Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Casa del Regidor 2 stars

Ribera del Rio, 30, 11500 El Puerto de Santa María, Spain

#2 of 18 hotels in El Puerto de Santa María

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 471 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 54

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.8
    We absolutely loved our stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tea/coffee making facilities in the room would be nice - but there were so many places to get coffee nearby, it didn't really matter.

    The proprietor, George, was brilliant - he went out of his way to be friendly, helpful and provided loads of really useful local information and tips that made all the difference to our having a fantastic holiday in El Puerto and the surrounding areas. Thanks so much. George! The hotel location was also excellent, being so close to the train station and the ferry port as well as a minute's walk from all the facilities of this lovely town. Car not needed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.7
    Not very welcoming for female travelers
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As two female travelers we felt unwelcomed, we felt judged about going out late (they asked us several times if we were coming back before 1am for keys matters), they openly told us in a very rude way not to bring men that we would meet to our hotel room, all this as soon as we arrived!! Before even knowing what kind of people we are.

    Very centric.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    Good family run hotel in excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good hotel in a great location to explore Cadiz and Peurto Santa Maria. The owners are extremely welcoming and give lots of helpful advice on where to eat and what to see. Safe parking just around the corner for only 6 euro.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.8
    Happy haven in authentic Spanish town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Thought we wanted breakfast in the hotel which was discouraged. The staff did us a favour as this meant we went 'native', breakfasted out like most of the Spanish do and discovered some great places and dishes!! On first impression the hotel seems to be located in a less salubrious area of town, but as we spent more time in this lovely small town we realised this area is just a bit faded or 'closed' for parts of the day. No problems whatsoever. On a 5 day stay, we would really have appreciated a kettle in our room to make a hot drink from time to time.

    Personable and helpful family run place where nothing was too much trouble - always went the extra mile to be helpful and accommodating The location was brilliant - very close to the nicest bits of town for eating and drinking; midway between the train/bus station and the catamaran to Cadiz and just enough out of town for late nighters not to keep you awake - perfect! Hotel building itself was nice to be in, with leafy courtyard, nice places to relax and airy comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Friendly and very helpful family owned hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only issue was trying to find the hotel due to major construction just before the road into the old town area

    Overall the hotel was very comfortable in the historic center of town. Excellent restaurants to choose from.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    7.9
    The historical building and the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower head falling off and no adjustment. Not the hotels fault but public parking is not suitable for a large car.

    The historical building and the staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    7.9
    Old Spanish comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WIFI very weak, so if it is important that you keep in touch with home, this is possibly not the place to book.

    A friendly family run hotel within easy reach of the centre, and the catamaran to Cadiz. Room was very comfortable and quiet. Surrounded by lots of good bars and restaurants

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    I wish I could go do it again. Thank you so much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My stay should have been longer. And this experience. My wife and I attended a Flamenco Guitar performance. We were the only two there. The next night at a night spot, performing free of charge was a band doing everything from "Born to be Wild" to "with or without you". Just outstanding. I learned where the future is in, perhaps in the minds of young people most, what is happening, and has happened in the World of Music.

    The owners were outstanding, helping us in every way that was possible. You can rest assured you will be accommodated wonderfully.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.5
    Good for a 2star. Jumping off point for the boat ride to Cadiz.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As Americans we evidently have not mastered the half door on the tub combined with the wand and not getting water everywhere it shouldn't go.....especially when the bidette abuts the tub😳 Tight quarters.

    Family run. Very attentive, informative and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.6
    Location near to railway station, ferry terminal and restaurants in old town. Very enjoyable week
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea and coffee making facilities in the room would have been very welcome

    Owners very obliging and friendly. When we enquired about a local launderette, they washed, dried, folded and delivered clean clothes to our room for a very small fee

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.6
    Very nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    A few days in the second floor it was problem with wi-fi.

    Very nice hotel. Hotel staff is amiable and willing to help. Near the hotel there are a lot of restorans, bars and cafeterias.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    9.6
    Great value hotel in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No tea and coffee making facilities in room.

    My wife and I stayed here for four nights on a short break to the region. For the price we paid this hotel has a lot to offer. The establishment is quite quirky and has a lot of character. It is a family run business and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Good shower room, comfortable beds. The WiFi worked well in both the room and public areas. There was also a TV and a small fridge in the room. Plenty of power sockets available to charge phones, tablets, cameras, laptops, etc. Aircon worked well. Our only small niggle was that it would have been nice to have a kettle in the room for an early morning cup of tea. However, we knew this beforehand and took our own. There are lots of restaurants and bars in the area at reasonable prices. If you like tapas and seafood then you won't be disappointed. If you are a fan of fish 'n' chips or steaks however then this is not the area of Spain for you. The locals speak either very little or no English but I liked this and it was fun trying to learn some Spanish. This place is not your usual tourist trap. Although there is not a lot to do in El Puerto de Santa Maria, it is in a great central location for visiting Cadiz (either by ferry or train - around 25 minutes), Jerez (by train - around 20 minutes) and Seville (which is further afield - around 90 minutes). Make sure that you go on the tour of the Tio Pepe bodega in Jerez - well worth the money. On the morning of our departure the owner ordered a taxi for us - around 30 euro, which was a lot cheaper than other taxi firms in the area. On arrival at the airport we realised that we had left our passports in the hotel room. Fortunately we had plenty of time before our flight home and so we phoned the hotel and asked them to put them in a taxi. The owner of the hotel however got in his car and delivered them personally to the airport. How's that for service.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    9.6
    Great location, clean, friendly and value for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The wifi could have been better.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is perfect for visiting the surrounding areas. The hotel is old but clean and everything worked.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    10
    Very spacious room and very quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very spacious room and very quiet. Perfect communication with host. Public parking is max 5 min away from the hotel by foot and only costs EUR 3.95 for 24 hrs. We had breakfast at Bar Vicente, just 10 min away from hotel: delicious "molletes" and stomach-friendly coffee.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location and old world charm with modern decor and comfort
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked to be able to have a coffe or tea in room. Would have liked to park closer to hotel.

    The hotel has history and charm but is modern and comfortable. It is close to bars restaurants and the ferry to cadiz city centre.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    8.8
    Delightful small boutique hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely small family-run boutique hotel with loads of historic charm, in the heart of the old town, very close to restaurants, bars, historic sights e.g. Spain's largest bullring, well-priced parking, ferry, ideal for exploring El Puerto Santa Maria itself and Cadiz (10km) and Jerez (12km). Great value for money, our room was light, airy, spacious, spotlessly clean, had all the amenities you need, a very comfy bed and looked out onto a pretty little patio below. The staff were warm, welcoming and friendly - Jorge gave us some very helpful tourist tips and info. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    Nice welcoming small hotel in a very good location for excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Siempre bien!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Personal amable, hotel acogedor y centrico, habitaciones...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personal amable, hotel acogedor y centrico, habitaciones limpias y comodas.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.1
    Great location and fair relationship quality price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decoration of the room was poor.

    The staff was friendly and helpful , the room was clean and a great location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Very friendly staff .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff . A large room and very clean in an interesting town close to Cadiz.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.1
    The location and the building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a value for money hotel.

    The location and the building.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    Staff very pleasant & helpful. Bed & bathroom excellent. Quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather!

    Breakfast was not served

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    9.6
    Good stop over on way to Portugal, close to Cadiz without the high price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area was a little run down

    Very friendly and good welcome, good information on location and parking. Very nice restaurants near by.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    A great little family run hotel in Puerto Santa Maria.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee available in the morning.

    Location, service and facilities were great!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    9.6
    A delightful stay at an authentic spanish hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long walk to car park. No English language TV channels.

    Comfortable large room with excellent air conditioning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.2
    recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    excellent location for access to town and restaurants

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    Wonderful Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great Staff, Hotel and Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    8.8
    Fair hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you are ok to stay in a 2 star hotel, then this is the perfect choice. Clean room and friendly staff. More than ok for a 2 star hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is perfect. Great value. Very nice front desk

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Best room of the trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had a beautiful little sitting room over looking the court yard. Great place to relax and surf the net

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    7.5
    Admiten perros
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Admiten perros

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    10
    Great location in El Puerto in lovely old hotel with prize...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing of note, Shower fixing was loose but work was in hand.

    Great location in El Puerto in lovely old hotel with prize winning patio. Car left in nearby garage for two days was not needed.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    8.3
    Location good for the centre of town and tourist facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Better breakfast is needed by guest

    Location good for the centre of town and tourist facilities. All staff very helpful and efficient. Hotel vey clean and well maintained.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    8.3
    Less than 10 minutes walk from train station, couple of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Less than 10 minutes walk from train station, couple of minutes walk from the main bars and restaurants in the town. Friendly family owners - very helpful looking up train times for us. Wonderful old traditional building with pretty internal patio. Rooms lovely. You need to speak a little Spanish, even in the bars and restaurants as it is not a touristy town. We loved it.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    7.5
    Young couple on reception very helpful
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Older couple (owners) who were somewhat gruff Dog not allowed in breakfast room so we had to have breakfast separately so one could stay in the bedroom with him Distance from car park

    Young couple on reception very helpful Good location Breakfast was great value

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    9.6
    Location was excellent, family run hotel all very helpful,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just a suggestion really, maybe a small fridge in the rooms would be useful

    Location was excellent, family run hotel all very helpful, my Spanish is not very good but all could be solved with Google translate, rooms very clean, air conditioning was very quite, it did not disturb your sleep

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    9.6
    Within easy reach of Cadiz via unbelievably cheap ferry...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All good, bathroom a little small.

    Within easy reach of Cadiz via unbelievably cheap ferry crossing. Nice feel to the hotel. At night sound of Mexican style band in the cafe below. I enjoyed the ambience of the whole place. Nice guy on reception. Indoor parking very close by. Loads of eating places nearby

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2015

    7.9
    It was very clean, comfortable bed and helpful owner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The web site said there was private parking. This was not available. Although there was an inexpensive public parking close by. €3.95 per 24 hrs. Also the web site quoted a price for breakfast. This was also not avalible when we were there.

    It was very clean, comfortable bed and helpful owner

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    9.6
    The manager and staff were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The manager and staff were very helpful. gave us great recommendations for restaurants, etc., made us feel very welcome. The room was fine and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was good and value for money. The wi-fi worked fine. Very convenient location for the Catamaran to Cadiz. We would stay here again if in the area. Parking was only 5 minutes walk away and the main restaurants the same.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    7.1
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    9.2
    The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable about the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable about the local area

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2016

    9.6
    The staff (family) was very nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff (family) was very nice and helpful. We plan to go back there in october.You could very easy explore the sherry triangle from this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    8.3
    the staff were very usefull and willing to help
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the staff were very usefull and willing to help there was a public parking near the hotel for about 4 euro per 24 hours.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    7.1
    Quaint old former palace renovated to good standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Run-down area of historic quarter.

    Quaint old former palace renovated to good standard.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    8.8
    Good location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    7.5
    Location next to great Mexican restaurant and town center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location next to great Mexican restaurant and town center. Walking distance to the ferry to Cadiz. The owners are hospitable even with little English

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    10
    Fab room and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Fab room and location

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    10
    Delightful owners and staff, well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing bad at all

    Delightful owners and staff, well located

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    8.8
    Old, charming house, nice clean rooms, friendly staff, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A minibar would have been nice

    Old, charming house, nice clean rooms, friendly staff, nice breakfast 3:50€

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    9.6
    Staff was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi was pretty week at less at the end of the hallways. Workable but slow.

    Staff was awesome. Building was historic and well renovated.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2015

    9.2
    The manager spoke good English and was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The manager spoke good English and was very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    9.6
    The location, advice on well price parking, availability of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location, advice on well price parking, availability of breakfast, spacious and comfortable rooms in Spanish style

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    8.3
    they remodeled the rooms and they look amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the Internet was a bit slow

    they remodeled the rooms and they look amazing

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2015

    8.3
    Very good value for Money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very good value for Money. Nice and friendly staff.

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 54

Guests also reviewed these properties: