Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Carlos III 3 stars

Carretera De Sant Carlos A Alcanar Playa Km4, 43530 Sant Carles de la Ràpita, Spain

#9 of 42 hotels in Sant Carles de la Ràpita

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 534 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Excellent and safe family holiday hotel
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything.. The sound of the waves at night could prevent sleep in a light sleeper.

    Right by the sea with swimming pools and a small rocky cove beach. Very clean. Comfortable beds. Free off road parking. Lift. A well thought out holiday place. Plenty for kids and adults. Excellent quality simple menu.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    4.6
    Hotel is tired and needs work, noisy and humid air con that...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hotel is tired and needs work, noisy and humid air con that dosn't really work, locks that don't work on doors, had to change cards twice ,very poor breakfast, generally clean with helpful staff but there must be better options

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    2 days relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn't work. But I didn't mention it to the staff also, maybe they could have repaired it.

    Quite standard, but good at being standard. Poolside room with seaview, good dinner, good breakfast, nice professional staff, clean and spacious room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Satisfied guest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit isolated , however that wouldn't stop me booking it again .

    Fantastic helpful friendly staff who couldn't do enough, my toilet seat broke , it was replaced in 5 minutes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very tired with just the shower attachment to fill the bath. No taps. Usual Spanish drain smells from the bathroom.

    Staff were very friendly. Outlook was excellent. Bedroom was large with an excellent balcony. Plenty of very hot water. New lift to second floor. Plenty of secure parking. Excellent very reasonable dinner and breakfast which at just 4 euros was a bargain. Really excellent and efficient heating (&cooling)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    5.8
    Nice big clean room, breakfast should be included.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charged extra for breakfast. Being out of season and not being able to use the pool etc I thought the room tariff was expensive.

    Good size room very clean. The shower was good as was the array of soap / shower gel etc provided.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    8.8
    The staff were very helpful in providing a sandwich even...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very helpful in providing a sandwich even though their restaurant had closed. They were also helpful in loaning us an adapter for our mobiles.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    7.5
    A nice hotel for summer vacations - avoid mid winter
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel isn’t really a summer hotel and so was very quiet. The dining room was virtually empty and dinner was poor quality. I ate just once in the hotel in a week’s stay. Breakfast was good value but the coffee machine was not working and the buffet poor; again I ate breakfast in the hotel just once in 7 days.

    Beachside position is great but this was a winter stay. Excellent sea and pool views from balcony.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.2
    Nice place for short or long stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only thin sheets on the bed, no blankets.

    Interesting place, build directly next to the beach, apparently once it was on the beach proper. Proudly renovated from '60's origin, staying in style. Simple but functional design. Generous room and balcony. Pleasant atmosphere, staff relaxed but attentive and flexible. Rooms are accessible through open balconies, almost like a motel. Seems to have lots of regulars. Was there for one night but would have stayed longer. Fenced parking

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.5
    The hotel is a safe and secure environment for younger...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For it's target market its fine. it's not an exclusive hotel but it's a small pleasant and relaxing resort hotel.

    The hotel is a safe and secure environment for younger children. Outside there are two pools as well as access to beaches. Inside there are children's playrooms. Every room has a sea view and a large balcony (not the ground floor rooms which look out directly onto the pools and sea). Catering was very reasonably priced. You do need a car to get to the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    10
    Very nice hotel. Will definitely recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spacious comfortable room with a sea view. The breakfast was very good value and the staff very friendly and helpful. Didn't eat in the restaurant but the menu looked good so we will try it next time.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    6.3
    Nice & quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Personnel doesn't speak any English. No safe and no fridge in the room. Sunloungers are very old and are made of cheap plastic, some of them already falling apart. The road near the hotel is occupied by huge trucks, which are difficult to overtake when you're driving your little car, making you crawl behind them slowly.

    Wonderful sea view from the balcony. All rooms have the same view. Own piece of beach. Personnel is friendly. Good breakfast. Very quiet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.6
    Best stay on spanish coast between valencia and Barcelona.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ac could be more efficient, even though this was the best ac throughout all of our rooms during the trip in spain.

    Great, cozy hotel, with beautiful private beach. Greatprice for the breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    9.6
    Nice Hotel, friendly people, would stay there again, preferably when weather is warmer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant did not open until 2030/2100.

    Even though the restaurant was closed when i arrived late afternoon, the staff provided a suitable snack to keep me going. I had already driven a lot that day and did'nt want to drive the 4km to the nearest cafe.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    10
    Actually, everything was ok (except the weather)!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant does not open until 2030/2100 and as the hotel is quite some distance out of town any alternative eating will require transport if peckish!

    Actually, everything was ok (except the weather)!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    9.2
    A wonderful out of season stay and brilliant value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 15 nights

    My stay was out of season and the restaurant food was mixed in quality, perhaps because they were catering for few guests. However it was very good value. The hotel was a little further out of town than I had expected, meaning that my hire car was a necessity.

    I was upgraded to one of the suite rooms where the wifi was more effective. The room was great, supremely comfortable bed, a jacuzzi ,and with a wonderful view. All the rooms had terraces and a sea view. The staff were wonderful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    9.2
    Basic but EXCELLENT !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WiFi is only in the lounge/bar/restaurant. The door to the room is on a walkway facing the road. The sea was quite loud, so whe did not hear much of the traffic. But traffic noise could be an issue. The entrance from the road is an 180-degree turn if you arrive from the south. I did not know how to get out otherwise, so I backed out of the parking. Not most convenient. But then, parking is FREE, on the doorstep of the hotel...

    The room was simple, but clean and the beds were good. Balcony sees straight on the sea, excellent views ! Bathroom had a window that opens, excellent ventilation. A dinner menu for € 12,50 [ex tax] , good quality and served with many smiles... Where do you find that elsewhere ? Breakfast ; anyhting you can think of was there. Real fresh orange juice [ eat your hart out Paradores...], fresh fruit, good coffee, and again smiles all around. Very friendly staff, very helpfull. Limited english, but my wife speaks spanish...

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.2
    Great view of Med
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great view of Med

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from pool area

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    The beach was nice and the hotel and pool were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach was nice and the hotel and pool were great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.2
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine.

    Good location. Excellent value.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.2
    All rooms have the sea view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far away from towns, you need a car to get there. But it may be an advantage for someone:)

    All rooms have the sea view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    excellent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.5
    Great location but a bit tired needs some love and attention in the rooms
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a bit tired needs some TCL

    It's location on the beach

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.8
    Great value for money and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could be improved.

    Great location and wonderful view of the sea and swimming pool from the room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    8.3
    Basic but clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basic but clean. Efficient check-in. Nice quiet location by the sea. Good value for money hotel for a quick stop off.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    7.5
    value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was really value for money. The staff were very kind.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    8.3
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic, but good breakfast for only 3€/person. Big rooms, clean. As a genius member we could check out late, which was great.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    8.8
    The sea views are magnificent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sea views are magnificent. Very quiet hotel. Enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    10
    Kids club
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Kids club

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    8.8
    Sea was too warm for the girlfriend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Her old boyfriend turned up and the sea was was to warm

    The girlfriend

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    10
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    we thoroughly enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    10
    Excellent cuisine and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Excellent cuisine and breakfast. All rooms in front of the sea that you can listen all the day. Rooms are very clean. Staff very kind and helpful. Biker friends. Great position to all the beautifull routes towards the Natural Parks. Magnific experience!

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    5.0
    View of the sea .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Checking out ... had to put up with a pantomime while the receptionist pretended they couldn't find the previous night's dinner bill, then suddenly found it and pretended they couldn't print the bill, then said the credit card machine wouldn't work and could we pay cash, but took a photocopy of the credit card which we immediately took off him. We paid cash in the end which is what he wanted, didn't produce a bill and no doubt trousered the money! I told him he could read all about it on Trip Advisor! Not recommended.

    View of the sea ... but an industrial complex and long working jetty rather spoiled it ... and it was noisy. Food average at dinner and waiter did the old trick of popping the wine bottle cork just as he got to the table so we didn't see him open it ... it wasn't the expensive one we ordered ... must have thought we came down with the last shower of rain! ... breakfast OK but just toast and croissants so hardly fine dining. Not recommended.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    5.4
    For one stop-over with a very pleasant view of the sea, then...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The building is a little bit run-down and the rooms could do a substantial refurbishment. Facilities could also do with some attention!

    For one stop-over with a very pleasant view of the sea, then it is fine. Location is good.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    5.4
    The pool water and was very clean and a good place to relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Most of the areas of the hotel could have benefited from a thourough cleaning. Chairs, pool area, hallways , etc were not as clean as one would expect in a good hotel.

    The pool water and was very clean and a good place to relax.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    7.1
    Wow! This was a suprise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It is an old hotel needing refurbishment. The furniture is old and overall the hotel looks like it needs a lot of TLC. The breaksfast was really poor and it was the first time I had to squeeze my own oranges to have some juice.

    Wow! This was a suprise. Although I knew it wasn't the best hotel I have ever stayed it still surprised me how it was stopped in time. It looked liked I had walked in the set of Twin Peaks or the Twilight Zone. The best thing by far is the staff! They are super nice and very helpful :)

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    7.5
    Used as a pitstop between Granada and Grenoble in January,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The food wasn't great, but I think it was the chef's night off. (Well I hope so).

    Used as a pitstop between Granada and Grenoble in January, paid 44 Euros for the night with kids. Listened to the sea as I slept and watched the sun rise over the sea ... a wonderful change from the motorways.

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2016

    10
    Lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely hotel. Well recommended. Would definitely stay again. View from the terrace fantastic! Beds so comfortable. Very relaxing stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    10
    Good location, very beautiful view with own swimming pool...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Good location, very beautiful view with own swimming pool and beach, good wifi and helpful staff. Very quiete.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    10
    Wonderful view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    None

    Wonderful view

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2015

    9.2
    Location, quiet, on the beach, easy reach of all the rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, quiet, on the beach, easy reach of all the rest

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Guests also reviewed these properties: