Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Casa Grande 1 stars

Maldonado, 10, 11630 Arcos de la Frontera, Spain

#2 of 21 hotels in Arcos de la Frontera

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 459 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    Should have stayed longer !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was on the small side but perfectly adequate.

    Full of character. Delightful staff. Two balconies with our room with tremendous views plus a roof terrace available for all guests, ideal for a drink at sunset. An easy walk from the hotel to a number of restaurants and all the sights close at hand. A great location. I would thoroughly recommend it for anyone who wanted to stay in a a heritage type hotel. Just a suggestion - the streets are very narrow and twisting so consider parking at the public multi storey car park in the Paseo de Andalucia and get a cab up to the hotel. The parking attendant was happy to arrange this and phoned for a cab. Otherwise, the car could be a real problem.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful building especially the views from the rooms and...
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a challenge.

    Beautiful building especially the views from the rooms and the roof terrace. Ambiance great. WIFI dependency will disappoint. Generous tasty breakfast, great service.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.5
    Awesome views from the terrace if you can climb stairs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to drag your luggage up a hill to get back to parking lot so you need to be in fair health. Our group are all over 70 and we did it but worked up a sweat for sure.

    Beautiful views from that location and the bed was good. Some challenges getting luggage up to our room due to stairs but that’s due to the historic nature of the property. Bathroom was modernized. Sunset was awesome from the terrace! Make sure you have a small car. Great hosts made us feel welcome.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    An unforgettable experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I't has been mentioned before —the parking question—but we can only put it down to the geography (or history) of Arcos. Though it is wise to park at the bottom of the hill and catch a taxi up, at least you get a parking discount, courtesy of the hotel. Thanks, Elena!

    A fascinating old house, providing rooms with great views. The staff were very welcoming (thanks for the complimentary manzanilla on arrival) and the breakfasts delicious. A great location to explore the old part of town.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.8
    very old building (year1783?) but keep well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    no lift ... no bottled water in room, no pot to heating water in room. Can ask receiption to heat water but no convenient at all.

    very old building (year1783?) but keep well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge or safe in the room.

    Charming, well taken care of property. Lovely details in the rooms and common areas. Great view and quiet, yet central location in historic centre. The terrace is superb!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Location was perfect and the staff was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It is an old mansion so we knew what to expect. If you’re looking for a Radisson, this is not the place.

    Location was perfect and the staff was great!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    Hidden jewel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about really. If anything then it would be that it took some time to get the coffee at breakfast, but it was finally worth it, because they brew it on demand.

    The location, the room with a double terrace :-) and a breathtaking view overlooking the valley, the super confortable bed and the handmade breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    All about the Terrace!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Design of the room was a bit strange

    The terrace in our room was amazing and overlooked the valley. We spent most of our stay hanging out there enjoying a few glasses of wine! Also, the hosts were great and compensated us with some glasses of wine for the inconvenience of some renovation going on outside our room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Really loved this hotel and its location - definitely worth staying overnight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drive up to the square - was an experience! be prepared for that or park in new part of town.

    Beautiful quiet hotel with stunning rooftop sitting area right outside our room. Great breakfast excellent value. Very cosy and welcoming

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    Historic, charming, quirky
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Although there are old fashioned air conditioning units, it might get a bit hot in the rooftop rooms in high summer.

    Charming, quirky and characterful, this tiny hotel in a historic building is a real gem. It gives you a chance to experience Arcos when the day trippers have gone, including from the roof terrace. Don’t stay here if you like designer toiletries, tech gadgets and room service. Stay here to appreciate the swifts screaming through the narrow alleys, the individual haikus framed in each room and the sun filtering through the glass roof of the central courtyard. Breakfast was delicious and well worth 10 euros.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Really great location to explore the oldest parts of Arcos de la Frontera.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi only available in the foyer and library - ancient walls affect the service. Finding our way there and parking were a bit of a challenge but added to the adventure.

    Lovely guesthouse/pensione in a great location to experience the essence of Arcos de la Frontera. Friendly and helpful host. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Loved it!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting there by car is impossible and requires a walk even when using a taxi which is highly recommended as the streets are VERY narrow (many local cars have the scars to prove that this is a challenging place for rental cars)

    Location, view from the room, breakfast, service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    A delightful taste of a pueblo blanco
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small and only separated from the room by a partition. Whilst the views are spectacular, a chilly wind (not the hotel's fault) made it unattractive to linger on the balcony.

    Very stylishly decorated and full of atmosphere. Panoramic roof terrace. Really helpful staff and generous breakfasts.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyed the town and the surrounding villages very much. Beautiful countryside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just be prepared for lots of stairs and no elevator. Also to drive to the hotel is almost impossible. Park your car in the modern parkade and walk. It is uphill st least half the way but doable. Pack light!

    The Casa is lovely and very unique. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was good. Views were amazing from our room and the upper deck.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.1
    The hotel sits at the edge of a cliff with spectacular...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unexpected number of stairs and stair cases to access the rooms. Also, the hotel down a walkway with no access for vehicles, including taxis. Walking if fine but this was more extreme than the descriptions said.

    The hotel sits at the edge of a cliff with spectacular views.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    9.6
    Lovely views from your room just in the heart of Arcos de la Frontera.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked everything. The only issue is that you need to access the property by foot and find a parking space somewhere else.

    Huge bed nice and comfy. Rooms with balcony facing the clift. No neiboughts. Charming building and decoration.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.8
    Unique historical cliff side hotel with wonderful views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was slightly more expensive than II would like especially traveling in winter. But it is a unique site and location.

    This was a stunning and beautiful location in Argos with a view of the cliffs and valley below. The accommodations are in an historical home with tunnels built into the cliff which led to our room. It was truly a unique and one of the most charming places we have stayed. Library and other facilities available for all guests. Staff very helpful and good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    8.8
    Great place to stay when visiting Arcos.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wi-fi only in maim lobby area.

    The view was spectular. Staff very friendly. Breakfast was very good. Rooms were good size and decorated nicely with an artsy feel to them.Overall an excellent value for the money. Would recommend to friends and family.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.1
    Disappoiting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a problem. Even at the plaza. To get there is very difficult. Narrow street. Only follow the directions of the guest house. Not your gps. The keys don't open the front gate and door easily. There is only a proper view of the church from the balcony. We won't go back. It looks better on the web than what it is. The shower was dirty and we didn't use it.

    Atmospheric guest house.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    5.8
    This hotel is welcoming and conveniently located in the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of any privacy in the bathroom, which had no ceiling and was separated from the bedroom by a barely opaque sliding door which did not fully close. Guests should be warned about the primitive requirements of the plumbing system (which applied in all the bars etc in the upper old part of the town).

    Stunning views from the terrace outside the bedroom. Effort had been made to keep the general appearance of the hotel attractive and welcoming.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    8.8
    A charming place to relax and enjoy sunsets and get lost in time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was good and generous but an espresso machine and a more varied offer in terms of bread/dairy/non dairy products would have been in line with the level of the place.

    Very charming place, full of personality and decorated with test, Boutique Hotel style. Ancient building, with terrific view, transpiring history and art.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location with a fabulous view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Do not attempt to drive there, the roads are not suitable for cars, we only had about 2 cm clearance on each side - very scary in a hire car! - and had to reverse back. There was no door on the shower so the tiny bathroom got drenched.

    Beautiful old house, built Moorish-style around a central courtyard. We stayed in a little room in the cellar with a fabulous view and terrace overlooking the valley. There's a lovely rooftop terrace where you can ask for drinks to be served. Breakfast was served in the lovely covered courtyard and was quite basic continental (quite expensive at €9 a head) although the quality was excellent, scrambled eggs were offered and the coffee was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.2
    Very enjoyable and a medieval ambiance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was quiet a bit of dust hanging from the lamp shade which I kept brushing up against because of the limited space, otherwise everything else was fine.

    The view from our room and cute private balcony and terrace off of our room was amazing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.9
    I truly had a wonderful stay. What a fun town and great restaurants nearby. I adore Arcos!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    However, our shower was not connected to the wall and there was no warning when it came flying off when I turned on the water. The description on Booking.com said that it was recommended to park below. Actually, it should state it is mandatory. My husband had a tough time walking up the mountain and there was no way we would bring our suitcase on that journey up. That is also the magic of the place but there should be fair warning in the description. Also, it is very hard to figure out how to get into the place when it has a locked gate. It should be said that there is a little, hard to see doorbell if one reaches inside the gate.

    The view was spectacular. The staff was wonderful. The food was delicious. The roosters crowing in the morning was like a symphony.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Do not attempt to drive up to the hotel, the streets are simply too narrow. As advised by the hotel, park at the bus station and take a cab, it's only about 5 Euros and well worth it.

    Great location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    A delightful place to stay when exploring the White Hill Towns. Stay more than a day to explore!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't stay long enough!

    Elena was a delightfully helpful hostess, advising us about onward transport. The room had amazing view as does the roof top terrace! Room comfortable, luxurious linens, and delicious breakfast. Felt like visiting in good friend's home.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    9.2
    A unique experience in one of Spain's hilltop White villages.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little hard to access. We parked in the main square car park and needed to catch a taxi.

    Lovely home cooked breakfast, as an optional extra, in the ground foyer. Great view from the roof.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing place to stay, and perfectly located in the old village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We relaxed and really enjoyed staying there. The views are great, and the rooftop patio was excellent to relax watching the sunset. We could walk out to a couple of great restaurants. The place itself was lovely, the staff were excellent, and they made us feel at home.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.6
    Amazing view and beautiful rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is not possible to drive to this hotel. Park in the New Town underground lot (do NOT attempt the drive up the hill).

    Amazing view and beautiful rooms. Delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    6.7
    Old but clean facilities. Difficult access.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Good location but very difficult to access. If you are driving by car you must park down below in the city and then take a taxi up and near to this hotel. Everything in the hotel is all a Carter. Do not under any circumstance is try to drive near the hotel unless you have a very small car, and are OK with squeezing the car through some very Narrow openings.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    8.8
    A nice place with lots of atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was a bit of a challenge so we ended up a little away from the hotel and had to drag our suitcases up the hill on cobbled roads to the hotel so if you are traveling with a heavy case, see if you can get a taxi there.

    The hotel has a great location looking over the valley, our room had a small balcony that was nice to sit on in the morning and late evening (a bit hot during the day). Breakfast was excellent. The staff were very helpful. Instructions to get there provided by the hotel were very useful as satellite navigation does not work in these small narrow roads. Hotel close to some good restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    We had a great time and what a view from the roof terrace!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Enjoyed it all.

    The lovely lady on check in, the extra delicious breakfast and the great advice to leave the car at the underground car park at the entrance to town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet paper in a bin, had one cockroach enter our room one night (just don't like bugs that much lol)

    How friendly the staff were, lovely breakfast and the view from our room was fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    10
    My favorite hotel in Spain- picturesque and unforgettable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is tough because you need to park away from the hotel.

    Charming, quaint, unique, gracious service, amazing location, and great price. This is an unforgettable hotel for all the best reasons!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Amazing palace-house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a little pearl hidden among old churches and narrow streets in the heart of Arcos. We were also were lucky to be upgraded from a standard room to superior. The staff were friendly and gave us plenty of information and they also speak english very well. After a long trip my boyfriend and I had some dicussions before we arrived, but as we entered the hotel that all went away and was replaced by amazement of how beautiful and tasteful this hotel from 1729 is. The architecture is elegant and the room was more like a piece of art. Out room was on the rooftop terrasse and the view there is breathtaking. We will be back! <3 oh.. I almost forgot, i recommend getting breakfast there as it matched the whole vibe of the place and was abundant, delicious and tastefull!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    7.5
    Very beautiful establishment, great patio where you can have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to park close to the establishment. There is a parking nearby but it is usually full.

    Very beautiful establishment, great patio where you can have a coffee or breakfast. Friendly staff. We got a basement room which was very cool as it was really hot during our stay. The view from our balcony was amazing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.5
    The climb 4 the View
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not a place for old people, too any stairs with no elevator. The steps are very steep, something should be added to the profile of the property

    Great view and a beautiful terrace! Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    8.8
    The place to stay if you are visiting Arcos de la Frontera.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place to stay if you are visiting Arcos de la Frontera. The views from our rooms were amazing and right in the middle of the old town. If you are driving, make sure you follow their instructions. It gets very tight on the very narrow roads. You come into the main square at the top of the town and parking is very tight. Do not be fooled by the guys who want to help you out although they were very helpful. Just don't pay them anything! It's a 5 minute walk to the hotel from the main square, downhill, on a very tiny street, you can't drive there so be prepared if you have a lot of bags. The rooms are very comfortable, photos are accurate so don't expect brand new but we loved everything about the place. Breakfast was great, homemade eggs or whatever you wanted. Outdoor terrace on the top floor had beautiful views. Two of our rooms on lower floors had private balcony or terrace. Our room was on the top floor so we did not have a private terrace but the hotel was quiet so we had the terrace to ourselves most times. Rooms were very comfortable. It was very windy so there was a lot of dust in our rooms with the open windows. AC worked well. We loved walking around the tiny streets. Great dinner recommended by the staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    8.8
    Hilltop town views and location but takes a little effort
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pedestrian cobblestone street made getting luggage in and out difficult. Long ways from parking.

    Balcony and views awesome. Hillside location in a quirky but wonderful historic home.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.9
    Be prepared to fight over the key
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We parked in the underground parking down lower in town (15 euros per night, but you can get a discount from the hotel for 7 euros off) and then walked up the hill to the hotel. We had planned to take the bus like we had read about, but could never figure out how to catch it). On the way up my daughter was not exactly thrilled with the walk. be prepared for cars going quickly up and down very narrow streets as you walk up the hill to the hotel. To get into the hotel you need to go through a gate and two very interesting doors. We arrived a little early and the staff receptionist had little English, but was friendly. She gave us the choice of checking in through or or waiting till the English speaking person on shift. I don't know if it was a language difference or what it was, but we were not offered sherry and snacks like others were, but I wasn't expecting that. All those who we worked with were friendly and helpful. This isn't a hotel for those who can't get around well, but then Arcos itself isn't either. There are stairs everywhere of some kind. The keys to the room are the old fashioned kind. As soon as my daughter saw it this became her favorite hotel in Spain. I was not prepared for the fighting between my children of who got to lock and unlock the door! lol These kind of keys make for a unique experience. The common rooms and the our rooms had old charm. The rooms were unique. Our room had a bedroom on the right, bathroom in the middle and another bedroom on the left. All rooms were clean and had stairs leading to them. The bathroom is round on one side and square shaped on the other - it is difficult to describe the shape and set up. The shower was fairly new. The toilet does not take any kind of paper. The soap smelled wonderful. Both bedrooms had windows. There was seating in the rooms as well. Wifi is very spotty. We never got it on the terrace and only sometimes in our rooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful place. If driving, best to park car in underground parking and walk or take a taxi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The low lighting to apply make up in our room was challenging. I am older and my eyes don't work as well as they used to.

    Beautiful view out our stylishly decorated room. The breakfast was very good. The staff was exceptionally helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.2
    Cliff side romance
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking up on the square is a hassle bc of narrow access between buildings. Do not take a larger car up there!

    View and hospitality is outstanding. Great location in romantic property with nearby good restaurants. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    5.8
    Beware young older people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At first sight I didn't like the configuration of the room just under a tiled roof like in a barn but clean and waterproof as well as the 4 very high steps leading through a narrow arch to the bathroom made me wonder how will we manage at night to get in and out of this bathroom. Unfortunately my fears became reality when exiting this narrow and high steps around midnight I missed the last one and scraped my heel very badly from the sharp angle of the terra-cotta stone. It was extremely painful bloody and still is and my trip in Andalousie ended there by walking barefooted on the right foot to the car then to the next hotel then to a nearby restaurant and missing all the walks and discoveries this beautiful region has to offer. I cannot wear closed shoes like sneakers indispensable on thiis kind of terrain . We have another week ahead and I am extremely limited This hotel and this room is good and if you are young or don't have knee or bladder problems. .

    This is a charming hotel transformed from a 18 th Century old house .Like everywhere in most of the white pueblos of Andalousie you get by foot to the hotel and park further away ,because of the narrow cobblestones streets not made for cars. Besides most charming hotels have treacherous narrow stairs . The staff was very helpfull and the views from this place were Phenomenal .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    7.1
    The hotel is in the heart of the town surrounded by cafes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking in Arcos is very limited. It is impossible to get a car near the hotel so it is necessary to walk to the hotel with luggage through very steep and narrow lanes. To escape the town in a car is scary as the lanes are so narrow and steep. The room was a little damp, there was very little storage.

    The hotel is in the heart of the town surrounded by cafes and restaurants. The view is amazing from the balcony. The breakfast was sufficient, the homemade bread was delicious.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    9.6
    La casa exceptionelle!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Need to be aware of constraints on parking in the old town. This would apply to all properties in Arcos. Once you know, it is fine.

    Amazing view from the spacious private terrace. The property is at the top of the cliffs overlooking a lush valley. Our room was in what would have been a cellar, I'm guessing, but because it is at the edge of the cliff it has a great outlook. The property itself is an historic casa built around a central courtyard where breakfast is served. The other rooms are on higher levels around the central courtyard. There's a great place to eat in the square just around the corner, too.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    10
    View from our porch was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It seems people of Arcos are trying to get as much money as possible from the tourists. We parked for free in a big "esplanada", very close to the private parking everybody was trying to send us to. Nobody told us about the free parking, we were very lucky to find it by ourselves.

    View from our porch was fantastic. The room itself it was great and the owner very helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    7.5
    Breathtaking views from lovely home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were the only guests in the whole house and yet they didn't offer us an upgrade to a bigger room. I happened to see a lovely room after we checked in that had the door open and I would have been happy to pay extra to have had that. I think they should have suggested that. Also, the breakfast was lovely.

    Very lovely property, that is well-maintained and loved. Incredible views from our room and the lovely rooftop terrace. Only about 7 rooms so very cozy and you felt you were at someone's home.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.6
    Old world charm and elegance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was an issue, but once planned in advance was sorted.

    Wonderful location, great views from the terrace, very pretty historic town with some excellent value tapas bars.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.2
    Great place to rest to take a vacation from the vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the bed could be a little bit more comfortable but that's all

    You have to park a few blocks away because The hotel was in the middle of the historic place with very narrow little streets. DeVilles from the rooms are incredible. If you can afford get a room with a balcony or an outside view. It's worth it

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    9.6
    A great value stopover in Andalucia!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no wifi in the bedroom...we had to go into communal rooms to use the internet.

    Beautiful old townhouse with original features in the centre of the old town with fantastic views. Staff and breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    10
    An incredible find!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was gorgeous, beautifully decorated. The place was simply enchanting and the views were breathtaking. The staff were very kind, gracious, and thoughtful. The breakfast was wonderful. This place is a dream!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    8.8
    Lovely stay at La Casa Grande
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel was recommended to us and we were not disappointed. It is in a lovely location in the old town of Arcos. Getting there is a bit of drag due to the distance to the car park. It was carnival weekend while we were there (the staff informed us in advance) which meant we had to park in the underground car park, a fifteen minute walk away, but it is soon forgotten once you arrive at the hotel, which is stunning. We had a room in the basement with a lovely two storey terrace with fantastic views. Unfortunately the weather was not really warm enough for us to use it. The staff were very friendly and helpful, greeting us with sherry and olives on arrival and providing a map to make sure we didn't miss anything.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    9.2
    Amazing cliff hotel with style and soul
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    - the room was nice but facilities not ideal, e.g. bathroom as a part of the room and very loud and not giving a lot of privacy - bed was hard - the room was on the edge of the cliff, which was amazing, but since it was very windy, it was very loud and kept me up all night - no parking, but a discount on the town parking located 15 mins from the hotel

    - design, style - location on the cliff - breakfast - building - attention to details - the best toilet window ever :)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    10
    Fantastic across all dimensions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In our room (w/ terrace) the bathroom is not fully sealed from the room (there is an intentional gap of ca 0.5m between the ceiling and the top of the wall). It's a style choice we don't prefer, but have seen elsewhere as well.

    Fantastic across all dimensions. Rooftop terrace is amazing - take you b-fast there if you can and see the sunset from there. Also the rooms with terraces are totally worth it. Highly recommended

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    9.6
    The bed was extremely comfy, there was a heater in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tall people be warned you need to watch your head because some ceilings are low but don't let that deter you

    The bed was extremely comfy, there was a heater in the bathroom

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    5.0
    Location, view, roofterrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A cat was strolling around at the patio, climbing on chairs and tables. The room is outdated, no wifi (only at patio), the bathroom is not comfortable, price is too high for the room. A bit overrated.

    Location, view, roofterrace

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    10
    It's a 17th c.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a 17th c. house, what more is there to say? They still have the original skeleton key, which we used for one of our rooms. Great view from the roof. Great breakfast with fresh, warm bread and honey... One of our favorite places to stay during our trip.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    9.2
    This is a very interesting property with a phenomenal view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My family enjoyed this hotel. We have no complaints. Our room was on the third floor, which is reached by stairs. If you dont want to climb stairs with your luggage, this place may not be right for you. BUT The rooftop terrace had amazing views.

    This is a very interesting property with a phenomenal view of the city, friendly, dedicated staff. It's not for people who want luxury. Breakfast was excellent. If you have a car, make sure it is a compact model or you will not reach the public parking, which is about 3 minutes on foot from the property.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    10
    Wish we could return for a longer relaxing stay!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were greeted with complimentary glasses of sherry and olives upon arrival. Since we were traveling with another couple, our hostess offered us rooms with adjoining terraces where we could enjoy a bottle of wine and magnificent view with our friends. A perfect place to stay in Arcos.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    9.6
    Some rooms (mine) have spectacular views out over the valley.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi only available in the lobby, but the walls are three feet thick, so that's just the way it is.

    Some rooms (mine) have spectacular views out over the valley.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    2.9
    Arcos is great - but stay away from Casa Grande.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bedbugs still bug me - 6 days after we left. And the landlady said she did not even know the Spanish word for "bedbug". By the way, it's "chinches", just in case you would like to speak to a chemist for pain relief. We had planned to stay at CG for three nights and decided that is was worth changing to the Parador after one night only although we had to pay at Casa Grande for a second night. (At the Parador we had what we did not have at Casa Grande: huge bed in very very spacious room, clean sheets, dry mattress, wardrobes, immaculate bathroom, where you can actually flush down toilet paper! And friendly staff. And the Parador is actually cheaper! Trying to access the hotel by car was a mistake as the alleys are not made for tourists in cars. (The Parador offers parking facilities.) To sum up: we did not like the tiny room, the small insect-infested bed, the joke of a bathroom and, above all, the arrogant air of the staff.

    The wonderful view from the balcony. The common room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    9.2
    Rustic and very comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was only accessible in the lobby

    Loved the roof top room that we got, that was right next to the terrace...amazing view! A place to contemplate all the great events of our recent vacation

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    10
    Staff all very thoughtful especially helpful on parking.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff all very thoughtful especially helpful on parking. Have a room with a balcony!! Although the roof terrace has jaw dropping views if you don't.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful hotel. Miro prints. A haiku for every room. Library for relaxing in. Stunning views across the valley. Friendly staff. Parked down in the new town. Good decision!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    Great Find
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a fascinating little hotel. The rooms and decor are just beautiful. We booked the junior suit in the attic, for the three of us, with a fabulous shared terrace with a view over Arcos and the valley below. The breakfast is very well worth the few euros extra with a selection of cheese, ham iberico, eggs, cereal and fresh fruit. Great fortification for tackling the steep hills of Arcos. We would definitely go back to La Casa Grande.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    9.0
    Historic Guest House with Character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi is only available in the common area downstairs. There is no elevator and the stairs are very steep. The two top rooms are right under the roof with very low doorways for access. The building and rooms have lots of character but one needs to be able to climb stairs. The bathroom in our room required climbing four more steps.

    All rooms have access to a shared terrace with amazing views of the country side and the cathedral. Lovely covered courtyard and library. A nice breakfast is available with local products, fresh juice and eggs at an extra cost. We stayed in a Twin Bed room at the top floor with direct access to the terrace. There is no elevator and the stairs are very steep. The two top rooms are right under the roof with very low doorways for access. The room was simply furnished but had plenty of space. Parking is possible at a nearby square for €5 per day with hotel discount, but the lot is often full and requires driving through some very narrow streets. The last few hundred meters you have to walk with your luggage. Alternative parking is available at the bottom of the town but requires taking a bus or taxi. Friendly staff offered a glass of welcoming Sherry. The night sky is amazing and it was very quiet except for a nearby rooster.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    10
    Excellent location in 18th century house right in the old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Excellent location in 18th century house right in the old quarter. Nice amenities and quaint room. Voyage cosy! Helpful, friendly staff. A glass of sherry on arrival was unexpected!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    The host was amazing and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host was amazing and very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    5.0
    We were disappointed with the facilities in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet facilities. I expected better given the price of the room.

    Fantastic views from the terrace.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    The only place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only had one night there!

    The welcome, views and location were spectacular.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Location , friendly helpful staff .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location , friendly helpful staff .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    The view was amazing and the owner and staff were fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view was amazing and the owner and staff were fantastic

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    Good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Good enough for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is not very up to date. WiFi is very poor, almost nonexistent.

    Good location. The view from the room is great.

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: