Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Albergue Solar de Hidalgos

Santo Domingo, 5, 39330 Santillana del Mar, Spain

Review score

Based on 259 hostel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    Yet another good stop point if your walking the Camino.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't be fooled by the del Mar in the towns name ,its no by the sea exactly.

    Yet another good stop point if your walking the Camino. Old 'museum' of a building. Bit of a hotch potch. Amusing owner. Plenty of history in the building and the town. Plenty of places to eat in the town. We had to male use of Medical Centre which is only open until midday. Aldo local hospital and the staff were great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    4.6
    Ruined by Bed Bugs
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed Bugs - for the first time in over 180 night stops in Spain over the past five years I have encountered them. Not nice at all and got bitten all over. Told receptionist guy upon exiting with urgency at 6:30am. I would hope that the matter is attended to as I would not wish for anyone to have the same horrible experience,

    Interesting building and decor

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.9
    Awesome hostal, but a bit cold in the springtime
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's freaking cold, gets into your bones

    The hostel itself with al the old stuff is awesome!! Also the host is a real nice guy (who speaks English) and the breakfast for 3 euros is good!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    6.3
    The hostel is situated in the middle of the old town in an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (adults only)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The inside remembered me of a mystery castle. To me, the humid air and the decoration wasn't very welcoming and there was only the garden as a common space. The staff was special.

    The hostel is situated in the middle of the old town in an old building. It's perfect to discover the city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    5.0
    Hard to review given the circumstances
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We found bed bugs in our beds, which in all fairness could have happened anywhere, especially along the Camino trail. We immediately told reception and were moved to a different room which was good.

    Friendly night staff and great location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.9
    dorms are clean, albeit at the back of the property away...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (adults only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    slightly slightly damp in the dorm but there were lots of storms and downpours so maybe that's not normal.

    dorms are clean, albeit at the back of the property away from the amazing interior. shower is amazing, one of those sit down ones with jets. dead centre of the town too. that was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic old building from 1650? Lovely rooms, bathroom and furniture. In centre of town, on old cobbled street. Good value for money. On the Camino Norte. Friendly staff, spoke some English.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.6
    Staying with history
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    An amazing find. Fantastic location and a building frozen in time with appropriate antique decor. Also excellent value as many of these heritage buildings in Spain have become paradors at much higher rates. Friendly and helpful service. We enjoyed the experience immensely.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    7.9
    2 nights in a dorm
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (adults only)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower wasn't very clean and water filled up a couple inches at the bottom. The town itself wasn't all it was cracked up to be and didn't warrant a two night stay. A lot of light came in the windows at night.

    Staff was very friendly, large outdoor area you can sit in, wonderful looking house right in the centre of town

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    6.3
    Over Touristy town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (adults only)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel manager was a bit of a weirdo, sung a Queen song to me 😊. The town itself is over touristy with no shops selling food and drinks. Didn't like it and moved on, even though another night was paid for.

    Very interesting old building and garden.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    9.6
    Very nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (adults only)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have a kitchen/cooking facilities.

    Very nice staff, also met a lot of cool people there, that were doing the "Camiño de Santiago", as this is in the route.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    10
    What a delightful albergue in the historic town
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a delightful albergue in the historic town Walking the Camino Norte and suprises at every corner of the town and also in this lovely old small hotel / albergue We were treated to the attic room which was brilliant in all regards 100% recommend

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    5.0
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Travellers who prefer clean mattress covers on their bunk beds should hesitate before booking here.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Interesting medieval spirit eclectic style albergue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Electricity modus operandi.

    The building and its gothic fiction atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.8
    Warm welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (adults only)
    • Stayed 1 night

    couldn't have a friendlier welcome by staff!!! Perfect location and in my case wonderful warm-hearted start for my Camino.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Charming place at the heart of the authentic Santillana del Mar!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (adults only)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The old style of the hostel was really lovely and added to the charm of it, and the guy at reception were very welcoming.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    8.3
    A place back in Spanish History
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (adults only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hostel! Nice dormitory

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    Spacious, comfy room in a medievil setting full of character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious, comfy room in a medievil setting full of character.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.6
    Great stay :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lack of WiFi

    Incredible location, marvelous smiling staff, we had a very spacious attic room. The place is just great!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    Sweet spot!!!
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (adults only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing history of the building

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Sweet spot for peregrinos
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (adults only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building is awesome!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    Good day.q
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The a hospitallero was superb, friendly, helpful, went an extra mile for me. Everything was very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    9.2
    Good value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good value for money. Simple, clean accommodation, friendly host, lovely jogging paths in the hills.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    10
    I loved the building and the way it had retained its old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I loved the building and the way it had retained its old charm while being lovingly kept up to date as well. Excellent staff and a great atmosphere.would happily stay again

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    7.1
    the location was perfect and the house is big with cool...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    the receptionist was a bit creepy. He went into my room three times during the night! I was alone in a four-bed dormitory. He put me there instead of joining with other people in the mixed dorm. Also, it was too cold during the night.

    the location was perfect and the house is big with cool architecture.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    10
    We were in the spacious attic room with lovely views, big...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were in the spacious attic room with lovely views, big bathroom and interesting old furniture. The whole hostal was like a museum, could have spent ages looking through it. Really friendly owners. Just love this place.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.6
    Want a trip back in time? This place is like a museum.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Want a trip back in time? This place is like a museum. Wow! And the rooms make you feel like your living in the past, delicately decorated and spacious. Located in the heart of town, one of my favourite stays.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    8.3
    Front desk staff very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking was 2 euros and a block away. Pass on the "breakfast " for 4 euros. Walls were paper thin and conversation and snoring was easily heard from other bedrooms .

    Front desk staff very helpful. Spoke English . Location was excellent tho a little hard to find. Internet fine. Quite the antique collection decor.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    8.8
    Great comfy bed, fantastic historic building on a beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experiences really but the Spanish breakfasts are a bit basic, a good example of that is found here.

    Great comfy bed, fantastic historic building on a beautiful pedestrian street, but very near a car park.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    7.1
    Perfect location, room with balcony, cleanest OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Lack of stopper for the tub, I was able to prepare substitute, hotel service was not able to help with it ??? Poor breakfast, do not order it

    Perfect location, room with balcony, cleanest OK

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    9.6
    We reserved a small room with two twin beds and got a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We reserved a small room with two twin beds and got a gigantic room with a twin-and-a-half and a full bed. The bathroom was also huge. Owners speak English and Spanish. Everything was very clean and comfortable. I feel like I got my money's worth times 3.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    6.3
    Not terrible accommodation, but a little ruined by dodgy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not terrible accommodation, but a little ruined by dodgy roommates. The town itself is s hit of a tourist trap. I'd probably pass through if I went hgat way again

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    9.6
    Very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The WI-FI signal it's pretty low if you stay in the room.

    Very helpful staff. Best hostel bathroom ever. Love it! Perfect location.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    9.6
    Friendly staff, really interesting and unusual hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly staff, really interesting and unusual hostel.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    10
    Very welcoming, nothing too much trouble.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very welcoming, nothing too much trouble. Like staying in a museum.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35

Guests also reviewed these properties: