Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Vía Castellana 4 stars

Paseo de la Castellana, 220, Chamartín, 28046 Madrid, Spain

#208 of 327 hotels in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 7569 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family room is 2 complete rooms with joint corridor. The bed width in reality was ~190 cm. Good city view. During the day in lobby there's cold water with lemon. Consigna.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room (1 adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    my room was 3rd floor it was little nosy becase it's too close to the main traffic road.

    Pretty good location, right in front of subway and bus stop, clean and nice room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found out that if you don't speak Spanish; - You will be on hold for a while on the phone. - You need to call multiple times asking for the same thing!! ( For example I called every day for Water heater and iron and never got )

    It's location And reception smelled nice all the time

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expensive breakfasts.

    Very close to metro and Chamartin train station. Some restaurants and bars on the opposite side of the street. Taco Bell and McDonnald's 100 meters away. Large rooms with comfortable beds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was a bit expensive.

    The location close to the metro was really useful. We got an upgrade for our room so we had a huge bathroom and a nice view on the street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is obviously used by many tour operators and checking in/out is not easy when the groups show up.

    Great location slightly outside the centre but right next to the Castellana bus/metro station. Nice comfortable rooms, quiet, great breakfast, reasonably priced, and with own garage.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in

    The check-in experience was terrible because of the complicated computer system AND because the computers were not functioning properly. The general check-in experience in Spain is overly complicated, but this was a nightmare.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They had a malfunction in Air conditioning so it wasnt working the flow of air was not that cold and low so thats was really not good

    Location is good next to metro station and other restaurants and staff and especially you can walk like 15 minuets to reach santiago bernabu staduim

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Requested a quiet room but got given a room facing the main street, fair enough, requests may not always be granted. The room had double glazed panes but the window in my room could not close properly to provide an air-tight seal and I could hear everything that was going on in the street. Requested for a room switch, denied due full hotel, was advised only possible next morning. In the morning I requested for a refund for the 1st night of the stay, and after some negotiation was given a partial refund. 2nd/3rd night was spent in a room facing the main street still, but with a working window noise level was significantly reduced. Marta at the lobby was very professional throughout. They also had their engineering team ready to fix the window first thing in the morning.

    Really comfortable mattress, supportive pillows. Spacious, clean rooms with decent temperature control. Good wifi. 5 mins walk to plaza de castilla station which takes you straight to city centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room (1 adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room near elevator was very noisy. People were walking and speaking very loudly even after midnight. Therefore sleeping was almost impossible on other night while staying at hotel.

    Friendly and polite staff. Room was clean, and location very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was a little out of the centre but taxis are always available. Check in took ages!!

    The hotel rooms were great for families and very spacious. It was clean and staff were friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On busy road

    Late minute booking and after a few problems finding the hotel (we were driving) , we got there and received a warm reception. Room was good size and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. We booked 2 rooms (they gave us a family suite that had 2 separate rooms inside) but only one room had the tea-coffee tray while other didn't. 2. Despite a high price of stay, breakfast is not free. Hence not value for money.

    Clean rooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    2. The lounge area, the sofa were old and dirty. 3. No coffee maker were provided in the room 4. No free mineral water were provided like most hotels 5. Language problem, make it difficult for tourists

    1. We didn't take the breakfast from the hotel (so can't comment on breakfast) 2. Front desk staff were very helpful 3. Location is good 4. The room meet expectation 5. Love the weather

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The elevator can get very busy. Probably good to stay for business travelers

    Location is not central, but is close to the metro so you can travel easily to the center or the airport. The room we were given was very large, and quite comfortable. They could add a few more bedside plugs for cell phones etc. Amazing view from the upper floor room! We were able to check in early which was nice of the staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room (1 adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its impossible to park the car in front of the entrance. Typical Spanish products like tortilla or porras in breakfast menu very low quality. Bed could be more comfortable. Windows could not be open apart from one close to the entrance of the room

    Breakfast OK. . Service good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff wasn’t always knowledgeable of the various attractions around the city even though the attractions were advertised by the hotel. Easily accessible to the airport by metro or cab.

    The room was very comfortable with views of the mountains. Location was excellent and located steps from the metro and bus. The buffet breakfast was delicious and staff was warm and inviting.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside is loud as it is on a roundabout however that is expected for being in a city Our room was cold, I believe the heating wasn’t actually working, staff gave us a heater which wasn’t ideal but good enough.

    Lovely room and clean Nicely set out and modern inside Staff helpful and quick Many languages spoken Location next to bus and train station 5 mins from city

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In keeping with the suit-wearing-action-film-protagonist theme, the area around Hotel Via Castellana is bizarrely sterile and marked by tall boxy buildings. Expect it to be dead at night (particularly compared to the rest of Madrid). The neighbourhood comes off a bit as a low-rent version of La Defense in Paris, and it's probably not worth walking to or from the hotel. Other than that, there aren't really many too complaints to be made, other than that it is potentially somewhat expensive, depending on your dates. These are, in the scheme of things, quite minor complaints, and overall one has to recommend the hotel highly.

    Hotel Via Castellana is the sort of the hotel a suit-wearing protagonist in an action film would stay in whilst visiting Madrid. Although not necessarily trendy, it is modern, tidy, and has extraordinarily polite and professional staff. I felt like I should have found a conference to go to. Fortunately for those of you without suits or conferences, it is quite literally across the street from a Metro station, and a five minute walk from a suburban rail station. It is a one-train ride, in either direction, to either the city centre, or Barajas Airport. Of course, it has all the standard amenities, such as comfortable beds, clean towels, room service, and quite good free Wi-Fi. Essentially, it does all a hotel should do quite well. On a miscellaneous sidenote, there are also very large illuminated letters on the side of the building spelling out its name, so the directionally challenged (such as this reviewer) can find it when stumbling back from Madrid bars at 3 AM (really, Madrid is a great city).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    changed my room from 5th floor to 3rd floor ( for different guest)

    Everything was very good, I just booked room at 5th floor, and when I came back my room has been change for 3rd floor. Its very unprofessional. Everything else s great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel felt tired, elevator creaked & groaned every time I used it. The bathroom was okay for size just needed refurbished, looked tired. Restaurant was not busy any night & you can understand why. Very limited menu & portions were small. Not expensive but for a 4 star hotel I would expect better food & rooms to be of a better standard

    Good location for transport links. Not too far out of areas where there are bars & restaurants. Staff very helpful & the room on the 9th floor had great views & was spacious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not to be able to park in the hotel’s parking when arriving (there was no room but fortunately there is a public parking just in front of the hotel).

    Fois transport

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sink was broken when we arrived and there was a toe nail on the bedroom floor. The beds could be more comfortable. It would be nice if I had to have two beds pushed together that the wheels would lock. Having to keep pushing the beds together was super unappealing.

    The staff was friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check-in was a little rude. I asked if I could have a room looking at the Cuatro Torres, then the receptionist started saying that they were superior rooms and I'd have to pay an extra 40€ charge each day. Eventually I was allocated a room on the sixth floor which did look out at the towers, so I was satisfied in the end.

    The location is very interesting. Right at the feet of the Plaza Castilla towers, with the Cuatro Torres Business Area in the distance. Room was very luxurious and spacious. Very close to the metro.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel doesn’t have much for tourists in the surrounding area, however there are transport links easily accessible on the hotels doorstep, therefore it is not much of a problem. I would particularly recommend using the metro!

    The rooms were of a high standard and the staff were friendly and approachable. From what I seen from the hotel I was more than satisfied, however we did not spend a great deal of time there and didn’t eat there so could not comment on some things!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We request a double bed when we booked...and got two beds pushed together with different bedding which was not ideal at all

    It was a nice room, and controllable aircon

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    No Tea/Coffee/Kettle facility in Room.Mini Bar drinks too expensive,No Ironing Board/Iron in room.Breakfast price too expensive at €12 per day.I had breakfast in various cafes outside of Hotel instead

    Clean,tidy accommodation

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurants were poor. Menu choice in the main restaurant in the evening was very, very limited. The breakfast buffet was ok but a wider range of fruit, yoghurt and cereal would have been appreciated.

    Location was perfect and the staff were extremely helpful. The later than normal checkout (12 o'clock was normal) and free internet were great for business travel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lock of one of the doors, was not working, took a while to fix. Its an hotel with some age, you can tell by the furniture and elevators. It is normally painful to go to the reception, you always have to wait, only one (mostly) or two employees available.

    Location is good, metro station at 50m. Easy to find and unpack. Easy (expensive) parking. Room size ok, beds ok, cleaning services good and polite. Quiet environment (at 6th floor).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    4star Hotel But no tea / coffee maker provided in room. Checkin was a nightmare, my booking included breakfast but she did not register in the hotel system. She could not speak much English while it is advertised on Booking.com that “we speak your language”. It took 45’ to checkin and there were just 3 in the queue including us!!!! Unbeleivable w a 4 star hotel. The male colleague was not better, he had a long face all the time, not only to me but also to other customers at checking

    Strategic location! Very easy and near metro, bus station. From here, it s eqsy to anywhere in Madrid.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff incentives might work as well as shorter shifts maybe even holidays! For the hotel facilities maybe just a refreshing face-lift!

    Location! View and connections. Its a great place to stay for one night in Madrid. The hotel and staff need a face lift - both looked tired and overworked. Although totally fair if we think about the price we paid! You must pay for low-cost in other ways. We loved our stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise of the lift can be heard from my room sounds like thunder.

    Staff, facilities and room size. Bed very comfortable and those little extra perks that the room has.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tight. No space between bed and desk. The tub was small in the bathroom. And was super hot inside the ac control didnt work. No english tv.

    Location thats it

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shabby and in need of refurbishment. Furniture was old although the wooden floors look fairly new. No kettle, no coffee or tea.

    Beds were large and comfortable enough for us. Location suited us for where we needed to go but not that close to the city. Minutes to transport hub.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very difficult to park the car as the parking was nearly full and the room for a big car is not big It is quite far away from la Plaza del Sol

    The staff was very kind and helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no tea/coffee facilities in the room

    very accessible to transports....the hotel is just across the bus station and metro....very quiet location...the size of the room is spacious....facilities are clean...food is good...very polite & courteous staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was quiet and stayed dark in the morning until we opened the curtains--we were able to make good inroads into our jet lag. We had a technology challenge while at the hotel and the personnel helped us resolve it cheerfully and professionally.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast looks like expensive, across the street , the breakfast for two is only 7 Euros. Same with the parking, 19 Euros is the higher I paid across Spain, between 10 thru 15 in all the 4 stars hotels I visited.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff even showed and tried to book us tickets for a football game on the Saturday, they couldn't do enough for you! Lovely hotel bed was so comfy and transport straight across the road

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked two rooms, but due to "late checkout", we had to wait 3 hours for one of the rooms to be ready. Aside from that, good place to be.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room (1 adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was exhausted and just needed a great place to sleep before catching my plane the next day. This hotel was perfect. Better than I expected when I booked it. Great bed. Nice view. Good location. Caught the Metro to the airport in the morning. Very nice knowledgeable staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On the 2nd floor in an exterior bedroom, traffic could still be heard on the street with the window closed.

    The room was big and comfortable and the staff were lovely.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    check-in staff was not the best. Both employees were looking for a stapler when I arrived and made me wait for it. Afterwards, one finally welcomed me but the other kept interrupting, this time for a hole puncher - silly, but not the best impression. Next day staff was superb, however.

    Location, very close to metro and workplace

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant staff weren’t helpful & rude, I amended my booking to include breakfast & paid for this upon arrival. But the restaurant staff then added this again to my bill trying to make me pay twice

    I appreciated the front desk staff were helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service is not 24/7 opens at 7pm not all staff speak good English especially room service or operator

    Place was nice staff friendly location good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hair dryers are too heavy and fashion, they should be replaced. Television in room 905 is too small and far from the bed.

    The front desk agents were very nice specially, Sara, Miguel and Clem most polite and professional!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and corridor a little bit noisy. We could hear neighbours. Guest rooms need a little bit of upgrade and renovation

    Close to metro station and train station. nice breakfast buffet Staff pleasant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out was slow and staff a bit dour.

    It was in the business area but still very easily accessible to Madrid centre - clean and good size room and bathroom. Very good toiletries provided.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old hotel, in need of reformation. Nothing like the pictures. Reserved a non smoking room with a double bed and views. Arrived and the room had no views and two singles beds. Staff were very unhelpful and reluctant to accomodate the change. At the end, after a considerable amount of time arguing with the rude and unqualified staff, we were offered a smoking room instead with the double bed and views, not what we had paid for.

    Great location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ordered a double bed, they gave me two singles (I suspect because I was solo), claiming no other double beds in the whole hotel - hardly believable! Kids behind front desk weren't helpful and certainly not 100% conversant in customer service and hospitality! I wouldn't have paid price I did knowing was staying in a single bed!

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel a bit dated and not recommended for honeymooners.

    The hotel location is great near to the metro and bus station. Staff were great and helpful. Room was very clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    all was very good

    nice hotel, very confortable, metro on crossing street, many facilities around the hotel, easy to take taxi to the airport, room spacious and very well equipped.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was great that they had a computer we could use as we needed to complete an urgent form but the process of printing the form was somewhat complicated. Would have been easier if they had a printer easily available then we wouldn't have had to keep bothering the staff.

    Great that they allowed us to leave our luggage free of charge whilst we attended a meeting.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel needs some maintenance and a up to date makeover. Dark, cold colors (even in a hot summer day), cold ambiance... Dated forniture, wasted floors and carpets, some lacks in the amenities offered... Noisy (but efficient) AC. If you pay a promotion price for it (around 50/60 €/$) it's ok. At normal fare, think twice...

    Good location, easy access to transport network - there are a hub 50 meters from the hotel door - and a quiet place in the weekends because is a business district of Madrid. Staff could made an effort to be a five star. They can be but they aren't. Just a four stars.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee facilities in the room and probably wouldn't stay here if visiting Madrid due to location.

    We booked the hotel for one night so we could get the early train to Salamanca in the morning. It's also located opposite the bus terminal. The location made it easy to get to - from the airport all trains go the Chamartin (5 Euros) then a one stop metro ride to Plaze de Castella (1.50 Euros). Rooms were clean with exceptionally comfy large single beds. Shower hot with good water pressure. We ate breakfast across the road and walked 5 mins to a Electrons Media Mart to buy a local sim.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar facility. Opening hours not good when hotels location for other bars and cafes poor. In such a large hotel there should have been a late bar.

    Great room size and accommodation. V clean. Breakfasts excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircondition was very warm. We tried to make it cooler and also called the front desk about it.This nice gentleman came to fix it and said it was fixed but unfortunately, the temperature stayed the same.

    We had a wonderful room, great view and it is so easy to get around from the hotel. You have a mcdonalds and a supermarket from walking distance. Love it ! Don't forget the subway and bus station which is right in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no kettle or tea! I have to pay a deposit of €20 for the kettle Asking for ice was a chore and we were told to pay €5 if we want them to deliver it to our hotel No iron

    The cleaning staff were amazing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is very old. You can hear everything and every time someone closes a door, it feels like an earthquake. It's super old and looks horrible. Facilities are in a horrible condition. Please do not go there! Save yourself the trouble.

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is a little far from city center but it is ideal for getting to the airport. The check in takes forever as well.

    We had a great deal on a connected suite for 5 people and a double bed! Super nice and beds were comfy. Right next to the metro.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although I arrive at 16.00 they told me that my room is not ready and I waited half hour more to get my room. There was smell of cigarette in the room and there was a bad smell in the hallway.

    Staff was helpful and very smiling. Bathroom was perfect when considered the price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were so comfy, staff were lovely and helpful the only thing we found was that parking was very expensive as we rented a car but there is a car park just opposite.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It should be Plan how to get to Car-Park because for local people is no problem but to somebody from different country is not so easy to get there- and no parking zone in front of Reception.

    Apartment was comfortable bed large and comfortable shower very good view from window excellent WI-Fi quick and very good Apartment clean .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel wys in the middle of the financial sector and close to chamartin. Not ideal if you want to get to the city centre quickly. The walls are really thin, my room neighbours decided it would be an awesome idea to engage in extreme coitus at 3am ( I had a flight out at 8). I imagine thats what they were doing, either that or they were amputating one of her limbs by the sounds they were making. Had the walls been any thinner, id have been able to see what was going on.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At night, there are no restaurants around that are open, except for a McDonalds.

    Very quit and comfortable. The room is spacious and AC is adjustable.... the view from my room was amazing as I was in the 6th floor. For what I paid this was a great deal :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was very comfortable. Location was alright but if you are more for shopping, then probably its a bit out of way. Going to the airport was convenient as there's a nearby metro station

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Being robbed in the foyer was not what you you would expect in a hotel like this. Unfortunatey the reception is not close to the entrances and the staff were always busy. Be careful as random people come and sit in the foyer without any physical security presence. Be careful.

    The room was cool as the air conditioning was good. Beds were omfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed kept moving away from the wall when you sat with your back against the headboard when watching TV.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant was of a high standard.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Cleaning is done late in the afternoon.

    The location is excellent next to the metro and bus station, in a quiet area of the city. Friendly staff at the reception.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    Close to the train station. Good location for visiting the cathedral and old part of the town. Friendly, helpful and attentive owner and staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    I liked the tranquility, the comfort and the cleanliness. The staff was very helpful. There is a detail I liked especially: the complimentary fresh water with lemon and grape slices you could have at the hotel hall. It was perfect for a hot summer day. The views of the Kio towers are also worth mentioning.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't want to leave the wrong impression. But we asked for a non-smoking room, which we got. There was absolutely no smell of smoke inside the room. But the hallway on our floor smelled a lot like smoke and tobacco. Maybe it's better to accommodate smokers on certain floors, and non-smokers on other floors. Again, I do not want to leave the wrong impression: the room was smelled clean and was very neat/tidy/comfortable.

    This is the third time I stayed with my girlfriend in this hotel. Very friendly staff, clean and tidy rooms, very comfortable beds, and the hotel is willing to accommodate extra requests (in our case, an iron and ironing board)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was over priced for what it was in the hotel restaurant. Also hotel bed was very uncomfortable - worst bed in my 35 day stay throughout Spain! Actually only bed that bothered me - I'm a pretty easier sleeper!

    The rooms were clean and modern. Room service was an added bonus.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy staff in the morning, hotel getting old, no way to stop to unload in front of the hotel without blocking the bus lane

    Clean, nice enough, great location, great price. Pleasant temperature everywhere in the hotel in the hottest day of the year in Madrid.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Initial service at reception could have been better.

    Great location/base from which to explore Madrid [in a mainly business area]. Train station across the road. Hotel for a 4 star is a bit basic - however for a short trip does nicely. Convenient for tours around the Bernabue. Big rooms, comfortable for 2 people.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Vía Castellana traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: