Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Casa Vazquez 2 stars

Camino del Colmenar, 82, Malaga Centro, 29013 Málaga, Spain

#67 of 92 hotels in Málaga

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 305 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    7

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.8
    Great budget hotel for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our bedroom was downstairs so a little dark and not much natural light. Request upstairs. We weren't offered option of breakfast but it was ok as we hadn't planned to.

    Friendly, quaint budget hotel with bus stop right outside front door. Excellent value for money and spotlessly clean. Staff friendly and nice neighbourhood

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.3
    We had a thoroughly lovely stay. Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If we had a key to the main door. We did have to knock to gain entry late at night.

    The beds were comfy, the staff were friendly and helpful. We had a good time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    6.7
    Mediocre
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of the staff was not speaking English at all, which was quite annoying. Located far away from the center. The wardrobe was mouldy.

    Room was ok. Breakfast was tasty. Good value for the money, ideal for short-term stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    Went for a wedding so just needed a basic, cheap and cheerful base
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wanted something away from the city centre but that was still in easy reach (around 6 euros by taxi or if you’re feeling adventurous 1 Euro on the bus) Family run, typically Spanish ( English was not great) Clean, basic base.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.6
    Good price and for us good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately we couldn't get the coffee machine to work and after we arrived we found out that the bar/restaurant is closed on Saturdays

    Very clean hotel, great location for the Football Stadium

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    A fabulous base to explore Malags from if you’re on a budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For us nothing. But it’s a mile long steep inplaces walk back to the hotel so take a taxi if this is an issue for you.

    Staff were lovely. A very authentic Spanish experience. The bar and restaurant attached to the hotel are full of local families. Manager came out to wave us goodbye!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    3.8
    The bed was just ok but there was no soundproof whatsoever...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was just ok but there was no soundproof whatsoever so couldn't sleep, none of the staff spoke English which for me is ridiculous when Malaga is a destination full of tourists and the breakfast at the hotel was bad. Also I was promised a room with a view and ended up on the ground floor and it was advertised as being in the centre but was nowhere near the centre. People shouldn't lie on their ads!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    6.7
    Malaga is lovely. I will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of ants, bath was filled with dead ants on my arrival and they were everywhere. Staff really didn’t speak English, though pleasant enough. No pool or anything fancy. Guide said bus stop opposite but I couldn’t find any evidence of that.

    20 minutes walk to the centre of Malaga. Breath taking views of the mountains.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.6
    Nice hotel and stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Nice friendly staff willing to talk about what you can do. A small supermarket for basic food and drinks within the restaurant of the hotel. While it's based on the hill side of Malaga, it's doable to walk to the city center for young people. Otherwise a bus stop is nearby to bring you. Good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.6
    Excelent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simple,clean, near to the centre,in the neighborhood are many places where you can eat like locals-don papon, la N and on this street you can find an excelent icecream.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    7.9
    Stay in Hotel Casa Vazques in Malaga
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Location not that close to the centre. You can have a nice walk to the city centre and at the same time a quiet place to rest. Some really lovely local business along the way to the city centre.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    6.5
    Really great nice ppl in hostel enven they don't know...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just water running outside the shower was annoying. But generally room was clean and nice.

    Really great nice ppl in hostel enven they don't know English :D

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    6.3
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom very small and room quite tiny as well. Was quite expensive compared to other place but I believe it would normally be cheaper than what we paid as it was very busy in Malaga that wknd.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Good views of Malaga.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    9.6
    So impressed with this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Fabulous budget hotel. Lovely and spacious room that was perfectly clean and even had a coffee machine! Our room also came with a large, private terrace that overlooked Malaga - such a nice surprise! The hotel is situated about a 25-30 minute walk from the very centre of Malaga, so slightly further away than we would normally go for, but meant we could park the car with no fuss just across the road from the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    9.2
    Staff was really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 1 person can speak English properly but remaining staff really try to help you.

    Staff was really nice. Location is close to the center but need to walk for 25 min. Rooms were nice.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    6.3
    Not really worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    10 euros was taken from our room one day. It was silly of me to leave money in the bedside drawer but it was the money we were going to pay the hotel with at the end. I counted it everyday and one day 10 euros went missing. To be fair, we didn't say anything to the staff but we were worried for the consequences if we had said anything. Also I wouldn't say the rooms or the location was worth 70 euros a night.

    Staff on the desk were friendly and room was tidy.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    Very nice view of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice view of the city. Big room. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Everythings
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Everythings

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.6
    Lunch in the family run restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lunch in the family run restaurant. Friendly owner who spoke good english

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely family run business. Very friendly and helpful. Fantastic view from terrace over Malaga. V nice restaurant on site, popular with locals

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.9
    We experienced ants in our room (bed) but it is probably...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We experienced ants in our room (bed) but it is probably general problem in Malaga.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    6.7
    Good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only way to go to the City center is by bus.

    Staff was very friendly but they speak only Spanish so they couldn't help us well but they tried.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    Brilliant views of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our private terrace was really big and offered great views of the city!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    7.9
    Handy value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    larger room

    friendly and cheap

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    7.5
    Good value for your money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was slightly uncomfortable but didn't lose sleep over it.

    Good wifi and very helpful staff. Great bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    4.6
    Not for business.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I can't get invoice/faktura from hotel. It's required for my company.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    7.1
    Comfortable room with great view of the city and ocean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Had to go through restaurant to enter hotel, restaurant did not serve an evening menu of the day-just tapas. We had a number of small ants in the room which can enter through the windows when left open by the cleaning staff. The bathroom was cramped largely because there is a bidet which is not needed. Could not lock the door when in the room with the key- there was a manual bolt though that worked. It was a bit hard to find the hotel even with a gps.

    Comfortable room with great view of the city and ocean beyond. Free parking close by, good wifi, on bus route to downtown, quiet, no stairs to climb, nice small balcony. Helpful staff with good English.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    9.6
    Casa Vasquez is a small, family run establishment with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wonderful Experience!!

    Casa Vasquez is a small, family run establishment with a nice restaurant attached. It is about a mile and a half from the historic center of Malaga. From the moment I arrived I was treated like family and made to feel comfortable by Antonio. Large room with a view and free parking. I intend to return very soon!!

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    10
    It's located in a very good position wig lots of free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    It's located in a very good position wig lots of free parking around and only 5 minutes walking to the center! The hostel room it's very clean, new and fresh towels has been changed every day, actually to be honest we felt in a 3/4 stars hotel with the price of a hostel!!! Internet was working well the whole time and the bar downstairs makes good coffe. Helpfull staff, defenetly recommend it place and for sure it will be my first options when I'll be back in malaga!!!

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    5.8
    Simply but effective equiped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff cannot say a word in English. Just speaking Spanish to us and we do not understand. We booked a room with nice view and got a room in the ground floor looking to the wall.

    Simply but effective equiped. Bathroom was clean. Everywhere plenty of places where to park a car.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    4.2
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beds were horrendous. The mattress was with springs and I could not sleep because my girlfriend kept tossing and turning and every move she made I could feel like a small earthquake. I ended up placing the bed cover on the floor, covering it with towels and "sleeping" on it until my body started hurting. Please note I am not exaggerating in any way. There rooms were not soundproof as stated on the hotel`s page on Booking.com and there was noise coming from the hallway/reception area and from the neighboring rooms the entire night. The room appeared to be clean but there was some dust in the bathroom on the toilet paper holder and the bag with amenities was smudgy on the inside and outside. The staff did not speak English. Really, Booking.com, you advertise hotels without English-speaking staff?! Very bad value for money. Sincerely disappointed.

    Nothing. I literally did not like anything.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    3.3
    Our room was on the basement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was on the basement. It was like a dungeon, window was adjacent to the next building's wall. There was a heavy musty smell. We made our complaint to the receptionist, they offered an upper floor room. Although it was very late evening and the room was empty, they charged extra money. It was a total disappointment.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    5.4
    one person in the hotel was English speaking
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    no restaurant facilities except for breakfast no drink making facilities in room room was on ground floor next to laundry and was very noisy from 6.30 am

    one person in the hotel was English speaking towels were replaced daily

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    9.6
    Friendly hosts, nice and clean room with a spectalular view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some of the staff doesn't speak English. We got by fine anyway with my hopeless spanish and hand gestures, but it might be a problem for some.

    Friendly hosts, nice and clean room with a spectalular view overlooking the whole city. The hotel restaurant was inexpensive and busy with locals at lunchtime.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    7.0
    The staff were very friendly .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wardrobe had one bent wire hanger in it and it was tiny. The shower head didn´t reach the holder on the wall. The beds creaked

    The staff were very friendly . The adjoining cafe was good too

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    10
    Antonio was so helpful and gave us a room with a excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    That I didn't have time for breakfast!! :)

    Antonio was so helpful and gave us a room with a excellent view of the city- helpful with information and just lovely friendly staff... Even at 4am when I left to go to the airport

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2015

    8.8
    The Hotel is a family business and this says it all!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Malaga city center is big! So when you read that the Hotel is in the city center you have to be prepared for some walking or bus riding. We enjoyed the walks, even at night we felt safe, but it is a tad far if you don't enjoy strolling through the city or you are tired.

    The Hotel is a family business and this says it all! We were greeted with care and concern for our comfort and through our stay we felt the same. The breakfast is a typical Spanish one, it is served in the Cafe bar of the owners, people from around the neighborhood come and drink their coffee, read the news, chat ...it really makes you feel welcomed and it gives you the genuine Spanish experience! The price is low, the services are good, the breakfast is delicious!

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    4.2
    - very kind staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - very noisy building, we could here the water running in the other rooms, we could hear voices from the common area and the phone ringing at the reception! it felt as if we were sleeping directly in the hall way; - very noisy broken spring mattress; - 25-30 minutes walk from the city centre, although in the address on booking.com it appears the misleading 'Malaga Centro'; - big stain of mould on the wall with the bathroom; - practically no wardrobe, just a small cabinet with a shelf + 2 hangers + heating system! - difficult to communicate with the staff, they didn't speak any other language but Spanish...

    - very kind staff - clean - free public parking on the street

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    8.3
    quality/price rate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    quality/price rate. we had a car and we could park it just in front of the hotel. it's about 2 km walking distance ftom the town centre, 30 min on foot...to us that do not mind walking at all was perfect

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    7.5
    Friendly and helpfull staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit outdated

    Friendly and helpfull staff. Clean room. Good food.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    7.1
    Nice little hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice little hotel

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    9.2
    The location, the staff and a great restaurant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location, the staff and a great restaurant!

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    9.2
    Nice quiet Hotel, plenty of free parking nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice quiet Hotel, plenty of free parking nearby. 20 mins walk to city centre.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    6.7
    They didn't know a word of english
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They didn't know a word of english

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    7.5
    wieu is good and sesvices are all in good quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    staff speaks only spanish. bus-connecting with centre is not good.

    wieu is good and sesvices are all in good quality. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    6.5
    On top of Malaga
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No warm water, really cold.

    On top of Malaga

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Guests also reviewed these properties: