Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Bonaval 2 stars

Bonaval, 2 - 4, 15703 Santiago de Compostela, Spain

#16 of 75 hotels in Santiago de Compostela

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1083 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    The buffet breakfast accessible all day worked very well for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perhaps the garden doors could have been more obviously open on these warm days. Otherwise no nothing to dislike.

    The buffet breakfast accessible all day worked very well for us as did the all night card access. The location is on the edge of the city centre and yet in a peaceful residential street. Decor is an attractive mix of traditional and more contemporary.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    A very comfortable start to our camino experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The 24 hour self service coffee and snack room is an absolute winner. After so many tiny European showers the large shower with good water pressure was wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.3
    great location and a very sobering experince whether you are religious or not
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    small shower in the room we were in, not a big deal but if you are greater than six foot, watch your head

    The hotel was next to the old town, the parking was easy. Three days was enough, we had four but it was a great experience. Mass on Sunday in the Cathedral was an experience

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.5
    Only ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff weren't especially friendly. Air conditioning was ineffective in our room although admittedly it was very hot last week. Door to the outside garden was locked all afternoon and we had to ask staff to open a gate in the wall on the road to be able to access.

    Beds were comfortable. Lovely rustic decor. Being able to get coffee during the day.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Beautifully situated steps from the heart of the old city,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautifully situated steps from the heart of the old city, yet quiet and peaceful. An elegant boutique hotel with friendly staff. Very convenient to have a 24 hour buffet for a quick snack between meals or late at night. Beautiful patio in enclosed garden.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Great all day breaky
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would of loved to of been able to sit in the garden but doors were locked could only excess from 100m outside the hotel through a locked door and down some stairs

    Great all day breaky

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.9
    Just outside the main area, lovely place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is ddiscounted at a local car park but it is a walk down (& back up) asteep hill, unload any luggage before you park up. One way streets are very steep & narrow, glad we weren't on the motorbike. Poor receptionist had to run between buffet dish washing & desk, keeping an eye via cctv.

    Lovely area, great to have access to coffee & outside seating. We did enjoy the "All day breakfast" - but i must add it is a cost based system: limited choices, machine dispenced drinks & do it yourself system easily saves the hotel enough to offer an extra coffee or piece of toast to the odd resident who visits more than once.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely short stay, would definitely use this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative comes to mind at all.

    I previously reviewed this property and scored it low!!! My mistake I mistook which hotel I was reviewing. Everything about this hotel was excellent, great service and recommendations from front of house. Lovely and modern decor, spotlessly clean. Amazing breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Completely enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative to report.

    Great location; one block from old quarter. Very clean, well appointed air conditioned rooms with comfortable beds. Very accommodating, informative and friendly multi-lingual staff. Stashed luggage for us upon early arrival so we could attend noon mass at the cathedral (packed with pilgrims as well as tourists late Spring-early Summer so get there 20-30 minutes ahead to get a seat!). Asked for extra pillows and got them right away. Nicely presented buffet/snacks—coffee, juices, yogurt, fresh fruit, breads, ham, cheese, etc.—available 24 hrs a day from immaculate eating spaces connected to a cozy garden. Will definitely stay here any future trips to Santiago de Compostela.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is not on site but a very short walk away so not a problem. We paid 24 euros for 2 days.

    Great location. Can easily walk to the cathedral from hotel. Large comfortable very clean room. All day breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable well located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The '24 hour, self-service' breakfast is a bit of a gimmick. There is a reasonable selection on offer but the quality is not in keeping of the rest of the hotel and pricing. Wi-Fi is weak in the breakfast room area.

    Excellent location near Porta Camino. Lovely old building. Terrace and garden (for sunny day/evening). Bed and bedroom very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very welcoming and polite. rooms are very comfortable and the 24h buffet is a big plus in a very pleasant room. i would definitely recommend this place and will come back next time I'm in Santiago

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Great breakfast and outdoor spaces.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast and outdoor spaces. Quiet location just outside old city. Loved the way building was renovated... modern amenities with some history intact

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.3
    The rooms of the Hotel Street front are inadequate for the hospitality !!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a noisy, lousy room overlooking the street, and 8 months before we wrote a quiet, quiet room at the Hotel. Air conditioning did not work, outdoor daytime temperature: 28 degrees Celsius, it was claimed that it can only be heated, there is no cooling in the whole house ..! Room change was not possible as the price at the time of booking is less than the daily, updated price! ! Very high price value for food, terribly poor quality ..! This is unacceptable ... !!!! We never want any such or similar accommodation !!!

    Good location but poor parking, breakfast is very one-sided, but almost full day consumption, but only food and drinks at breakfast ..!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Clean, beautiful, great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didnt like that when we arrived at 2:30, we were made to wait until 3:00 (the official check in time) to check in, even though the rooms were all ready. They were not being cleaned and were completely ready. Most other hotels allow you to check in a little early if the rooms are ready, as a courtesy. But the staff made us sit in the lobby and waste a half hour waiting until 3:00 to check in. I felt this was unprofessional, but still very much liked the hotel.

    This is a BEAUTIFUL, modern clean hotel in a central location just 5 minutes walking to all the main historic sites in town. There are many good restaurants nearby. The hotel is super high tech and has a wonderful free 24 hour breakfast buffet included in the price. It also has a free computer to use in the lobby if you dont have a cell phone or laptop. Most important for me, it is QUIET, unlike a lot of hotels in Santiago. There is also a gorgesou outdoor garden to sit in and relax and eat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    very good and would recommend the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Monica. I liked the fact that the continental food was available 24/7. Location was excellent and close to the cathedral and old part of town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    A gem of a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This hotel ticks every box. Close to the cathedral and other icons of Santiago de Compostela, a friendly and helpful staff, excellent facilities - the all day breakfast buffet is huge bonus, spacious areas to sit away from your room. Perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    Little gem in Santiago
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the location, (5 min walk from the heart of town) the friendly staff, the comfort of a big family room. The ice on the cake for me and the family with two little girls of 3 and 5 years was the access to a free buffett with fresh fruit, cakes, coffee and juices 24/7. Great hotel!! Santiago

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    2.5
    NIGHTMARE!!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The most noisy room ever! You can hear the tv from the other room like it was in yours. The air cond doesn’t work so 26°c all night when it s 13 outside. Then every 10 minutes crazy noises from the washing machines I guess. I slept 1h30 minutes. FOR YOUR OWN SAFETY, NEVER GO THERE!!!!!!!!!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    8.8
    Comfort and convenience just minutes away from the Cathedral
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only bad side is that the carpets of the reception and stairways were a bit dingy and the room smelled a bit of tobacco smoke, but was otherwise very clean.

    After the Camiño Portugués this was the comfortable haven I was looking for. There's a 24 hour breakfast buffet including free juice, coffee, fruit and more with views onto the garden, a nice comfortable bed and a big shower with good water pressure and even a portable shower bench for the mobility impaired (including me after 30 some kilometers of carrying a heavy pack). It's about a 10 minute walk to the praza dos obradoiros and to praza Galicia (where the bus to the airport leaves from) and in a quiet, historic neighborhood.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    9.6
    It is located in the centre of the old city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is difficult. Fortunately the hotel is cooperating with a private parking in a near distance. You have to ask the reception.

    It is located in the centre of the old city. The hotel offers you a 24 hour free buffet Also the decoration of the rooms is nice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.2
    A win option for its location and very practical staff and services!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The free parking was too busy, so we had to park on the paid parking for 1 night, but the hotel had an agreement of 10 euros for 24hours.

    We really appreciated having the 2 rooms at the same level of the reception, and the rooms were really comfortable. Having the breakfast available anytime was a plus, it is simple but very nice to have a coffee with a cake and fruits/juice whenever we wanted. Location was a plus, walking distance to downtown and to the Market! We really recommend the visit!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.9
    Sufficient for Camino finishers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little pricey. Carpets weren't really vacuumed and room wasn't cleaned thoroughly for what we paid.

    The downstairs all day lounge area was really nice. Staff was pleasant and courteous. Location was good between downtown and bus station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Royal condition for affordable price- best way to recover from the PIlgrim's walk!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was amazing- spacious and well- furnished with a lovely view on the city. In addition, that was the first hotel I've ever been to having free open food buffet with fresh juices and fruits available 24/7. Really practical for travellers with early flights who want to grab a quick breakfast before taking off to the airport. The staff was absolutely lovely giving us directions and booking a taxi for us.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    The all day breakfast was a particularly good idea.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The all day breakfast was a particularly good idea. Fresh bread daily and a selection of cheese, ham and cake. The free wifi, and provision of a tablet, was appreciated, as were the umbrellas available for guests' use.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Best place to stay in Santiago Do Compostela.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great safe beautiful hotel. Loved the 24 hour breakfast/snack area. Lovely spacious rooms, nice bathrooms, with comfortable beds. easy walk to the centre of town, lots to see In the area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Country style cottage in a big city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That I had to leave!

    The hotel was the most attractive one during my entire stay in Spain. Quiet, cozy, and comfortable. I wish I could have stayed longer than my two days. Short walk to downtown to Cathedral. Close to everything. Attentive staff. Food was wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    8.8
    Great place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You should ask for a quiet room in the back (we did), since I think it might be a bit noisy on the street... it's a small but kind of busy road out front.

    Having 24 hour access to snacks, including a great European breakfast (simple: yogurt, fruits, bread, coffee), was great. The room was really nice and spacious. It was quiet and within walking distance to everything you might want to see.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    Excellent location, just a short walk to the Cathedral.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location, just a short walk to the Cathedral. Having just completed a 500 mile walk this was the perfect place to stay. Staff and breakfast were exceptional. Would highly recommend to anyone, especially someone doing the Camino de Santiago!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.2
    Excellent value and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small but did not have a bath mat. Had to use a pair of dirty pants to step on when I got out of the shower. Of course, no washcloths/face cloths which is typical for most European facilities.

    Very nice continental breakfast facility and coffee-loved the 24 hour convenient. The location was great, very walkable into the old city. The staff helped us get cabs to the airport.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.2
    Great location and only 10 minutes walk to the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location and only 10 minutes walk to the main attractions within the town. As we arrived fairly early in the day we were permitted to have our own packed lunch in the hotel gardens which was very nice. Our room was pleasant with a good bed and excellent bathroom facilities. Secure parking was found at a 24 hours manned facility just 5 minutes walk away from the hotel. (Great for motorcycles).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Great place! We will come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No negative points.

    The room is beautiful, super comfortable and clean. The location is great if you wanna explore Santiago's old town ( the main attraction of the city). A lots of restaurants and bars near by. And finally but not least, the staff was quite nice and the breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.1
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Through confusion at the booking process we ended up and paid for a triple room. The hotel was full so we couldn't change to a double. The room and bathroom smelled of smoke. The room was very dark and noisy. We could hear people in the room above us.

    The location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Great hotel, helpful staff and beautiful cultural city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Directions waste of time once in the cities as road names cannot be read from the car- need to find another way of giving directions . Ps AA route planner does not work either. Garden of hotel only reached by going outside! Why couldn't they open the doors to the garden inside the hotel?

    Loved the 24 hr buffet breakfast. Complimentary umbrellas to borrow - great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    Great for a visit of Santiago
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit noisy at night but nothing earplugs can't solve.

    The room was very clean and modern although the walls are old. Nice contrast! The 24h breakfast buffet was great. The hotel is located only a few minutes walk from the historic town centre and the cathedral.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    6.3
    OK.....Santiago is a fantastic holiday destination, but I wouldn't recommend this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It is advertised as Hotel with garden.....It fails to mention that the garden is in fact closed in the afternoon/evening and there is no bar facility, so if you choose to sit outside in the garden with friends with a glass of wine, you are expected to walk out of the hotel with your wine and glasses and walk down the public street to enter the garden door, which they will unlock (after much persuasion}and then the door into the hotel is locked so when you leave the garden, its back onto the street with bottles and glasses!! Definitely not acceptable! Especially for pensioners!

    Size of the rooms!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    5.0
    not worh the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Conditioning Air was out of service all the estance. Staff said due to hotel full occupancy. They were aware of the problem as there was a fan in the room. But they did nothing for fixing tje CA problem. And it was August!

    Cleanliness

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.1
    Convenient for town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed 2 separate nights. First room was small and dark. WiFi difficult. Tea not good.

    Convenient for town. Shower good. 24 hour buffet limited choice but a good idea. Staff nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.6
    A great place to stay in Santiago!
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When you've walked 500 miles, any kind of incline walking hurts. Leaving the hotel, piece of cake. Returning to the hotel involves a bit of an incline walk. But worth it.

    What a lovely hotel and a great way to enter Santiago! I arrived before my check in time and was able to store my backpack while I explored the city. When I checked in - my room was well appointed including bottled water and a chocolate snack in the refrigerator in my room - complimentary. The bathroom was very nice - bathtub with shower and nice bath products. And nice large bath towels. I love the 24 hour breakfast buffet. Now, lower your expectations if you are from the USA, it is more of a European style buffet, but still very tasty. The hotel is located just outside the old city, so it is very convenient.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.2
    Very good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice hotel, near enough to the centre to easily walk. 24 hour breakfast was good as we had a very early start. Allowed us to store luggage prior to checking in.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.2
    Modern room in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Easy walk to old city and local restaurants. Very clean and comfortable room. The 24hr breakfast was appreciated - nice to have coffee and cake after a long day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was beautiful with exposed stone. The 24 hour breakfast station was a very nice touch. It was in the ideal location and perfect walking distance. We could use the underground car park that was 2 minutes away.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.6
    Recommended hotel in Santiago de Compostela
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady at reception when we arrived spoke excellent English (a rarity in Spain) and was most helpful. We liked the 24-hour 'breakfast buffet' which meant we could help ourselves to coffee and cake late at night!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    10
    Great value for money - stay here!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - it was fantastic!

    This was fantastic value for money. There was a 24 hour breakfast buffet so you could help yourself at any time to tea, coffee, hot chocolate, yoghurt, creme caramel, a huge variety of fresh fruit, bread, cheese, ham, tomato. Staff spoke excellent English. It was a great location 10 minutes walk to the cathedral. It was warm and cosy, spacious, comfortable and a lovely old building that has been nicely renovated. We had views to the spires of the cathedral which was lovely. It also had a great little garden but it was too wet to sit outside when we were there. TV got BBC not just Spanish stations which is nice when you are travelling like we are for a long time! Internet was also good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.5
    Great location, comfortable for 1 night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    noisy room if windows open. Breakfast was ample but basic, no interaction with staff

    Bed and pillows were very comfortable. Stone walls with original features in room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.6
    It was in a great location and was very clean and well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It would have been nice to have windows we could see out of rather than roof lights, particularly as we were there for several days/nights. The mattress on the bed was rather hard and uncomfortable and the pillows not very good, but we still managed to sleep well! It would have been nice to have more access to the garden.

    It was in a great location and was very clean and well looked after. Staff were friendly and helpful. The 24hr buffet was a great idea as tea, coffee, cold drinks were always available and the almond cake was excellent! Lovely views of the Cathedral towers across the garden at breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    9.2
    Strategic position to downtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Strategic position to downtown. Parking Available close by, at conventional price. Very nice to take a coffee all day long, as breakfast room is open 24 hours

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    10
    The receptionist was so very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The receptionist was so very helpful. Made us feel very welcome. 24hr help yourself breakfast fresh and delicious. Location two minutes to the lovely old town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    9.2
    Very pleasant overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very hard. The door to the garden terrace could only be opened from the breakfast room in the morning. After this it was locked. To sit outside and read a book with a coffee in the afternoon you have to go out of the hotel with your coffee and book in hand, walk down the street to a gate in the wall which reception open for you which allows you to walk back to the terrace a metre from where you started in the breakfast room. A totally pointless exercise and not customer friendly when they could have just unlocked the door!

    Very friendly staff, complementary minibar with water and chocolate which was a nice touch. Lovely and clean and our room which had a view of the cathedral was very spacious

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    10
    Wow, what a find! Great place to end your Camino!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I couldn't have stayed another night! I originally booked one night, and then ended up staying two more nights. My flight didn't leave for another day from Sevilla and I couldn't book a third night here because they were full, so I took the train to Sevilla one day earlier. Tip: ask for a room with a Cathderal view!

    Great to have a 24 hr breakfast bar. Great location. Nice staff. This was the end of my second Camino de Santiago this year, the Camino Via de la Plata. I was still trekkking my last day just outside the city and the reviews looked good, so I booked it. What a pleasant surprise after all those albergues, hotels and casa rurals, some that were very nice. It was much nicer than I had hoped for! I had hurt my knee and asked for a room with a tub to soak my knee as my room, the only one left, only had a shower. The very friendly and helpful clerk moved me to a room with a tub, and with a great view! I was hungry and it was great to be able to go straight to the 24 hr breakfast bar and get something to eat. The room was wonderful, clean and comfortable. A great view of the Cathderal too. The location is five to ten minute walk to the Cathderal and all the shops and restaurants. Great location and off the busy road so it quiet too! I have stayed at two other very nice hotels at the end of my Camino Francis, and I will definitely be staying here on my next Camino. What a wonderful place to end a Camino!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    7.1
    Good location but bit pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not allowed to eat or drink in our room, so no tea/coffee making facilities in room. We need tea/coffee first thing when we get up so this was unwelcome. No restaurant in the hotel Although handy, all day breakfast could have been changed as was identical every day in every respect. Seemed rather pricey, made worse by poor exchange rate.

    Location nice and peaceful nice large comfortable room all day breakfast handy nice to have an in-house tablet to use though we didn't use the tablet as we had our own.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    10
    fantastic hotel especially for our end of Camino recovery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    fantastic hotel especially for our end of Camino recovery. Quiet, lovely garden space, great breakfast bar. Staff were considerate, had excellent English and were happy to give helpful advice when needed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    9.2
    Nice hotel just outside the center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit damp, probably due to the old walls. The window was tiny.

    Nice old building right next to the historic center. Beautiful garden. Very helpful staff. Very quiet location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    9.2
    Great room with lots of space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking. Only at the public parking place with a 17% discount

    Great room with lots of space. A tablet is provided for free use during the stay and best of all: the 24h buffet. It's no joke! It's pretty much a standard cold breakfast buffet which is free to eat from around the clock. Great for a snack anytime!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    7.5
    Central location friendly staff and all day breakfast facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No off street parking as you'd expect for location just a paying car park 5 mins walk. Hotel will stamp card for 2 euro discount. Nice touch. Watch out for mosquitos.

    Situated on a side street above the old town. Close by are some beautiful gardens worth a visit. 10 min walk to the cathedral numerous small cafes and restaurants a stones through away. Hotel has 24 hr breakfast which is good for grabbing a coffee and piece of fresh cake at any time.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    8.3
    Lovely stay
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we got there on Saturday and could not get washing done.

    We had a lovely triple room for my mum and I do heaps of space. Beds were really comfy. A simple breakfast but available 24hrs a day so was great to be able to have a nice coffee whenever we wanted. About a 5-10 min walk to the action down near the cathedral. Luxury after walking the Camino.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.6
    Wonderful little hotel,close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful little hotel,close to everything. Parking a bit if a nucense but doable. Only complaint was with the very hard beds. Difficult to get comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.9
    Location and great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a hot day and do not have air conditioning

    Location and great staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great in all ways. Location, room, comfort and staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    Great 4 days in s.cq
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fruit in fridge at buffet!!

    Everything. Lovely room good size bed so comfortable and room 103 great view.Sergio so lovely and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.3
    Paid Parking close by.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast day and night but no warm food so limited.

    Paid Parking close by. Walking to city center piece of cake.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.8
    One - the air conditioning did not cool well and there was a...
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One - the air conditioning did not cool well and there was a periodic loud buzzing noise from the cooling system.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.8
    Good central Santiago de Compostela location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like

    Very helpful reception staff and a secure place to store our rental bicycles.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Excellent service & accomodation at Hote Bonaval!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning didn’t get room cool enoughb

    Staff (Sergio) was very helpful & kind & Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Great value for the money, would definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was spacious and clean, the 24 hr buffet was a bonus.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee at breakfast.

    Really comfortable bed, air conditioning, and decent sized bath in the ensuite.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    24hour breakfast was great Having a cup of coffee any time...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing It was great

    24hour breakfast was great Having a cup of coffee any time of the day was great Helpfull friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.8
    Very convenient for the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast quite basic but adequate.

    Very convenient for the old town. Parking close by easy to access.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    I spent considerable time writing a review for this property...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I spent considerable time writing a review for this property and the Booking.com site lost it!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.9
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small. No Kleenex provided.

    Location. Free 24 hours "breakfast" buffet. Nice view of the old town and the cathedral from the room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.8
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner was not working.

    Excellent location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and comfortable stay. Tip: The fantastic buffet breakfast station is open 24 hours :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.2
    ask for the old wing of the building , lovely rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    ask for the old wing of the building , lovely rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. Easy to park. Buffet great. Clean rooms. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Buffer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffer

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: