Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Casa Grande Do Bachao

Monte Bachao, s/n, 15898 Vachao, Spain

#1 of 1 hotels in Vachao

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 252 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 72

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    10
    Exceptional!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Exceptional in every way! The most beautiful house, high on the mountain side. Wonderfully peaceful with luxurious rooms and superb food - the evening meals were incredible!! The views from our balcony were completely breathtaking. Stay here if you can - its a little piece of paradise.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    10
    Wonderful location, amazing food, would love to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very remote location which was lovely but best you have your own transport. Though the owners were great and sort out taxis. They even lent us their mountainbikes for a day.

    This was the most fantastic place we stayed the whole trip. It's a tranquil setting with great views. Staff were amazing so friendly and helpful, the food was absolutely amazing, an wonderful chef, who's also the owners. Will definitely be returning when we can.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    10
    Excellent, we have made our statement in their guestbook
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Signage off the main road would have been clearer if yellow, we missed it the first time. Directions printed incorrectly in Alistair Sawdays 2007 edition!

    Family owned and run. Built it up from scratch, a credit to them.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.9
    This is a lovely rural retreat, with incredible views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room might have better facilities eg hair dryer, air conditioning, cups or glasses (only plastic ones provided). It was difficult to get fresh air circulating in the room

    This is a lovely rural retreat, with incredible views.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.6
    Different in a good way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location, so quiet and peaceful we didn't want to leave. Note you won't want to leave for dinner elsewhere, so go with the no choice in-house fine dining option. Local wine very well priced, dinner c20 euro each. Saturday night was very special!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Perfect in every way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In my opinion not a thing.

    My wife and I have been visiting Spain for the last 50 years and consider this to be one of the best hotels we have stayed at. A combination of a beautiful rural location, a comfortable hotel, friendly family and superb food. What more do you need?

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.2
    Superplek
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When somebody checked in in the middle of the night 02.00 and forgot the rest of us were sleeping, including the host. And fix the entries doors, they are in 2 pieces and nobody, we mean nobody knew how to open and close without big drama and a lot of noise. It takes 2 min to fix, because we have a door like that ourselves.

    Nearest neighbors var kilometers away, so very peaceful and high up a hill with super view. Great food, and it was nice when we came to late because of delay in airport, that we just could sit down and eat, without having to choose anything not even the wine. Big garden with a lot of privacy. And when we 2 times in 3 dinners ask for extra food for my husband hoe is to skinny, we got it and no pay. That was service.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    A perfect holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic historic property in beautiful, peaceful countryside. The ideal base to relax, walk and also to tour the area. Great hosts, food and ambience. We will recommend to friends and hopefully be back in the future.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.9
    Casa Grande do Bachao in Vachao
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sad dining room: huge room 90% unoccupied, inpersonable. Deceptive dinner: no choice, no menu, unimaginative cuisine which had nothing to do with local traditional food. The standard of the cuisine is not in keeping with the standard of the hotel.

    The views of the sunset, elegant public rooms and furnishings, tranquility, varied and abundant breakfast, nice and spacious bedroom but unfortunately with no view

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.8
    Great stay shadowed by rude staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant only serves a closed menu. I was served a salad with rock hard mangoes and avocados being a vegetarian. On the next night, I wanted to eat a watermelon and have a glass of wine in my room after eating a huge lunch in Santiago. When asked, I was told that I can’t have it in the garden (which I found a bit odd) but in my room was ok. When dinner time came around I asked for utensils and got yelled at by the manager, telling me that “Here in Spain it is never allowed to have anything from outside of the hotel in it!”. Perhaps she was trying to show me that she remembers that I am not a Spanish citizen. However, I have stayed in many hotels in Spain and have been able to eat fruit in my room. This experience on the last night kind of ruined the whole appeal of the place to be honest. Perhaps the manager needs to rethink her attitude a little bit.

    The rooms were beautiful as was the entire space.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.8
    A gem but beware of the downstairs room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given the downstairs room with a walk in shower which we had requested. However the room had absolutely no ventilation at all and was a health hazard. We should have requested a different room.

    This is extremely good value for money. We would have given 5* but for the fact below

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    6.7
    The location is ok if you're looking for peaceful time,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no way to get coffee in the morning, unless you pay for the breakfast,,,no breakfast no coffee,,silly.

    The location is ok if you're looking for peaceful time,,swimming pool, sauna and fresh air.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Amazing place well worth the long drive.would love to go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking out understanding the bill. Need to know a little more Spanish.

    The food was excellent lovely room great veiw. Long drive on small road but worth it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    Relax in the country at Value for money. And a short ride to the centre of santiago. Staff excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything perfect. If we lived nearer would visit more often

    Breakfast wonderful choice of well known brands and home made articles, with regional specialites too. Staff really helpful. The owners a real "Hands on team". A real home from home atmosphere with the bonus of having everything done for you

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.6
    Having both holidayed in Spain since we were young, this was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having both holidayed in Spain since we were young, this was our first time exploring Galicia. We were blown away by this hotel; truly beautiful, relaxing and completely authentic. We almost wished we were there in winter to enjoy the fireplace and cosy vibe of the main house. An absolutely perfect spot from which to drive around the region. The breakfast is amazing and so is the food at dinner - even their own wine for €2 a glass. Really excellent value for a hidden gem...we will definitely be returning.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    This is my second stay at this beautiful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is my second stay at this beautiful place. After spending time walking on the Camino it is the perfect place to go to for some rest & relaxation. I love everything about it from the gorgeous breakfast & dinner (definitely try this during your stay), the quiet, the dogs running around and to the hospitality of the owners and staff. I can’t recommend it highly enough...already planning my next trip.!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    in the right time at the right place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Something for thinkers and dreamers, nothing for screaming party groups and unkempt children's parents. You do not want to tell anyone, what a dreamlike quiet gem hidden up there in the mountains, so it will remain as a secret tip for a long time. But just the thing for a break that seeks peace and seclusion with a sweeping view of river valley in wild countryside in the midst of a magical garden, scattered lovingly decorated cottages combined with heartfelt care and delicate mouth-watering food

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    A precious gem hidden in the mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing.

    What a wonderful place to stay. I can’t fault the experience. From the friendly welcome (and the sweetest dogs) to the suite of rooms, the honesty bar, the pool and sauna, the intriguing public rooms to the wonderful food - it’s all superb. I just wish I could stay longer.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Beautiful buildings - tastefully decorated & quality...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful buildings - tastefully decorated & quality furnishings. Gorgeous outdoor space The dinners were in a different league to much of the rustic fare we ate elsewhere on this trip. Tasty innovative dishes, beautifully presented & excellent service

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    FANTASTIC stay, dinner and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. A minor point. We tried swimming in the morning but the pool man was cleaning the pool so we could not go in.

    Fantastic property outside of Santiago with beautiful view to the hills and sunset. Nice pool. Beautiful rooms that were very nicely decorated. FANTASTIC dinner that was only about 20 euros. Breakfast was fantastic too. We liked the place so much we wanted to stay longer AND we bought a gift certificate for a visit for our friends who live close by!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Magical place, feels like a step back in time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our bed was squeaking. Don't user Google maps to find the place

    This is close to a parador/old castle. If you like history, you will love this place. The owners were extremely helpful. The food excellent. The views were magnificent although some wood cutting has left the hill behind the house bare. However, it feels like a magical place a step back in time in a place tastefully decorated with things of the past.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    A hidden treasure
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A magical place, lost in time, surrounded by forests. The decoration of the house, the refined food, the wine, the ambience and the hospitality impressed me. I will definitively come back in the hotel again. If you're searching for calm, nature, authenticity and quality in general, this hotel is a great choice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.6
    Great experience once we are there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The distance to travel in pitch darkness and GPS not being able to identify the place through postal code

    Excellent in all ways as there are many facilities that were offered but we just did not have time to enjoy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Idyllic hotel in country location with excellent hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to fault this hotel1

    We loved the whole experience. It is a beautiful family run hotel which has a lot of history and is in an idyllic location in the countryside. The hotel feels like a family home with lots of interesting nicnacks around the building in the main rooms. The hosts are really welcoming and they cook excellent meals which are great quality and value.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Old world beauty, charm and grace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Leaving

    I loved everything about Casa Grande Do Bachao! The staff was always warm, friendly and helpful. We truly felt like we were guest in their home. The property is beautiful and tranquil. We had the very large room with the balcony overlooking the pool. The room was more like a small apartment. We had a refreshing dip in the pool, followed by an indulgent sauna. Than we dressed for a romantic dinner in the soft lite dinning room. The next morning we had an exquisite breakfast in sunny breakfast room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.9
    Great !
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Watch out ! One room without window :(

    Everything is on a very satisfying level. Location is great. Surroundings breathtaking. Beautiful garden, impressive stone buildings and company of four lovely dogs welcoming you on your arrival and walking you on good bye... The food was very good and we like a lot a hospitality of owners.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    A little gem, full of history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave.

    From the warm welcome to the comfortable room to the delicious dinner, casa Grande do Bachoa is a wonderful place to escape for a few days. So peaceful and in such a beautiful setting, yet close enough for day trips into Santiago and other nearby towns.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    a very pleasant and enjoable stay. Would not hesitate to recommend it to friends and family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    excellent location, peaceful and a chance to relax. Food was excellent. Staff very friendly. Room was very comfortable. It was nice to have two chairs in the room and some outdoor space.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    8.8
    Perfect romantic weekend in rural country
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very secluded (no building or people within a 3km radius), and Santiago de Compostela is a 20min drive away. It was fine for us as we drove, and appreciated the peace. But when it rains and u don't want to drive out in the rain for food.. then u don't have much options except the hotel set dinner (fixed menu no options) which was nice but not fantastic slightly pricey at €20 (some might find it cheap but in Spain u can get really good set menus including wine for less than that.)

    The hotel was so gorgeous, it felt like I was staying in some noble's house. Love the eletic collections around the hotel, such as a table full of glass globes - beautiful common areas that u would want to hang around. The room was amazing, and the modern bathroom had a huge tub. Perfect for a romantic weekend! The pool was small but nice to have for a dip or hang around, though there are only 7 or so lounges so not enough for all guests. The best part was the 2 small dogs - so friendly & welcoming!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    A peaceful, ambient and soulful stay in this beautiful property in nature.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly a storm damaged the pool so it was out of action for a couple of days.

    The exceptional staff and service. The owners were very personalable and went out of their way to offer advice and suggestions of what to visit and see. I was told and guided about local walks that I enjoyed. I also loved the attention to detail that the owners put into the experience for Guests in the ambience of the place. It was very soulful and poetic.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You need a car to get here as public transport is sparce. A taxi from Santiago was around 20 euro

    This was the best hotel we stayed at on the Camino it was a bit far out but the views are excellent. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and the food was outstanding. It was great value for money. It would be great for a romantic getaway. The bed was super comfy and the bath would have fitted 6 people. Would 100% recommend this hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet location with magnificent views. The accommodation was excellent with high quality furnishing. Family run hotel in old monastery that has been restored with care to combine modern features within the 18th century building. Food was great, well presented, creative and excellent value.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.6
    Way better than staying in Campostela.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We ate evening meal at the hotel on 4 evenings and it was OK. The service was excellent but for us the main courses were a little bland and the portions could be more generous.

    Loved the tranquility of the location and the atmosphere of the buildings and decor. We stayed in a superior room which had a beautiful outlook onto eucalypts from the balcony. Breakfast was pleasant and varied.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    Perfect retreat
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful setting, lovely property, outstanding staff, great breakfast and dinner -- a bit off the beaten path but very worth it, and oustanding value. First rate!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    Historic, luxurious and peaceful rural hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a gem of a hotel - an amazing and historic rural property situated in a beautiful quiet valley. If the idea of waking up in a luxurious bed in a historic house with walls practically a foot thick - but still with all the modern amenities - appeals to you, and if then (after opening those delightful old fashioned window shutters that make you feel like you've stepped back in time) a view from your window of a quiet forested valley with a bit morning fog and perfect, complete silence all around sounds even more wonderful, you will love this place. Only 20 to 25 minutes drive from Santiago de Compostela and the road is very well signed for the hotel. Once you are there it has a very remote and peaceful feeling as if you could be a million miles away from the crowds of Santiago. Our group's three rooms were all in the main building. The owner was very welcoming and gave us a short tour of the historic features of the house (which dates back several hundred years), which was very interesting, and then showed us to our rooms. The rooms were beautiful, classically furnished, and unlike some prior reviews I had read they all (including my parent's room , which was a basic double room) had good lighting and nice big windows. We had booked a premium double room for my brother as a special treat because it was his birthday, and it was amazing!!! It was not one room, but a suite with four interconnecting rooms - he felt like a king! Not only that, but when the owners found out it was his birthday, they brought us a cake and champagne to celebrate! They were so kind and welcoming and it really was a highlight of our trip to stay here. It is well worth the comparatively short drive to experience the historic beauty and serenity of this hotel. Highly recommended and I hope to return!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel for a quiet getaway only 14km from Santiago
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Fantastic food and wine at a great price. Beautiful quiet location. Lots of smiles from all the staff. It was a fantastic short stay is this lovely little hotel. Pool was great as it had lovely loungers with plenty of dappled shade

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    10
    Best hotel ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could have been better. We loved every minure.

    Absolutely a delight to stay. Food out of this world, location magnificent and staff so friendly. We felt like we were house guests not hotel clients. Definitely be back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Gorgeous hotel and perfect service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing this place was wonderful!

    Amazing service- the owner went out of his way to accommodate our requests and could not have been kinder or more welcoming. The restaurant was beautiful with a superb atmosphere and the menu each day was delicious and excellent. The service was perfection. The room was immaculate and perfectly styled to match the rustic rural house. The surroundings were stunning and peaceful yet the perfect location for access to Santiago. This hotel was serious heaven. I loved it! The hotel and service also showcased how delightful Spain is.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    10
    Great respite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only drawback to the property was actually finding it! The GPS took us to some very questionable country roads, including one that traveled right through a family farm (which was a bit of a surprise to those who lived there!) We had better look finding the location with the Google maps app on our phone. Once we got the location, there was no problem going back and forth to other local sites.

    This was a wonderful place to stay and the staff were most welcoming and helpful. This facility was originally a monastery and now a inquest and special place to stay . The scenery was beautiful and the setting very peaceful. We truly enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little to dislike. Wonderful place. Didn't see any signs on main road though and checked three times. GPS will bring you to wrong village several k from correct site. Get directions from host before attempting to reach this locale.

    Large room with modern shower. Great beds and pillows. Nice view of gardens and grounds. Exotic gum tree forest depressing for someone who likes native flora and fauna. Wonderful hosts and very fine buffet breakfast. Could have skipped the barnacles for dinner although flavor was good they aren't worth the effort for the amount of meat

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    10
    A little Gem in the countryside. Idyllic setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a little remote if you don't have a car, about 5 k in from the main road.

    The staff were very attentive and went out of their way to make sure we were happy with everything at their beautiful residence.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    9.6
    Lovely Quaint Inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only drawback was the extra romantic room my friend and I shared. I would have been fine with the see-through bath/shower combo with my husband, but it was weird with my friend.

    Beautiful location, but a tiny bit remote. We drove to this hotel late at night and the road was dark and winding. We woke up to see such a lovely property though.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    9.2
    Architectural features of the room and property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some confusion when we checked in. Would not have wanted to drive the long road in at night

    Architectural features of the room and property. Excellent meals both nights in a lovely setting

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    9.2
    Location/friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a bit difficult.to find using the.sat nav

    Location/friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    Mind Blowing Retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was even more amazing than the reviews said! Can't express how brilliant this place was. We'll come back again. For sure...

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Excellent facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely place

    Excellent facilities

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.3
    Delicous food, good hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Delicous food, good hotel!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Just loved this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Amazing place, wonderful, friendly owners and fabulous food. Would have loved to stay longer.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Cold at first
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cold greating.

    Everything after greeting was just great thanks

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Exceeded all our already high expectations.
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved it all.

    Fabulous food, welcome, location and room. Friendliest dogs and our own dog made very welcome.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Great find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely room, excellent views, helpful staff. This is a real winner!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    An oasis 15 minutes from Santiago!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing'

    Great staff! Fabulous dinners! Wonderful views! Great breakfasts! Wonderful rooms!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    10
    We can't give adequate praise to Casa Grande do Bachoa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We can't give adequate praise to Casa Grande do Bachoa

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    10
    The best place we stayed on our trip to Santiago de Compostelia. I would go back just to stay in thi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were given a beautiful suite overlooking the pool with wonderful views. It is family run and everyone was very professional & friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    Wonderful old building all updated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even though we weren't able to stay for breakfast, they provided us with some wonderful local cakes and coffee.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Probably the best hotel stay of my life
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could have been better.

    This place is beautiful beyond description.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    10
    Charming place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were excellent. Food delicious and location and the place where even better than we expected.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    10
    Loved every minute
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should have stayed longer?

    Every minute there was perfect

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    10
    Everything about this hotel is wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike

    Everything about this hotel is wonderful.The best value for money of any hotel we have stayed at in Spain(50plus) Delicious food, fabulous location and the most helpful staff,treat yourselves.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    10
    If you like peace, tranquility, great food and wine, this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    If you like peace, tranquility, great food and wine, this could be the place of you. Staff are understated and low key, but the place runs like clockwork. Good value also.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    7.9
    beautiful location and interesting guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wifi did not work in our room because of our distance from main house and we saw another guest's room that was less than desirable.

    beautiful location and interesting guests

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    9.6
    It was extremely quiet and peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The coffee was always stewed. The installation of a coffee machine would be better.

    It was extremely quiet and peaceful. The food was good,the staff were helpful and the room size was good.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    9.2
    Location, views, tranquil country setting, very well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Tough tough mattresses. Staff not always very available or frankly the most friendly. Need to smile a bit, make me feel like I'm welcome and not just a chore.

    Location, views, tranquil country setting, very well decorated comfy old house, a house I would' love to own.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    10
    The sturdiness of the house and the comfort onside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I got lost trying to find the place. The GPS was no much help. However, Google maps saved the day.

    The sturdiness of the house and the comfort onside. It is a peaceful place where one can rest his mind and his spirit. The staff was very pleasant and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    9.6
    A beautiful hotel in a stunning location with a fantastic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The doors on the rooms were of a design which meant there was no soundproofing.

    A beautiful hotel in a stunning location with a fantastic greeting on arrival and wonderful food. Staff were helpful throughout and very pleasant. Nothing was too much trouble. I have dietary requirements and was catered for exceptional well and felt like I was being treated like family. There are also beautiful walks straight from the hotel through pine and eucalyptus forests down to a river.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    9.6
    Great location, lovely views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The wooden floors are rather noisy, in the room above the reception I could almost hear what was being said there.

    Great location, lovely views. The restaurant is a steal, great food for 18 euros. The personnel really tries to go the extra mile for you.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    10
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Location! We thought GPS had stripped a gear, but the signage was reassuring. Spectacular late afternoon arrival in light rain. We were the only guest the first evening, receiving a wonderfully personalized dinner from the head chef. Magical place.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    9.6
    The owner Javier and his staff were so helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The owner Javier and his staff were so helpful and friendly. Many thanks!

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    10
    Charming staff,wonderful food,delightful situation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    Charming staff,wonderful food,delightful situation.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    9.6
    Just a great rural spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just a great rural spot..so pleasnat and a fantastic spanish feel

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    9.6
    Location, scenery, relaxing, food was delicious & such...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location, scenery, relaxing, food was delicious & such good value

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    10
    hospitality of staff was exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    hospitality of staff was exceptional. Restaurant manager/chef (Belen) is amazing and her food is completely delicious.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 72

Browse Casa Grande Do Bachao traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: