Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Room Mate Mario 2 stars

Campomanes, 4, Madrid City Centre, 28013 Madrid, Spain

#40 of 327 hotels in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1758 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay in Central Madrid for a visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We asked for an early check in but hotel said it depended on vavailability- not available when we arrived at 9 in morning. The bedside light was very dim which meant you cannot read in bed. The floor had not been fully vacuumed which meant if you walked barefoot, your feet got dirty.

    The location was great for the Opera and close to teh Metro system. Taxis were very handy (but you cannot blame them for Madrid's traffic). We paid for a larger room which we fuilly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    I like the location, the room, the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First night i got an issue with the aircon, but the staff was very good and quick response so we were moved to another room on that night. But despite all of the issues everything is perfect.

    I like the location, the room, the staff. Everything is perfect for me.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Excellent Location, Good Accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Very central location. Easy access from airport. Right next to the Opera House and the Royal Palace. Helpful staff. Nice room design. Good breakfast. Location makes up for not having a bar in the hotel. But you can always go to Room Mate Oscar for their terrace bar.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Simply Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything!! Staff were super lovely, hotel was super clean and friendly. Most comfortable bed in Europe. Best breakfast ever. Perfect position 2 mins walk to metro stop Opera. Vegetarian across the road amazing (even though we are not vegetarians)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    We are returning in 5 weeks with no hesitation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is easy to access from the airport if using the underground. It’s a super quite street and well located to many places one may be interested to see. The bed and good quality sheets were great to jump into after a long flight. Staff were very friendly and guided us with some local info. There are some great tapas bars in walking distance if you are so inclined

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.7
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The description of their junior suites is not clear. They have three, but only two have balconies and bathtub. This is not specified and it’s misleading. We ended up in the one that is dark and dated. We moved to a smaller room and two days later staff moved us to one of the nicer junior suites.

    Location is great. Half block from Opera metro station

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable, clean, great breakfast, good price, and in the heart of major sites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The toilet was quite small so had to make sure to tuck in the willy, and the shower screen was short, meaning a wet floor. Nothing major.

    Very comfortable, in a great location that allows you to walk anywhere, and right near the Opera station and plenty of food outlets.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    6.9
    Nice hotel , disappointing room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The musty smell in the room. The sink in the bedroom and the shower + toilet were the size of a closet .

    Perfectly located Nicely decorated room. Friendly staff at the front desk

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Mario.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor in the room was slightly slanted which was a little disorienting in the middle of the night.

    The staff was excellent and the breakfast was well worth the money. The location is very close to the Opera house and the metro station and a city tour bus stop.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    The hotel was a very comfortable place to return to after days of sightseeing in Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was a good size and very well equipped. Everything you might need such as the subway, grocery store, restaurants, tourist sites, was within a very short walking distance. The breakfast in the hotel was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.7
    Hotel provides the basic comforts well and is in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    it would have been better is a bit more had been spent on the conversion.Eg the door to the room wasnt a good fit so at night light form the corridor came underneath. That wouldn't be too bad but the lights in the corridor were on motion sensors meaning they flicked "off and on" a lot. As the bed was quite near the door this did wake me u a few times. The corridors werent carpeted and so were quite noisy when people walked by your room The shower tray wasnt deep enough and so you had to put a towel at the bottom of the shower to catch the overspill. Also the wash basin was in the bedroom - not the bathroom which seemed a bit strange. I would have liked to have had tea / coffee making facilities in the room

    Air conditioning in the room was great and there was a safe. It was a good sized room with plenty of storage Its a great location for getting around and is really convenient for the Opera Metro station so you can get to the airport really easily. It takes about 45mins. Despite being a central location there wasn't any street noise so it felt really peaceful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    6.7
    little issue
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a non reformable room and the hotel was advised of our late check in through booking. However when we arrived at the hotel around midnight , we found the room clean but without bed sheets. We tried to explain to the receptionist that we could not sleep without those , but due to languages barriers we got this solved only the day after.

    We had the inconvenience described below and we were compensated with one day free breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    I love the tranquility of the hotel, the staff are sweet and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I love the tranquility of the hotel, the staff are sweet and - for those who are interested - the hustle and bustle of the centre is a short walk away; whereas if you fancy doing nothing it's a nice friendly neighbourhood.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Central location, reasonably priced, very clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Will be useful to have a kettle and cups in the room for early morning tea and coffee. Room walls need sound proofing, can hear people walking up and down corridor and doors slamming at night when other guests return after late night partying

    Sophie the manager was very helpful and professional in guiding me on travel within the city, spoke excellent English. Excellent location lovely breakfast Very clean, comfortable bed and nice toiletries

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay, great experience & very good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s nothing “Not to Like”

    From the check in to check out the staff was outstanding. They went above & beyond to make sure all our needs were taken care of. The breakfast spread was wonderful, lots of choices & well presented. The location was wonderful & the value was outstanding. We will always look for a RoomMate Mario in our future travels. We highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    Great location to Madrid's Palace and Plaza Mayor, clean, modernly stylish if a bit generic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have been included in the price of the room. I always think that is a selling point for a hotel. The lobby was meant to be cool and dark to seem sleek and modern but I found it cave like and not so cool.

    This location is smack dab in the middle of the big, main sights: palace and Mayor that many come to see in Madrid. Ideal sightseeing. The hotel is on a side street just off a very busy street. But it is in a residential area and the area is amazingly quiet. In addition, the shutters in the room keep the room dark and quiet. We had a room with two tall shuttered doors that opened and had it not been raining and chilly, it would have been lovely to have them open in the morning. The room was very clean, the linens were comfortable, the bathroom clean and there was plenty of closet space to organize my teenage son's stuff and mine respectively. We did not eat there so I cannot comment to the food. There were, however, lovely tea time amenities in the room including a selection of teas and coffee and several tiny snack (butter biscuits for tea and some candy).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    Wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't find any fault with the hotel. The room was spotless and beautifully decorated - bright and airy. The beds were very comfortable and I had the best nights sleep. The shower was large and plenty of hot water. The breakfast was very good and set us up nicely for a day`s sightseeing. A big thank you to the staff who were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is well situated just around the corner from the royal palace. There is a metro station a minute away and a bus stop for the hop on and off tourist bus about five minutes away. There are plenty of restaurants within a five minute walk.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    6.7
    OK as a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we got was really small and it was stinking (the bathroom) because of humidity. We asked to change the room and the staff was really nice to change the room. The new room was good

    Good location, nice design, really nice staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.2
    Good choice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Light above the mirror would be handy.

    Trendy hotel with excellent location. Delicious breakfast with many different choices. Staff is nice and helpful. Little "surprises" such as individualised welcome card and candy make you feel very welcome.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.2
    The staff were wonderful, especially Eva.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are a little small. In our room the sink was actually in the bedroom. However, we were still comfortable.

    The staff were wonderful, especially Eva. All were very helpful. Without any charge, they printed train tickets, museum tickets and boarding passes. Also arranged a taxi to the airport. Breakfast included.. Very centrally located and steps from the Opera Metro stop.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.2
    Very relaxing break in a fabulous city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that could have improved the room would have been some facilities to make a cup of coffee.

    Very clean room with a super comfy bed. The best continental breakfast we have ever had in over 12 years of travel. Apart from the metro from the airport we walked everywhere. Great location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    8.3
    Helpful staff compensate shortcomings - I recommend looking at different available rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    humming noise at night - acknowledged by staff dim lighting in bathroom needs better chair design (legs spread out in small space - tripping over) fridge had no space for guest to store food - only paid drinks and snacks fit in had to ask for water kettle

    professional, friendly staff - excellent location - quiet neighborhood - close to subway (Metro)- reasonable rates

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing Room Mate Mario Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Ridiculous price for a room with no natural light, meaning that the only tiny window was facing a sort of interior courtyard,small and dark. When I asked them about lack of light in my room, they asked me 10 (ten) more euros/night for a bliss of sun . Ridiculous ! And the bathroom, oh, my God, the bathroom ! The sink was literally in the room and the tiny bathroom consisted of a shower cabine and a WC. No way to open the shower door inside the bathroom, no space for this, you just nedeed to go out in the lobby and open the shower door . Or you had to climb the WC and open it...anyway, it's a shame that such miserable hotels still operate in touristic beautiful towns like Madrid.

    Clean, comfortable bed,excellent location in the middle of Madrid .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.6
    Bright airy hotel to stay. Close to metro and walking distance around the centre of Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    we changed rooms and the second room did not have carpet in passageway leading to the rooms. This made footsteps & suitcase noise quite loud if late at night.

    Location; Friendly, helpful staff; Breakfast plentiful. rooms bright. When there was a problem with the hot water supply to our bathroom, a compromise and rectification was immediately dealt with, especially duty manager Daniel, who wished to make our stay 'as pleasant as possible', which he did.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    9.6
    The hotel was very well located and met my expectations in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was very well located and met my expectations in terms of quality but the outstanding feature was the staff. They were all extremely friendly and very helpful. Ryanair lost my baggage for the entire stay and the staff called the airline repeatedly to check up on it. I was so impressed by the quality of service that I booked additional nights.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was excellent. Walking distance to the Royal Palace was approx 5 minutes. A metro station Opera was just outside the hotel but we preferred to walk around the city since the distance was not long. The rooms were well equipped and beautiful. The beds were very comfortable. I really liked the customized note that was left on my table upon arriving. The staff was very polite and friendly. On the day of our arriving we received a map and recommendations on the places that are must see in Madrid and we visited them all. Also the kind staff member helped us to find the best way to get to the Atletico stadium and advised us at what time it is the best to get there. We will definitely come back to Room Mate hotels on our next visit to Madrid.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Excellent clean great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Comfortable, roomy, shower/toilet behind a wall in room. Had a tiny balcony which was nice. Had the breakfast once which was great. Cold water in reception area a nice bonus. Great location, can walk. to most places.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    7.5
    See above
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    See above

    Location was wonderful! Staff was friendly. The hotel itself is a very old building. The room was nicely refurbished, but impossibly small. Windy hallway (very old building) to get to the room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    9.6
    Roommate Mario was a great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is very difficult to locate the hotel and we feel there should be better marking outside the recessed entry so that the Numero was at least visible! The printed literature should definitely include info about where to park and the fact the hotel gives a discount on the parking fee.

    Location, though quite hard to find, was great once we were there. The rooms were small but very well-appointed and super comfortable! The staff, especially Eva, could not have been more gracious or helpful. We stayed here twice ~ once upon our arrival in Madrid, and once after we had traveled around Spain for awhile. We will definitely return!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    8.8
    A super location and an overall good hotel.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Dark entrance, two cold breakfast items which were meant to be hot, our room had to be changed because of smoke fumes (this was done immediately).

    Nice people, well organised, good breakfasts, clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.3
    Overall a good experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was really nice with fresh orange juice and you can have it until 12pm - perfect. We had the "Junior Suite" which was nice and had enough space. Everything is clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. The location is great to explore the city - we really like staying there. Overall the room rate is a little high in my opinion.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.2
    A very nice city hotel at the opera square
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet was integrated in the room with just a glass door that was open on the top. Not the end of the world but could've easily been built with a proper wall and a door

    Nice hotel with a very friendly personnel Excellent location Nice, cheap breakfast Mobile internet provided for the stay free of charge

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    We loved it- so near to sights, and the Metro. Felt really comfortable there and breakfast excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Floor in shower slippery and no handholds- we were ok but a bit cautious No rail next to short flights of stairs on way to room. Again we had to be cautious.

    Extra friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.6
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was not anything I did not like. Great location if you want to be in the center of where all the action is.

    Of all the beds I slept in during my 33 day trip to Spain/Portugal and 25 different hotels this bed was one of the most comfortable ones. Hotel is in a perfect location, close enough to walk to practically all the things worth seeing in Madrid. Silvia at the front desk was most helpful with searching/securing tickets to several places we wanted to visit. Breakfast starting at 7 AM to 12 noon, had a nice selection without going overboard. No cost for the safe in the room-(bonus).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Really contributed to a wonderful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It's a usual complaint. I don't understand whilst they insist on shower bath combination. I find it most dangerous. Give residents the choice! I believe most people will opt for a shower only or alternatively put both in a bathroom.

    Location was excellent! Walking distance to most activities in central Madrid and a short distance to the metro. Best king size bed we had in 5 weeks of travel. The pillows were also top class. Bathroom was large, well appointed and presented well. Breakfast was available until 12:00 which we utilized even at 11:50 without any issue. This is my second time using the brand Room Mate and if I can I will use them again?

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.8
    Great value, great location but bring some ear plugs especially in room 114
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were made of paper! Could hear everything next door, every time they used the bathroom, spoke on the phone or midnight romping! The room got quite hot and stuffy during the night. Air conditioner worked well but we don't like to sleep with it on.

    Location was close to the centre and within walking distance to everything. Grocery store underneath, restaurants everywhere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    6.3
    Great stay and wonderful staff ruined by badly designed facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom, was ridiculous. The door was a sliding glass screen, smells from the drains would make the room smell before you even get in. The shower also had a dangerous glass door but the bathroom was too small so it would hit the toilet, meaning you would need to step out the bathroom to get in and out the shower. In fact you couldn't use the shower without leaving the bathroom door open. Akward when sharing with an older family member, embarrassing when somone would open the room door and see straight into the shower. All this could be fixed with a shower curtain!

    Clean, lovely staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We've never felt more at home in a hotel ever! The hotel is very nice and located in the very center of Madrid - close to the Opera, Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor, it's very well connected to the main attractions. Our room was very quiet, comfortable and well equipped - the bed was AMAZING, the TV very nice, the bathroom was comfortable and well stocked and restocked daily with shower cosmetics of very high quality. But that's only the beginning. The main thing that puts a smile on your face is the team that makes this place so amazing. They welcomed us in such a way that almost made us forget we've been up from very early in the morning, our flight was canceled, and we had to spend a ton of money just to get to Madrid. Not to mention the surprise they threw for us when we mentioned we were visiting the city as part of our wedding anniversary trip... We are truly thankful to everyone that made our (short) stay so amazing, answered all our questions and requests and were always smiling and helpful!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel to stay in!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was the same every morning and really poor diversity.

    Everything was great about this hotel,especially the location and the extremely helpful and lovely staff (Eva in particular).Really I was happy with my choice!!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.9
    Good location..4min walk to SOL
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Congested room..space was less in the room I stayed.

    Great Location. SOL is less than 5 mins walk from the hotel.. Very calm location, Opera metro is less than 2mins walk. In the heart of Madrid..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    6.7
    Can not recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air condition did not work for 2 nights, room size for two people was very small and their executive suite was even worst in every sense.

    Couteous staff and location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    Staff were amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air-con was hard to manage, didn't really work too well. The room is on the smaller side.

    Staff were amazing. Bed is super comfortable and room was extremely clean. Had a great stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.6
    This is the second time I check in to Room Mate hotels,...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the second time I check in to Room Mate hotels, first was in Oscar and this time it was in Mario, and honestly I would definitely repeat my stay at this hotel on my next visit mainly because of he staff, the variety of rooms, cleanliness and quality price ratio. This is one of my favorite hotels in Madrid so far.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.2
    Nice and comfortable stay in the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close proximity to Royal palace and other main tourist destinations along with closeness to shopping centre. Friendly staff and comfortable room..Flexible breakfast timings.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.6
    Would definitely stay with this hotel chain again and recommend Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    Staff were very helpful - I arrived with a medical emergency and they were very responsive. I saw an eye specialist within two hours of arriving at the hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent! I'd highly recommend the Room Mate Mario to anyone.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor was not to my preference. The hallways were too bright and flashy with lighting behind red plexy glass panels. Plastic furniture was in the breakfast room. This is a personal opinion, as I prefer soft, subtle colours and and more conventional furniture. However, the staff and location more than make up for the decor.

    The staff were warm, friendly and genuine. They were extremely helpful when I had misplaced my hard copies of plane and train tickets. One of the staff took the time to get the reference number of my train ticket to Zaragoza, and then printed a copy at no extra cost. The staff were consistently willing to answer questions and give directions. The location is excellent, only a short a short walking distance to Plaza Mayor and many restaraunts and services. Excellent buffet breakfast with many selections. Good value for the cost.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Simply amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Reception staff are the most helpful people I have ever seen! He recommended the best local restaurant, El Mollete The location is the best, close to the Opera metro station connecting everywhere. We travelled to Toledo, El Escorial and Segovia.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small room with basic facilities

    Excellent location (walking distance to the Palace, 2 mins to metro and nice neighborhood), very helpful and friendly staff, nice welcome gifts, plus a supermarket nearby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.8
    Great location and staff and good value overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We transferred to a different room after the first night because the air conditioning was not working. Aside from the air conditioning not working the first room was good. The second room we moved to was good except for the bathroom. The bathroom was literally the size of a closet. In fact it was so small you could not close the shower door without having to open the bathroom door first. Also, the bathroom doors were smoked glass and so there was no privacy whatsoever. The shower was also leaking onto the carpet which wasn't that great. Management did give us a discount for the inconvenience.

    The hotel staff were extremely friendly and pleasant to deal with. The rooms were clean. The location was excellent and extremely convenient.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    Great location friendly and helpful staff. Would recommend this hotel and definitely comeback
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No much on the negative side for us

    This was such a great lication our 17 yo daughter is vegetarian so the restaurants across the street and within walking distance were an added bonus. We booked two rooms so everyone was more than happy with the rooms. Heaps of space and modern. Wifi was great which was important to us and the staff extra helpful. The portable wifi offered by the hotel was also fantastic and made getting around so much easier. We would definitely come back

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    8.8
    Neat,comfortable and very conveniently located property
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath tub was too small.Could have been better if it was a stand up shower.On the last day of our stay , there was no air conditioning in the night.But they immediately send us fans and repaired the system by early next day.They also offered a discount in the room rate.

    Excellent location.walking distance to major attractions.Very friendly and helpful help desk.Breakfast was good enough with reasonable choice.We had an overall good stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.2
    Superior customer service and excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was almost perfect. The only thing that would have been nice would have been a view but the location definitely makes up for this!

    The staff in the hotel are excellent! Nothing is too much trouble for them. We arrived before check in time and they went out of there way to find us a room, supplied us with a map and we even received portable wifi! They gave us recommendations on where to go and what to see and even informed us about the local San Miguel market which was an excellent experience! The Hotel is just a 2 minute walk from the metro which is perfect for getting around the city and to and from the airport. It is also just a 5 minute walk from the Royal Palace which has breathtaking scenery and where you can also catch the hop on hop off tour bus to explore Madrid further. The rooms are clean and comfortable with a fully stocked mini bar and much needed air conditioning! This hotel is modern and funky and should definitely have a higher star rating!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.2
    Mario is a great roommate!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our second room was very small but still clean and comfortable.

    Staff are very friendly and helpful. Location is great.... walk to museums, shopping and eating. Clean and fun.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect place to call home for a week. A particularly thank you to Eva, Dalia, Sylvia, and Diego! The location is ideal for walking everywhere. The facilities were clean and comfortable. All the staff was fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    9.2
    Great stay in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was too dark. The temperature of the room was either too cold or too hot. The room safe could not fit a laptop. Bad view.

    Clean room and bathroom. Great location - short walk to the metro station, attractions, and restaurants. Lots of bathroom amenities. Very friendly English speaking staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.8
    The location is superb, near the palace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our international flight had an in air technical emergency in the late evening so we were redirected back to the airport, and we were unable to arrive until the following day of our reservation. We notified the Mario and explained what was going on as soon as we knew what the airline would provide for our new flights. Although it was out of our control we could not make our first night, we were still charged for it, which is unfortunate. We asked for a manager to address this, but no one ever got back to us while we were staying there for the remainder three nights. Other than that, the staff was efficient. The rooms are very small, not much room for our luggage.

    The location is superb, near the palace. The staff was pleasant and tried to be as helpful as could be. The rooms are quite mod and spotless. The bathroom was as large as the bedroom, and clad in striking marble. The breakfast was served until late, and the offerings were plentiful with healthy choices.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    8.8
    Perfect location and friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room didn't have the best view and didn't get any natural light! It was all we needed really as we were only using the room as a base and were out all day! If you plan to spend time using the hotel facilities, then this place wouldn't be for you!! For us, however, it was what we expected and did the job perfectly! Also worth mentioning that although the hotel is only a two star, personally it is more like a 3 star!

    Really helpful staff and hotel really clean! The location was 10/10!! It could not have been better!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    8.8
    The room temperature score poorly because the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room temperature score poorly because the air-conditioning didn't work for the first night. Having said that as soon as i complained they tried to fix the problem and moved me to a new room with profuse apologies. Great location, easy access to public transport and good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.2
    Boutique hotel central to the old city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was located only a short walk from the old city. The entrance was small, but there was a small reading area and a seating area. There were tea and coffee making facilities in the room, upon request and the staff were happy to help in any way they could. My wallet and credit cards had been stolen in our previous city and they helped me pay for my accommodation by another means. So helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    10
    Enjoined every minute.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not much.

    The restaurant El Pato Mudo . 5 min walk from the hotel. The restaurant was simply superb. Reasonably priced. Excellent service and excellent paellas. Clean and pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel in the centre close to all the sights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing to dislike

    Lovely hotel - staff were extremely helpful especially Daniel, Room was lovely and immaculate - breakfast had everything you could want.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    5.4
    We found the hotel not worth the money we paid for
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are small with no provisions of coffee/tea/kettle for standard room No slipper nor bathrobe The airconditiong in one of the rooms are not working and despite complaint, the situation did not improve and our friends have to stay in hot room for three nights

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    9.6
    Amazing hotel, friendly staff and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like that the sink was in the bedroom and not in the bathroom but other than that it was great.

    I loved the hotel (very clean). The staff were extra friendly and very helpful which made our vacation enjoyable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Great location, comfortable rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was quite a bit of noise coming through the door from the hallway so the door sealing could have been better

    Location was excellent and staff super helpful. The room was spacious enough and nice and clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    10
    Approach towards the client in everything was exclusive -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Approach towards the client in everything was exclusive - from very helpful and kind staff to the presentation of soap or a personalised card upon arrival.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value in a brilliant location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Not a big problem but shower cubicle arrangement meant that big puddles of water developed on the floor.

    Key points - location, breakfast, WiFi and willing staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    6.3
    the location was excellent , too center in a very quite road...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very small room and expensive due to this . The towels were not changed only the 3rd night we requested to be changed .

    the location was excellent , too center in a very quite road !

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    10
    Great place to stay in Madrid!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was small and the view was really not good. But, that's the downside of older, central city properties. The room itself was bright and very clean! One other thing: I REALLY missed having CNN as an option on the TV! I know that's probably a very "American" thing but it's important. BBC is OK but certainly, you could add CNN to the list, too!!

    The breakfast was wonderful! Great selection of food and beverages.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    8.8
    Location location location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was as expected.

    Location was excellent! Facilities clean and modern but room overall was nothing special. Prefect if you would just like a nice clean place to sleep after exploring for the day. Great value for the $. Wish I had tried their room service as they had sushi on the menu!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    9.2
    Great staff and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Size of the room was a very small for an executive double. It just about accommodated a good sized double bed

    Bed was a good double and very comfy. Location was excellent. Close to lots of attractions Breakfast timings were till 12pm which was amazing as I really hate being forced to get up early for breakfast on holiday. Staff were really helpful, also provided us with a portable wifi hub for when we were in the city which was really handy.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    6.7
    Very good location, but very noisy rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very noisy. We couldn't sleep well. The receptionist offered us a superior room with a terrace for a supplement of 10 euros per night but in reality there was not a terrace and we got a room side street on the first floor that was very noisy for a supplement of 10 euros.

    Excellente location. Confortable bed

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    10
    Amazing stay! Will certainly be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee or tea facilities in room

    Loved my stay. Lovely staff. Comfy big bed and everything i needed. Location was perfect to get around and see things.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    10
    You need to stay at Mario!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that could have made our stay better was if it was free.😀

    Beds were so comfortable we slept for 12 hours the first night! Mario was a very nice place and the great location was steps from Opera Metro station.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    8.8
    Great option to stay in the centre of Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I expected a little more from this hotel, specially after what I have read about Room Mate hotels.

    The location, just in the middle of Madrid, with just a short walk to Sol and Gran Via

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    10
    Cozy rooms, Great location and Lovely stuff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing at all.

    I was lucky to chose to stay in this hotel. Great location, cozy rooms and of course lovely stuff. If I will visit Madrid once again, for sure, I will stay again in it.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Room Mate Mario traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: