Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of California 2 stars

Paseo De Sancha, 17, Malaga Centro, 29016 Málaga, Spain

#16 of 92 hotels in Málaga

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1492 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.3
    A good hotel for the beach and only 15-20 mins walk into town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    There was a nice roof terrace, but unfortunately no sun umbrellas so that it was only possible to use it later in the evening. Our room (309) had hardly any natural light, and the air conditioning units just outside the room on the wall made the room extremely noisy.

    Breakfast was very nice, but it was NOT a buffet and therefore became boring after a number of days. The staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel had a nice atmosphere and a good library for swapping books.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was an amazing hotel. Definitely recommend it

    The breakfast was amazing every morning, friendly staff, staff made us feel welcome. Great roof terrace!! Just few steps from the beach and boulevard. Also city centre not far, easy to do by foot. A lot of space in the room, very clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Gracias!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guy at reception (maybe the owner?) was very polite and helpfull. Would recommend staying in this hotel if you’re looking for the perfect combination of city trip/day at the beach.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Happy with all of it. Would recoment it for anyone who doesnt spend alot of time at their hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Its located just the street above the beach which is great but its not lovated in the center. But it was close enough to walk or take the bus.

    The staff was very friendly and extremly helpfull when it came to tips and trips. Its was Clean och quiet and the breakfast was tasty and cosy. Beds were fine. Side note perhaps: Tey have alot of books so if you need something to read check out the Bookshelf on the first floor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    We had superior double room .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had superior double room . Perfect ! Very clean , balcony , 3 min walk to the beach 15 min walk till centre . Bus stops just next to hotel , good breakfast and very cute rooftop terrace ! Great place . Doesn’t look like 2 stars at all .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    We will come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very steep stairs to acces from the street, difficult to lift heavy luggage and the baby stroller but not much they can do about it

    Super helpful and friendly staff, very close to beach and city center

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Highly recommended, if you are looking for a quiet place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At first, I was surprised that there's no standard pick-your-own breakfast. They bring you everything to the table. Con: limited choice. Pro: top quality food.

    Neat family atmosphere. You won't feel like you are in a hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    But you can never leave!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel has a lot of characteristics. From the entrance to the details and has a great terrace to sit and relax. Also the emphasis on books and reading areas is great. Locations is also good becuase it is close to the beach and also 15 min walk to the centre and it has nice tabernas around.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.5
    Is that the beach calling you or is it the birds?
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the reasons I chose the hotel was the deck. Unfortunately, birds also enjoy the deck. They are annoying and dirty. I think the breakfast is overpriced.

    The room was lovely, clean and quiet. The hotel was in a good location for a day at the beach, but it’s a 20 minute walk into the heart of the city. Most of the staff was helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Best choice you could make
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simply fantastic, clean, new, spacious room awesome breakfast and great staff with a perfect location, just 1minute from the beach and few minutes walking from the Muelle uno and the city centre. It really deserves more than 2stars. If we come back to Malaga I won't think twice on where to stay. Super recommended

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Will definitely come back
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect near the beach and harbour. Only a 25 minutes walk from the city centre. The hotel is very authentic with a lot of lovely details. The rooftop terrace is amazing with a great view. The breakfast is really good and much better than anything we have tried elsewhere in Spain. The staff is very nice and friendly and take time to help with silly tourist questions :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    8.8
    Very good location, nice hotel, friendly people.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi coverage at room 203 was not good. A bit expensive.

    Very good location, nice hotel, friendly people. A broken chair in the room was replaced immediately after reported to the reception.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Great small hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very clean and comfortable room in characterful property. Easy to get to both beach and centre. Excellent breakfast, including freshly home baked cake.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice moderately priced hotel in a good location. I would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was fairly noisy with the noise coming from the hallway when people were coming and going.

    I liked the location and the roof top terrace. It was a nice clean and friendly place to stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.8
    We loved our stay in this nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel is a little pearl ! Staff is very friendly. Very nice sun terras. Only, minor, point: not possible to have a drink during the day, but there is a mini-market right across the street. We loved our stay here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.2
    This hotel realy worth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just one detail. There is only stairs at the entrance. It brought some difficulty with the push-chair.

    Staff very kind. Amazing breakfast. Very good bedroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable. We upgraded to a superior room which had a small balcony with a table and 2 chairs
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfasts were not buffet, but substantial and good quality. Bus stop just outside for getting around. We had a late flight home and we had the use of a downstairs shower/toilet with towels provided. Bed was comfortable, plenty of hot water for showering etc. The decor downstairs was retro and quirky and the whole place felt lived in not just a sterile modern environment.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.9
    Overall we had an enjoyable time in a nice city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar in the hotel if you wanted a night cap and the beds could be more comfy (less hard yet still firm enough).

    Hotel staff and the area was nice, not far from city centre and good restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyed our stay at the hotel California, quirky hotel, would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful room with balcony and view , traffic noise was the only downside, next visit will choose a room to the side .

    Breakfast service was great, fresh hot croissants, cheese and ham and fresh fruit , staff were friendly, extra bonus of bag storage and shower facilities for those with later flights. Roof terrace was great for relaxing on.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Super, super, excellent hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N O T H I N G AT ALL

    Super, super, excellent hotel. Very quiet room on the back. Excellent breakfast (no buffet, anything you want is presented on the table). Wifi is very, very fast. There is a nice terras on the roof. Hotel has two stars but deserves one more. Mobile phone has super G4 receiving signal in Malaga. From the airport take bus A to the center (Paseo del Parque, last stop). Then walk for 850 meters. There is a bus stop nr. 3 and 11 about 20 meters from the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    It was very central, close to the Port, so nothing was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn’t like about the hotel.

    It was very central, close to the Port, so nothing was very far away. The staff were very helpful and informative, nothing was too much trouble. A great location and I would stay there again 😃

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    A wonderful, hospitable hotel with great personality, scrumptious breakfast, and a marvelous rooftop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The owners and employees love this building and it’s guests. Their love is evident everywhere—in the breakfast, in the decoration, in the flowers growing around a he wonderful terrace...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect place to stay for couples.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Welcome pack would be great idea (couple of fruits or yogurt). We arrived after 12am and were starving.

    Breakfast was excellent every morning, no complains. Area is quiet and clean. Quick access to the beach. Staff was very helpful and polite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.9
    The staff was pretty friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was ok however you weren’t provided an option. The staff prepared breakfast for each person and brought it to the table. They forgot our eggs and fruit. No parking is available close by if you’re traveling with a car. If possible, refuse to take a room on the 5th floor since the lift only goes to the 4th floor. You need to go up and down some stairs to get to the 5th floor

    The staff was pretty friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Fabulous hotel with very friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was very friendly and helpfull. Breakfast was delicious, with fresh fruit and orange juice and delicious homemade pastries. The hotel is located very close to the beach but it is also an easy and a very nice walk to the old city center. Thank you for the lovely stay!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    5.4
    Close to the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could barely speak English. Very small room with terrible view. Guests were very noisy, it felt like nobody had there own privacy. Expensive for what was offered.

    Close to the sea. Bed and pillows quite comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Good location on the No3 bus route from centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike! Great place to stay.

    Good location on the No3 bus route from centre.Welcoming helpful friendly staff. Superb breakfast. Great location for a stroll to the parque/castle.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    A gracious old villa hotel from 1904, beautifully decorated, very comfortable. We will return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good!

    Fantastic views from rooftop terrace. Room 104 is a family room with twin beds, ensuite and an extra separate small double bedroom, beautifully decorated, very comfy beds, with a balcony. There is no hotel parking, only parking on the roads, costing 2 euros for 2.5 hours. Parking is free between 8 pm and 9 am. Breakfast is brought to your table and is ample: bowl of fruit salad with yoghurt, muesli, boiled egg, croissant and roll, cake, freshly squeezed orange juice, tea or coffee!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Perfect!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice authentic hotel, friendly staff , room was very nice as well , breakfast until eleven which was great! No buffet so no running around you got everything you needed, even freshly pressed orange juice!Great artwork everywhere and very nicely decorated, it’s close to the beach and in walking distance to many attractions and the historic old town . A little noisy because it’s on a street but hey you can’t be close to everything and have total quiet so it was acceptable... we would absolutely stay there again should we go to Malaga again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything is perfect in Hotel California, since 2004 we have stayed over 10 times in this lovely hotel, the family that runs the hotel is very warm and friendly, the rooms are clean and comfortable and last but not least, the terasse on top has a magnificant sea view!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel, lovely atmosphere, comfortable, kind and helpful staff, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Simple plentiful breakfast, set us up for the day. Loved our balcony room, very comfortable bed. Staff were kind and helpful. Hotel has an old fashioned charm with lovely entrance hall, dining area and lounge and well located for beach and old town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was amazing. Dining room staff very professional and efficient. Artistic surroundings with Picasso prints and antique telephones and wirelesses dotted around.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    8.8
    decent value for money ,when breakfast is factored in.central enough to explore Malaga and surrounds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    tea making facilities would have been good (British eh..). wide selection of TV channels but only news channels in English. 1 English movie (or any BBC) channel would have been a bonus at night. with window open , frequent traffic noise in daytime and early evening becoming quieter after 10/11pm. hotel had no bar or facility to buy any drinks (water) that i saw. Had to go to local supermarket to buy water etc. hotel could boost their income if they sold bottled water from reception at a small profit.

    great ,filling, continental breakfast , like a private buffet at your own table. spacious room with comfortable bed. quiet night time location. friendly, helpful staff. walking distance(20 mins) to city center, if fit. Otherwise buses frequent and stop a minute from hotel. tasteful, artistic decor in public areas.. there was a pleasant little balcony with table and chairs (superior room). plenty clothes storage spaces. plenty choice of good restaurants very close nearby as well as a supermarket 200 m metres away. relaxed ,peaceful atmosphere inside.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.3
    The location was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was very good. We particularly enjoyed the breakfast, which was enormous with a great range of items. Within easy walking distance of a large number of good restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.2
    Excellent experience will recommend it to all our friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was a little too firm for our liking but we modified this by re arranging the bed clothes and sleeping on top of the duvet.

    Great location, 2 minutes from the sea front and a 10 minute stroll to the old town. Lovely hotel, full of character not a whiff of a corporate stamp. Delicious, ample breakfast and brilliant staff who took a pride in their work and had a clear commitment to making sure you had a good time.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.6
    Perfectly placed for city or beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The only down side was the steps to get to the hotel which obviously cannot be changed.

    Well placed for town and beach (2 mins walk) with bus stops right outside. Super breakfast served at your table. Patio with tables outside reception and a fabulous roof terrace. Helpful friendly staff. Loved it!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    great location, close to the beach, very friendly staff and very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was perfect!!!

    Everything was perfect! Staff was very friendly and helpful, we have asked for a quiet and more spacious room, and we got a beautiful and very quiet room to the patio. Very lovely breakfast room, good service. There is no breakfast buffet, but everything is freshly prepared in the kitchen and brought to your table. Location is excellent, very close to the beach, and around 15-20 min. to the old center. The hotel has a lovely rooftop terrace, too, and we would always go back when again in Málaga! Great choice! And the borough is very safe and nice!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    10
    Excellent location to the city of Malaga and a block from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was nothing not to like!

    Excellent location to the city of Malaga and a block from the beach. We had a terrace with our room, with a sea view. Breakfast excellent. People running the hotel were very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Great, slightly quirky hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spotless, very friendly staff and great location, 10-15 minutes walk to the centre. Very close to the lovely Malagueta beach. Would recommend. The breakfast is brilliant too!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    EXCELLENT HOTEL
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice hotel, friendly staff, large room with large comfy bed, lovely roof top garden, great breakfast which was presented in an unusual way. Good position and views of the sea. Near the beach, port and town. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Great place in a great town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place has lots of character, the staff were very attentive, they all take great pride in the place. The location is really good, near the sea but also surrounded by stylish villas. Breakfast very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable and Malaga is a very nice place to spend a few days relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Hotel was well decorated and very clean. The staff were very polite and helpful. The Hotel is in a good location the bus from the airport stops very near to the hotel. The breakfast was very good. This was one of the best Hotels I have stayed in.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Beautiful room, beautiful building, great location, reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only regret was that we had only one night there! I hope we can return when we have more time to enjoy the terrace and the beach.

    The Hotel California makes a great first impression (it´s a beautiful building), and the decoration is very nice — a very tasteful blend of old and new. The room was fantastic and there is a terrace with a view on the roof. The location is very close to the beach and some nice neighborhoods and restaurants, and a short walk to the main part of town. The people are very gracious and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    10
    A delightful few days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you like a quiet room then it has to be a room at the back.

    This small friendly hotel is an excellent choice. Comfortable and well situated. The breakfast must be among the best served in Malaga.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Standard in excess of star rating and price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bin collection at night... but that's Spain.

    Quirky, authentic architectural features cleverly blended with modern interior. 15 min walk from city centre, 5 min from beach and supermarket, local restaurants etc. Rooms clean and airy. Staff friendly and helpful. Great roof terrace with sea view. Nice seating area at the entrance, and also in foyer and landing. Fridge (smeg) for visitors use with mini fridge in room. As it's been sang... Welcome to hotel California.... It's a lovely place.. a lovely place.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.1
    Good beds (big also).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This might sound stupid. The hotel has a bit of a sadness, as if all the stuff in the communal space and the day staff would have preferred living in the 50s or 60s.

    Good beds (big also). All the basics very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.5
    Great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One staff member is easily confused - no biggie. Towels thin and shower drainage a little smelly, but this seems to be pretty standard in the 4 hotels we stayed in. Don’t let that put you off mind. TV connection intermittent

    Great hotel. Decor lovely. Better than pictures give credit to. Breakfast good. Staff nice. Several English/German/French channels on TV

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.2
    Lovely boutique hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Car parking is on the street and you have to pay. Also, its hit and miss whether you can find a free space near to the hotel... We had to park a few hundred meters down the road...

    Lovely hotel with welcoming staff. Breakfast was amazing... Close to the beach and just a short ten min walk into town...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.3
    very satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    there might be noise from the bellow road which is sometimes busy. But we got used and it didnt bother us.

    breakfast, very nice staff, cozy rooms, locations, stylish interior, wi-fi, view from the room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    9.2
    It's a very nice place to stay in Malaga
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is small but it's not a big issue

    The atmosphere was great. It's not a hotel, it seems the friends' house! Staff is very gentle and helpful. Breakfast is very good. The hotel is very clean. The location is at walking distance from the city centre.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    9.6
    Not sure why this wasn't a 4 star hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I had to name anything: slightly thin walls, and the shower was a bit small but it didn't bother me.

    Very charming interior, great atmosphere, excellent location, friendly staff, fantastic breakfast.. pretty much everything was superb.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel near beach and seafront.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location for beach and for beautiful walks along seafront promenade. Straightforward 15/20 minute walk from city center. Decor was really lovely. Breakfasts were very good. Staff were pleasant and really good value. Overall, highly recommended

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Felt like a bed & breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although this is a hotel, it felt like a bed & breakfast. The staff was so helpful and friendly in so many ways. Everything worked as it should in the room and it was easy to control the temperature. The beds are firm with options for firm or soft pillows. The breakfast was fresh and varied and was served in a very personal manner. Bus stop is just out side the front door.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.6
    Lovely, unique, personable and comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    A wonderful quirky and unique hotel - lovingly cared for with beautiful eclectic mix of furniture- someone has an eye for detail and it shows. Excellent friendly service. It was a delight to stay there! The beds were firm but really comfortable. The roof terrace is a lovely place to enjoy the sun and relax. Breakfast was plentiful, personally served and plentiful. The freshly home baked cakes were a lovely touch. I would highly recommend staying here even though the bedrooms could to with a little bit of renovation. It’s really a charming place!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful boutique hotel with superb staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perhaps some noise from the road in some rooms.

    The staff is superb. We felt at home. It's 5 minutes walking from the beach and some 20 min from the center.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable, friendly and convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Small, friendly, comfortable, family-run, well-positioned right by bus stops into town and near the sea. Very enjoyable and well-thought-out breakfast. Excellent bathroom.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel to stay in and great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Hard to believe it's only a 2 star hotel great value for money. I could not find any fault with this hotel. Good breakfast you will not go hungry. Beach is a 5 minute walk away and you can walk into Malaga old town in about 10-15 minutes. Staff very helpful. As we had a late flight they minded our luggage for the day after we checked out. When we came back to collect our luggage to go to the airport they offered us the use of a shower if we needed to freshen up before our trip. There is also a roof top terrace to chill out after the day. If I come back to Malaga in the future I will book this hotel again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.2
    lovely hotel in great location with helpful staff. will stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit hard

    This is a fantastic hotel. Location is perfect, a short walk to the beach and into the old town with a bus stop just outside. The staff are lovely. The room has aircon, a safe and Fridge. The hotel has a shower room which is great for late flights.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.2
    A stylish hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much noise from the next door room.

    There was a such attention to detail in the styling of the hotel. The staff were helpful and friendly. The breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Very characterful hotel, well equipped and in a great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We dropped our bag off during the morning, then returned the hire car to the airport before returning to the hotel by train/foot. Had we known the proximity of the bus stop we could have taken the bus direct to the hotel with our bags.

    Very characterful hotel, well equipped and in a great location for the old town (most tourist attractions) and the beach. We found two authentic Spanish restaurants (Casa Juan and La Sancha) within a 5 minute walk - great food at reasonable prices! An added bonus, the 3 euro airport express (Bus A) bus stop was about 800 meters away.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    6.7
    We had a lovely balcony that viewed through to the water.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One staff member in particular was not very friendly(the woman at the front desk) but all other staff very nice. This property is not near the downtown so a bit of a walk. Positive is that it is quiet and near the water.

    We had a lovely balcony that viewed through to the water. Also, there is a terrific large outdoor lounge on top of the facility. Some fun shops in this area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.8
    Flying visit, would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift was hidden and you only found it after you had carried your bags up the stairs! The key to the room was also a little tricky to use.

    Comfy bed and large room. Clean and nice roof top terrace.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful exceeded our expectations after reading all the positive reviews a little gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The position and ambiance of the hotel. It was a family run hotel who took pride in their hotel nothing was to much. Breakfast was delicious. We loved the spaciousness of our room tv had English channels air con was great and wifi connection excellent We loved the roof top terrace and position of the hotel Whoever rated this a two star was mad we cannot wait to return a little gem Easy to get to airport express bus last stop 5 mins walk along the beach Thank you to the family for a much needed relaxing stay .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.2
    Excellent hope to come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room had only one window that looked across to another building, so shade was kept down which made it very dark. Additionally I was under the impression there was a rooftop bar. It is a beautiful terrace but there is no bar. Did not do breakfast there as I thought it was very pricey 9 Euro.

    Staff was amazing, very helpful and very nice. Loved the location!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.2
    I would very much like to stay again at Hotel California - highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is very little that wasnt good at this hotel. Its small, personal and most of the staff are extremely freindly and helpful. Excellent location and our room at the back was very quiet.

    I had booked bed and breakfast and the breakfast was quite different but good. Not a wide choice but a perfectly adequate size breakfast which was served to you, rather than buffet style. The building and decor was very attractive.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.2
    Nice little hotel in Malaga
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and there was nowhere to go out or look out onto. This was only a problem for us as I was unwell and spent more time in the room because of it. Other than that, the shower was not hot enough for my husband and not powerful enough for me. Buy, as I said it was VERY clean and the room was comfortable.

    Staff were helpful and friendly and it was sooooooo clean and comfortable. The building was very well kept and was full of interesting features and quirky ornaments as well as lovely art work.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel, staff and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows are the memory foam style, which most people like, but I find extremely uncomfortable. But that is the only thing. Everything else is perfect. (oh maybe they could offer a mini bottle of cream rinse along with the bottle of shampoo._

    The room was quite large (by European standards), very modern and comfortable. The staff was very kind and helpful. The breakfast was one of the best breakfasts we have had while traveling. The front desk even allowed us to schedule a time to use the shower room in the main lobby - after spending the day at the beach and before taking our flight! Impressive!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, it was great!

    The location of the hotel was great and the staff very helpful including the owner/ manager. The rating for the hotel is only a 2 Star and I don't understand why. It is at minimum a 3 Star. I am a retired Hotel Manager and Director and understand the importance of a great stay. My wife and I have travelled around the world over the past 30 years, including Easter Island, and look for places that have a great homey feel to them. This hole checked all the boxes! Lawrence & Lisa

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    An amazing quaint hotel in a great situation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives.

    Wonderful breakfast every morning served by owners.Home baked cake and cookies were delicious.The roof top terrace was lovely to sit on and enjoy a drink as the sun set.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    It surpassed our expectations, I would recommend to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Air conditioning could have been quieter, it had to be turned off so we could sleep.

    All Staff very friendly and helpful. Room facilities perfect. Excellent breakfast. Location is ideal, close to the beach and bus link to old town (only 1.30).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.2
    Nice quaint hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One staff member a female who works days is not very friendly and speaks limited English. The beds are short so for Tall people it was cramped. Traffic noise is all night. The noise from the hallway can be easily heard through the room door. Hallways should have carpet to dampen the noise. No transport provided from airport other than expensive taxi. We took the public bus but it didn't go all the way to hotel. Had to walk 9 blocks with luggage, not easy on very busy streets.

    The breakfast was amazing and very friendly servers. The room was very clean and good sized. Jesus who works the front desk and the night staff lady were delightful. Beach items provided by the hotel were great for the close-by beaches!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    Comfortable and relaxing -mini break!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This is my second stay! Fabulous breakfast, friendly and welcoming staff, convenient location for the beach with bus stop outside and easy walk to old town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.6
    Good location, wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a very large room that could easily handle two large reading chairs and a cocktail table, but there was only one simple chair. No coffee machine!

    Lovely staff, good location...beach one block south and the old village a few blocks west.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    A great hotel to stay in for a city / beach break in Malaga, i would highly recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing that was a negative was the tiny lift...but I would not let this put me off staying again.

    A great place to stay in Malaga, great location for the beach and the city. Spotlessly clean and very good air conditioning, which is a must in August. The staff were super friendly and helpful. The hotel has a lovely roof terrace which gave a great view of the sea and proved to be a very quiet and relaxing place to sit in the evening after a busy day. Our twin room also had a fridge which was great to keep our drinks in and a great safe which was very easy to use. We found these two things a great bonus. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable and clean accommodation in Malaga
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is well situated one street back from the beach and about ten easy minutes' walk from the centre of town. There is a lift, a rooftop terrace, and good strong wifi in all parts of the hotel (and even across the street!). Breakfast was available and looked good, but we ate from the nearby supermarket. There are several banks and ATMs handy, and buses in the street virtually at the door.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse California traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: