Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of AC Hotel Carlton Madrid, a Marriott Lifestyle Hotel 4 stars

Paseo de las Delicias, 26, Arganzuela, 28045 Madrid, Spain

#105 of 327 hotels in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1408 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.3
    Good for short stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located along stretch of shops, within 10mins walk from Madrid Atocha Metro. Friendly Staff. Our rooms doesn't come with complimentary breakfast thus no comments on food. You may find lot of eateries cafeteria just outside the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location to Madrid Atocha railway station and Metro. Prado Museum and Retiro Park nearby
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel main access was via a revolving door. Guests had to step down two steps onto the reception floor. A bit inconvenient for guests with large suitcases. The hotel did have another access door via a buzzer system. It would be more practical to have a ramp built into the reception area as opposed to steps but no doubt space was limited to do this. Most rooms located at the front of the hotel faced a busy road. This created a lot of noise throughout the day. We requested a move midway through our stay to one of the quieter side road rooms. The hotel should consider installing triple glazing to their front rooms to cut down on noise pollution.

    Location, close to Prado Museum and Retiro Park. Room design different to most hotel rooms. The AC unit has been positioned so as not to directly blow cold air at the room occupants.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price for the breakfast.

    Great location. Prado museum, train station, grocery stores, banks, and restaurants all nearby or a short metro ride. Bartender in lobby very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.3
    Great size room and amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning didn't appear to be working at times as room was warm and stuffy. No way to adjust in the room either. Ended up opening window.

    Great size room and amenities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Great location for getting around the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    The location to the station was great, just a 5min walk. It was close to the shops and just a short walk to the hip on hop off bus. The bed was very comfortable and the staff were very friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    It was very central as well as being close to the station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very central as well as being close to the station. There was an underground station nearby too. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Lovely quiet, clean room. A great stay!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    Cleanliness, helpful staff, and proximity to central Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found a worm in my peach for breakfast.

    Cleanliness, helpful staff, and proximity to central Madrid. A 5min walk from Atocha train station makes everything accessible.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    Great stay at a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    not enough staff at reception, always has to wait to talk to a staff

    Nice room size, big balcony, good view of sunset and the city, great location, walkable to almost everywhere i need to go for sight seeing and restaurants

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    A pleasant bit short stay at the property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Very nice hotel. Near the train station, so very convenient if you’re travelling by train to Madrid. Close to metros, again easy access to the centre of Madrid, which is about 10-15 minutes away. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Loved the friendliness of the front office staff, unfortunately I did not get her name. But she was great. Breakfast was also very good and substantial. The young concierge was also helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.9
    Good but way too expensive.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Price is too high for what it offers. Charging for breakfast is absurd when you charge so much for the room. Strangely price changes (almost doubles) during weekend.

    Professional staff, great breakfast, fast internet, central enough.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.1
    Decent hotel in a good location with amenities, could be more quiet though.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms need better noise insulation, despite being provided a 'quiet room' away from the main street, I could still hear the odd traffic noise during the early hours of the morning (especially garbage trucks). Gym is tiny and only useful if you are practicing yoga/weight loss.

    Location is great. Staff are attentive. Breakfast is nice, but limited in terms of options. Rooms are larger than average for 4* in city centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    Comfort and cosy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, comfort bed, near to atocha station, near to restaurants and franchise, near to convenient store, stable wifi, very friendly staff and fluent English

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.1
    Location, the hotel is very convenient for Atocha station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On a personal level I found the room very dark. Dark laminate flooring, black furniture, one wall decorated very darkly, dark curtains. The fittings also seemed to be getting a bit tired and in need of updating.

    Location, the hotel is very convenient for Atocha station and Metro.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay near Madrid Atocha
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed in the same hotel a week ago, but stayed in a different type of room this time. The room is much more spacious, even with armchairs and a tea table in front of TV. The lighting is better, too. It is also conveniently located near Madrid Atocha and Prado Museum.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.5
    It is really close to Atocha Station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I ordered food due to on Sundays they have a really limited offer at the restaurant. I was taking a shower after a long trip while the food was delivered. From reception they told there were no one who could bring up my food to the room. Actually that is what you do not expect from a 4 stars hotel. In any case the receptionist treatment (only the man, because the girl at reception was really kind though) was kinda rude when I asked if there were no employee who could do this "favor".

    It is really close to Atocha Station

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Great Place to Stay near Madrid/Atocha
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could be brighter.

    The hotel is conveniently located near the Madrid/Atocha train station. Also nearby is the parc retiro. Breakfast is great!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    10
    Short and pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower over the bath. I put a towel in the bath so that I don't slip. I am 82 and cannot afford a broken hip.

    Convenient to Metro and Atocha. Bars are close by for a cheap breakfast or snacks.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of the waiters need smiling often ....

    Big room , clean , good position for visiting museums and other facilities , very diversified breakfast !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.6
    it was already the second time I stayed there while in Madrid and will certainly stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the barman in the evening is not a pleasant person (we met two different persons and none of them was nice or smiling)

    it is the overall comfort of the hotel. Everything is functional, easy, no hickups. The service at the reception is outstanding, I asked for some entry tickets to be printed out for me and it was done immediately with a smile. The keep your luggage the last day of your stay if you only leave town after the check out time of the room. Taxi from hotel to airport 30€ fix price

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.6
    We live in Spain and used the hotel for one night to and from the airport, on our way to Asia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Entrance to the hotel is a little awkward: up a step, through the revolving door (which we thought good as no need to push a door open) and down three steps. For elderly people towing a suitcase, this is a slight nuisance. The room, though spacious to the sides, was rather narrow, with little room between the end of the beds and the work/desk top. While working there I had to move out and put the chair in when my wife wished to pass. (This was a very minor irritation.) The bath should have a none slip mat or surface. This is always the most dangerous feature of a hotel room, particularly for elderly people. There were handles on the wall.

    Very comfortable and clean. Good wifi connection. Entrance to the room was into a lobby area with bathroom on the left and bedroom to the right. We liked that arrangement. There was plenty of cupboard space in the lobby. There was a comfortable settee and small table. It was an inner room, looking into a clean light well; so very quiet, if you didn't mind the view of the fire escape! We liked the revolving door entrance to the hotel as it made it easy with a suitcase; there is a street level entrance further down the road for wheel chair users. Check out time was 12.00, which suited us as we had travelled from Asia and needed a good rest, rather than sightseeing. We live in Spain and the hotel is excellently situated for our purpose, within five minutes walk from the railway station, and airport shuttle bus; and within walking distance of the three main art museums. We used it on our way to and from the airport. There is an excellent Indian Restaurant in the next road.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    5.0
    we survived but not what we had in mind of a 4 star hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the parking they are overcharging with 16eur for a night, and it is their own parking. the receptionist took like forever to do the check in. the rooms are old and you can hear the noice from the freeway. it is not a 4 star hotel.

    close to the airport, shuttle bus going free.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    Will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great beds Very clean So near to Aticha and easy to walk to centre Staff very good , happy to book taxis etc Buffet breakfast very good The waiter at breakfast was exceptional, so kind ,thoughtful and efficient

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.8
    Quiet and comfortable stop in Madrid
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really, but if I had to say something, the bath was a bit too small

    The location was excellent and easy to get by metro. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    4.2
    Not worth for the money you pay for the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I left my earnings on the table and they there were gone same day. i know that i should have saved them in the safe, but management could have reacted better when i reported theft. They didn't care at all.

    Location and room was big & toilet facilities new, but the cleaning could be better. Service at desk could be better.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    Exactly what I needed at a reasonable cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our stay exceeded my expectations and I would stay there again and recommend to others!

    the room was very comfortable, the bed was lovely and the bathroom spacious!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money and convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of details: no tissues available in the room, relatively old hairdryer.

    Good value for money. Close to key attractions such as Prado and Reina Sofia museums

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    8.8
    Quiet, nice and comfortable stay in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't have anything bad to remark

    The bed was very comfortable and the room superclean. What I liked most was the quiet atmosphere and the good look of the place in general

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    5.8
    Not recommended.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For a 4-star "by Marriott" hotel AC Carlton was rather disappointing. The room was facing towards an internal staircase, making it necessary to have the blinds shut down at all times and thus no natural light could enter. The bathroom had a strong sewer odour. The check-in took way too long despite the fact that there was only one guest before me; after 10 minutes a second receptionist appeared to help.

    Good location. Very spacious room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    8.3
    Big room, comfortable bed, location close the station and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walls not protective from other rooms noise, cleaners started to talk and shut the door loud since early in the morning with no care for sleeping customers

    Big room, comfortable bed, location close the station and shuttle bus

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    6.3
    Comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad restaurant recommendation provided (extremely overpriced and terrible food). A bit out of the main area - it was a hike to get everywhere and airport transport not easy to and from.

    Comfortable room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    They had gluten-free bread for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Road noise can be excessive. Elevator is small. Air-con made a clicking noise so I had to turn it off at night.

    They had gluten-free bread for breakfast. Very comfortable bed. Great location for train, metro stations and heaps of activities.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.3
    Great location for a good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central air con was very hot at night and no way to adjust it in the room.

    Location was great. 10 minute walk from Aticha train station. Express supermarket open till 12 a ciuple of doors down. Retiro park, Reina Sofia Musuem just a short walk. Room was ckean and had goid facilities with a small fridge and soundproofing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.9
    Good Location Close to the Atocha Station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Odd setup to get cases in and out - there is another door. Not really in the nightlife district if you're looking for food etc. Area would be a bit sketchy if you're wandering around after dark in the back streets.

    Good Location close to the Madrid Atocha Railway Station. Close to a supermarket if you need anything. Only stayed for a night prior to flying out so can't really comment on an extended stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.2
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not get coffee before 7am. We had to leave for airport and tried to get coffee at 6:45 but had to wait until 7 because they don’t serve coffee until then. Seems a bit rigid since breakfast started at 7

    Lovely room but a bit dark

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.2
    Great location and very pleasant and efficient staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steps inside the front door could be difficult for some people. However there is a clear warning about them so this is likely to be a minor problem.

    Helpful and informative staff. Access to WiFi and computer for printing boarding g passes and checking in to flights. Good air-conditioning, spa bath, thick and large towels. Nice sitting area for drinks.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable stay and walking distance to Atocha.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Elevators should be bigger and could be more sound isolation between the rooms, I had to listen neighbour all the night.

    Walking distance to Atocha train station, very easy to find, wonderful rooms and breakfast is very rich. It is very organized and nice to stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    5.8
    I do not recommend this AC Hotel for anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception during check in and check out was the worst experience I had in my entire life staying at Marriott and SPG over the last 40 years. Having bad mood people, unpolished, unpleasant with customers during check in and check out is absolutely unexpected to the new customers and absolutely unacceptable to frequent customers at any Marriott / SPG hotel.

    Room was OK. Dinner was OK.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    clean, very nice stuff, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was very loud street at night.

    Besides that, everything was great - we didn't took a reservation with breakfast (cause it was expensive) we ate outside - it's worked well for us. The location is good, 5 minute walk, from metro, central train station, Starbucks. Very clean and the stuff wad very very nice! Recommends.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    Good location and very clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are not sound proof (we could hear the conversation of the rooms next to ours, and when people were walking on the hallway)

    Good location and very clean rooms. Breakfast is also very very good. Staff is very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    7.1
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    paper thin walls (you could hear everything from next door room), rooms are small, little space to move around bed. Tiny lifts, that barely fit luggage (!). No bar ? or its so small its hard to even notice it..

    Great location, hotel looked recently refurbished, large bathroom. Great value for money

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    A great place to see all of Madrid and beyond.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing negative to report here.

    We travelled from Bilbao ferry terminal. We arrived here around 7pm on a Tuesday evening. On arrival and after a steamy drive with outside temperatures soaring to 37°c the revolving door opened out into a welcoming reception area with air conditioning that made us just go "Ahh!" The cheery receptionist was very professional and swift and efficient (with a lovely smile too!) and we were soon going up one floor to our rooms to drop the cases. We had parked in the side street called Calle De Murcia but realised this was not somewhere we could stay for too long. The receptionist explained we could park for 16.90 euros per day in the allocated parking garage they use some 300m by foot from the hotel in Calle del General Lacy. There was a bakery next door to the garage. We bought baguettes and pain au chocolat here because we didn't elect to add breakfasts to our stay. We knew we were going to be moving around a lot visiting family. I am not there at the moment and not on wifi so no photos, sorry. I may be able to add some later maybe. This proved an excellent venue to springboard from. We went to Arganda, we visited El Escorial, we visited the Roman aquaduct and old town in Segovia and we also visited north and east suburbs where family live. All in all the hotel presented as a great place. Great people. Great facilities. With everything Madrid has to offer a step from your front door. NB - We wandered about a bit during a few hours of downtime and happened across a sort of Tapas Bar called El Brilliante near the Atocha station, its easy to spot on Google Maps. If you like your food local-ish this wasn't too bad a place to use. Many types of food served and the rear plaza style seating is not plagued by the traffic closer to the station. A bit on the expensive side for what it was but this is a city so we weren't offended by the higher prices.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    7.5
    Quick stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed a simple lower cost breakfast. No information about dinner in room only room service

    Easy 10 minute walk from train station. Several restaurants near by include a good Colombian. Desk staff on the phone when we arrived and waited a long time to be helped. Great shoe store next door

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.2
    3 Night Stay in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel proved a bit of a challenge to find on arrival with another AC Marriott Hotel nearby with a similar name so need to make sure it’s the “AC Hotel Carlton Madrid, a Marriott Lifestyle Hotel” and not the other hotel. The breakfast had a very limited choice of coffees with what I consider a limited selection at the breakfast buffet although it was being kept well stocked replenishing items as they were being used. Our room on the 2nd floor wasn’t particularly well sound proofed hearing movement from within the hotel including hearing what sounded like a shower in use in a neighbouring room. Although we were check in efficiently on arrival the checking out was a different matter. We arrived at the reception desk at about 10am to find a queue of people, the one receptionist on the desk busy on the phone so with a train to catch, no monies owing and no other staff around to accept our room keys off us we had to just leave the room keys on the reception desk. I’d recommend anyone wanting a quick morning getaway to pay any money owing the previous day or on checking in like we did on checking in.

    We spent a few weeks visiting various Spanish cities traveling by train. The hotel is well located being about a 5 to 10 minute walk from Madrid-Puerta de Atocha Railway Station. We managed a good nights of sleep in a comfortable bed with a good air conditioning system keep the room nice and cool. The free hotel Wi-Fi worked well for us in both our room and in the restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    9.2
    ROOM SET UP
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    THERE WAS NO TEA MAKING FACILITY IN THE BED ROOM I HAD TO GO DOWN TO RECEPTION TO GET THE KEY OF THE SAFE MOST HOTELS HAVE NUMBER LOCK TYPE THERE WAS NO GRID BOX IN THE SHOWER TO PUT MY BAR OF SOAP OR SHAMPOO BOTTLE WHILE I WAS HAVING MY SHOWER I HAD TO LEAVE THEM AT THE END OF THE BATH WHEN I CHECK INTO A HOTEL ROOM THE FIRST THING I DO IS CHECK THAT THE SHOWER,TV,KETTLE AND TEMP CONTROL ARE WORKING WHILE CHECKING THE SHOWER WASN'T EASY WITH OUT GETTING WET ALSO I HAD TO CALL IN STAFF TO REGULATE THE TEMP CONTROLER AS IT WAS NOT USER FRIENDLY IT TOOK ME ABOUT 1 HOUR TO SET UP MY ROOM THAT WAS AN HOUR LESS SLEEP I HAD CONSIDERING THAT I CHECKED IN AT ABOUT MIDNIGHT AFTER A LONG TRAIN TRIP FROM BARCELONA

    LOCATION OF HOTEL

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    8.8
    It would be a great idea, for Guests who stay from a week period, to offer a package.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    vue on inside court for one week is not the more enjoyable. breakfast is 25% of hotel cost, considering prices in Madrid restaurants, it is too much.

    Service and confort

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    10
    AC carlton Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have been in this hotel several times and I really like it and had recommended to friends and family. Its location is great! Very close to the Atocha train station, the Prado museum and other important atractions. The hotel is very neat, the room very clean, Breatfast is great and delicious! Fresh fruits, Nesspreso coffee delicious! Variety of breads, jams and pastries. Overall an excelent breakfast, and all the newspapers to look at them.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    8.8
    good loaction , nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast start 7.30 to 10.30 on Weekday,and 7.30 to 11.00 on Weekend. That make me confuse. It would be better if they set all at the same period.

    Bed is very comfortable, Location is really good close to Metro. Room is clean and nice decorate

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    9.6
    Good location. Clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy traffic/pedestrian crossing beeps (!) if you are at front of hotel but just close window when sleeping. Breakfast ok, might prefer to get own elsewhere as there are many nice places around.

    Nice shower. Bed comfy. Check in early

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    10
    Great location close to everything especially Museums and Metro stops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to ask for room safe key at check in. Deposit cost returned at check out.

    Friendly staff at front desk and restaurant. Convenient. There is a small grocery store close by. Atoche train station within walking distance. Airport autobus stops at Atoche train station and you can walk to the hotel from stop.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    5.0
    Good fruit options for breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Cold room, slow check in, poor glutenfree bread options, broken light, badly soundproofed walls, expensive breakfast, no natural light

    Good fruit options for breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    9.2
    Great trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with more than 1 towell and a kettle in the room would have been nice

    Comfy bed, all facilities in room were great. Nice bathroom and lots of storage space

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    9.6
    Good location, with WIFI and great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No option for late check out, but an option to keep the luggage until late in the evening was offered in return.

    I liked that all the staff was very helpful and willing to do an extra step to advise if needed. I was informed in advance that even though I booked the room with breakfast, I only paid for one, so we knew in advance how much we need to pay for the extra one. The hotel was between 2 stations but walking distance. Coming from the airport is very convenient as the station is 5 minutes walking from the hotel. The 2nd station was helpful to use different metro line. Room was clean and warm. WIFI was working perfectly in the room. Multiple choices for breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    8.8
    Escape to Madrid for a few days break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Though the beds were very comfortable I feel I can't give full marks as we had specifically asked for a double and it was twinned beds just pushed together and made up separately .

    Very easy to get to from main train station, metro near by, good location. Room very comfortable. I would stay again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    9.6
    Very good choice if you travel by train or plane.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-fi a bit slow.

    Very nice and quiet room (I asked for one). Large bathroom. Very good breakfast. 300 meters to the Antocha railway station and the airport shuttle (no easy to find but costs only 5 euro). Some good restaurants very close on the same street.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    6.7
    The location is nearby atocha station which is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are some friendly but some are not. Room is old and there is no gym at the hotel. It's a four star but feel like a 1980s?

    The location is nearby atocha station which is good. Room is big but old.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    10
    AC Hotel Carlton Madrid Spain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is not included in the price of the hotel which isn't a big deal considering the price. They do serve a buffet breakfast in their dinning room.

    We stayed at the hotel for six nights. The room was comfortable and mostly quiet. We could walk to the Prado and many other sites. Also the Metro is close by. The price is a good value for a city hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    7.1
    If you want wifi in your room, look elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi didn't work in the room -- I addressed it with the staff several times. They put in a request to their tech company but made no effort to make it better (by offering a discount, free breakfast, etc)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    8.8
    Heavenly Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lights in the room are too dark

    The breakfast is simply AMAZING! Fresh orange juice, fresh mini croissant, cereal, pastries, cakes, eggs, jambon, fruit, cheese, a lot of different kind of bread, jam, biscuits, cookies.. and a HUGE Nespresso coffe machine to have all kind of coffes!! The room was perfect, with a large balcony and a pretty bathroom. Very cozy and warm.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    9.2
    Great location and property to use as a base to explore Madrid!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facilities lacked a bit, so if you are someone who likes to spend a lot of time in the hotel indulging, this is not the place for you.

    The location is great, only a short walk from Atocha station with an additional metro station into the city centre only a few blocks away. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the place was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    8.3
    Good Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is two AC hotel in this area and ended up in the wrong one the first time.

    The rooms are comfy and clean. The hotel is near Madrid main station which can connect you to a lot of places in Madrid and to travel to other cities in Spain

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.8
    Very handy for Atocha Station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very handy for Atocha Station. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.2
    The traffic down in the street is loud.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The traffic down in the street is loud.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.5
    room size and equipment
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    rooms to the inner court are dark and have no view other than right inside the room on the opposite side of the court

    room size and equipment

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    9.6
    Good hotel Good location !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!

    Everything !! Especially breakfast :)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    8.3
    We liked our stay. It had a nice location and very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could improve on their breakfast buffet choices

    Walking distance to Atocha train station

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Staffs were so friendly, clean and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staffs were so friendly, clean and comfortable room. Breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No drink facilities in room and poor view from room

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location for museums
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location for a one night stay, close to the main station and museums.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Hotel was very great, clean and tidy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    .

    Hotel was very great, clean and tidy. Very good location, near metro and train station

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel close to hub of city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Happy with stay

    Very clean and comfortable bedroom. 25 min stroll to city centre. Lovely park with lake close by.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.7
    breakfast was very good, multiple items and healthy food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms were too small

    breakfast was very good, multiple items and healthy food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.2
    Close to the railway station and attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee maker in the room

    Close to the railway station and attractions

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    - Good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small, claustrophobic elevator

    - Good breakfast - great localization, few steps from larg train station - competent and helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    6.7
    Room was quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location not that nice very busy

    Room was quiet

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Convenient boutique hotel which suited our needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows that open

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse AC Hotel Carlton Madrid, a Marriott Lifestyle Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: