Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Carlemany Girona 4 stars

Plaça Miquel Santalo, 17002 Girona, Spain

#4 of 21 hotels in Girona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2194 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    3.8
    Very disappointing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst view ever out of a bedroom window - see photo! Noisy air conditioning. A lot of money to have a room where you have no idea what the weather is like outside because you look out on an inner air vent, pipes and other inner windows. Noises from bathrooms magnified by this pipe well. The most disappointing hotel room ever!!

    Clean

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    8.8
    Upmarket hotel in the centre of Girona.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No private outdoor area to relax in. Public car park was expensive.

    Very central location. Easy 5 minute walk to the old town, Rooms are spacious and well equipped. Bathroom was spotless with large fluffy towels. Public underground parking had large spaces and hotel guest got a discount.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    Super hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Breakfast was excellent Good choice of food and we took ages each morning at breakfast. The location of the hotel was very handy for the railway station.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    8.8
    Very happy with our choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The `gardens` of the public square at the front of the Hotel could benefit with a bit more maintenance. A corkscrew in the rooms would also be useful although one was `lent` when requested.

    Great location, perfect for easy access to the excellent train and bus stations (5 to 10 mins walking distance) Good sized, well appointed room... complete with tea and coffee making facilities! Large, comfortable bed. Friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    9.5
    An enjoyable short stay in the city of Girona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exceptionally clean room. Comfortable bed. Lots of soft pillows. Really good power shower. Good quality toiletries. Really good breakfast. Great location, only 6 minutes walk to bus/train station

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't pay for breakfast as we thought it seemed a little pricy.

    Really comfortable bed. Great shower, complimentary toiletries and lovely towels. We will definitely return.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    As above
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great 4 Star hotel with very modern and clean rooms. Counter staff very cooperative and speak English. Hotel is in a great location and an easy walk from train station with family and 7 suit cases.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.6
    Did not want to leave,will come back for longer next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The downstairs café was not up to the same standard as everywhere else in the facility.

    We enjoyed everything and could not find anything to improve upon.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful location for a disappointing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor was well out of date and had the ambiance of a hospital very sterile. The restaurant lacked atmosphere and service was very slow. It seemed like a forgotten land.

    Secure free parking convenient to motorway. The view from restaurant was amazing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel but expected greater comfort in the superior beds. A little bit more information please
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed a bit uncomfortable and not information given thT the following day was a national holiday.

    Location, cleanliness, bathroom, Hotel staff did not inform us that it was Independence Day the following day and when we arrived back to have some food and a drink we were told it was closed. Thought this was strange that they would not inform their guests. On recommendation we went to a place around the corner called KONIG - very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.0
    Fantastic hotel for a short break in Girona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ideal location, very central and only 10 minute walk from Bus/Train Station. Close to the river and the old town with lots of bars, restaurants and shops. Clean room with comfortable bed and a big modern bathroom with a great shower. Room was very quiet with no street or traffic noise and had blackout curtains so had two great nights sleep. The other bonus was that you can drink the tap water. Thank you we both had a fantastic stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.9
    Great hotel - fantasticly dark rooms for sleep with exceptional location to the old city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having traveled a bit, we've found Spain to be in parts less favourable to English speakers such as ourselves. True we probably should learn more Spanish, French, Italian but in the later mentioned we found more tourism people able to speak English which makes for a slightly better experience form our perspective. This was the case with meals at the Hotel.

    The staff where most helpful particularly a young lady = Vivian. No request was a problem and when asked about connecting with trains from Girona to Barcelona and our next hotel a completed printed timetable and Metro directions appeared in no time. Really helpful as was Patrick behind the bar he also found no issue with going to the extra of looking up cocktail recipes not on the regular register.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    Good location. Good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could have been better really. The hotel itself was a bit corporate which was reflected by comfort but prices in the restaurant were on the expensive side.

    Staff were great. Liked the cafeteria and the food and drinks were reasonable. Room was clean and spacious. Ten minute walk from the old town and same to train/bus station.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.2
    Clean, comfortable good quality hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doesn’t have too much character but it’s a large, generic hotel so I guess that’s to be expected. Also, the restaurant was closed in August? No idea why.

    Clean, comfortable good quality hotel. Nice location. Easy check-in and check-out.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.8
    Good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative was that the bed had rollers that were not stable at all,so every time we were moving,the bed was moving with us also.

    Everything was great.Location and staff.clean rooms.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    6.7
    Location close to the train and bus station, cosmetics in...
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly reception staff, very loud at nights, dust in the room

    Location close to the train and bus station, cosmetics in the bath, good room service menu

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.6
    Had a very pleasant stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in particular

    Room was specious, nice bathroom. Great location, very friendlyand helpful staff, tasteful food provided at the restauran and cafe.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.6
    Great location in great little city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor a bit brown including heavy nets on windows but we could live with that!

    Comfortable, excellent location with parking in car park beneath hotel (at €18) but I think they all have charges in city centre. Good value - didn't bother with breakfast as plenty of options in town. Really liked Girona - hasn't realised how much there was to see. Loved walking round the medieval walls.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is close to the railway station and a 15-20...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is close to the railway station and a 15-20 minutes walk to the center of the city. The staff was kind and helpful. The room was spacious and clean, especially the bathroom. The room had no particular view as it was at the back side of the hotel but I must say that it was quite luminous. It was a very pleasant stay. I would visit again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    6.7
    A good hotel/location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not good value if you're just looking for a single room. Aircon can be very noisy ( room was very cool though)

    Overall it's a good stay. Would definitely recommend it if your sharing a room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.8
    Great weekend in Girina
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stroppy waitress in the restaurant.

    The other staff, who were charming. Perfect location for our needs. Comfortable room. Nice toiletries. Car parking facilities.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    6.7
    Good base to explore Girona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It felt a bit jaded. The TV had many channels with "no signal" available which was sad on a wet Sunday evening in Girona when the city is mainly closed.

    The hotel is very well located to explore Girona on foot and is surrounded by the restaurants, cafes and markets you would expect in a large city. I'm sure it works well as a conference venue with several good catering facilities

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Overnight stop in Girona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like

    Hotel was in an ideally central location close to the train station. The staff were very helpful and rooms were extremely comfortable. Would recommend and would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    Good location and air conditioning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath took an age to fill and the shower leaked all over the bathroom floor dripping around the fixed glass shield.

    Good location and air conditioning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel in a great location in Girona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were disappointed with the breakfast. We were early diners but “hot” breakfast was already cool. This was the fourth hotel we stayed in on a wonderful holiday in Catalunya. This was the most disappointing breakfast.

    Location, cleanliness, coolness of room even without aircon switched on. It was 33+ outside, the room remained cool throughout the night

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.9
    Remember your passport or you will be shunned
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You are made to feel like a criminal if you are not a local. Luckily, I MADE my husband bring my passport. Never in my life have I had to show my passport to stay at a hotel in any other country. Also, restaurant not open on Sunday...just odd.

    It was clean and comfortable in a good location. The homeless woman out front shouting obscenities each day way a bit off putting though.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Hotel is close to the old centre, very nice staff, great...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is close to the old centre, very nice staff, great room with excellent bathroom. The parking is not included in the price (it costs € 15 a day) but is reachable from within the hotel. Great value fo rmoney.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel ideally located, with good parking and very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is a bit expensive.

    The staff were friendly and very helpful when our motorbike broke down and they contacted a garage for us. Ideally located, very clean and good value for money. Ideal parking for our motorbikes at a reduced rate under the hotel. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a business hotel and was great for ending our trip. Cafe and restaurant are there and he hotel is within easy walking distance to the sites and tastes of Girona. Modern and clean room and the AC worked well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    The location of the hotel is just a stone thrown from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complimentary drinking water provided in the room and the water heater took very long (about 15 min) to heat up. By the time it heated up, I've finished my bath. My friend who bathed after me didn't have problem though.

    The location of the hotel is just a stone thrown from the train station and within walking distance to the main attractions too. There are a number of shops and a few restaurants/ cafe nearby. There are bedroom slippers and bathrobe provided in the room and L'Occitane toiletries in the bathroom (love them!).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Mid city high standard hotel in a wonderful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Mid city high standard hotel in a wonderful city. All conveniences and direct access to underground carpark. Good bar and either indoor or plaza restaurants. Everything you expect is there. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel with fabulous breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC was a bit too noisy during the night and even set on minimum level was still too powerful for me.

    The hotel is easy to reach. Close to the train station and only a few minutes walk from the old city. So, great location. Cleaness in the room and public spaces or staff politeness are things that you already expect from such a hotel. All good. However, i was impressed by the place where it was served breakfast and also the diveristy of good quality food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    3.8
    Worst beds ever - no sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having spent 6 hours cycling I was looking forward to a bath good meal and my bed. Let's start with the bath - it's coated with what I would describe as sandpaper and took a layer of skin off my bath when sliding down to soak. Can't comment on the food as we went out. On our return extremely tired I undressed for bed to lay down on the springest most uncomfortable bed ever, I had to place the fleeecy blanket as a mattress topper. The worst sleep I have ever had.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Good location even if the sat nav could not find it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was a bit disappointing as to choice(esp. compared to the other hotel we stayed in)

    helpful staff. Gave us some excellent restaurant suggestions. Very comfortable beds

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.6
    ok
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Several years ago the hotel had a restaurant called Petit Vert or something like that. It was a a fine evening restaurant and had gained quite a fame. It vanished some years ago and the facility is now used only as a breakfast restaurant and may be for special occasions, but not anymore as a pleasant evening high quality restaurant. We have used this hotel some 10 times in the past years and are missing a good restaurant in the evening when we arrive tired after travelling several hours and do not want to start finding a first class restaurant somewhere in Gerona. At the moment there exists in this hotel an evening eating place called Indigo where the food and service is ok but is crammed & noisy and not very relaxing. Give us back the fine quality Petit V. please.

    Location and comfort

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable stay in good location but food could be improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was average rather boring in style and presentation An evening meal in the Indigo bar restaurant was disappointing. The poorly cooked stir fried vegetables were far to sloppy and extremely salty. The popular Spanish dish of potato Bravas was a poor representation of the dish and again very salty.

    Good location Good bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    A happy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No facial tissues

    The location was good n the cafe was very good value. The bed was comfortable n room temoerature was comfortable. Room was neat and clean with coffee n tea n kettle available. Reception staff were helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel and easy to get around Girona from its location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning wasn’t great and as such the room was a little too warm in the evening.

    The shower was great and the room was clean and a nice size.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    The location of this hotel is just perfect as shops, cafes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location of this hotel is just perfect as shops, cafes etc are close by and the old town is an easy 10 minute walk. Set back a little from the street so it is a bit quieter, next door to an underground car park, very comfortable rooms with additional entrance door allowing for quiet sleep and a lively bar and café. One of the best city break hotels we have ever stayed in and would highly recommend this.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.2
    A comfortable hotel; good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location. Very well appointed rooms which were spotlessly clean. Public areas attractively decorated and comfortable. Excellent value for money. Would use this hotel again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Nice place to spend a weekend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast price of 14.50 euros per person looks very high for me.

    We have stayed with my husband for 1 night in Carlemany. The room was big and clean, comfortable beds, there are all necessary things: shampoo, toothpaste etc. Good bar downstairs. Excellent location near train station and city center. In general was very pleasant stay!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    A great place to stay to celebrate my husband's truly special birthday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the breakfast choice as I mention above.

    The bed was extremely comfy, just the right amount of firmness, and my husband and I really enjoyed having three pillows each. We also liked the spaciousness of the room, the quietness, and the two desk chairs. We liked the staff and found them friendly and helpful. Breakfast had lots of choice, though could have had a better choice of cereals. We loved the situation, with the beautiful shops and its closeness to the old town and the Ramblas. We came out to see my stepson and his partner (who is from Girona), my stepdaughter and her partner who were visiting from Wales, and most of all, to celebrate my husband's 80th birthday, which we celebrated by all 8 of us having a meal at El Celler de Can Roca, which was glorious! So thank you for the pleasantness and comfort of your hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Prices for breakfast (euro 14,50/person) are too high.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No problems at all. :) Everything like in ****hotel. I am very satisfied.

    Prices for breakfast (euro 14,50/person) are too high. It is cheaper to eat in the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.3
    Stayed Sunday night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed Sunday night. Restuarant closed. Staff very nice, room very good and clean. Not a very nice area of Girona. Extra's, breakfast 14 euros each, parking 14 euros, which all starts to add up. Went to a Pizza restuarant 100m away for dinner.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel let down by the simple things.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows didn't keep out noise from people on street at front of hotel. Showerhead/ hose didn't quite fit the holder on wall meaning every shower was a battle. Cleaning staff may want to dust the wall lights.Breakfast isn't worth the price, eat out instead.

    Central location. Secure bike storage area in car park. Room service. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    5.4
    It was a good experience apart from the hotel room cleanliness.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower leaked. The drain for the water was ineffiecient causing my footwear to get wet. The cleanliness of the room was pretty poor. There was evidence of the previopus occupants there., the toilet had toilet paper in the toilet, there was dirty run marks on the tiles in the shower, there were hairs on the floor around the hotel room and it felt generally unclean. I am a quality manager so my attention to detian is ggreater than the normal guest.

    Concierge staff were very helpful. L:ocation of the hotel is fantastic as is in close vicinity to the train station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable and peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain about. It's a pretty bland choice - you could be anywhere in the world - but if you're ok with that (and I was) this is a very comfortable hotel.

    I'd booked at a charming local guest house but it turned out to be a disaster (heating not working, blocked drain and other issues) so when I decided to leave and find other accommodation I wanted a really failsafe option. Carlemany delivered just that. The room was very comfortable with a fantastic bed piled with pillows. The room was quiet and I particularly appreciated having two doors between the bedroom and the corridoor to block out noise. Spotlessly clean. Great fluffy towels and robes. The breakfast buffet was excellent and offered loads of choice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.2
    Excellentstay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast including bacon sausage beans and egg. Had problem with bath not emptying but was fixed immediately. Good staff withwith multi ti lingual skills.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    6.3
    Appropiate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel has come a bit in age...some of carpeting looks dirty. Problematic heater, but usual problem in Spain I would say...

    Good location. No need for breakfast at hotel. Hotel has a nice cafeteria.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    Comfortable, clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the building looks modern and the bathrooms are nice and new, the overall feeling in the hotel is that it is a bit old

    This hotel has everything you need

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    If you want or need to stay in Girona, stay at this hotel; you will not be disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not applicable

    This is how hotels should be. All the staff were courteous and efficient and went out of their way to make my stay relaxing and enjoyable. The cost was great value given the hotel's location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    5.8
    Our 30th wedding anniversary celebration was completely spoilt !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The confirmation received for the booking at the Carlemany from Booking.com does not state that a passport is required to prove ID when checking in - the confirmation states that ‘proof of ID or passport is required’ - consequently our passports were left overnight at our friends villa in Barcelona where we were spending the rest of our 1 week stay and we travelled to the Carlemany hotel for a 1 night stay with driving licence, credit cards etc as our means of ‘proof of ID’ On arrival at the Carlemany we were faced with being bruskly told that unless we could provide our passports or formally gain proof of ID and a stamped / signed form from the main Girona police station (a 20 minute walk across town) we could NOT stay - extremely unhelpful and distressing but after 2.5 hours of walking around beautiful Girona we managed to resolve the issue - no thanks to the Carlemany who obviously regarded the issue as ‘not their problem’ and offered no help apart from telling us where to find the police station! Not a great start for our 30th wedding anniversary celebration and a planned stay and special evening out in Girona!! Advise to all is that you MUST take your passport when booking into a Spanish hotel !!

    Girona was beautiful and well worth a visit

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    9.6
    great location for everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wish the room had had a bath and there was a little noise form the square below, but not too bad - would definitely stay there again.

    Fantastic location in centre of shops, less than 5 mins from Train station and 10 mins to old town. Very comfortable room and bed

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    Location in the centre of Girona means that you can enjoy...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing that we didn't like!

    Location in the centre of Girona means that you can enjoy all that Girona has to offer. Underground parking below the hotel allows you to access the hotel easily by car and not worry about where to park - charge for this is fair. All the staff are friendly and professional. Dogs are allowed to stay in the room. Often hotels which allow dogs to stay are not so luxurious but this one is very comfortable. Like most places in Spain, though, dogs are not allowed in the restaurant. The hotel restaurant is excellent, very good value for money and was open for orders until 11 pm which is great if you are a late arrival. We have stayed here on many occasions and will definitely return.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    10
    A really good place to stay when visiting Girona, I recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast wasn't included and the price asked for access to the breakfast all-you-can-eat buffet is exorbitant (€14.50 per person per day) I personally eat a modest amount in the morning, so we just had coffee and croissants in the adjoining café. The hotel is larger than you imagine, so it felt a little impersonal, but everyone was very friendly all the same.

    The room was large, quiet and the bed really comfy. The bathroom was spacious, spotless and very practical. They came in to clean and replace the towels every day. It is right in the heart of the new city, with amenities all around, just 10 minutes walk to the old city. The staff were friendly but as it is a large establishment we never chatted at all.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    Conf
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very expensive at €14.50 each (can add up if you have breakfast every day of your stay).

    A large, modern and comfortable room with a minibar and toiletries provided with aircon. Bath provided with shower, felt spacious. Quiet room, cleaned to a high standard everyday. Staff left complimentary chocolates and water for my birthday. I was very pleased. In a perfect location to explore Girona and near to the bus station/train station to go further afield.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful stay at hotel Carlemany
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was perfect. We wouldn't change a thing.

    Lovely spacious rooms and extremely comfortable beds. It was in a great location only ten minutes walk from the old town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    4.6
    Extremely unhappy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty room. Triple overpriced. Bed service. You have to pay for everything in minibar,even for water). Really for that price you get only room similar to roadside motel.

    Location, breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.2
    Very good location - car park under the hotel, near to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good location - car park under the hotel, near to the train and bus station but still close to the more interesting parts of Girona. I was on a combined car and cycle trip, as well as the car park there is a dedicated and lockable bike garage space, actually with some basic workshop facilities should that be needed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.2
    Clean comfy and excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea coffee facilities in room, forget the mini bar and do this instead, the reception is very dark! Not a very welcoming place to sit and relax No machine for water only high priced mini bar, or the cafe, when you just fancy a coffee or tea, you don't want to have to get dressed for it, come on carlemany get with it.

    Beds so comfortable, very clean, easy to walk to bus station, and girona sites

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel near to the station with an outstanding breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toiletries in the bathroom were somewhat basic - shampoo & soap only. There were no tissues, body lotion, conditioner - I would have expected some if not all of these in a 4 star hotel.

    Fantastic location and good, spacious rooms (especially the bathroom). Also excellent restaurants in the hotel. Breakfast was very good indeed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    We stayed for 3 days which was perfect for a city visit to Girona. I would return to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No complaints

    This is a very good quality hotel. The towels & bedding are the best we have ever had - exceptional. The restaurant is lovely and the breakfast selection was perfect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.6
    I did not know that the hotel accepts dogs and well, I do...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not know that the hotel accepts dogs and well, I do not like to sleep in a room inhabited by dogs or other animals before. So this is a definite minus !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Great hotel in very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No problems

    Perfect place to stay in a great city like Girona, very good staff in all areas especially the bars and restaurant . A short walk (10 mins) into town and if you get too 'tired' its a cheap cab ride back. The car park has direct access to the hotel and is discounted for guests

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    A really comfortable hotel conveniently situated in wonderful historic and cultured city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Modern, well appointed rooms, comfortable bed, excellent friendly and helpful reception staff. The location of this hotel, 400m from the train and bus station and about the same from the old town, can hardly be bettered.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.2
    Surprisingly comfortable and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On a fairly busy (pedestrianised) square, and a bit of a walk from the historic old town. Harder to find from station than expected, but that's more to do with the station layout than the hotel.

    Good service from reception. Room well designed and very comfortable, with lots of storage space. Luxurious bathroom with Occitane toiletries and thick towels. Wide corridors decorated with map prints. Breakfast service started earlier than most hotels in Spain.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Comfortable and good value hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like about this hotel and would be happy to recommend it to others.

    The hotel was just a 10 minute walk from the bus and train station, and had easy access to shops, restaurants and the old city. We found the hotel to be quiet although we were in the heart of the city (our room was at the back). The room was very comfortable and clean. The bed was extra comfy with lovely fresh bed linen. The room also had a very spacious modern bathroom with a great shower and we were provided with large fluffy towels and good quality toiletries. The hotel also had a variety of eating and drinking options.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.3
    Overall excellent but a tad shabby chic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    but the rooms and the hallway carpeting was old/tired needs sharpening up

    Staff superb and very helpful. The food was excellent with a great selection.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.9
    A good hotel and location to stay in Girona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For a 4 star hotel it's unbelievable that the rooms do not have coffee/tea making facilities. The air conditioning control was a nightmare to adjust. Our meal in the hotel Indigo restaurant was terrible and the service really poor. We never went back.

    The hotel is modern, clean and situated in a good location with access to the old town. The room was quiet and the beds very comfortable. The reception staff were helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.8
    Fabulous city with loads to do. Perfect weekend get away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't have breakfast or dinner at the hotel as like to eat out

    Fabulous location. Near to wonderful restaurants and all the places to sightsee Spacious bedrooms and super comfortable beds

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    Great place to discover Girona from after a good nights sleep! Will be returning !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in the restaurant was a little haphazard and menu choices limited!

    Comfortable beds, spacious rooms, good air conditioning excellent coffee shop and croissants! Easy walk to the old town and train station for onward travel!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    A very convenient situation close to the station and only a few minutes walk to the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient. The beds were particularly comfortable and the walk-in shower was fabulous. Thick fluffy towels and quality bathroom products added to the feeling of luxury.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.9
    Better than before
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really this time.

    We stayed at Hotel Carlemany so we could get a reasonably early train from Girona. The hotel is quite close to the station. We also stayed there three weeks before on arriving in Catalonia. We thought the hotel was some what better this time, perhaps because we didn't eat at the restaurant. (We didn't think that the restaurant food was very good when we ate there before). Our room, although of the same class, also appeared better. It seemed slightly larger and a little more modern. The breakfast in our room was also better. To be fair, previously we had ordered at the last minute. This time we ordered well in advance. The staff are nice, friendly and welcoming. It's not the greatest hotel we've stayed in but is conveniently situated. It has a nice bar. It's fairly good rather than excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.9
    Calm and renovated. Very good location. Good quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a strong smell of cigarette in the corridor next to our room although it was okay inside.

    The room was fully renovated and the hotel facilities were adequate. The parking lot in the basement makes it ideal for a stop-by if you are travelling. The parking is not the hotel's but they offer a discount for guests and it's cheap enough. The staff is very friendly and the restaurant is good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    Relaxed and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar staff could have been more helpful.

    The hotel is within easy access of the bus station! The staff are very helpful and polite! The room was spacious comfortable and quiet! The food in the hotel has improved hugely since my last stay

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Carlemany Girona traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: