Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Bilbao Jardines 2 stars

Jardines, 9, 48005 Bilbao, Spain

#33 of 47 hotels in Bilbao

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1512 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Comfortable hotel, excellent location for exploring, amazing staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Loved everything, highly recommended.

    Excellent location, short walk to lift to town (saves walking up the hill), lovely old style hotel but all facilities up to date. Spacious, quiet room, very good breakfast. Large pool area, lots of lounge space. We had an issue with the shower and they fixed it right away. I also got a parking ticket in a neighboring town and they went beyond any expectations to help resolve this. Fantastic staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    The location was in a great location, room clean, but very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Need higher wattage light bulbs as hard to read at night.

    The location was in a great location, room clean, but very basic and dark. It suited by needs as only there to sleep. Felt quite safe for female travelling solo. Staff were very nice and accommodating.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Electric buzz in room when key card was in device - had to leave it out overnight. The power points / sockets are hard to reach under the bedside table...

    Great location!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location, very clean and convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a little basic. Not many options, nothing hot, no proper decaf coffee or different types of milks ie plant based milks.

    Great location and very clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Very good value for money. Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only niggle was only one mirror which was in the bathroom and no shelves for makeup / toiletries. Another mirror in the main room would have been useful.

    Perfect position in the old town. Very helpful and friendly staff. We asked for a quiet room and were given a rear facing room which looked over a courtyard looking onto the back of the library. Very private. Breakfast was good, continental , with varied choices. The bathroom was brand new with rainfall shower and handheld shower over bath. Loads of storage space for clothes, 2 wardrobes with drawers. Very clean and good quality linen.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    5.0
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place needs updating. Tiny shower which I just about fit in and I'm a small lady. Cleanliness in the bathroom was not good. Bed rock hard. View from room was the neighbours wall and washing.

    The location was perfect for the seven streets. Option to use a free bike.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.0
    We would have liked to have seen the car parks nearby in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked to have seen the car parks nearby in the hotel description, it only said limited access.the nearest we found was at the station some 15 mins walk, only to be told there was nearer one that gave the hotel discount.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.1
    The location is very good in the old town, plenty of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was pretty basic and bit worn and you could hear noises from the neighbouring rooms.

    The location is very good in the old town, plenty of restaurants etc around. The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    Great choice for your stay in Bilbao
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a problem for us, but know that the hotel is located in a pedestrian area so you wouldn't be able to take a taxi to the front door

    Amazing location in the middle of the old part of town, yet still very quiet. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    A very good hotel in a great location !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast is just adequate and rather basic, being essentially bread, cheese & cold meats (though cereals and pastries are also present). This is fine for one or two days but gets a bit boring, should you stay for longer!

    Surely the best location in the city, right in the middle of the most historic section, with choice of eating & drinking places in the same street (and all around!) The hotel is entirely satisfactory, subject only to breakfast niggle, and we would definitely recommend it & stay again! (Special thanks to Felix, the manager, who helped us with a re-booking after cancelled flights disrupted our plans - much appreciated)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you'd like to go to sleep early this isn't quite the place for you... actually Bilbao probably isn't the place for you period...

    Perfectly located in the old district of Bilbao you'll find plenty of bars and restaurants within a 2 minute walk of the hotel! Overall it is really a great place to stay for a reasonable amount of money, didn't feel cheep and was clean and well kept.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.3
    Bilbao great place to stay. Visit was perfect for a break in my travel ans.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being in Bilbao on rugby finals weekend which meant prices were very high. Walls to adjoining rooms not soundproof so used earplugs.

    Location in old town fabulous. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.6
    The inaccessible Hotel Bilbao Jardines
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't drive to the front of the hotel as in a pedestrianised street.

    Good location & got 10% discount at nearby carpark through the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money in the heart of old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast room a bit chilly. Cheese and ham slices were served from the same plate - not nice for vegetarians. The heater / cooler in the room was not very clean, so we chose to be in a bit cold room than in a dusty and warm room. Some of the dishes in the breakfast room were not cleaned properly. No soundproofing whatsoever, everything from the corridor and adjacent rooms were clearly audible, as well from the street below.

    Superb location - just in the middle of everything. The old town with its narrow streets is lovely, plenty of nice bars and restaurants and little shops within a short walking distance. Big bed, good pillows, large bathroom. Breakfast ok, nothing special, but all the basic elements were present. Cosy little hotel, friendly staff and lots of tourist information available. Coffee, drinks and snacks could be bought from an vending machine in the lobby, nice idea!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    6.3
    Well located but very basic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty basic and room didn't look like the photographed room on line. Just no atmosphere.

    Location good....nice bar opposite for breakfast or tapas. Gentleman on reception on evening of arrival was charming and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Delighted with my choice of hotel and Bilbao is a city well worth visiting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My window opened on to an enclosed courtyard so there was little fresh air when the window was open. Very small criticism.

    The hotel was very conveniently situated and perfectly clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    5.8
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Worst bed I have ever not slept in. Barely got an hour's sleep. it was like a rock. This place needs to invest in quality mattresses before anyone else is subjected to the hell that is attempting to get a good night's sleep.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.3
    Great location in nice city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No fridge in bedroom, noisy front bedrooms, expensive and not very good breakfast.

    Excellent location; cleanliness, comfortable, helpful staff., nearby bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.3
    Really lovely little hotel definitely will go back when in Bilbao . Right slap bang in Old Town .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls a bit thin shower unit a bit small

    Fab hotel basic and stylish lovely breakfasts lovely comfy room great location . As is all european places very civilised and relaxed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    6.3
    Average.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking a long way away & expensive.18 euros for a motorcycle. To be fair it is clear from the website that parking is a long way & my view is coloured by walking to & from in the torrential rain. Hotel also quite cold & no heating controls in room. Electric sockets very sparse & difficult to access.

    Located in the old town which is beautiful & vibrant. Wifi not great but ok.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent basic hotel in good location in old town provided you dont want to drive to hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only down side is access by car, as long as you leave your car in underground car park near river , few minutes walk away, it is ok.

    Good economic hotel in old town with easy walking access to resturants and places of interest.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    Perfect value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really can’t remember anything bad.

    Location is the best, everything is nearby. Staff was really nice: we arrived 3 hours earlier, they let us leave the luggage until check-in time. After check-out, they let us leave the luggage until the evening. The room was nice and clean, quite big, very quiet. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    Great location in old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect. Everything was within walking distance. Very close to Plaza Nueva and the pintxo bars. The river was also a short distance away and the Guggenheim around a ten minute walk. Breakfast was simple but ample and good value for money. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.3
    Great location, fair price. Just what you would expect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room was very hot, and even with the heater off, the hot air kept coming out. We didn't bother calling the reception as we were only staying one night and could sleep anyway.. so, our bad too! I'm sure they would have been happy to help us

    Amazing position, right in the city center, yet quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.8
    Not bad for one night but the hotel didn't justify my expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't provide me single room with king size bed which I had booked. Wasn't so clean as I had expected. The TV set woke me up at night.

    Very good location, supermarket is close to hotel, there are a lot of shops near.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    5.0
    A little disappointed
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room unbearable - way too hot. Unable to use air-con or cool down. Male host was a rude Parking was poor Light penetrated room from skylight - unable to sleep well. Mattress hard like a brick - VERY BAD - Aggravated back injury Pillows are 3-4 feet long - difficult to use and sleep on based on western standards

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have loved coffee making facilities kn the room although there was a vending machine on the ground floor, its not the same. But that's just being picky plenty of cafes and bars near by serving lots of great coffee.

    Excellent location right in the heart of the old town. The room was really clean and staff very friendly would definitely stay again

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast was good and good value, the staff were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking was a long way away, so presented a problem to transport our luggage to and fro,

    Breakfast was good and good value, the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At first I had to park car to hotel and get around at old city and found out it is closed. Then I had called hotel and learnt to park outside public parking with discount. Better mention in the information.

    Good location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    9.2
    Jardines in the center.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Two times happend (in 3 nights stay) that my "key" to open the door doesn't work and needed to come to the reception for activating this card again.

    Very rainy days I stayed. Kindness of personal to lend me an umbrella for all my stay. Thank you!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant enough but nothing outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom / shower a little small and had seen better days. Air conditioning unit made a fair bit of noise even when not on so ear plugs are useful!

    Staff very helpful. Bed and room very comfy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.8
    Pleasant stay in a budget hotel in the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No hot breakfast choice but the cold buffet was sufficient, a little chilly in the restaurant area due to the air conditioning. No really anywhere to hang towels in the bathroom could do with some hooks for the wet towels

    Easily accessible, comfortable room and bed and located away from the main street so no traffic noise. We enjoyed the space in the hotel room and the beds were twin.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    7.9
    I would recommend the hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was a little poor, but the coffee was of good quality and the orange juice made of real oranges. For the price, I guess it was OK.

    Very nice and helpful personnel, nice, cozy and quiet room. Central location in the historic center and very easy to find. Excellent prices.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    7.1
    Good location, quite an uncomfortable noisy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable beds, they were rock hard. The floors are very noisy, they are just plank on ply flooring systems that creak and make terrible noises. It sounded like someone was constantly at my door or walking in through the door. There was a constant buzzing coming from the main switch board and some noise like water or air rushing through the pipes of the room heater I wouldn’t like to stay there during summer as my room got really warm and I don’t think there was any air conditioning.

    The location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    5.4
    Good location in Bilbao
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I need to adjust heater throughout the night as temperature varies.

    Location is very close to restaurants, shops and attractions. Reception staff speak English, very helpful. The room is clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.5
    Nice staff and good location but basic
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was basic, no pictures on the walls, you could here people walking down the passageways and up and down the next door room. Whenever the curtains or shutters were open or closed next door you could hear it loud and clear but it did not disturb our sleep.

    It was clean, well located with lot's of restaurants and bars on the same street. The reception staff were VERY friendly and helpful. It is within easy walking of main attractions and the subway which are clean and efficient. Parking is an issue we were told the hotel does not have any but we parked locally by the river in a secure underground car park.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.3
    I was extremely frustrated to find that I could not drive to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    see above

    I was extremely frustrated to find that I could not drive to the hotel. I had selected it for being in "The Old Town" (good for hotels, dining & culture) but nowhere was I warned that this was a pedestrian zone! I eventually phoned the hotel and the helpful staff directed me to an underground carpark only minutes away.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.5
    Excellent city for a short break. NB most museums and Guggenheim shut on Mondays.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being in the old town means streets are narrow and the buildings are very close together which made for very gloomy room. Had to check the sky to see if daylight! And no hint of weather outside which was warm and sunny once out in the open. The price you pay for being in that part of the city.

    Excellent location on pedestrianised street in the Old Town. Plenty of restaurants and bars and easy walking to main shopping streets. Bit further to the Guggenheim but pleasant walk along the river. Tram within 5 minutes.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    8.3
    Happy with hotel, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attic room slightly low sloping ceiling, but nothing too bad. Hotel had arranged parking other nearby hotel for 12 euros for the day (good), but parking was hard to find & tricky to get in & out of. Glad we had a small hire car.

    Clean, modern, great location right in the centre of the old town. We wandered round the area to the excellent covered market, then walked along the river to the Gugenheim. This took about an hour with plenty of meandering detours, stops at playpark, good quality free toilets etc. Very impressed with Bilbou & Gugenheim was wonderful. Took tram back to hotel, very pleased with the experience.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel with friendly staff in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower is of a poor with a prominent handle meaning any movement in the stiflingly tight shower cubicle is likely to knock off the flow or scald one.

    Excellent location in the old quarter with lovely staff and great breakfast with no skimping.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.8
    Great little place in the heart of the old town, near as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great little place in the heart of the old town, near as many bars restaurants entertainment as you could hope for. Friendly, helpful reception staff, good standard of room at a decent price. Winner all round.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.8
    Excellent. Will tell my friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing worth mentioning

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a good location - great restaurants within walking distance. Excellent tram service close by, which we used to go the the Guggenheim gallery. Bilbao is a fabulous place, made even better by its lovely people.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel in a great location and excelent value for money - a place to return to
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    On arrival around 17.00 hrs it was not possible for a taxi to drop me off outside the hotel - nearest he could get, due to tables / chairs from pintxo bars / restaurants in the street, was around 50 m away; this is not so bad if you know exactly where the hotel is located, but just to be dropped at the end of the street and 'directed' in Spanish language could be 'disconcerting' (to say the least) for some clients (NOTE: taxi driver spoke zero English - but then again we were in Spain!)

    Perfect location in the old town, and plenty of restaurants or bars locally - about a 20 minute walk to the Guggenheim Museum.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location in the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower cubicle is absolutely tiny. It's fine to stand in, but if you want to raise your arms to wash your hair, you have to open the door. The bathroom itself is a reasonable size so I can't understand why the cubicle is so small. There is enough space to install a bigger one. The walls are paper thin so you can hear any noise coming from neighbouring rooms.

    Excellent location in the heart of the lovely old town with a good selection of restaurants and a supermarket nearby. Bilbao is not that big and it has an efficient public transport system so getting about is very easy and the nearest underground (metro) station is only a few minutes walk from the hotel. I arrived very early and was able to check in straight away which I appreciated after a long journey. The staff were pleasant and the room quite spacious. Despite the negative aspects, I would consider staying at this hotel again due to the location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.5
    Perfect Hotel to explore the old Bilbao
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms poorly soundproofed

    Good location in the "old town" of Bilbao. Perfect for a city trip. Breakfast was (for spanish conditions) very good. Warm and friendly welcome.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    Great place ton stay if your on a economical budget. Would definitely recommend, and book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm 6'8 tall so the shower cubicle was a little on the small sidea for me, also the bathroom sink had a rather large crack in the panel joining it to the wall.

    Hotel staff were excellent, there is also someone on the reception desk 24/. The room was just the right size for me staying alone and was also cleaned everyday. Based right in the heart of the old town, cafes and bars right on your doorstep. Short walk away from tram stop if your not upto walking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    8.8
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a lot of noise in the street beneath us and you heard it quite well until late at night.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Location was great: in the heart of the Casco Viejo and not far from the Guggenheim. The room was very clean and comfortable enough.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    6.7
    Hotel set in a street of yesteryear
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was unable to stay in my bed as it had a terrible smell. I used the blankets from the cupboard to make a bed on the floor as the hour was late when we went to bed. Told the housemaid in the morning and she changed what ever it was that was smelling.

    The hotel is in the old part of Bilbao with a lot to see. Access to Trams Buses and Metro all reasonably close.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.2
    Great Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can become a bit noisy at night.

    Breakfast was ok, not extraordinary. Location was amazing, really close to city centre (walking distance) and with lots of restaurants and bars around where you can find tasty pintxos to eat.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Everything was excellent, staff was really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-if wasn't really excellent mostly. Rather good for texting, but you can't watch video or skype with someone.

    Everything was excellent, staff was really nice. I came to Bilbao at 5 a.m. And my room should be ready only by 13:00. But they let me wait at the comfortable place with wi-fi, so I shouldn't wander the night Bilbao. There is always somebody on the reception even at night!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.5
    Great location, super helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Anna at reception was so incredibly helpful at suggesting and helping us plan daytrips. If it wasn't for her, we wouldn't have seen Mundaka and Bermeo. Can't thank her enough. She made all the difference to our trip :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.8
    Perfectly adequate hotel right in the centre of things
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    By my travel partner and I were unsure if the air con units were doing anything. The shower unit was so small I was unable to shower inside of it! The shower itself was fine though.

    The bed was comfortable in the room and the noise level was low from outside. The main benefit of this hotel is location, location, location! It is surrounded by lots of cafes and bars - filled with locals as much as tourists - which is always a good sign.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.5
    Good place to crash for a night as a solo traveller.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattresses were a little hard and the Wi-fi was terrible.

    Great location, lots of authentic little shops and restaurants within walking distance. Staff was friends and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.3
    We didn't get a double bed because I forgot to ask for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't get a double bed because I forgot to ask for it when booking. I was a bit disappointed that I couldn't change to a double bedroom. But on the second day we found the 2 twin beds in the room were put together. Very considerate staff!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.9
    The staff was so nice , she helped a lot .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was so nice , she helped a lot . provide me all info about the city . very friendly . this place is in the old city and very easy access to the public transport.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    4.6
    Bad experience. There was Leftover food in our room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was stuffy, it smell bad and there was a pizza box with leftovers from previous clients. The staff did not even apologise for this. Not value for money.

    Location is the only thing that worth the stay

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.8
    Location it was very easy for my elderly mother to enjoy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bath plus shower had no grab rails making access difficult and increased likelihood of a fall. Rooms facing street a bit noisy.

    Location it was very easy for my elderly mother to enjoy some independence because food shopping transport and entertainment were so close

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    8.8
    The Heart of Bilbao
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A great position in the city centre, walking distance to all places of interest. Just two metro stops from Airpost shuttle bus. Satisfied with breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable, well placed and with thoughtful customer service,
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel cost more than the others I had been staying in in my journey across Northern Spain. However, the quality and customer service well justified the extra and I will almost certainly go again.

    The hotel is in the old town just across the river from two of the railway stations . The reception is very friendly and the hotel itself clean and efficient. Although I was travelling alone, I was in a large room with a double and two single beds....plenty of room, a desk to sit at and a balcony overlooking a small courtyard. One really nice touch: I had washed some clothes and draped them over the balcony and went out for the morning. When I came back after lunch, room service had hung them up where they would dry better. .... Very thoughtful and a mark of real attention to costumer comfort. The hotel is close to many restaurants and bars so you have plenty of choice nearby.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    6.7
    Perfect location. OK budget hotel. Great staff. Avoid the breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is included in price but absolutely not worth staying in for: industrial croissants, stale bread, industrial jams and yoghurt. Ham and cheese are not better. Staff cannot be blamed: they are doing their best but the food itself is of low value. Spare yourself an indigestion and have a fresh breakfast just outside (lovely bakery with fresh bread and viennoiseries)

    Perfect location in the old town. Nice bars and restaurants, cosy atmosphere, lively evenings ( until +/-22:30h) followed nice and quiet nights. Friendly staff. 24h reception. Safe place.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    7.9
    Good stay - avoid street view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we booked two different rooms and one of them was very noisy.

    the location was good as it is in the old town. welcoming and nice staff we were able to leave our bags for the day at the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    10
    i just love this hotel
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    after walking part of the camion we stayed in bilbo for a night before flying home love this hotel staff are lovely and in right in the heart of the old town ofBilbao

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    8.3
    Stay in Old Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Economy class hotel, good if you wish to stay in a very heart of old town. Room was small but clean, bed too hard for us. Underground Parking Arenal is located in 10 min walk, GPS coordinates 43.261860, -2.923035, price 12 EUR/24 hours. Breakfast area is spacious, but breakfast moderate. A lot of restaurants, cafes, bars, shops are located around, so no problem to find a place. Bilbao is amazing in general, so worth to stay here and discover. Lady in reception could be more kind, but no complains at all.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location for this wonderful city and especially for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfect location for this wonderful city and especially for its ancient centre with its teeming bars and "eateries" and its great ambiance , shops and an overall wonderful atmosphere. Ideal for access to the endlessly vast and diverse range of culinary establishments at all times in the day. Hotel is comfortable but above all functional and practicable. Bikes available although we did not use them.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    8.8
    very good, shame about the location of the disabled room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i am a disabled person, my room was on the top floor, there was access with a lift, if it broke down, or IF THERE WAS A FIRE, how would i get out, from the top floor?????

    location was good, in the middle of a pedestrian area, lots of place to decide to eat and drink

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.6
    Great for all ages
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be a little more inventive.

    Close to transport links. Centre of old town, so plenty of restaurants and bars. Historically, best part of the city.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    6.3
    Advertised picture # Actual room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only reservation is about the room itself. It was advertised with a photo of a considerably large room with a nice big window with some pleasant view. And actuslly, the room was a cubicle with the shower being probably the tiniest cabin I ever had to squeeze into. And the window went out onto a kind garbage dumping site, and several floors up people were drying their laundry etc. BUT then again, I booked the cheapest option so was ready to be given modest accommodation, it's just the discrepancy between the advertised picture and the actual room

    Generally it was ok, the women at reception were nice and helpful. The.location was convenient bcs you could easily walk to most of the sites

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    8.8
    Superb value for that cost!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of space in the shower cabin, not great window view, quite cold in the room, but you can easily heat it up.

    Early check-in without a problem, fast check-out. Wonderful location, just in the middle of old city centre and next to all the bars and restaurants. Great value for money. Perfect choice for lowcost budget travellers.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    8.3
    Great for getting out and about by public transport. Old town charm with pleasant public areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No tea and coffee making facilities in room, nor on each floor. Difficult yo bring refreshments from ground floor coin operated facilities up to room.

    Staff and management were very informative.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location. very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No parking nearby at reasonable price. 17 Euro per night for a public car park is not good enough.

    Staff spoke English and were very helpful. Location is excellent, in the middle of the old city.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    7.1
    Great location but noisy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are extremely noisy.. The floor in the corridors makes a lot of noise as soon as someone walks on it with any kind of shoes, the doors bang loudly, and the rooms are not well insulated. Result: hard time sleeping.

    The location was awesome

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    8.8
    Excellent location and wonderful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No free parking. Costs a lot for every 24 hour period and is not very close by. Sound insulation not good at all. We could hear people in several corridors and rooms, even just walking about. Some rooms (we had two on two different days) are in need of some renovation.

    Staff were wonderful: spoke English, helped in any way they could and gave sound advice. Location is very good in the heart of the old city - but do not try to bring a car there.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    3.3
    Rotten hotel Jardines
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Going out at 9am & returning 12 hours later to find door to our room open which had not been closed by cleaner. Seemed they did not care! Room looks good on Booking.com website but in fact it really needs a good clean & painting. Would not recommend staying there to anyone!

    We liked where hotel was situated

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    9.2
    Modern and sophisticated boutique hotel on the edge of old town - easy to get everywhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice breakfast spread - eggs and bacon for all you Americans! Everything was delicious. Loved the bar and area to relax after walking all day. Room was plenty spacious. Staff was very gracious.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    5.0
    Good location, very noisy floor boards, bed hard
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed and was very noisy floor boards, I was scared staying there. I thought someone was trying to get into my room at night due to the floorboards

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: