Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Casa do Merlo

Sargendez, 4, 27793 Barreiros, Spain

#6 of 11 hotels in Barreiros

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 127 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 12

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apparently celebrated restaurant was closed during our stay so we didn't get the chance to try it. Hopefully next time.

    Excellent location for visiting the amazing Playa De Catedrales or any of the many beautiful beaches that Javier will recommend. Actually Javier is the best asset of Casa do Merlo. He is a great person, very knowledgeable of the area and willing to assist you if you want him to. Breakfast was very good: variety, good quality and fantastic eggs prepared to your liking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t leave your bedroom windows open too late into the evening. There ARE mosquitos. So long as you close it early enough, there’s no problem.

    Wonderful stay. Delcious buffet breakfast, though we only stayed the night and dinners are also served. Cozy library and bar available to guests. Beautiful and comfortable rooms. The owner was incredibly helpful and attentive to guests.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful house, superb breakfast & very helpful host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Beautiful house, superb breakfast & very helpful host. Perfect location for visiting As Catedrias Beach - only a 15 min walk away. Also a beautiful beach at the end of the road. Would definitely return. Thank you Javier!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Great location, secluded and super cosy.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was the first time that during the daily cleaning up of the room, the cleaner moved all of my things in the bathroom, and either stuffed them in the drawers or completely moved them to another position. Wasn't pleased as I had some pretty sensitive things there for which I definitely feel super uncomfortable if other people touch, like sanitary pads and my tooth retainer (which wasn't in a box, so it was completely exposed).

    Great location, secluded and super cosy. The place had style and flare, and the room was spacious and comfortable. The communication with the owner was great, and he made sure we had dinner for the both nights that we stayed even though we were the only guests there, which we were very grateful for. He even made breakfast available to us earlier than usual, as we had to leave early to catch our plane. And the famous Cathedral's beach is only a short walk/drive away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    For us it was just like coming home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nichts :-)

    We stayed second time in Casa do Merlo. For us it was just like coming home! The great breakfast and the wonderful dinner doesn't let any wish open. The library and opportunity for so different games for passing a rainy day we really enjoy. We also love the quiet from the area also from the guests. We will visit it again. Thanks to Javier and his wife for the great stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.2
    A nice place to visit, we'd go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a lot, we'll go back.

    A very nice small family hotel. Located a short distance from the beach. There is a small restaurant, serving excellent sea food within walking distance. Hotel food is excellent. Rooms are comfortable, though no facilities for making a hot drink in the room. There is a self service bar on the ground floor. Lots of comfortable areas to sit in. It is away from the noise you generally get in a town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.5
    Great location, very close to Playa de las Catedrales and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls and floors as thin as paper; we could hear simultaneously all conversations being held by all our neighbors, plus each and every one of their steps. A bit annoying.

    Great location, very close to Playa de las Catedrales and other nice beaches.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    Fantastic place close to Playa des Cathedrals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We very much enjoyed out stay in Casa do Merlo! Unfortunately we only had one nigh. This little hotel in located in a 300 years old building, which is extremely nice and interesting to explore. Everything is tidy and clean. We had breakfast and dinner at the property, both were fantastic. The host is very nice, gave us plenty of ideas what to do and where to go and speaks very good English!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Javier was friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Javier was friendly and helpful. Location and comfort were excellent. I have traveled to Spain 13 times and my stay here was one of the best of those many stays. Do yourself a favor and stay here!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    9.6
    A very climatic house with a great , helpful owner , close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very climatic house with a great , helpful owner , close to the coast with magical beaches , tasty food prepared with a passion

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    10
    New rooms with fine muebles, the meals in the Restaurant are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi signal weak and slow connection in the room

    New rooms with fine muebles, the meals in the Restaurant are exzellent, they are so big that they are easily to share. Only five minutes to the beach. The premises allow for a relaxing stay.Proprietor very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything.nithing was too much trouble for javier

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 12

Guests also reviewed these properties: