Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Borne Lofts

Calders, 5, Ciutat Vella, 08003 Barcelona, Spain

#715 of 1,482 Holiday rentals in Barcelona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 138 apartment reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    8.8
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Apartment (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a little small, and the door didn’t really work. We had to break it open one time.

    Location! Spacious and a good apartment for the four of us.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    6.3
    The group managing the property handover were really helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was tiny, for a family of 4, there wasn’t much room at all. Only 1 mirror (in the bathroom), although the location is ideal for exploring and quiet on a day, this place comes alive at night and street noise is a major issue with bar customers still out in the streets until 3am!!

    The group managing the property handover were really helpful and accommodating. Good, clear instructions on how to find out apartments. The apartments are in a lovely area for exploring and a lot less hustle and bustle than the rest of Barcelona.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.3
    Love El Born
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was absolutely amazing. The room was clean and tidy. The bedroom was small and not enough storage space (to unpack all our clothes for the week) but otherwise very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.5
    The location was great, but it was noisy in the night;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy, otherwise it was great;)

    The location was great, but it was noisy in the night; for walking around the old town it was great, all small street around the corner, good food, restaurants and supermarket was across the street; the apartment was clean, communication was great. Thank you!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Perfect for us!
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location for our favourite El Born area. Nice little apartment with kitchenette (not that we used it). So many bars and eateries around but the apartment was quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    5.4
    It's a nice area, the shower works and it has a kettle,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Couldn't find the place and then, when we did, found out we had to go somewhere else to get the keys. People not very helpful on the phone and then, when I got there, was confronted with negative rules and threats of fines and charged local tax which was supposed to have been included in the price. The apartment is smaller and darker than it looks and the two balconies are too small to sit on, you're not allowed to smoke on them (or there'll be a 300 euro fine) and it's too noisy to open them at night (road works on one side, all night revelry on other). The furniture is "fragile" and one chair fell apart every time we walked past it. Threats of fines for damaging anything made us frantic to keep trying to fix it when actually, we should have just felt able to complain. You also have to "tidy" before you leave (or you'll be fined). I wouldn't use this company again. They have not replied to my email pointing out that they shouldn't have charged me tax and I don't like being treated like a naughty student. They have a lot to learn as regards customer service.

    It's a nice area, the shower works and it has a kettle, toaster and microwave. Plenty of towels, a hairdryer. the bed was comfortable enough.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.3
    Once we were in, it was a lovely break that we crammed full.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The area and apartment itself were ideal for what we were looking for. The hosts differed in degrees of help. The start of our stay was tiring and unhelpful as we had arrived after 12 hours to find that we had to go through a whole process at the office filling in paper work that should have and could have been done by email. Hidden costs such as City Tax were unfair to raise on arrival. Also we were then asked if we knew where the apartment was? When we asked for a map we were told it was ten minutes away and they didn't have a proper map. I love walking in Barcelona but to pay for a taxi drop off that then went away and told to walk across town with our luggage after a long journey is poor. Why couldn't we have just been taken straight to the apartment with a key code? The return was a mix up with the paid taxi. We were told to meet him at the office. Once again we walked across with our luggage to find the taxi driver had gone to the apartment. The arrival and departure process needs to be sorted to give confidence in the stay.

    The apartment was located in a lively part of the Gothic quarter close to some lovely coffee places. There is plenty to see and do just round the corner with local museums, and places to sit and eat. We found the location easy to find after going further afield as it connected to adjacent areas such as barcaloneta, mont juic and much of the city's architecture very well. We mostly walked, simply too much to see so there was no need for much public transport.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.5
    Adequate for our needs. Nice rental company.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was construction going on and made it difficult to rest for our daughter and for us to concentrate on what we needed to do. Not having a door in the bedroom area was a bit ackward as we had our au pair with us. The bathroom needs some basic things - extra towel bar, place to put shower items in shower. A few extra towels would be good. The closet where you would normally hang your clothes had a smelly mop in there that made entire closet smell so we had no where to put our clothes. The refrigerator was missing the shelves on the door and above the drawers. The sponges and cleaning items were not new so we bought our own. There was not a clear indication where our garbage should go. It was pretty cold the one night and only a heater in one room. Overall the place needs some minor updates that would help brighten it - new coat of paint. It was rather loud with the people from the bars on certain nights but expected in a city.

    The location was where we needed to meet our friends and overall good area. Apartment had most of basic needs. They communicated promptly and were very helpful when we asked questions and allowed one hour extra for checkout which was very helpful. The place needed some updating but met our basic needs. For almost 170€ a night expected a little more but could have been worse. Nice to be able to have some of our own food and things. Easy to get around to many places. Nice being close to the zoo for our daughter. The management team was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.5
    Overall, it was acceptable !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not enough hot water for the 4 of us. We were restricted to take short and quick baths.

    The location was good, close to restaurants and bars while point of interests were within walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.3
    Simple modern apartment in el born district.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Annoyingly squeaky bed!

    Simple modern apartment in el born district. Small, but very functional. Lots of light, and a cute balcony. Easy check-in, friendly staff (although about 900m from the apartment, so factor that in if you have lots of luggage). Simple checkout procedure.(NOT requiring a return to the office! )

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    6.3
    The apartment seems to be a bit "tired", slats...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment seems to be a bit "tired", slats missing on the shutters , windows didn't close properly and it was a bit dusty. The paintwork could do with a freshening up. Saying that it was fine for the 3 of us staying and the location could not be better.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.9
    Great stay, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was too basic. No doors on shower cubicle so floor was soaked every time.

    Location was excellent. Flat was small, but did the job fine for the four of us, was a great base! And felt very safe and secure. Nice to have small kitchen for breakfast and hot drinks. Loved the two balconies to look out as well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.6
    I highly recommend the staying in Borne Loft Apartments
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be great to have more lights in the flat (especially in the bathroom where there was only one bulb working). The shower cabin could be repaired too. Around 23.00-00.00 it was still noisy around the flat but later on it was super quiet.

    Very good location - it was very easy to get to the beach, La Rambla and other attractions. At the same time it wasn’t in too noisy part of Barcelona. The beds were comfortable and the flat was clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    3.3
    DO NOT BOOK THIS PLACE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's filthy, bed broken, no shower door which means whole flat floods, operates as an Air B&B, you get one towel each, pay a €300 deposit on arrival, clean the place completely yourself before you leave, even though it was far from clean when we arrived. €40 late check in even though it is done through electronic locking and key codes. No staff on site. It is not worth €10 a night avoid at all costs. DO NOT STAY HERE

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.9
    Great location and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning leaked water after being on a while. It also didn't work very well. The kitchen needs some work done and wasn't as modern in general as the pictures made out.

    The location was brilliant. We also found the sofa bed comfy. The facilities were great for the price and we loved the balcony. The company were also very responsive.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    5.8
    Good location. Seen better days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service from Short Stay wasn't great. They don't meet you at the apartment but ask you to go to their office 1km away to get the key. Their office is near la rambla that is teeming with people so make sure you factor that in. The unit isn't that clean and lots of things have seen better days in the bathroom and kitchen. The whole place is a bit dark.

    Great location. Try Hoffman bakery for the best croissants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    3.3
    Barcelona was great but apartment was disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower doors fell off, the shower leaked all over the bathroom floor. We booked a 2 bed apartment for 4 adults, we had a studio apartment, the pull out bed in the lounge was awful, lumpy and very uncomfortable, for children certainly not for adults. The office was miles away from the apartment and clear direction to the apartment were not given. The office staff were not very helpful when we complained about the studio apartment.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    7.9
    Really nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were exactely 4 pieces of glasses, cups, spoons etc. Would be good if there were some additional glasses and cutlery.

    Really nice location. Good to be able to open balconies on both sides of the apartment

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    5.0
    Perfect position, grotty mini flat with little hot water
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Grotty little flat, just about big enough for us two with two kids. We had to schedule showers as there was not enough hot water for us all to wash in the morning! Flat was noisy, but it is to be expected, clean-ish, and it could have been better. Beds so crammed in you could not walk around it.

    Can't beat the location, it was perfect

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    7.9
    Great location, good size!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No sheets for the sofa bed. Noisy at night but as right in the heart of Barcelona we can't complain!!!

    Great location and fantastic for our family. Lovely balconies on both sides of the apartment.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    7.9
    Finally contented
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The automatic check-in was a nightmare. We received bad codes to the doors. We spent an hour on the phone solving the problem trying to get to the apartment in late evening. Fortunatelly we suceeded!

    The apartment was cosy, tidy and very very well located. All necessery things on the board. We took advantage of luggage storage after check-out.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    7.9
    Time for rewamp. It is getting worn out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was too cold in the flat. In the winter I recommend them to provide slippers because the floor is so cold. We put the two radiators (bathroom an bedroom) on and the AC but it wasn't enough. The bed wasn't comfortable. Felt like we would fell out of it on either side. (A "ridge" in the middle).

    I like this location a lot and needed a place with a lift this time. Which meant we cld still stay high up in a building. I also like to have a kitchen so I can have the breakfast I like at the time I like. The living room area gave me the opportunity to do my meditation and yoga in the morning without disturbing the other person still sleeping.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    10
    Location was ideal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Its advertised as suitable for 2-4 adults. Its not so suitable for friends who do not want to share a bed. More suitable for couples. Be aware of the neighbors. They like their silence. Also I think for a 4 night stay they should supply more toilet roll as we ran out on the 3rd day and had to buy more.

    Location was ideal. We felt really safe there. It was very secure.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.1
    Barcelona is a great city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was to much trouble to get the key and to give it back. They want deposition 300 euro as well.

    Very nice flat in a great city

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I prefer a larger kitchen with washing machine etc.

    Excellent location, nicely decorated, clean and modern. Good communication from the company.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    Easy late check in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Easy late check in. We have got different, but maybe better apartment. Nice stuff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    8.3
    Great location, good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is only a small heater for the whole apartment.

    Great location, good value

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    7.9
    We will recommend it to our friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we liked our stay in El Born, near many tapas restaurants, bars and near to the sea

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    7.9
    Location and the design of the studio is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bad wasn't confortable enough. The apartman you stay and the offices for check in are in different areas which is 15 min by walk. They would better give this info before booking.

    Location and the design of the studio is great. There was 2 balconies in our apartmant which have a good view.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    8.3
    Stayed in Barcelona before but thought we would try a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom area is a bit small and would like to have a full length mirror in the hall/lounge area.

    Stayed in Barcelona before but thought we would try a different area. The El Born district is great there are plenty bars and tapas bars. Next to a super park and near a zoo. Brilliant place to stay and we are going to book here again.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    7.9
    Was laying in a very nice neighborhood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The flat was cold, and the aircondition was dirty, my husbond reacted when we used it for heating. There were several things that were broken, especially in the bathroom.

    Was laying in a very nice neighborhood. Ok for the money.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    5.8
    The location was perfect for exploring the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Advertised as apartment for four (photos showed two bedrooms) but turned out to be a studio apartment with a sofa Bed. Water was only hot for 10 minutes a day so showers for four people was impossible.

    The location was perfect for exploring the city.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    10
    Super easy registration and getting in!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The second bed is sofa, but it's sleepable...

    Super easy registration and getting in! Perfect location for night life, sweet balcony, and good to have a kitchen.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    7.5
    Good and very convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    A bit noisy location especially in the evening. There was a shutter outside the window, but was broken.

    Good and very convenient location. Reach a lor of stores and sightseeing spots on foot.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    8.3
    Fantastic location - once you work your way around you will...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Was slightly confusing with the directions given to the actual apartment - don't get confused with another block with a similar name but locals were very helpful!

    Fantastic location - once you work your way around you will find some little gems - literally 5mins From the beach , gothic district and 10mimnwalk to las rambalas -

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    6.3
    Very well located
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the checkin process is a littler cumbersome with codes to type and calls you have tomato beforehand. Also the windows do not close very well and it can be noisy.

    Very well located

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    10
    Location and the flat itself was nice and modern
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A Terrace to sit out on would have made it perfect , but we understood we are in a city! And there are plenty of places below to sit out at and watch the world go by :)

    Location and the flat itself was nice and modern

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    7.1
    The apartment was perfectly located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The only thing we really didn't like about the service was that the towels and bed sheets didn't get changed. We also had to buy new toilet paper since there were only 3 tiny roles. Also cooking in the kitchen was quite hard because the equipment was so rare.

    The apartment was perfectly located. Only a 15min walk to the beach, 10mins to las ramblas and a lot of cute restaurants, bars and shops just when you walk out of the door. As a result it's always quite noisy but since none of us really is sensitive when it comes to noise, it wasn't that much of a problem for us.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    5.0
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very very hot apartmen with lousy aircondition. Balcony doors broken and you can hear the noise easily. Now in an aparment where is realy nice and cool, finaly feels like holidays.

    Great location!

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    7.5
    Amazing location in Borne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Apartment needs some maintenance (bed definitely, shower door, and patio door). Noisy outside but I guess that'll always be the case in that area.

    Amazing location in Borne. Very close to El Xampanyet. Well furnished apartment. Check-in process not as complicated as others are saying. Staff was friendly. We could check-in early.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    6.7
    I loved the area, great shops and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    As with many other reviews despite phoning upon arrival no codes sent. Had lunch passed time called again and still no code. For some reason could not even give it to us whlie we were standing at the front door to enter hsd to wait for it to be sent by text! What was the big deal about that. They knew we had booked as we had confirmation numbers etc. Finally got into the apartment and loved the look and location but there were items broken so I immediately texted back to the number, I never heard from them again. One issue was small enough but the other was huge and ruined our vacation. The smallmone was that the shower doorvwas off it's rails and swung in and out. We were afraid thatvit would fall off altogether during our visit. The shower also had a mouldy plastic pipe from apartment above dripping into it. The worst thing though for us was that the patio door in the bedroom was broken and would not close properly. During the day no problem but at night with the bars and restaurants below the noise level could not be reduced as we could not shut it out. The spanish people are lovely but they are loud and boy do they stay out late! 4 am and still going strong. You could hear everything and sleep was not an option. I came on vacation to see Barcelona but also to rest. I got 50% of what I was looking for. This would have been an easy maintenance issue to resolve and this review would have been an excellent one but they dropped the ball and despite loving the area and the apartment I will unfortunately not be returning.

    I loved the area, great shops and restaurants. I loved the apartment it was compact( some would say small but I found it cozy). 2 patios overlooking different streets, tiny room for 1 chair on each but enough to watch the world go by. Ikea furniture practical and comfy. Coffee maker, iron etc.elevator. Close to many of the historical sites and the beach.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2015

    7.1
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit boring (black & grey) interior decoration. NOT as bright as the photo.

    Great location. Restaurants, cafés, bars, unique shops, spa, the Ciutatella park and museums - all within 5 min walk.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    8.3
    convenient and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very noisy outside

    convenient and clean

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    7.9
    the excellent location, the size of the apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    broken shower screen door and towel bar. hot water ran out after one shower.

    the excellent location, the size of the apartment

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    9.2
    Location and its size
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    Location and its size

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    6.3
    very loud, poor insulation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very loud, poor insulation

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    8.3
    Location is absolutely brilliant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The door to the apartment can be tricky to open but that's not a real problem.

    Location is absolutely brilliant! Apartment was clean and modern.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    8.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    A bit noisy into the wee hours of the morning. So probably not ideal for families with young kids.

    Location

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Guests also reviewed these properties: