettle for tea/coffee -that's 3 euro a day, the Gym -that's a 15 euro deposit...

    Swimming pool was lovely, the rooms were clean. The staff are lovely and very friendly but they are clearly being over worked.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First day towers were dirty with lot of hear on it, dinner was horrible, not possible to eat and when I complained with the staff they confirmed they were trying to improve it so he adviced that a sector with curry food and some chinese were new on the buffet and they were focusing on it, however the rest of the food he recognised was low quality food and just fast and easy for the kitchen to serve. However is suposed to be a 5 stars hotel and it was embarrasing. Im spanish and when I saw all these turists thinking that that was proper spanish food I felt really sorry and embarrased. Also the swiming pool is too small for the capacity of the hotel and last day I found out the they had given me an old room having new refurnished one available up to 9th floor. Very disapointed as it was supposed to be a special weekend with my partner

    I enjoyed the location, great staff in the restaurant and nice breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The standard of the hotel did not seem of a 5 star hotel, I would only give this hotel a maximum of 3 stars. The first and worst thing was that in a 5 star hotel was that the dishes and glassware was dirty and chipped. There was a very small selection of food, the food wasn't fresh and the restaurant staff was unpleasant. I felt as if the staff was counting the amount of food I was eating, since when I asked for more than 2 ribs she was unhappy about it and it seemed as if she didn't want to give an extra rib to me. Dinner started at 7, and if you arrived at about 8, most of the trays where the food was would be empty, and you would be waiting around to see if the would refill those trays or not. Many of the tiles at the pool were cracked and even some of them were fallen out, which would be left on the ground, no one picked them up and you could hurt yourself easily with them.

    The only good thing that I found was that the rooms were clean and cleaned everyday. The staff at reception were very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    However, parking is a real nightmare. We visited during peak time and yes there was crowd but decent crowd. My advise is don't book this hotel if you are visiting in a car and to be kept overnight. There is parking space but very limited and first come first basis, on street parking have always been full throughout our stay. Air-conditioning is also an issue, on our first night stay air-conditioning wasn't working, I asked reception guy to make it work as it was boiling hot and he said it will be done in couple of hours but no it wasn't fixed. I had to open the patio door and then new problem of road noise. I woke up at 0300 hours on our first night and was sitting outside on one of the top floor cafe. Next day the air conditioning was fixed after having a bit of go with staff. Anyways, some of the receptionist staff are rude and some are really helpful.

    It's a good hotel in terms of location if you are in north. Food is good. Restaurant and bar staff very helpful and polite, better than reception staff. Rooms are big enough and sound proof unless you open patio door to hear vehicles, view from hotel is very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like.

    Not too busy with plenty of sun loungers. Lovely sea view from the room. Very picturesque. Lovely restaurants within a 20 minute walk.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    We really would have enjoyed our stay here if the air conditioning worked, there were other issues, but nothing that would have ruined the stay here as the non-existent AC did. The first 3-4 days here were very hot, humid and thus super uncomfortable. No place is perfect but this is fraud in my opinion. As a five star hotel, advertising itself to have AC and then not to have AC, not even in the common areas, this is crooked! *As required by the hotel star rating system in Spain, locations of just 3 stars should have AC in the common areas.* It would be one thing if they didn't advertise themselves to have AC, so needless to say we felt conned, because this is a very high priority when we seek out lodgings. I have AC checked when searching, I rely on this to be truth and I was very surprised/disappointed that it was not. (We know places in Tenerife have AC, because we spent 8 days directly prior to this location in the Tenerife Royal Gardens, in the South, where the AC worked perfectly.) We brought it up with the front desk and they honestly seemed helpless, like it was out of their hands. They all looked super sweaty and uncomfortable themselves, not the best look for hotel's image. In total of our 8 nights here, we brought it up only 3 times during the first two days. Short, polite, respectful, non-heated requests. Once we were referred to their maintenance staff and in that instance it appeared as if there was an internal struggle in the establishment. My husband found it very strange that they expected us to deal with their maintenance crew, on our holiday, and asked that they rather handle it and see that it is fixed while we were out. It never was. We gave up asking after that and continued to sleep with the patio door open, with little relief. On one night there was a funny bird (Corey's Shearwaters) that woke me up over and over through out the night. Left the patio light on after that and it kept away.

    The location was fantastic, quiet and yet very close to the main parts of the city. The pool area outside is very pleasant and very nice to walk around. Our room was an updated version, modern, very clean and comfortable. Most of the desk staff was welcoming and professional. The younger maid who mainly attended our room was also pleasant and professional. The meal options changed every night and offered a lot of different choices. All the dinning room staff were very friendly and attentive. A+, and in my youth I have worked years in a NJ country club myself, the staff here was top. The fresh vegetables and salads were super fresh, crisp and perfect. Also great selections of cheeses, deserts, and fun themed nights. The common areas were very clean, well tended to. The pass way under the road outside was a great bonus, giving fantastic access to the walk down to the coast. I had no problem parking here at all, was always a spot in a reasonable amount of walking distance, furthest we ever had to park was about 400 meters, not a big deal at all.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Almost all the staff could not communicate in English (aside of some exceptions). It was still possible to make clear what you want, but not ideal for a hotel in such a touristed place. The food at dinner was often under seasoned and the dishes could have been cleaner. The parking situation was really bad. In the afternoon-evening it was almost impossible to find a parking spot near the hotel, and we had to park really far more than once. Not ideal for a hotel with so many guests to have a parking lot of only about 10 spots.

    The beds were huge, the cleaning of the rooms was daily and impeccable, the view from the balcony was amazing, very close to the city but not so close that it gets loud, the staff was very nice and helpful, the rooms renovated and cozy, the pool bar and the entertaining program in the evening were great!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location

    A/ c not effective. Not 5 star Even charge for safe No tea coffee facility Staff most if them dies not speak English ( really surprised)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    1. Cockroaches, cockroaches and cockroaches. Everywhere. In my room, in the bathroom, I even found a few in the lobby. It think you cannot call yourself a 5* hotel if your property is teemed with these disgusting insects. 2. Wi-fi. To be more specific - lack of a good internet connection. Despite the adds placed everywhere - on flat screens at the front desk, internet page, even on the hotel`s booking.com page, they really have wi-fi only at the lobby. No connection in the room, not even by the pool (I do not mean poor connection, I mean lack of any networks at all). Lobby only. Just to be fair, prior to writing this review here on booking.com I sent an mail (at two addresses found on their website) to their management describing the above mentioned problems. Unfortunately it was ignored.

    I got a corner room so it was really big and spacious. Big balcony with a nice view, that is definitely worth mentioning.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The whole hotel is shabby & tired & needs a lot of money spending on it to bring it up to 5 star. Not very welcoming when we arrived we asked for a kettle for our room cost 3 euros per day. Pool area is dirty & jacuzzi area very dark & dingy. Staff in restaurants were rude & unhelpful. we had a room on the 10th floor great view but dirty balcony covered in cigarette ash & a broken shower which was still no better after 4 days reporting it to the grumpy man at reception

    The food was outstanding especially the made to order omelettes for breakfast & the stir fries at dinner both made by the same lady chef who was friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 14 nights

    not international enough- limited English (staff), no international TV channels... breakfast finishes too early (stops at 10h, should be 11h) animations - more amateurish (sound system, type of animation...)

    location friendliness of the staff quality of the food/buffet (variety, freshness)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swiming pool :( You must pay for all drinks water, bear, wine sale just for botles. Coctails 5 eur in a bar.

    Nice see wiew from balkony. Room cleaning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Unable to enter hotel from below after 10 - despite being led to believe we could. Room underneath dining area - very noisy- especially when hotel was upgrading kitchen and dining area - did it overnight - no sleep for us! Reception staff a tad pompous- not very welcoming when we arrived Weather poor!!!!

    We liked the balcony view; room excellent; chambermaids super; choice of ffod good- chinese night was the best; pool lovely

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The buffet sometimes for dinner and breakfast was crazy busy with queues for food. The outdoor pools were not suitable for young children.

    The mini disco for small children was great and wide selection of food at the buffet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were 3 adults staying for a week but the room was fitted for 2 on daily basis. Every day we had to ask for more towels, etc., so it will be enough for all of us. The breakfast time is rather short, and while we were eating they just shut the lights down to get people to leave the dining room. The second you finished off your plate, they grabbed it off and it made sitting there very unplesant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    i cannot really mention anything.

    very spacious rooms, all of them with sea view. we booked 2 rooms and we got 2 next to each other and there was a door between the 2 rooms which makes it ideal for families. our room on the 4th floor was freshly renovated. the beds were huge and comfy, good AC, a minibar with all kinds of complimentary soft drinks which, if you wished could be asked to be refilled for 10-15 euros. very nice touch. im not sure if this is for everyone, but we got it. if you close the windows you barely hear the road noise. there is an elevator that takes you right to the street by the sea, and you can conveniently walk to the promenade in 10 minutes. parking provided by the hotel is very limited, but in this part of the city you can easily find parking spots just 1-2 minutes away on foot. Food is fresh and had a good variety. of course it is not the classic 5-star tasting menu style, but it was delicious and we loved the themed nights (asian, mexican) The staff is very friendly and relaxed and they were able to ease a little bit on the mass-eating feeling, i.e they left time for you to settle down before ordering drinks at dinners (we were on half board) and did not take the plate/glass while you were eating/drinking from it. the hotel was full but they had ample space for seating everyone. drinks were inexpensive so feel free to order drinks. the facilities are really nice, with a nice garden and lots of space again for sunnathing. we spent only the mornings and the late afternoons in the hotel, so i dont know whethet it gets crowded during the day. the pools are a little dated, but clean, no big problems with the quality. the guests' 50% was from Spain and the rest from many other nationalities, nice mix and quite some families as well. we did not check out the entertainment.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Wallet of my mother was stolen by staff in the room, we reported about it, but management did nothing and they even didn't plan to investigate this case. Staff on reception and management were not nice at all. We didn't get even any sorry about this case! In general hotel is not definitely 5 star, maybe middle 4. Everything is pretty old and a lot of broken things. - Canteen - not enough staff, not enough tables and food, dirty dishes - Gym - need to leave 15eur deposit to get access to gym (should be returned during check out if you will remind about them), half of equipment doesn't work at all - Room - view of ocean, but near big road and always very noisy. Also in 'hot' season they are doing renovation of hotel from 8am till 8pm, so it's not possible to stay in room because of noise. Not comfortable bed and pillow. - Kettle - 4 eur per day - Dinner - water is not for free if you don't have All inclusive - Spa - is not for free at all, you should pay for entrance, towels for it are also by money If you want to stay exactly in 5 stars hotel, strongly not recommended this one! It will be waste of money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Maybe it could be good to clean the windows at terrace :)

    Breathtaking view from the room. A variety of food, not all the same, good choice for everyone (plenty of vegetables, fruits, fishes...). Cava for breakfast :) Some evenings the welcome drinks. Swimming pools are warm enough, so as the jacuzzi. Staff is very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of construction in and next to hotel. Staff nice but bad English. (Not at reception though) Hotel is tired, but not entirely worn out by looks.

    It was clean. Not in the middle of touristic area, but close.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air conditioning ,I complained and I was told by hotel staff it works and that is what they have. however only air conditioning fan worked , there was no cold air coming out.

    The view was stunning from the room balcony

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive for a run down hotel in need of modernising, nothing for kids to do. The entertainment was very poor, just thankful we were only there two days.

    The view

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Receptionist came to our room during midnight without permission twice. 2. Most of the people in this hotel is pensioners 3. English for them is too difficult 4. No drinks included during the dinner 5. Wi-Fi is terrible 6. Spa and pools are closed 7pm 7. Weather in this place is not that good.

    1. Beautiful views through the balcony 2. Food is great 3. Good price's

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was way too noisy the windows should be thicker since it's near a road and the sea (very disappointing). There were a huge mistake with the room at start (single bed given when double bed paid) and only one, often busy employee at the reception so the wait was quite long. No wifi at all on some of the hotel floors despite of what is announced.

    Excellent value for money when it comes to buffets. Nice pool and jacuzzi. The room was nice, so was the view, and the beds confortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows Too many old people (saga hotel) Dated Decor Pay on arrival (not mentioned in booking conditions!) Parking

    Large room Very good views Large beds Spa facilities Great location Very clean

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Best Semiramis traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: