Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Casa de Los Arquillos

Paseo de Los Arquillos,1, 2º, 01001 Vitoria-Gasteiz, Spain

#1 of 6 B&Bs and Inns in Vitoria-Gasteiz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 511 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 54

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was a little minimal with toast and some fruit. Would have liked some pastry options or fresh bread available. Up 2 flights of stairs and was not that easy to find so would have liked some clear instructions for arrival.

    Very comfortable bed -simple but stylish rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no lift or bell hop to assist, so guests are advised to only bring a small overnight bag or backpack to the hotel.

    This simple hotel/B+B is located in a renovated 15th century building, a wonderful re-use of historic architecture. Guests should know that you have 15 minutes to unload baggage, and that accessing the hotel from the town requires climbing considerable stairs, both exterior and interior.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to do with the property, but one thing we were perplexed by was the early closing of loads of the bars and retaurants close to the property, including virtually all the outlets within the Playa de Mayor.

    The accomodation is a lovely place in a a fabulous locoation. Very close to restaurants, squares etc. Finding the place via Satnav was a bit of a nightmare and parking was trick too. All

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unclear instruction of arrival and no mention of exact location in its description, irresponsible staff response to the above problems

    The cleanliness and great location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very clean. Towels not changed unless requested... and it's not easy to find anyone to ask to do that. Also had to pro use own toilet roll.

    Location is very good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Inaccessible location. Next room lodger playing TV in the middle of the night. Leaving access code to the hotel by e-mail on the day of arrival -- when I am driving!

    Room, though a little small, was truly charming. A tiny but enchanting sitting room and an ample bathroom. Lovely decorations. Great views of the city.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Parking, even though we reserved secure parking, we had to park on the main road. 2. Very inadequate instruction regarding entering the property if you arrive late 3. Very unfriendly staff

    The decor and the location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The off-site parking is a little tough when first arriving, especially at night.

    The location can't be beat. Right in the most beautiful and architecturally stunning area of Vittoria-Gasteiz.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in one of the Studio Appartment which is no where near other rooms and reception. As this is an appartment it's not like a traditional hotel with normal facilities. The studio apartments are away from the square, and as its an apartments beds were only changed once as were the towels during our six day stay, unless you paid extra. Never had any contact with staff and was unable to locate the reception, pity really as they charged me three times and refunded lesser amounts twice putting me out of pocket by £66.60 which has yet to be resolved. No parking is a pain but underground car parks are in the area I used the Artuium. No restaurant No Bar but great bars around in a lovely city

    Lovely room modern and in a nice area

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No parking in the historical center. Minor inconvenience for loading/unloading, as the 15-minute parking spots closest to the hotel/studios are few (and often occupied). GPS is crucial for finding your way around the one-way streets and (public) parking options. Like many cities in Spain that we've seen, street parking is reserved (rightfully) for residents only. The apartments are fairly well-appointed (except kitchen, see below) but there is no reception/staff. The hotel rooms at the different address (we passed by) didn't seem to either? Or you need to enter a different security code to access the rooms—no lobby as such and we wanted to stop in and ask questions at the desk if there was one. Kitchen appointments slightly lacking in that a cutting board, a kitchen knife and a dish drainage rack would have been very useful. And dishcloths.

    Central location in the historical center. Apartments cleverly appointed

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Appalling don't care attitude of staff. Absolutely no interest in helping us find the apartment or the car park. You are given 3 different addresses for the hotel and left to discover which is your accommodation. You cannot park nearby and when I asked for help I was told she could not help me and put the phone down. Nor is there information on anything at all in the apartment (once you get in) to help you. The safe was unusable, not being bolted down to any surface. The door key was very difficult to turn.

    Apartment was clean and furnishings modern.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Do no expect receptionist or any other services usually received from a Hotel. No sheets for the sofa bed or extra pillows. No bag storage if you are departing after the check out.

    The hotel is well located in the center of Vitoria

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Glad we weren't disabled: up loads of flights of stairs. A good coffee maker would have been nice!

    Location, decor and VERY helpful information in advance (with maps) about car larking options.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some years ago, this was a gem. This time no breakfast was offered. Prices were higher. One day room was not cleaned up during my stay. Staff or owner is no not looking very motivated anymore.

    As always is the Location just great, even next Long-time parking is 10 min away.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Studio with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The apartment we stayed in - first floor, street side - was very noisy. We slept just above the main entrance of the building, and the vast wooden door underneath us was very noisy. We woke up everytime someone entered the building (buzzer, creaking, slamming). The door of the apartment itself is as thin as a sheet of rice paper. Feels like you sleep in the hallway itself. Such a shame.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at La Casona Del Viajante. The rooms are beautiful and have everything you need, and our hosts were lovely and looked after us so well. We chose to get the breakfast which was amazing and one of the best I have ever had. There is also a communal area where you can make yourself a coffee and read from a wonderful collection of books. I loved the peace and quiet of the countryside, and it is very central if you want to explore Asturias. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not easy to find... you will really really need a sat nav !!!! There is not a lift so be warned no heavy cases !!

    Fantastic position in heart of the city.Easy atmosphere but more like an upmarket hostel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator. Since the guest house is located on the 2nd and 3rd floors of the building, it can be uncomfortable when traveling with heavy luggage.

    Great location Nice room Helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was basic, but adequate. My room (6), had no windows just a sky light. Though a big comfortable room and bed. The advice on finding the entrance needs to be made Very Clear!! My sat nav took me to within 20m but it is on a walkway between two streets! So took a further 30 minutes to find.

    The apartment could not be in a better location, as it is in the heart of the historic area. The modern decor and facilities in an ancient building are very good and comfortable. It lacks atmosphere as a result of the modern decor, but it is what it says in the advertising so no complaints there.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location to spend a weekend in Vitoria. Staff was friendly and really helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, location, location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is difficult so go directly for a paid parking garage.

    Very centric location, a nice appartment with everything you need.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    needs better lighting in bathroom for make up or mirror in bedroom. Safe out of order. shower needs maintenance.

    central position for easy access

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better

    Amazing location. Friendly staff. Comfy room and bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved being so central, lovely view out, knew exactly what time it was because of all the church bells! Great bars very close

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed smelled tabbacco Bed was very bad Room was too hot and we could not turn down

    Perfectly good located Well organized for checkin and checkout

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Queen Studio with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    En general todo

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find

    Good well appointed boutique Hotel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Better sound proofing from the city square. A bit disconcerting not to meet any staff on arrival, you just pick up you keys. (Actually not a problem) Could have done with heftier blinds on the skylights/veluxes as light in the early morning wakes one.

    Bright clean lighsst, superb central location right over the main square. Good restaurants all round. Well thought through with minimal staffing.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Managed to log onto WiFi but the connection was "limited" - to what I'm not sure but we couldn't get any further with our devices. Had we stayed longer I'm sure a call to the main hotel would have resolved the problem.

    Owing to a problem with a leaking tap before we arrived, we were re-located to a loft studio in another building. Both the hotel and Booking.com made great efforts to contact us and explain before we arrived, and we were happy with the solution. The studio was very well equipped and right in the center of the charming old town. Would certainly return.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Couple

    Too expensive as breakfast wasnt included. They told me over the phone that they dont make breakfast at the weekends. Also there was noone to help us with any question or any map as there is noone in reception after 2 pm.

    Excellent location and beautiful furniture and very comfortable

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It wasn't easy to find. It was only with the help of the tourist office that we found the place. The gps coordinates are good but I don't have a gps or want one.

    Very relaxed place. Liked access to kitchen with tea and coffee and facilities for breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location was ideal in the medival quarter of the city with just a short walk to the main square, where there are many bars, cafes & restaurants. The studio apartment was spacious and suited our needs.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We arrived and they had not told us that our upgrade which we did not want was in a different area of the town, no one to help us we did get hold of someone by phone and then spent a long walk to find property our short stay was spent finding accommodation rather than seeing Vitoria. They must have double booked our room!

    Did not see much due to finding accommodation!

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking was nearly impossible nearby.

    Everything was perfect, the location, the amenities, the design of the space and the most comfortable bed I slept in on my entire 10 day trip in Spain.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I would be nice to find a bottle of water in the fridge (and not so expensive for the owner). the staff was completely absent, you don't meet anyone. It'd also be nice to put a map of the town or a sample of the attractions of the place.

    the house is conventienly located

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The lack of a lift can make it quite burdensome to get to your room if you happen to carry heavy luggage. The staff, although very nice, messed up both with our reservation on arrival and with the payment on our departure.

    We absolutely loved the location of the hotel - a historical building in the heart of Gasteiz - the bedroom and the bathroom were roomy, cosy and clean. We really apreciated the little free "weekend breakfast" too. I would most definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I loved the location on Calle Santa Maria. View from the big french window was of a park and we were close to everything - three mins walk from cathedral. We also loved the studio apartment. The bed was huge and so comfy with very cool light fittings. The bathroom was also really nice and clean with a fantastic shower. It was great having kitchen facilities but they really need to stock up on some basic necessities. There was only one glass in the entire apartment and very few cooking utensils. It's also a very short walk from Tolono which is the best tapas bar in Vitoria, in our opinion.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very charming room in an old city palace, renovated with much flair and style. You can't stay more centrally in Vitoria! The room is very well soundproofed, so if you close the windows, the nightlife close does not disturb you at all. Beds were excellent, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi signal very poor or not working, can be an issue if you need to plan further steps on your trip.

    Great location right in the old part of Vitoria. Well presented and equipped studio-apartment. Make sure you find out before arriving which apartment/floor you are staying in.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed here on a Saturday night and got very little sleep. The apartment is located directly above a bar that is open until the early hours.

    Central. Well furnished

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything was sumptuous including the price.

    Stylish decor; gorgeous antique building; fabulous fresh breakfast; very historic and central location

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Perfect place to visit the city and enjoy the stay

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pillows.

    Location. Very clean.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    In my opinion the best Place to stay in Vitoria great location perfect.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Convenience of location in centre of city. Very clean and well modernized in historic building.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pretty noisy! It's close to a lot of bars so you have a lot of noise from outside.

    Comfortable. Nice complementary simple breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    En general todo

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When we eventually found the apartment,the location was excellent for exploring the city. Very clean & well equipped

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    absence of an elevator

    location in the old building, but the room and common areas were up-to-date

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location , parking was a bit of a trial ..... However , that's to be expected in such a central location

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Historical building perfectly located and tastely renovated.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Biggest bed I've ever slept in and very comfortable.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 54

Browse La Casa de Los Arquillos traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: