Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercer Casa Torner i Güell 4 stars

Rambla de Sant Francesc, 26, 08720 Vilafranca del Penedès, Spain

#5 of 9 hotels in Vilafranca del Penedès

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 247 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 33

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointing value Price vs facilities : we booked a Suite. It was disappointing not to have a mini bar /fridge /water within the room. In room phone did not work . No lighting controls from with in bathroom & WC . No plug socket close to mirror. Bathroom floor slippery ... need non slip mat for use ... was not provided . Very limited reception hours .

    Great location , huge walk in shower & comfortable king size bed . Tastefully decorated. Cosy bar & breakfast room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For this price I at least expected some sort of staff to help with the checkin, order us a taxi and answer a few questions we had about the city. The desk was completely empty both on arrival and for checkout.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had some trouble with the check in machine, declined 2/3 credit cards.

    Nice location, easy to park on the streets nearby, extra wide and comfortable bed on superior room, nice loft style set up of the room and bath. Good restaurants near

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in procedures a bit strange; front desk staffed only during certain hours and self check-in not working. Electricity control knobs in the room quite perplexing; switches for the bathroom and toilet are built into the headboard of the bed (why one asks?); switch for very large and heavy floor lamp completely inoperative. Plugs for the desk are located above the baseboard, making it hard to balance a plugged-in cell phone on the desk top. (And that's after you have crawled all the way underneath.) Plugs should have been located above the desk or maybe even on the large headboard. Zero hooks in any of the three bathroom areas. No full-length mirror. Very odd decor: dungeons and dragons atmosphere in a classic art nouveau building? Most of the furnishings appear to be from Ikea and too large and heavy for the room. The 15 euro per person breakfast left much to be desired. Mystery meat, coco puffs, and store-bought orange juice just didn't hack it. We would have spent much less and gotten a more satisfy meal at one of the cafes right across the plaza. And how hard is it to provide a coffee service in the room?

    Comfortable bed, great room layout, adequate storage, fantastic location, very cool enclosed patio for the "breakfast."

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting controls - impossible to understand No towel rails/hooks Bar not open at all No on-site car parking Reception only manned periodically Soap not replenished

    Location. Good bath and shower

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    where do I start?? The hotel was locked when we arrived, no staff on duty at all, and what looked like a ATM machine outside, that turned out to be the replacement receptionist for this supposedly 4* hotel. After finally getting access, we fumbled our way up the dark stairs trying to find our hotel room, as we had no idea which floor the room was on. On entering the room, it was obviousl it had not been cleaned properly. there was unknown hairs on the bathroom cabinet, in the bathroom drawers and what can only be described as a brown substance smeared on the toilet wall was enough for us to request a room change! When we eventually got moved, the new room was much better, was to the standard expected and extremely comfortable. The hotel website advertises that there is a cocktail bar and restaurant as part of the amenities, apparently not..... when we arrived in the bar, we were approached by a member of staff and they looked perplexed that we had dared to ask them for a drink! She obviously didn't want to serve us and disappeared into the restaurant. Shortly after a gentleman appeared and asked what we wanted. We explained we were residents at the hotel and wanted a drink. It was obvious that they didn't want to serve us, and when they told us that it wasn't actually a bar (despite it having a selection of spirits, wines and beers) we decided to leave and go elsewhere. I am really shocked that this Hotel is rated 4*, it felt more 1-2*.

    the room that we eventually moved to was ok, but still not to the standard expected of a 4* hotel, the young lady who manned the reception part time was helpful in the end and did what she could to resolve the issue we had with our room.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there on a Monday. Believe it or not, there was no reception staff, in fact no staff except cleaning lady. We had an automated check-in at the door. Restaurant closed at 7pm. Couldn't get ice, no mini-bar in the room. I have never heard of a hotel that has no staff from Sunday afternoon to Tuesday morning, but it exists. This is the place. Not sure what would happen in case of emergency or fire. Plus breakfast was only passable. I don't know how this hotel got 4 stars. Extremely disappointing.

    The room was comfortable. Very modern and clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in the centre of the lovely town of Vila Franca. It's off the main tourist trail and an example of a typical town away from the coast - an open square in the middle, pretty streets all around. The hotel was a calm, cool (both meanings of the word!) haven. The guy on reception (really sorry, can't remember his name) was extremely helpful in suggesting places to eat and drink. The room was on the very top floor at the back, so lovely and quiet with great views over the town and surrounding countryside from the large balcony. Special rate for public parking in large underground car park right opposite the front door of the hotel. Special thank you to Carlos who looked after us so beautifully in the bar/restaurant adjoined to the hotel. He not only served us a delicious dinner, fantastic cava and wines but was playing Dire Straits in the background too. When we told him we were fans, he then played all our favourite tracks! Heaven.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above.

    Very confusing lighting system in room, lack of toiletries, lack of staff to attend, quick to charge prior to end of stay without being shown a bill to approve, virtually useless wifi , most annoying was the lack of coffee making facilities and closed on a Monday which is quite bizarre for a 4 star hotel. Much better value hotels in the area. Would not recommend to anyone certainly not as a boutique hotel. Overall very disappointed.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front Desk staff was confused about which floor our room was on and gave us the wrong WiFi password.

    Great bed, modern clean rooms. Good location!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful staff especially in the restaurant

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was locked out of the hotel for around 40 minutes due to a power failure and no staff on site!

    The room was nice and spacious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't get an invoice for the amount spent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    excellent location, fantastic hotel, visited the Torres winery and the wine museum in Vilafranca

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in the room.

    Highly recommend! The personel is very helpful. Modern stile, high class. Clean. Great shower. Nice terrace.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very modern and nice deco loved our terrasse

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room lighting was incomprehensible. Split level room causing me to fall down the 3 internal steps in the gloom of the poor lighting. Breakfast was 2 slices of toast & cup of coffee, no buffet, only person available had no English.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Restaurant was closed on the Sunday evening although we were told it would be open. The hotel was deserted, no staff were available. The corridors needed hovering.

    Very helpful receptionist at check-in

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very dark, poor attention to detail - one bedside light, no mini bar or fridge, light switches like a puzzle (not easy in the dark). Parking expensive. end of season feel to the place.

    Great location, modern feel in historic building.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No reception on Sunday afternoon and Monday. Number to call was hung up on 5X then put on hold x 20min, then was told they would contact someone local as that were in Barcelona and no call back. Wifi didn't work, light switches unitelligigible to a doctor and an aerospace engineer.

    Clean and decent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the system for operating lights, with central switches instead of beside doors was unnecessarily complicated. Shower floor dangerously slippery

    The restaurant meal which was absolutely superb Nice spacious room 'rain' shower which I could have stayed under all day!

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast atrocious value for E12pp. Wouldn't pay 3. Very surprising as they have a decent looking restaurant and it's otherwise a nice property (with silly bathrooms)

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not being able to charge drinks from the bar, or food from restaurant to the room account. Very sophisticated lighting and air conditioning controls didn't always work

    Central location. Convenient parking. Nice bar. Good restaurant. Interesting self check in automation ( fortunately reception was staffed when we arrived )

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No reception after 7 pm.Had we known in advance we would never have booked.An email was sent advisong us when we were in transit which was of no use.could not use wifi as nobody to give us code.

    Room decor and proximity to town

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing that we did not like.

    The incredible staff, cleanliness and design of the room, and the location - wow! The staff was very helpful in answering our questions and providing helpful advice. The room was beautiful with an incredible design and layout. We would recommend this hotel as well as stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The parking in the adjacent public (but secure) underground car park was very expensive.

    Very comfortable town centre hotel close to restaurants, bars and shops. Friendly and very helpful receptionist/manager who did everything he could to make our stay enjoyable.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel had only been open a couple of weeks after being closed for a while. There are no staff in the hotel after 11.00pm. At breakfast time there was one member of staff (serving breakfast and checking people out). Very limited breakfast (nothing cooked). The Wi-fi only works in reception - doesn't reach the rooms. The whole place needs a lighting upgrade as it's very dark. No information whatsoever in the rooms - nothing about area or the hotel itself.

    The location is good if you need to be in or around Vilafranca - central and easy to find. The hotel was very quiet so easy to sleep. The rooms are modern and quite comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is like a Ibis Budget but more expensive. Too expensive for what it offers.

    Nice room and furniture.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Almost all excellent but inefficient user-friendly design.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Limited WiFi in the room

    Friendly staff Clean room Good location Left luggage service

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Complicated shower and lighting no bbc on tv

    V modern

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Modern and clean

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi should be available in rooms.

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 33

Guests also reviewed these properties: