Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Casa del Marqués 5 stars

Cantón, 24, 39330 Santillana del Mar, Spain

#3 of 22 hotels in Santillana del Mar

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 643 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was ok but a rather creaky experience. The bed and floor boards creaked dramatically. Nice old floors to look at. Bring ear plugs. Wi fi a bit useless. But don't be put off. These are very minor complaints and in keeping with the ambience.

    This place takes you back in time. The common areas are astounding and dramatic in their authentic style. Very inviting and memorable. Like a movie set but warm and cozy. Good breakfasts and good service re taxis, info etc.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lights on dark staircases never seem to be on.. A bit of noise from other nearby rooms, but nothing serious. Bed a little hard, compared to other hotels on our trip.

    Great location, beautiful setting in a lovely original nobleman’s residence, converted into a luxury hotel, right in the middle of this medieval town. Good selections at breakfast buffet. Guarded parking on premises for small fee.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about this little gem of a hotel was wonderful the beautiful building , the friendly and efficient staff and the total feeling of relaxation Our room had amazing terrace with geraniums We cannot praise this hotel enough

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 2 little milks to go with 2 tea bags & 2 coffee pods. Hotel charges 1€ for each 2 more coffee pods!!

    Perfect location & felt quite special with luxurious touches.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access by car is a bit confusing as the hotel is in the centre of the town. We had to ignore the no entry signs.

    Extremely well appointed hotel in an excellent central setting. Beautiful old building full if charm. Comfortable well apppointed rooms with modern standards but in keeping with the buildins. Excellent breakfast, very helpful staff. Very good value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This is a first rate hotel in a fairy town. The hotel is in an ancient building where many of the original design and construction elements are preserved. The setting from the outside garden and setting areas to the balconies on the rooms are beautiful and extremely comfortable. The staff is very helpful and friendly and there is onsite parking for a small charge. The room was spacious, beautiful decorated and comes with all the amenities one could need. This is the perfect base for wandering through the ancient streets of the town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We spent a month in Spain. Hotel Casa del Marques was our favorite! Our room had a fabulous, large flower filled balcony. The staff, location, architecture and decor of the hotel were great. We enjoyed hearing about the history of the hotel and the town was beautiful! Stay here!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very noisy,no soundproofing between rooms You could lie in bed and listen to the conversation in another room Won’t stay again

    Hotel was good and staff excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom was a little dated

    Loved the public areas downstairs, with real fires in November. Great position in town and our room at rear was very quiet. Secure private parking is available at hotel but public car park (much cheaper in season / free out of season)only 200m away via hotel back entrance. Breakfast was outstanding, great coffee and fresh orange juice and an extensive buffet plus eggs & bacon to order- best breakfast we had in NW Spain. Rooms vary as usual with old hotels, some larger than others. We loved our room (not as big as some) but it had a lovely balcony, but most rooms do not have a balcony- we were lucky to get this room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No advise from hotel staff about recommending local restaurants as they did not serve any food themselves and the totally random opening times of local restaurants seeming to open whenever they felt like it and serve the same sub standard food ( meat/fish chips and small chargrilled green peppers!!) made it hard to relax and enjoy the stay. The one restaurant that stood out though was Los Blasones. Coffee facilities in rooms only complimentary on the first night!!! We stayed here for four nights!! No need to pay 11 euros per night for car parking at hotel when parking out of season is free with car parks nearby.

    The gentleman that served us our breakfast and our evening drinks was excellent, if they had all been as happy and smiley as he was then it would have made for a more pleasant stay. Beautiful buildings and streets steeped in history. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was a bit dated and as an historic building you get noise between floors, our room (104) was above the bar so could hear that if you wanted an early night and breakfast being set up from 7am ish as bar area used to make coffees etc although not an issue for us.

    Fabulous historic hotel in centre of Santillana del Mar. In Nov the public parking which is only 100m from the hotel rear entrance was free, most of year that public parking is chargeable. Hotel has secure private carpark with enough spaces for more than half the rooms. Our room had a lovely balcony, complete with table and chairs, plus sofa and blanket ( it was Nov). Although coffee machine was a great idea (so rare in SPain) in practise it did not work very well. Reception staff spoke very good english. Smiley guy on breakfast was lovely, even remembered what we had ordered day before. Breakfasts are excellent with v good coffee and include eggs and bacon cooked to order as well all usual stuff on the buffet. Some rooms have double beds and some have twins -in our room due to bed frames they could not be made up as large double, so best to request what you want. Loved public areas with real log fires. We would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was less than comfortable, our room had an adjoining door to another room, therefore the family in that room could clearly be heard, TV etc. Breakfast was not included and a little expensive. The hotel did not have a restaurant, although there were plenty of others within walking distance.

    The location was perfect, hotel was interesting,beautiful, full of original features. Staff were so friendly and helpful. Secure parking behind electronic gates. Good breakfast although expensive. The room was very nice, large with well planned bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved this hotel and will definitely return. The staff were professional and helpful. Our cases were brought up to our room. There is safe parking at the rear of the property which is accessible. The room was beautiful and the balcony overlooked orange trees. Perfect thank you.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Staff were extra pleasant and helpful. Reception spoke English which was a bonus! Our bedroom was large, very clean and had a lovely view over the garden. Private secure parking available.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wood floor was a bit creaky and uneven.

    Charming old castle, large roomy room, comfortable bed, 2 sinks in the bathroom - that was a bonus! The breakfast was delicious, although that seemed a bit expensive. The desk staff was very helpful. We loved sitting out in the garden.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    A beautiful hotel in a truly historic building situated in the heart of this ancient town. The staff were excellent – both helpful and very friendly. And the room was really lovely with a private balcony that overlooked the hotel’s little garden. A little oasis away from the hustle and bustle of the sightseers. No hesitation - next time I visit Santillana del Mer, I will stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dreadfully creaky floors - very loud so that you disturb your partner if you get up in the night - caused mainly by a poorly laid 'floating' timber floor in the room - the hallways didn't creak nearly so much despite being 'original' floorboards; Hallway lighting, on a timed switched, was on a very short cycle so that it turned off before you could get to the end of the corridor, to get your key in the lock or walk down the stairs, and there are no handrails so it's a bit precarious; Rooms overlooking the street at the front are very vulnerable to street noise - almost constant sound of voices all day and the windows are very high so you don't really have a view; The shower over the bath was useless - the bracket was attached too high on the wall so that the shower head hit the ceiling before it was horizontal which pointed the water back to the end wall, making it necessary to stand huddled at the end of the bath; There were no slippers provided even though most of the floor was uncarpeted and the bathrobes were not well maintained - the belt loops had detached and the belt fell off constantly; There were a couple of coffee pods, tea bags and milk provided but we were told that's all we'd get - they weren't replenished over a two night stay. The chairs in the breakfast room were uncomfortable and rocky on the uneven floor; The beds in the twin room are a tad hard.

    The location is good - right in the middle of town; The staff are friendly and both receptionists speak good English; The parking is easy to access once you know to disregard the 'no entry' sign at the town 'gate' (perhaps an email with parking directions could be sent in advance of a stay); The breakfast was good with a range of produce, excellent OJ and eggs to order; The decor is charming and suits the age of the building; The prices are very reasonable except for the laundry; There was a rug on the floor in our room but no mats next to the bed; English news channels on TV and a coffee maker in the room; There's a pillow menu and lots of bathroom products replenished daily.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints whatsoever.

    This hotel is steeped in history, a delightful property in the middle of Santillana. The staff were terrific and our room was clean, characterful and with every modern amenity. A delightful stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Initially given an awful attic room with a velux window and "shabby-chic" decor - furniture and beams all painted duck egg blue with lots of "distressing" and very hard beds. Moved to a splendid 1st. floor room for our 2nd & 3rd. nights. As a minor point there doesn't seem to be any house WC on the ground (entrance) floor. None of the stair have handrails or banisters - so watch out.

    Very clever insertion of all mod. con. into a 15th. century property. Very helpful staff. Easy parking in a very challenging environment.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was dated and old fashioned, it had very little atmosphere and the air conditioning was very temperamental/switched off by the staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing that I can think of.

    This is a beautiful,old historic hotel in the centre of Santillana-itself an historic village. Despite the age of the building,every facility was available. Excellent,active staff make you feel very welcome.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is uncomfortable, very hard mattress, ac is outdated and controlled by the front desk, the hairdryer needs to be updated, it doesn't work well.

    The property is well kept, clean, and staff is extremely nice and courteous. The location is amazing, right downtown, near the bars and restaurants. It's a nice boutique hotel with a lot of character in a town from the Middle Ages.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely hotel in the middle of old Santillana. Great room ( would recommend the rooms overlooking the garden ) , good staff and lovely breakfast . Would definately go back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nada. Full marks to management and staff for a top class service, and well presented boutique hotel.

    Warm, welcoming reception, greeted by name on arrival, excellent room, liked the piped music and loved the jacuzzi bath. Enjoyed the various relaxing areas and stylish decor everywhere. Breakfasts were wonderful, with discreet, attentive, friendly service, plenty of choice, cafe con leche refills, chilled fruit portions, scrambled eggs with bacon, etc and an array of breakfast areas indoors and outdoors, artistically decorated. Loved the central location of the hotel in the village, the availability of parking for hotel guests and appreciated the restaurant recommendations. The classical violinist busking outside the hotel on the day of our arrival was a pleasant surprise and a wonderful sound.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Safety night light in room. Too bright and no way to cover or avoid.

    Location is ok. No access good for seaside towns and airport. Hotel is impressive building and garden nice but not really able to make use of this area. Only a few seating areas a shame as view from here of sunset was spectacular. Restaurant meal was good with excellent service. Room comfortable but nightlight over door annoying as shone on to bed and could not turn this off. Aircon in room good. Hard to adjust but this is often the case Have spa attached. Free to use but need to pay €5 for hair cap..! Spa OK consists mainly of a strongly chlorinated pool with different water jets and sauna/steam rooms and a jacuzzi. Can buy treatments which looked quite cheap.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything (and we are fussy!). The hotel is 500 years old and decor and furnishings give a warm and charming feel from the moment you enter. The staff members are all excellent: warm, friendly, efficient and helpful. They made us feel very welcome and went out of their way to make our stay memorable. We had room 105 which has a balcony overlooking the garden. There are lovely places in the small garden for breakfast, drinks, or just to relax.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it suited our needs.

    The hotel is centrally located in the old town. Parking available on site at additional charge. The hotel is packed full of character and contemporary decoration and furniture have been used in combination. Our bedroom was huge and bright. Great selection of Gin and Tonic in the bar from the happiest barman. Good base to explore the area beaches, caves and Santander all accessible

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking a bit challenging to get to but they have it. If you are on middle floor and have neighbors above with kids - it will irritate you because of old wood floors... but I would go back to this location with out hesitation.

    Great staff and locations. Rooms were large with plenty of space.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a wonderful boutique hotel. Personally I cannot imagine any steps to make it better. Even if it were not in the wonderfully evocative Santillana it would still be a great hotel,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the walls are ancient, but all the rest (bathrooms and the lift, for example) were done in the 90s and never refurbished. Fake wooden walls in the room (would not expect that from s 5 star) and no coffee or tee facilities in the room (minimum requirement for a 5 star). Very poor breakfast, definitely not appropriate for the category.

    Nice old premises, very friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel was such a surprise and was a special find. We asked for a balcony room and we were given a balcony with oranges hanging within reach and a view of a delightful garden below. It was a sophisticated and gracious hotel with bowls of fresh oranges placed around its historic rooms with plates and serviettes for people to take and eat them freely. Having a secure parking area was a bonus and a real surprise in such an ancient town as Santillana and the freshly squeezed orange juice served at breakfast is probably the best I have ever tasted.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast buffet was a little disappointing - I hadn't expected tinned pineapple/peaches as part of the fruit selection.

    Lovely, attentive staff and a beautiful building, right in the heart of Santillana. The garden area is a really nice quiet spot to read a book/sip a cold beer. To access the car park, you first need to go to the hotel to get a key fob to open the rear door. It is a shame that details about this were not provided by booking.com after booking. Neither are details of how to access the rear car park entrance, which requires you to go up a 'no entry except for authorised access' road. As a result we ended up parking in one of the public car parks for the first night (€4 versus €11 for the hotel) and then moving the car in for the rest of our stay. You can book tickets in advance for some of the attractions through reception, and get a 15% discount: we did this for the El Capricho Gaudi building in Comillas, which is well worth a visit. Note that a lot of local restaurants are closed Monday night outside of July and August.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We loved the history and charm of the property and location. The staff were lovely and the room was spacious and comfortable and nicely decorated. A real treat to stay in a lovingly restored heritage building.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I tried to cancel my reservation with Booking.com and then directly with the hotel. My 77 year old husband was ill and couldn't make the trip. I gave more than 24 hours notice, but the hotel charged me for the night in spite of my notification and the fact my initial confirmation email said I could cancel at any time. Very poor customer service.

    The location looked great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was slippery but we mentioned it to the management and they agreed to fix the issue. Also, the road days don't enter but do it anyway.

    Beautiful, picturesque, in the heart of the old town which is equally cute. And an easy drive to the Altamira Caves.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing with the hotel. Santillana when we visited was very quiet at night as the bulk of tourists visit the place during the day which makes it lovely to wander about. Monday evening was difficult to find an open restaurant. Shops etc do not stay open late also because of the main trade in the day. Depends what you are looking for during the stay. Parking was very secure at the hotel and to start with we parked in a public carpark and found our way to the hotel who then provided us with a key to the car park.

    Lovely character hotel. Had a very comfortable stay there. Tastefully decorated with each room with its own individual character. Staff very helpful at all times.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We liked everything.

    The Casa del Marques is beautiful. We had four nights and we didn't want to leave. Although old and subtly lit, it is charmingly cosy and welcoming. Our room looked out onto an orange tree in the little garden below which was a lovely sight to wake up to. The room itself was very comfortable. My husband, who travels alot, said it was the best room he'd ever stayed in. Breakfast in the little 'blue grotto' was also special. All the staff we met were very courteous and friendly. They seemed to be a strong and happy team. We loved Santillana del Mar and would definitely stay in the Casa del Marques if we came back.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The location of the hotel is perfect. It's next door to the best shops in Santillana and a short walk to the church and Plaza.The staff at the property was incredibly helpful and genuine. I was travelling with my husband and mother who can barely walk. They were very kind and helpful to her. Each corner of the hotel was beautifully decorated, especially the gorgeous flower filled terrace where we had breakfast every morning. The breakfast had a vast selection and was delicious!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Although the parking cost 11 euro a night it was well worth it as our rental car was safe during the day and night. Hotel was full of history and in a great location in the city.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    dated (not in the nice historic sense) interiors, furnishings and equipment. this is not 5* hotel. no facilities like spa, pool, jacuzzi, etc.

    location and the story of the building

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fabulous room with huge bathroom and lovely veranda. Perfect historic building tastefully renovated with superbly decorated public rooms. Our third visit and hope it won't be the last.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of room,excellent secure parking(not cheap!) Helpfulness of staff at reception,friendliness of all staff. Very good Spanish style breakfast included in price.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Centrally controlled (and limited) air conditioning left the room too warm and stuffy.

    Town was quite historic -- maybe a little commercial-touristy -- and tough to navigate by car. This is a lovely spot that is worth more than a quick overnight. Hotel staff was helpful. Breakfast buffet quite good and worth the extra charge. Parking is an additional charge.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the interior design a bit sad. draperies were terrible. this hotel with the right interior designer could be magnificent!!!!

    the building is magnificent

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The music in the public areas penetrated into the rooms and it was always the kind of dull generic soft elevator music. They should turn it down or off. Also they need to improve noise insulation as conversations in adjacent rooms or in corridors easily penetrated into the rooms. That said this is an old building and the inconvenience was minimal.

    A real gem of a hotel full of character. The rooms were very big, plush and charming. The public rooms and grounds are very special and a real oasis of opulence. The town too is very special and it is lovely to stroll out of the hotel into the cobbled streets of Santilliana del Mar.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to change from a very nice balcony room due to baby noise from family room next door. Few options for dinner or bars in the town in low season.

    Fabulous historic building, characterful communal areas for reading, bar and breakfast, on site parking (paid).

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had no complaints whatsoever.

    Best value of our 3 week vacation in Spain. We've generally paid as much as twice that much for places not nearly as nice or interesting. Loved the location, the facility, really everything about it. The garden in the back is gorgeous, the parking lot big enough for cars without any effort in finding it or parking.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is not a complaint. I would suggest that the hotel mention about access to the parking lot since the first reaction to a new uninformed visitor is that you cannot access the town with an automobile. As I say this is not a criticism this is just a suggestion.

    What a wonderful surprise. We were not expecting such a delightful little hotel with an absolutely beautiful garden in the back where breakfast and drinks can be enjoyed among an array of plants. The room met our expectation and was comfortable and convenient. We were fortunate enough to have a balcony overlooking the small garden and it just added to the incredible ambience of the hotel. The bar was convenient and right next to the garden so a drink was enjoyed among the various fragrances of the plants. Since the hotel is in the middle of town there is access to an variety of restaurants with a variety of food choices along with reasonable prices.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is some street noise for our room overlooking the main street. Our floor boards creaked, so it was easy to wake up your partner in the middle of the night.

    Fabulous hotel; 15th century building, beautiful garden, good wifi, good light control, good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing possible to dislike.

    Everything is perfect. Staff friendly, helpful, professional. Rooms lovely. Fabulous flowers & plants in the grounds and outer bar area. Whole building & decor beautiful. Closed parking accessed at the rear of the building. Well deserving of it's rating.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot fault at all, one of the best hotels we use in Spain.

    Breakfast is really good, the staff are all extremely helpful and speak English very well when our Spanish fails us.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was in front overlooking Main Street which was a bit noisy in the morning. We could hear some noise from neighbouring rooms.

    Fabulous mediaeval flavour to this hotel. Situated right in the middle of town, with plenty of dining options nearby. cozy bar/lounges and outside seating area. Private parking immediately behind hotel. The staff were really lovely!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 104 is very noisy as situated above the restaurant and next to cleaners. I dont recommend this room. Food for dinner terrible

    The surroundings are just so beautiful Lovely breakfast Gardens are divine Plenty of room for 2 adults and teenager

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! I would recommend this to anyone looking for a peaceful, central, location. One comment about the restaurants in Santillana (and not about this hotel where staff were incredibly helpful) - it's useful to know enough Spanish to ask for a table and order basics as they aren't helpful if you don't try.

    Beautiful building with real character in every corner! Stunning and relaxing (small) garden area which is perfect for a coffee or glass of wine before going out for dinner. Great staff and private, secure, parking which is accessed from the road behind the hotel. We didn't have breakfast but it looked good. No Restaraunt on site but that was clear from booking and there are places to eat everywhere in Santillana Del Mar, which is also stunning.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning at night is turned off by the staff which have master control over the hotel. The pillows were awful. It is obvious to this housewife that they were either wash too many times or were economical buys not intended for comfort.

    Unique property which made us feel like we were spending the night in a beautiful museum. Worth the expense

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely nothing. Can't fault this hotel.

    Stunning hotel. The rooms are absolutely beautiful and in keeping with the original building. Lots of little nooks and crannies with gorgeous furniture and accessories. Our bedroom and bathroom were stunning, both rooms were large with a huge balcony with sofa, table and chairs overlooking the back of the hotel.The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful especially the gentleman on night duty for the 2 nights we were there. We did not arrive until 2.00 in the morning on the first night due to a flight delay but had e-mailed the hotel to let them know and the staff member came out to get our cases as soon as the taxi pulled up and got us into our room quickly. On the second night we were going to have a drink in the hotel bar after our meal in a nearby restaurant but, unfortunately, there was a power cut in half the village so the same gentleman took us up to our room and lent us a torch overnight. We only had breakfast at the hotel on the second day as we had a walk round the village the first day and ended up breakfasting elsewhere that day. The express breakfast is excellent value for money at 6 euros for toast, croissant or biscotti, with tea or coffee and fresh orange juice. You can have second helpings of everything too. The village itself is beautiful and there were enough things to see for the 2 days we were there. This is the best and most beautiful hotel we have ever stayed in anywhere Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in the town so you can explore after the tourists have gone, or before they arrive. Nice quirky historical room. Good breakfast and parking.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Third time we have stayed here at this beautiful historic hotel. The staff are very helpful and pleasant. There is private secure parking. The rooms are to a high standard.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The staff were nothing less than amazing! All of them were so helpful, so accommodating, and so friendly. Beautiful house, garden, and room. The hotel is right in the old centre of Santillana and close to good restaurants etc. Fast-speed internet (at least in our room). Great value for money; we would definitely come back here.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was on the second floor under the eaves and the only window was infact a rooflight but there were wooden steps provided so we could see out! We only stayed one night, so not any great issue, but it did make the room feel slightly claustrophobic.

    Beautiful old building in historic walled town. We were travelling by motorbike and managed to park in the private car park behind the hotel which was very useful as not sure where we would have parked otherwise. No Restaurant, but we were recommended a lovely place to eat in the road behind the hotel called Gran Duque.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Take care in the hallways: low lighting is attractive but some steps are hard to see. Because the town is pedestrianised apart from hotel access it would be useful to have driving instructions with the booking confirmation

    Welcoming and helpful staff with good English. Having its own parking was useful.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No evening dining but it is understandable given the intimacy of the hotel. A good restaurant is opposite and has a wide menu and both indoor and al fresco dining.

    Great value for moneyThe entire hotel reflects the charming character of the town. Private gated parking lot. Shady nooks outside to sit and relax over a drink.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfasts - more variety would have been welcome, including fresh fruit. No muesli!

    The silence, historical authenticity, bathroom facilities, warm welcome and helpfulness of staff.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing Really but they did charge full price for parking a Motorbike in a spot that you couldn't fit a small car which was a bit cheeky.

    Beautiful Hotel in Great Old Town, Fantastic Breakfast do not miss. Very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely 14th Cent palace beautifully renovated traditional style perfect location great staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outstanding spacious room. Wonderful lounges and garden area. And right in the middle of town

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Really enjoyed our stay

    Location was great staff especially the bartender was terrific

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was too warm and air con was controlled by reception.

    The hotel was lovely very comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find car park

    Friendly staff, beautiful historic building and very pretty garden courtyard.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor,beautiful garden,friendly staff,central location,parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities and wonderful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excelente propiedad

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, staff and facilities. 10th visit and 11th already planned

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A kettle in the room for tea would have been nice.

    Loved the decor and garden. Lovely balcony off room. Staff always happy and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything about this charming historic hotel. The location, ambience and service were perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: