Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Silken Canada Palace 4 stars

Mossen Jaime Soler, 44, 43820 Calafell, Spain

#14 of 21 hotels in Calafell

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1334 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.2
    Would definitely go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast (included) was a bit ‘samey’ and a tendancy to be coldish, but there was plenty of choice.

    Close to station but not disturbed by trains (our room was poolside). Near FANTASTIC beach. Great pool - plenty of sun and shade. A jogger’s paradise on the wide car-free walkways. Loads of restaurants. Very very child friendly - in fact teeming with Spanish children even at 11pm. We got to Calafell by yrain €5 from airport. 2 min walk from station. Used it was a base to travel up and down coast and to Barcelona.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.6
    Clean, close to the beach, good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like that I had to pay for parking and also not a lot of food late in the evening.

    Clean, close to the beach, good value for money. We were there with a child and was very good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location and calafell is a lovely place to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor is a little dated but it’s perfectly clean and pleasant.

    Great location and calafell is a lovely place to visit. Nice shops and restaurants. The hotel is clean and the staff lovely. Nice balcony overlooking the pool and the rooms are a great size with comfortable beds. Loads of choice at breakfast and again the dining room staff were most helpful. Dog friendly hotel and overall a very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.9
    Excellent mid-journey stopover
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were disappointed with the room, which was more basic than expected. We had a roadside view which was very noisy. In the ad, the only mention was pool views, not roadside which also included a very close trainline. Bed (2 singles instead of 1 double) could have been more comfy.

    The staff were great. Very attentive, and helpful. Communal areas were nice. could have been more outside eating space. Guests were well behaved!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    5.4
    Locations near the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    113/5000 The whole hotel smells after chlorine. "Delicious" coffee at breakfast, from the cofee mashin, also tastes like chlorine. The interior is like the 80's.

    Locations near the sea. Parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Extremely relaxing and pleasant stay and I will return maybe next year. I wouldn't hesitate to recom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I would change is the pool area .. the pool itself was beautiful but the decking was not as clean as it could have been.. it was not swept or cleaned down at all when we were there ... I'm not saying it was dirty but it was a little unkempt and untidy.really if it was swept every morning it would be fine.. which was a shame as the pool is lovely and plenty of chairs tables and sunbeds...

    I loved this hotel. The staff were so helpful and pleasant.. we had breakfast there every morning and the pastries were out of this world.. a good selection of them and fruit of every kind also... room was spotless and the beds comfortable. ...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    good breakfast, close to sea, very kind staff - we have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    old furniture and bathroom,

    good breakfast, close to sea, very kind staff - we have problems with bus and they helped us lot, close is also bars and supermarket, good swimming pool, train station to Barcelona is close and even though i was asleep on train site I didnt hear it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.4
    Wouldnt go back here ever
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tour around the building, staff didnt speak English. Turned lights of in restaurant dead on closing times even though the children were still eattin from there plates

    The pool was cleaned daily

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    2.5
    Disgustingly unfriendly and unhelpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very unhelpful rude staff who segregated black diners from white diners, unhelpful when asking to cal for taxi's and rude in response. Flies around the food and cobwebs and dust in the room. Lights in the bathroom did not work. Requested a roo. With a view got a room with nothing but noise and trees. Very horrible stay here for the money paid. My daughter dis not sleep well and woud not eat anything due to the flies that were landing on the food. Felt like slavery days were back as every customer turned there noses up at us.

    Only 1 member of staff tried to make our stay good unfortunatly too much negative things that thus was just not possible

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    5.0
    This hotel has the potential to become a top spot for holidayers however it needs a bit of hospitali
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bathroom was dirty specifically the shower curtain and bath, they were not cleaned at all throughout my stay. The bedding was not changed even once and the bedroom floor was dirty. However, the bathroom floor was clean.

    The pool was the best asset for me and my children, there was clean towels everyday. the location was excellent as it was close to the train station, the beach, shopping areas and a variety of restaurants to choose from.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    The hotel staff were amazing.
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower head in the bedroom was broken when we got there. But we really didn’t care. We know some would have complained though.

    The hotel staff were amazing. We travelled as part of a dance group and there were a lot of us. They staff helped us by providing take away numbers and speaking Spanish to them over the phone to order food because we came in late from a delayed flight. They were so helpful. Our children were very excited on the first night so they were probably a bit loud but after that they settled down. The staff didn’t make us feel unwanted. They helped to organise breakfast for those leaving early to get to the competition and helped to organise the breakfast room for those staying behind. All in all a good hotel with loads of food places nearby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Absolute jem of a place...good transport links and quiet beach...superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to the railway link we used, excellent staff, great facilities and breakfast included

    Great quiet location away from the mainstream spots...superb rooms...faultless

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Great location with free easy parking.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location with free easy parking. The staff were lovely and the place was immaculate. It was a short walk from the beautiful beach front with lovely boutique shops and restaurants. Breakfast was great with loads of choice. It was dog friendly so I have no complaints at all.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.3
    Modest hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom

    The hotel is quite old, the room was alright, but the bathroom was a little too modest for a 4 star hotel. The breakfast was good, however

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    Thank you very much for your helpful staff and this is really exellent hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We took only brekfast, this is only one thing i was surprized, because it was not so much food and we didnt like it too much....

    The hotel was amazing, very clean, the staff is so kind and frenship, the area of swimming pool very beautiful, they have also baby park and its also quite big!! The room was clean and big, the towels, bed sheets, everything fresh and clean! When we didnt have tooth pack they gave us kindly 3 sets. Location is great just 5 min away from sea side and 3 min away from the train. We spent amazing time! I asked the sea view, but they respond that this hotel can offer pool view, and it was high floos, as we asked before, so they were reading all our special request and gave us the best number! Thank you, best hotel!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    I was very pleased with the hotel and facilities.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hot items provided for breakfast seemed to cool very quickly, maybe warmed plates would help.

    The air-conditioning, the shower, the balcony were all to my liking. I was also impressed by the giant mirror and the free Wi-Fi. There are play areas within the hotel that are good for families, also plenty of places to sit and chill.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.8
    Fairly cheap in comparison to other hotels nearby and pretty cheerful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in the room, the breakfast was very average and some of the staff could have been friendlier (the front desk staff were great however). The bar area always seemed to be understaffed trying to offer a table service and serve at the bar with only one member of staff doing it all doesn't work.

    Clean, good sized rooms. Nice lobby, good pool area and overall a good location at very good value for money. Good for families or couples.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    6.7
    Good location & nice breakfast but no minibar in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The chlorine smell of the pool was overpowering. But many guests were absolutely fine with it. I changed my room to face away from the pool, so had to face the train track. The grounds shakes a little when the train passes and you can hear it. It was no big deal for me though. No fridge or minibar in the room, so no cold drink or water except for the bar on the ground floor. The worst is the access card: I stayed 7 nights and had to change the access cards 8 times! Not very convenient if you come from the hot beach or need to go to bathroom quickly. Everytime I got to the forth floor and find my card was not working, had to go down, queue and wait for the card to be charged or changed! Not convenient at alll

    Good breakfast: pancakes and lots of options. Location is good if you come by the train. Makes a good base to see Sitges and Tarraggona by the train. There are good options to eat close by. The beach is 3 mins walk away.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.6
    We have stayed at the Canada Palace on a number of occasions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We have stayed at the Canada Palace on a number of occasions. It is always a pleasant experience. Clean and comfortable, with a nice pool area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.3
    We were in Calafell for the High Rockabilly weekender and the hotel is ideal. Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The balcony's had lights but there didn't seem to be a switch anywhere to turn them on! This seemed to be the case with all the balconyies as none of them were ever lit.

    The breakfast was really good with everything you could possibly want. Breakfast was until 10.30 and everything was available and fresh right to the end.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    8.8
    Very close to the beach, bars and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Due to constant noise (room 408 4th floor) we had to request to change the room.

    Very close to the beach, bars and restaurants. Various continental breakfast. Friendly english speaking staff. Large and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.3
    Good stay close to the beach and train
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Small pool and surrounding area. Safe box is extra paid, no fridge. Room furniture is older and generaly basic.

    Hotel is close to train station which is convinient for easy ride from airport or Barcelona.Hotel is easy to find. Short distance to the beach. Rich breakfast, good working and silent AC in the room. Comfortable and clean room (daily cleaned), large bathroom. Several restaurants nearby. Hotel is at the edge of main tourist zone - less noisy in the nights. Possible late checkout for a good price.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    3.8
    Old and unpleasant. Totally Unrecommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were only here for one night on our way to Port Aventura and were not asking for much, just a comfy bed was all we needed. But no way you can find it in this hotel. This is not a 4* hotel, the moment you leave reception and step on any of the living floors you are going back to 80th if not father.... everything is super old and cheep! The beds are horrible with metal parts of the mattress sticking into your back! The bed sheets are probably the cheapest possible option they were able to find.... actually all the furniture is old and in some cases dirty, the wires are open and look dangerous. What a shame for Silken hotel chain!

    Nothing much, reception area was the only renovated part. Breakfast was actually good. And the bathroom is fine, although the shower is again from the past century

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    6.7
    If you like more sightseeing than beach, it's ideal location close to the train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    We booked a room with balcony and garden view. We get a room without balcony and train station view. After we complain, we get a room with balcony but train station view. The food quality is under 3 stars. They start the breakfast very late (8:00AM is late if you want to sightseeing somewhere in Barcelona) but even in 8:30AM only a very few kind of food is out. At 8:00AM only coffee and empty bread was available. I read here in comments the towels are not clean. I cannot believe it, but unfortunately it was true.

    I like the location. When I stay in other hotel in Calafell I always envy to Canada's guests, because after a hard sightseeing in Barcelona, they can reach their room much quicker than guests of hotels of the beach. Stuff was friendly and nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    everything was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything was perfect

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    The room was very clean and comfortable as w3ll as the whole...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very clean and comfortable as w3ll as the whole hotel and was in a prime location right next to the beach and train station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    6.7
    Friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was to far from activities and not children friendly

    Friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    Good value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quantity over quality concerning food.

    Nice rooms. Plentiful breakfast buffet. Nice clean pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Excellent staff, comfy beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Minibar in room for cold water would have been good

    Excellent staff, comfy beds

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.3
    Located close to the beach and close to the train station.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom could be renovated.

    Located close to the beach and close to the train station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Clean friendly and classy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff friendly

    Clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.1
    good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very nooisy, just acrosss the street from the train station

    good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    xx
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Great beds

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    I would return- staff lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff moved me to better room away from railway and with a balcony

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    excellent hotel in excellent place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent all

    excellent hotel in excellent place

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.5
    Great location but let down by the food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was poor

    Spacious rooms

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.5
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    But noisy- too near train track

    Didn’t use pool as sea was too lovely

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    Parking is 15 euro per day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is 15 euro per day. Too expensive

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Bar shut a bit too early at night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bar shut a bit too early at night

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.1
    The hotel does not look as a 4 start hotel, there was a gum attach to the ceiling in the room.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The train station just infront off.

    Bed was extremely confortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.6
    Best place in calafell
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our suite

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    4.6
    Too expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too expensive. Diner not friendly for vegetarians.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.3
    Comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfy bed. Nice pool. Spacious room. Lots of light.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.1
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool and the parking were nice. We only stayed for one night so I can't really say more, but we liked it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    8.3
    Convenient place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and kitschy furniture

    Close to the train station, large rooms

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.8
    Acceptable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception stuff not presentable and there was not a fridge in the room.

    Near to the beach.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.3
    Good location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Poor WiFi & Breakfast starts @ 8.30, Good if it can be early...

    Good location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    9.6
    another great stay at The Canada Palace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A little more herbs and spice in the food

    The staff are lovely

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    8.8
    Location was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Location was excellent

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    4.6
    The location of the hotel in a tourist zone is as expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Well, the price quality ratio is simply horribly bad. The hotel has a filthy kitchen. I know because by accident ran into it while going down the stairs as the elevators are constantly blocked. The knifes and forks are dirty in the dining room. This dining room resembles an Italian coffee shop at the auto strada. I feel that apart from having had a bad day in lousy hotel I pad 260 euros a night what is 230 euros to much. Would appreciate if booking.com investigates the matter. I have booked meanwhile for over 10k Eur hotels in the last years. Thanks.

    The location of the hotel in a tourist zone is as expected

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    9.2
    My 12 year old daughter and I booked a room for a few days...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The only thing I could complain about are the mattresses which are definitely in need of a four star update, ouch!

    My 12 year old daughter and I booked a room for a few days during August at the Hotel Canada Palace. We couldn't keep from gaping at everything! The sixties faux palatial lobby, the grand staircase, the fabulous art collection, even the charming front desk kid (the owners grandson) was right out of a Wes Anderson film. The room was generously sized and filled with truly majestic pink and gold furnishings, crisp white linens and gleaming marble tiled floors. Everything was truly spotless. The outdoor pool was wonderful, as was the bar and drink terrace. Most of the servers, the ladies especially, were charming and helpful. Drinks were about the same as any restaurant prices, and well worth it to sip while in view of the pool. We opted for full board, and we're not disappointed. The Mediterranean options for lunch and dinner such as fresh grilled fish, roasted eggplant or grilled peppers were tasty, and the salad bar was fresh and varied. Of course, if you wanted to eat sad French fries and burgers every meal, there is that option too, but seriously, why? The hotel also offers a billiards table, a lending library, a children's playground and parking onsite. The staff are on a first name basis with the returning families, who seem to come back every year. I hope to join them, and bring the rest of my family next year! The beach at Calafell is amazing, and this quirky hotel is one of a kind.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    6.7
    Always same food for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Always same food for breakfast. The food is pretty oily. French fries at all 3 meals.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    3.8
    Bad internet connection
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bad internet connection

There are also 30 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Guests also reviewed these properties: