Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Camino de Santiago

camino de Santiago, S/N, 09195 Castrojeriz, Spain

#4 of 7 hotels in Castrojeriz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 116 hostel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast available at pilgrim times but a good bar just further into the village opened at 7

    Nice welcome from the owners and good campsite fare. A very peaceful break from the Camino.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much rain!

    Fantastic views, amazing variety of birds singing constantly in the grounds. Very peaceful- generous amount of space. Wild flowers, butterflies, wonderful views all around. The owner is a bird watching enthusiast and an extremely kind man.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Superb. An amazing campsite with everything you would need. The lamb dinner probably the best food I have eaten in Spain. Roberto a wonderful and helpful host. Definitely come back to this gem.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    We were in a bungalow. Apart from two bedrooms it had its own lounge/kitchen, shower room and toilet. I had difficulty getting hot water in the shower but, although I don't speak Spanish and the owner didn't speak English, he patiently showed me how to work it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    After a long days walk on the Camino this place was everything you could want! In particular the friendliness of staff, with one driving us 100m to our cabin because he was worried about our blistered feet. The cabin had a spectacular view, the shower was warm and the bed comfy. We had the menu for dinner and had one of the best salads we’ve encountered in Spain. Also they do a roasted lamb, which we wished we’d got, it looked delicious. I would highly recommend this lovely place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited space in restaurant

    Nice spacious chalet comfortable Morden a m clean even had WiFi good scenic view and directly on the Camino route into town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The site was unusual being a modular home in a campground. But the location was close to the Camino and we had spacious accommodation. Roberto made us a special dinner and helped get us what we needed. Great experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you’re walking the Camino de Santiago this a great place to stay! The staff, where very helpful, and took care of all our needs, after a long day of walking a staff member, ask if we needed anything, I was going to pick up 2 bottles of water, he stopped me said go relax, he returned with 2 bottles of water, a short time later. And the View of the ruins of the Roman/ Visigoth fortified city above is amazing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long way from the ‘town centre’ and for me walking the Camino, the wrong end of town. Added a mile onto my walk the next day!

    Friendly and helpful staff albeit with little English! i stayed in ine of their self-catering cabins It was clean and warm and comfortable. I gather they are rated in the top 20% in Europe for camping and camper-vans! They cooked a paella specially for me!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t clear direction as to its location, no contact information, the cost of it was not equal to the lodging received. Would not stay there again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great place to stay on the Camino. The facilities were first class, we were given a private hut with two bedrooms. It was lovely and comfortable, food, staff and service were first class. It also has a little shop for pilgrim necessities

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have no complaints about this property

    Well sign-posted property - we had lovely bungalow with comfortable bed in each bedroom with a fab view of the Castle behind us. The towels provided were the softest ones that we got on our Camino walk this year - fabulous. The staff were very helpful and friendly. There was a nice bar on site and the food was very good and reasonably priced too. Highly recommend staying at this accommodation.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stay itself was nice, but getting there was a real pain! That's because of the way this was listed on Booking.com It was very confusing. In Castrojeriz I was given a choice between two listings, Camino Santiago Camping and Camino Santiago. I chose the latter, with orivate room, for comfort. While there were two listings, both were for the same place. Booking the second just gave me better accommodations. The listing I chose had no address. My phone had died. People I asked knew about the campground, but not a Camino Santiago hotel I was looking for. So I ended up spending 45 minutes finding the place. I think these two listings should be combined into one, under the name posted on signs in town (Camping). A person wanting a private room like I did could choose it during the select rooms part of process.

    I feel I was well treated by the staff at check in and dinner. I had plenty of space in a small trailer of my own. It was one of few places on this trip that had actual working A/C.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were the only people in hostil We weren't happy with that .we should have been notified befor our arrival The hostil seem to b closed as other people came enquiringly and weren't allowed stay We didn't feel safe

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we were happy with all facilities.

    We used the chalets, overlooking the coutryside. They were close to the office/cafe. We cooked our own evening meal, ate outdoors, then had coffee in the cafe. A very enjoyable evening !

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The staff treated us like family. The roasted Lamb could be the best in Spain. The owner provided transportation to the next village for a reasonable fee to help us.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having our own little cabin was nice and dinner was great. My husband loved the roasted keg of lamb!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very helpful and kind

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were lovely

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Secure parking, panoramic views. Access to the Camino De Santiago.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had lovely cabins suits family walking the camino

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good stop on Camino. Restaurant was good for dinner.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dirty

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing I can think of.

    We enjoyed staying in the chalets, great views over surrounding countryside.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Need more clothesline for the residents of the modular homes. Only one available and had to hang clothes from trees and fence.

    Wonderful bacon cheese bocadillo. Modular house comfy and clean.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Double bed not comfortable.

    We had a little cabin complete with kitchen and bathroom in a camping ground. The owners cooked a delicious meal: lamb roasted in the wood oven with white wine and garlic. Delicious.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Gorgeous little cabins with loads of hot water and heating. Roberto was the perfect host and the pilgrims menu was delicious and good value. Definitely recommend

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Water pressure and temperature was a little iffy.

    Great portable chalet with kitchen facilities and a great staff. Restaurant and store on site. Very quiet

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not enough light in the room to read; needs upgrading; 80s decoration

    Friendly, helpful family running the place; we got there on a cold November day and we had a fire waiting for us at the bungalow with enough wood to keep it going

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not much just that it's a stroll from the centre of the town

    We thouht we's booked a room for three but got a lovely Bungalow / Mobile Home with a double room and a twin room, very clean and well equipped, great value for money. Staff very frendly and helpful and came back to the lively bar for a lovely nightcap.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was great.

    Excellent choice for a night on the Camino. Great evening meal. It has good aircon! Very clean and a lovely lawn out front with wonderful views. Amazing value for money

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little difficult to locate. Breakfast options are limited.

    Cosily nestled in a campsite, the bungalows are nicely equipped to cater to the needs of all types of tourists.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nada! Everything was perfect.

    Absolutely perfect accommodation with charming and helpful hostess. The building is wonderful with authentic features and homely comfortable rooms that have spacious and modern bathrooms. Best sleep so far on the Camino Santiago. But the manageress/owner is the real star here because she represents all the best in hospitality. Your welcomed with a cold drink andshe helps with every need or query you might have. Absolutely lovely.

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we had our own bungalow and after sleeping in dormitories, this was a luxury! Staff could assist in English; we booked tha lamb dinner and it was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Check in a little hard to find, thought it was for the campground only.

    Very friendly staff. Great bungalow with lounge area and kitchen. Great place right on the Camino, and nice to make a meal in our room for a change.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms were cold when we arrived.

    The welcome from the staff.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    very friendly and helpful staff . nice breakfast

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very edge of town....good if you are tired from the camino. Long for starting out the next day.

    Fantastic wood-fire cooked leg of lamb dinner!

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Accommodating staff.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Warm welcome and helpful staff, excellent food

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Description of the location was inadequate. We should have been told that it was in the campground.

    Facilities and staff

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Guests also reviewed these properties: