Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Casa Assumpta

Fondevila, s/n, 15810 Arzúa, Spain

Review score

Based on 91 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    One of the most beautiful places just off the camino
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything. We were doing the Camino and got picked up in Arzua after a very long day walking. Casa Assumpta is just the last word. The decor is fab as are the staff. We had a lovely relaxing dinner there. There is an above ground pool also which was very welcome. All 6 of us just love it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    After a long walk on The Camino we found Casa Assumpta to be an oasis of tranquility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it is a special place to stay.

    Beautiful house & location. Wonderful hospitality. Splendid food & wine. We stayed for two nights & found Casa Assumpta to be a really relaxing place to chill & unwind in the tranquility of the wonderful countryside. The food is amazing too. Loved it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    Lovely rural experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee could have been better (but only a small grievance as everything else was great)

    Friendly & helpful owners. Good to stay in a rural location while doing the Camino. Old house with character. Very clean. Food was very good also.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    Everything was fantastic .
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fantastic . We were collected in town after a long days walk. Dinner and breakfast were superb and the Staff fantastic and a lift back to continue our pilgrim walk.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Fantastic but way too short.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I couldn't find fault.

    The bed was extremely comfortable.... the quietness was lovely and we happened to meet really nice people there on the night, an added bonus.... I would love to stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We are walking the Camino and our room was spacious, quiet even though it's on the main road and the bed was very comfortable. It is an easy walk to everything as it is a small town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    8.3
    Slightly disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was cold and it took awhile to warm it up since it's central heat and the other rooms were warmer. Dinner was average. I didn't eat breakfast so I can't speak to that.

    While they are a 10 minute drive off the camino, I'd emailed them about the pickup point and when I arrived I was picked up within 15 minutes and dropped off at trail the next day when I asked. Room is pretty and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful place to stay when doing Camino
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Beautiful, quaint accommodation. Very friendly, helpful staff. Lovely food. Enjoyed spending time relaxing in the garden. Very quiet location. Slightly out of town but telephoned owners and were picked up very quickly

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    10
    out in the country.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The neighboring house had an annoying dog that barked constantly.

    Lovely location. Free pick up and drop off by the lovely owner. comfy beds. Nice breakfast. Wi Fi sun beds .

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Arnau, the owner and chef, was very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arnau, the owner and chef, was very helpful and friendly. Excellent food.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.9
    Lovely country stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner was lovely and helpful and cooked an amazing dinner. The property had lots of lovely old features and was very traditional.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    Had a lovely stay - the service was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was amazing (but the vegetarians may feel a little left out/ overlooked) and the service was excellent. The bed was comfy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.9
    It was a comfortable night's stay with a good evening meal & breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The very welcoming owner.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    Our favorite little place on the Camino!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! The restored farmhouse was lovely and the food was excellent. Gracious and friendly hosts as well.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful place with amazing food and friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    The food was fab
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was fab

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    10
    Super staff, location and food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super staff, location and food.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.4
    Breakfast was good and house had lovely character!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy cisterine in toilet

    Breakfast was good and house had lovely character! Staff / owner very friendly!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    10
    wow - Fab
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything about this place was fabulous :)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    8.8
    A really lovely place to stay and made all the better being...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A really lovely place to stay and made all the better being able to get a lift to the property and back to the Camino by the hosts.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    10
    Casa assumpta an outstanding place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything place staff food

    A beautiful place to stay! Only wished i could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    9.2
    Family run with lovely personal touch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It is a distance out so once you arrive, there is no where else to go. That wasn't a problem for us as we were all tired from walking and enjoyed relaxing in our rooms. Might be too quiet though for others.

    Family run with lovely personal touch. Anxious to ensure we enjoyed ourselves. We rang from the Pilgrims Info Office to be picked up and were dropped back next day. Pretty gardens which would have been nice to sit out in if the weather was better. Dogs came over to play ball etc. Plenty of hot water and comfortable beds. Fresh home cooked food.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    8.8
    We were picked up at pilgrim office after a long day on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We were picked up at pilgrim office after a long day on the Camino, soaking wet. Staff were lovely and welcoming. Wonderful home cooked dinner and breakfast. Beautiful setting. Very relaxing.

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    7.1
    The joy of a bath after a 29km day in the rain on the Camino!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Our ground floor room was very damp and musty smelling. Our son who had a single room on the other side of the dining area was kept awake by rats in the roof space all night. As most people who stay here have walked at least a 29km day, it would be nice to be given a more substantial meal. We had a special vegetarian meal prepared which was lovely but simply not enough (and we are very slim builds). Also as there a no cafes/shops nearby it would be nice to be offered a cup of tea and a biscuit upon arrival, especially since dinner is not served until 7.30 -8pm.

    The joy of a bath after a 29km day in the rain on the Camino! Cosy accommodation. Good to be collected and dropped back in town.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    8.8
    The setting is gorgeous and we spent a lovely relaxing sunny...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Overall Casa Assumpta is fantastic but it is approx. 7 km from the Camino. The hosts will, however, collect you and drop you back to the Camino.

    The setting is gorgeous and we spent a lovely relaxing sunny afternoon in the garden during our Camino walk. Had a great freshly cooked meal which was a bit pricier than the usual Pilgrims Menu, but was still very good value.The house is lovely and our room was great - beautifully decorated, clean and very comfortable. Bathroom was spotless. Our host was very helpful and collected us from Arzua and dropped us back the following the morning.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    9.2
    The dinner was one of the best dinner of our trip -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The dinner was one of the best dinner of our trip - beautifully done with very fresh seafood (our choice, there are other options). Great breakfast too. Nice quiet rooms. The hostess was kind to ride us back to our Camino route. We were walking to Santiago. This place is not on the route. Worth the detour!

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    10
    The family run Casa Rurales is top quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The family run Casa Rurales is top quality. Very friendly and offered free transport to and from the Camino de Santiago. I would definitely recommend this as a place to stay

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    9.2
    Room was spacious and quiet, beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was spacious and quiet, beautiful setting.Nicely decorated. highly recommend. Proprietor came to pick us up in town and dropped us off on the Camino. Dinner was very delicious! Had really nice stay there.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    9.6
    Mother and son run this place Dinner great Very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If you are doing the Camino phone them from Arzua for a pick up don't walk on as you will end up too far as we did . They will drop you back to resume the Camino the next day

    Mother and son run this place Dinner great Very friendly

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    10
    Everything arno cant remember his name picked us up in town...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing was fab

    Everything arno cant remember his name picked us up in town very weary walkers he was brill checked us in bar man and chef food to die for loved this casa hrns dogd and the rest

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    9.6
    nice family, gorgeous house and decor, lovely home-made food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    a little far from the camino, and the promised free pick-up service only works if you are fluent in Spanish - I was told by e-mail from where and when to call and wait for the pick-up, but no one understood me on the phone, luckily, I managed to find a taxi / etwas abgelegen und leider funktioniert der versprochene Abholservice nur, wenn man fliessend Spanisch spricht. Ich war zur vorher per E-Mail vereinbarten Zeit am vereinbarten Ort und rief von dort aus an, man verstand mich absolut nicht, und ich war froh, dass es mir gelang, an einem WE nachmittags in Arzua ein Taxi zu finden

    nice family, gorgeous house and decor, lovely home-made food, luxurious super-clean rooms / nette und freundliche Familie, wunderschön gestaltetes Haus, tolles hausgemachtes Essen und luxuriöse super ausgestattete supersaubere Zimmer

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    9.2
    Beautiful settling away from the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing.

    Beautiful settling away from the town. Beautiful home and garden in which to relax. Evening meal was very good and great value. Owner was very helpful despite language barrier. Pick up and drop off at Camino.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    9.2
    Warm family run establishment with Beautiful decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location wasn't great and it was just by chance we got a lift to the hotel. If I was doing the camino perhaps I wouldn't stay here,purely because of Location.

    Warm family run establishment with Beautiful decor. Experience what life is like living in the country side!

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    9.6
    WIFI WAS NOT WORKING AT THE ROOM, TV signal was no good.
    • Couple

    WIFI WAS NOT WORKING AT THE ROOM, TV signal was no good.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    8.8
    Scenery
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No English

    Scenery

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    9.6
    Nice lovely cozy rural stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nice lovely cozy rural stay. Great food at family run restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    7.5
    Very rustic and lovely dogs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wifi did not work in room. Also a bit isolated

    Very rustic and lovely dogs

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    8.8
    Food cleanliness ambience staff bathroom
    • Group

    Location noisy barking dogs a lot of banging or scratching by an animal

    Food cleanliness ambience staff bathroom

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    9.2
    Complimentary pick up and drop of to the Camino.
    • Group

    Staff could be more able to speak english and give information about the accommodation on arrival.

    Complimentary pick up and drop of to the Camino.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.2
    great food, wonderful bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    great food, wonderful bathroom

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    8.3
    Gracious host, beautiful property
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A little far after an exhausting day even though they pick you up.

    Gracious host, beautiful property

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    8.3
    Excellent food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Excellent food

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    10
    Best food we had in Spain!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Best food we had in Spain!

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    9.6
    Friendly staff, couldn't be more helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The white wine was terrible

    Friendly staff, couldn't be more helpful. Quality food, lovely room, great ambiance, very homely feel

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    7.1
    Very comfortable, beautiful old house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Seemed a little expensive and required a phone call to get picked up from Arzua.

    Very comfortable, beautiful old house. Food was good.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    7.9
    Rural with dogs, cat, chickens and many flowers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Chickens are up early and very noisy.

    Rural with dogs, cat, chickens and many flowers.

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    7.9
    Friendly staff, peaceful and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff, peaceful and quiet. Fresh air!

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    9.6
    Very nice facilities and staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing

    Very nice facilities and staff; picked me up on the camino and returned me in the morning - hotel is 5KM from town

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Guests also reviewed these properties: