Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Casa Palacio Conde de la Corte 4 stars

Plaza del Pilar Redondo, 2, 06300 Zafra, Spain

#2 of 15 hotels in Zafra

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 306 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 61

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room required decorating. No street parking available and had to drive, albeit not far, to sister hotel where a charge of 8€ was made.

    Staff were excellent, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hotel parking, whilst the breakfast was somewhat limited.

    Wonderful boutique hotel with 15 rooms - a converted nobleman's house which has been tastefully re-decorated. Great-sized rooms with enormous bathrooms decorated in interesting ways. Although Zafra was small, this was a little jewel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. If we were really picky we could say that the shower temperature control wasn’t great; it was a little too warm even on the coldest setting.

    Beautiful, large room in a really great older house. Friendly and helpful staff. Good location. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a little dark; mattress and pillows need updating

    Beautiful old building; nice room and bathroom with high ceilings; close to sites; nice staff; we were upgraded to a superior room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt just a little bit down at heel, worn wallpaper, cracked tiles, pool area in need of a tidy up, bar area abandoned.

    The imposing monumental style of the old building, amazing city views from the roof

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Stunning building, huge bedroom and bathroom. So good we came back (we stayed last year too). A lovely treat if you're walking the Via de la Plata.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a wonderful old house. We had a standard room. The decor was a bit tizzy ( pictures of dogs on the walls) but everything else was great. They even provided lactose free yoghurt and milk especially for me. I had requested it when booking

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking, especially one fully loaded. Pictures did not do justice to venue.

    Heart of old Zafra. Everywhere walkable. Good atmosphere in the town. On our route to Portugal. Would also be a good mini break location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My wife and I stayed one night at this charming hotel in what had been a very grand family house in the centre of Zafra. The house is beautiful and still preserves the character of its former owner and his association with bull fighting; it still feels like a home. The staff were very helpful and welcoming and the hotel provided a very good breakfast . A lovely quiet spot.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our top floor room was hot & the A/C controls were in a dark corner, so close to the wardrobe that it was almost impossible to use them. There were very slippery rugs each side of the bed, which we had to remove as they were dangerous. Worst of all, there were no curtains or blinds to keep out the light from 12 street lights immediately outside the hotel in the little plaza. We paid 105€, including breakfast, which we consider excessive for this type of room

    This is a lovely place to stay & we have thoroughly enjoyed our previous visits and would highly recommend the superior rooms but not the standard rooms.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have had more selection for those who like hot food. Toilet kept flushing, had to remember to lift handle.

    Lovely welcome from owner. Beautiful Old building in a nice street. Parking away from hotel and chargeable. Lovely room with 2 small balconies. Small splash pool and pretty garden. Good location in old part of town. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The garage is not attached to the hotel but a spot is available to load and unload the car.

    Historic hotel renovated with taste, pets were accepted, breakfast was basic continental. Staff was polite and helpful, rooms quiet and clean.Garage car park is located 300 m away ,a restaurant near the garage is extremely expensive and i would not recommend it. Other restaurants in the public garden nearby are cheaper and of good quality.l

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firm bed, no restaurant

    Location, room size, value

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely feel to the hotel. Efficient and welcoming staff. Excellent breakfast. Pet friendly. Good parking arrangements.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast a bit stale.

    Quaint and friendly. Quiet. I was not feeling well, so nice to have a beautiful room to recoup in!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room on ground floor by main door so heard people in and out during the night. No bar in hotel to go for a drink and car park at another hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking

    Beautiful house very comfortable and friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful atmosphere. Great service and near everything.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff on reception were excellent, friendly, helpful, nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room decor

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful place to stay if you are travelling thru. Not a lot to see in Zafra

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast excellent far more than we expected.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very stylish, quiet at night and great location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent room and peaceful patio to sit in.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Beautifully appointed and luxurious. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast excellent and plentiful. Will definitely go back.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    A beautiful small boutique hotel in an old house. Staff were delightful. Lovely courtyard garden for breakfast. Close to many restaurants

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stayed in a room on the first floor and the mattresses were surprisingly hard, not confortable at all. The parking facilities: having to walk to another hotel property to park or every time we had to collect the car. Knowing that we had to park our car 7 minutes away, no bicycles were offered to us -it seems they have bicycles available for the guests who wish to take then, or so we learnt at check-out-. Having arrived no intention was made of helping us with the many bags and luggage we had to take to our room.

    Very nice historic building with lots of charm and very close to the Plaza Grande and Plaza Chica or even to the Parador and the Convent of Santa Clara were we bought the most delicious "magdalenas" and other treats made by the nuns. Nice breakfast -although not 4* level- the available products were delicious -tasted the best Spanish tortilla in years and honest bread with fresh squeezed tomatos-. Rooms with huge ceilings and fresco paintings. Charming decor, which made us think back of boutique hotels in Toscana. Bathroom was properly clean with very soft towels available. There is also a very nice and spacious terrace/garden were, when the weather allows it, breakfast can be enjoyed. Although parking was available at another property, driving up to the entrance of the hotel to unload the luggage was not a problem.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Access for car is tricky.Otherwise no problems.Car parking was at garage of another hotel in group.

    Nicely restored mansion.well located in centre of very attractive small town. Former bullfighters home and there is a lot of history.Very good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved everything.

    Beautifully individual hotel with a fascinating history. Charming and very comfortable. We loved it. Our room was delightful, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Would highly recommend. The staff were very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    not much, price was correct for the facilities provided

    really good breakfast, great welcome and attentive staff, location is good with ample street parking (there were no private places available). Nice room in a very characterful hotel

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    All perfect.

    We had two double rooms, both right at the top of the building, so it was almost like having our own front doors. Wonderful staff - couldn't do enough for us. The building and decor is amazing.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Car parking a distance away.

    To stay here is a unique experience if you like Spanish authenticity. The furnishings are grand and luxurious, high painted ceilings and amazing chandeliers. It is a grand old building once owned by a famous family of Matadors set in small square with a fountain. Excellent location for the town of Zafra

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi didn't work in the bedroom or down in the lobby. No cold water in cold tap! Pillows not comfy. Although they take pets, they were not made welcome. No curtains at window, only a cheap blind.

    Good, central location. Attractive furnishings.

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The parking was secure in the basement of a nearby hotel, 4 minutes walk away, so drop your suitcases before going to park your car. I would not recommend more than a day in Zafra.

    The hotel is a short walk from the two squares. The room was large, the heating was good for a cold February day, the bed comfortable, and the bathroom good. Breakfast was ok. The staff excellent.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We did not find any fault with this hotel.

    This hotel is a beautiful palatial home of a Spanish family set in the heart of the old town in Zafra. The hotel is historic, has lovely public areas and comfortable lounges, rooms are large and the bathroom, at least in our room was massive with a small dressing room off the bathroom (!). This is a hotel that has a genuine ambience of quality and luxury, but in an understated way. The staff was welcoming and helpful. Breakfast (4 euros) was a delicious deal with toasted rolls, croissants, fresh orange juice, coffee or tea, and a plate of local ham and cheese. We will definitely return when we are in the area. Just a lovely hotel and nice experience.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    MUST make reservation for car parking. VERY crucial!!!!!!!!!! Otherwise you will end up driving in circles. I wish it would be stressed in their listing. Recommended is NOT a fair warning. The evening receptionist was NOT that friendly. When they say roof - what they meant is you getting out of the elevator onto uncovered roof to get to your room. Imagine us with suitcases getting in and out.

    Location great. The receptionist in the morning was very nice and helpful,

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    A very beautiful antique building which has been restored with very good and solid taste, without being heavy-conservative-old-fashioned (as in the Paradores). The floors in our room were pleasant old dark terracotta tiles, the window opened to a peaceful square. Staff is very helpful, also in recommending parking spaces.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything about this small hotel was excellent. Staff so helpful, breakfast excellent, room and ensuite very clean and comfortable, location excellent, free and fast wifi. Staff organized 2 day trips for us with a local taxi as well. So enjoyable

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quality of breakfast could be improved..

    Friendly staff. Delightful architecture and interior decor. Comfortable large bedroom. Quiet pool area. Luxurious lounge. Private secure parking nearby a plus.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cityy centre parking a challenge. Parked the car in the street in front of the hotel only to find it blocked in on the following morning.

    Lovely boutique hotel, lovely outside space and pool. Reception staff really nice and helpful. Very pretty room likea country cottage.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little hard to find, tucked away ! If you have any walking difficulties be carefull on the uneven cobbled street, I fell and hurt my knees !

    Loved the decor in our room which was very comfortable. Good old Spanish style, with a nice courtyard for breakfasting which was good and Spanish . Secure parking but chargable as extra.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No menu for room service lunch or dinner (only continental breakfast) and no hot breakfast.

    Amazing rooms!! The building was beautiful and staff were really friendly and accommodating! Very much enjoyed our stay and would love to go back!

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Speed of and connectivity of Internet - but wasn't really an issue

    The friendliness of staff - made to feel really welcome and an oasis of tranquility and ambience. A true taste of Spanish opulence - muchos gratias!

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Zafra is a little gem and this hotel is a treasure. Very friendly and helpful staff, speaking good English. Good-sized rooms and a general atmosphere of tranquility and quiet well-being. Easy to find, being on the same plaza as the Ayuntamiento.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Two lights over the sink in the bathroom were not working. Why can't hotel staff check such a small detail? Bath water came out brown at first!

    The house is gorgeous and so is the garden. Staying in it is a special experience. It's utterly tranquil. Very close to the twin squares in the historic centre of the town. Decent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room smelled strongly of stale cigarette smoke. The door to the stairs down from the top floor was locked at night, so there was no way down except for the elevator - scary and could be life-threatening in an emergency if the elevator didn't work. The person who checked us in was very rushed and scatterbrained. He took our passports, led us (at a run) to our room and then left (with our passports). It seemed very unprofessional.

    Great location, lovely room and view from the roof. The woman who served breakfast and checked us out was very nice.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A lovely building, a large quiet room with a very comfortable bed and a huge bathroom. Service from the ladies on the reception desk was great - breakfast was not due to begin until 8:00 am but they put it on for us at 7:30 am so we could get away to catch the morning train. I gather that taxis are pretty thin on the ground in Zafra at 8:15 am in February, but the lady managed to find one for us and we reached the station - at least half an hour's walk away - in time for our 8:43 am train. All in all, the best hotel of our trip.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was on upper floor,but you have to walk outside (on the terrace) to reach the room.The garage is in another nearby hotel

    Nice and large room.Clean room and bathroom.Good breakfast.Helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No hot water one afternoon for a bath.only tepid

    Loved the building, room and decor.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful hotel in a great location. Upgrade to the superior room as the standard rooms are not as nice.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Decor and space in our room and common areas, caring staff

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The cold Not a place for a winter break. Sadly.

    The lovely staff

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Family with older children

    No parking

    Great location, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    parking not available

    excellent facilities. good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bar facilities - you have to go out if you want a drink and something to eat.

    Quality furnishings and great location.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor breakfast.

    Fabulous suite

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    confortable, tranquilo y exquisito.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A lovely place to stay

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experience

    Everything. The building the furniture the staff the garden what not???

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No coffee or tea making facilities in room

    Location good for all restaurants and the town

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet access to my room. I have not

    Location, staff, venue

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 61

Browse Casa Palacio Conde de la Corte traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: