Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Casa Azcona 3 stars

Avenida de Belascoain, 24, 31180 Zizur Mayor, Spain

#2 of 2 hotels in Zizur Mayor

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 302 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.1
    Food was good and attentive service from the bar staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    English menus would have been helpful. My room overlooked the courtyard so it was a little lively late into the night unfortunately. Not intended as a criticism, but if you want to retire early perhaps ask for a room at the rear of the property.

    Very comfy bed and clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    A little gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we missed was tea/coffee facilities in the room. We were gasping for a cup of tea after driving 500 miles from France!

    Fabulous location with beautiful views. Lovely room with wooden floors and great shower. Secure parking under the hotel and lovely breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    Great stay, would certainly return if visiting Pamplona again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not have a hairdryer in the room. Did not cause me a problem as I had my own.

    Very comfortable stay. Food and drink we’re good value for money in the cafeteria. Staff very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice Hotel, just know you will have to walk a ways from Cizur Menor.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It took forever to walk there. We had to walk through Cizur Menor before could begin to find the place. We took a taxi back to where the Camino begins in Cizur Menor. The guide books indicate it’s a short walk, it’s not that short.

    I enjoyed my room and my bathroom. For dinner, I had the lamb and it was delicious. The waiter brought both a Spanish and English menu, which was nice of him. I wished that I had had their continental breakfast, it was more than just coffee and bread. There was fruit, chocolate croissant, yogurt, juice, sliced meats and cheese.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.6
    A welcome hotel to break a long journey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing we don’t like. It serves the purpose for us every time.

    Casa Ancona, didn’t exceed my expectations as we’ve been here before and know what to expect, the staff are all good although we speak very little Spanish and in most cases they speak very little English they do all they can to assist. I will return on my next trip to The Costa Blanca it is a convenient and welcome stopover.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Perfect Gateway to the camino Santiago
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff. Perfect location for starting the camino de Santiago. Perfectly clean rooms, newly renovated, nice spacious bathroom. We had a lovely dinner and breakfast at the hotel's restaurant. We took the bus to Pomplana (bus stop right in front of the house) which took us about 15 min. We could park our car in the hotel's garage and started our camino from there. Just perfect!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.9
    Camino stop over near Pamplona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little around the hotel. Few eating options if you are on foot. Didn't seem to have hair dryer even though rated 3 stars. A stop over option close the Pamplona, but not that close to the Camino trail.

    Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.1
    A little noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't know if it's because the hotel is near the highway or on the flying path to/from the airport, but noises starts very early in the morning.

    The room is spacious and comfortable, with a very nice bathroom. The building is new, but parking is not always easy to find (the one of the hotel costs 6€ per night). Good breakfast, with a lot of choice. Nice staff, even if they only speak Spanish.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful little suburb just outside Pamplona!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was excellent, the owner that greeted us didn't not speak English, but that was expected in a country that's Spanish speaking. But he was still able to give us all the info we needed :) The little restaurante / bar was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    7.5
    Nice property, good location with easy public transport link to Pamplona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Avoid room 103 which is above the Cafeteria / Bar and outside seating area. The bar is a focal point for locals as well as guests so there is noise well into the early hours. The first morning although breakfast is supposed to be avalable to 11am we were unable to get a Croissant at 9.30 as they had all gone. On the Second morning we went to breakfast early and so saw the reason for the lack of Croissants on the first morning, basical locals use the breakfast area a Cafeteria and help them selves.

    Nice property with good facilities, bus stop to Pamplona outside, so easy access to city.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.5
    A quiet location outside the city with a bus stop just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were 3 couples in the restaurant on the first night and each was given a different menu. on the second time we tried the restaurant there was a big party going on so the noise was terrific.

    A quiet location outside the city with a bus stop just outside.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    8.8
    This was a good stopover!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The poor staff really try to provide good service but there just isn't enough of them and that is dissapoiting! Long waits for food!

    Clean,guiet good regular bus to the heart of the city.Restaurant good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    7.9
    Please take surprise, however 2star not the advertised 4
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Narrow parking spots, however in a garage..

    Just renovated, everything in the room and most areas are new. Friendly staff. Excellent value for the price. Bus into the city just about outside the door and runs every 20 min

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location for stop over close to the motorway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Garage very tight for a long car.

    Great location for stop over close to the motorway. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.3
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast in the bar area

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    10
    Good hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice Hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    A wonderful stay in Pamploma
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast looked a bit basic for 7 euros

    Exceptional hotel friendly staff very friendly perfect for my visit 😊

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Spectacular
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Location , the area was beautiful bus stop across the street great tool to go to pamplona

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    5.8
    Could do better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi very slow. Key card had to be swiped many times to open door to room. Shower nozzle needs repairing.

    Large room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    7.5
    Clean and spacious
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi did not work Too far from Camino Santiago

    Clean and spacious

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    9.2
    Very good overnight stopover venue..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    2.5Euro for a pint of Estrella a bargain after French prices. Very pleasantly rustic and quiet.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    10
    Comfortable, friendly hotel, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable room, courteous and helpful staff, great café/restaurant attached. Really enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    7.1
    Could not get a meal or snack in the hotel until 8pm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not get a meal or snack in the hotel until 8pm. That was the only fault.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    10
    The location was very good for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No control over room air condition. Your at the mercy of whatever the hotel sets the temperature at. It's a deal breaker for me and would not have booked had I known beforehand. But then again the surroundings were great.

    The location was very good for us. The surroundings was quiet. It felt like being in some remote mountain but the town was accessible by bus. Pleasant short walk to the beach. Excellent restaurant next door (Rekonda).

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    7.1
    Quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked a superior double room, but the first room offered was rather poor. Very dark with only skylights, so no view. We had to pay extra for a decent room.

    Quiet location. Convenient to motorway

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    5.8
    Very helpful breakfast barman helped us find bus stop and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Found bedbug (albeit dead) on our sheet in the morning. Reception lady pretended not to know what it was when I showed it to her! Reception staff had little English and gave us misinformation about local buses.

    Very helpful breakfast barman helped us find bus stop and gave other useful local information.

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    7.9
    Spacious, modern inside with a lot of character on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beds were very firm, too firm.

    Spacious, modern inside with a lot of character on the outside. Secure underground parking. Bus stops outside to take you into the city.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    10
    Easy and cheap access to Pamplona by bus from opposite the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Easy and cheap access to Pamplona by bus from opposite the hotel. Room was clean and well appointed with a small balcony and lovely view over the countryside. We intend to return to spend more time in Pamplona and will definitely stay at Casa Azcona.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    6.7
    Staff were helpful considering a lot of them had no english
    • Group

    In the Bar/Restaurant was awful noisy with the staff creating a lot of unnecessary noise with chairs and tables and delph.

    Staff were helpful considering a lot of them had no english

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    8.8
    Good room, modern facilities, great bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Smart restaurant but only serving cafeteria food in evening. Groups arriving pre booked had much better selection of food.

    Good room, modern facilities, great bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    5.8
    Very comfortable and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The noise. Checked out at 3am and went to park until daybreak. The music outside hotel over loud speakers still at full volume when I walked out of village at 6am. Check festival dates before making a booking.

    Very comfortable and clean

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    9.2
    We stayed only one night and the foregoing reviews say it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We stayed only one night and the foregoing reviews say it all. We did not have breakfast but had an evening meal which was very good. The staff were very attentive and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    8.0
    Staff and facilities excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was advertised as on the camino. It is 2.2 k path. not what we expected when we arrived after a long days walking..

    Staff and facilities excellent. Lovely hotel

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    9.6
    Not quite on Camino, but staff helpful in assisting us in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not quite on Camino, but staff helpful in assisting us in getting back to the Way.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    7.1
    Food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Food

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    6.7
    It was clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Distance from Camino. I got lost. Food service was not very good.

    It was clean

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Browse Hotel Casa Azcona traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: