Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Castillo de Ateca 2 stars

Castillo, s/n, 50200 Ateca, Spain

#1 of 2 hotels in Ateca

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 631 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Excellent hosts making a very enjoyable stay in a beautiful castle.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - 1 o 2 Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Easy parking. Ideal location in the centre of the town. Hosts were excellent with attention to detail. Could not do enough to make our stay very enjoyable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Don't pass up this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I didn't stay longer.

    Contemporary, comfortable hotel in the center of a small village. Not to be missed! Great food. Maria & Antonio attentive and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.8
    Nice place in a small-medium village, not far from more...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - 1 o 2 Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just small details. Coffee machine based on capsules, good coffee but I prefer "normal" one. Smashed tomate for breakfast did not look too natural. Bedside lights only had one switch (that I could find), easy to fix,I think..

    Nice place in a small-medium village, not far from more touristic ones, but peaceful. Room ample and comfortable. Breakfast was good and dinner was fine. The owner was extremely friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent overnight stay to break our journey with dog.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - 1 o 2 Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hosts were very friendly and welcoming. The total price was very good with no extra charges for pets, parking and breakfast. The hotel was clean and cosy with brand new mattresses and pillows. The breakfast was excellent with good selection.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    A great find for our stop-over (handy to the A2 Autovia) and we will most certainly stay again
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - 1 o 2 Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing we didn't like

    Everything! The property is an amazing castle, beautifully renovated and in an imposing situation overlooking the narrow streets and alleys of the old town. The rooms are extremely comfortable, the restaurant excellent and the staff are really friendly and helpful. The log burner in the comfortable lounge is very welcome when it's chilly and Antonio is an excellent host - arranging for us to eat in the lounge so we did not have to leave our dog in the room. Parking is simple, and Antonio emails you the route through the narrow streets!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.6
    Most unusual!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - 1 o 2 Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed linnen and pillows were heavily perfumed and so we had to use all the available towels to cover the pillows in order to get some sleep. Presumably this was an attempt to get rid of smokers smells! This was really very annoying and did spoil a good nights sleep. Would we stay again?? Probably, but we would take our own pillow.

    This is a most unusual hotel which seems impossible to find and yet it isn't because it is well signposted and the directions are fine. There were only 4 guest when we stayed and only we two had dinner, which was then served up near the wood fire. They only speak Spanish so it is a question of pointing at the menu and hoping for the best - but we were certainly not disappointed. Our salad was excellent and so was the 'house special' lamb dish main course. Everything is clean and maintained.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.8
    I would repeat :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - 1 o 2 Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have back problems and the bed was not the best part of the stay, but it is the average bed you would find in any other place (I find this problem frequently when I am traveling)

    The place is beautiful, the atmosfere is pleasant and the owners are very thoughtful and nice. Also the dinner was espectacular.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.3
    Owners made the stay very special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - 1 o 2 Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could benefit from the addition of cereals and/ or eggs.

    Excellent help from the owner in all respects. Parking easy to access and secure. Clean accommodation. Good choice of food for dinner and good value. Beautiful setting and views.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.6
    A castle for a night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the bed a bit uncomfortable,but that's a personal thing,which may suit other guests.

    The staff were very welcoming and accommodating.food was wonderful and huge portions ,great gin and tonics. Lovely courtyard to sit inside the castle and area to sit outside looking over the town in the evening. Can dine here too if you wish,which I recommend you do. Free parking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    7.5
    Stunning views
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - 1 o 2 Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It needs upgrading. The decorations were probably done 20 years ago. Too many trinkets. They obviously had a function happening the next day in the room next to the restaurant. The noise!!

    The position, views, grounds with a small church were stunning, There was a confirmation party going on with a disco and the kids all playing on the crazy golf

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    10
    Beautiful castle on the hill
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - 1 o 2 Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress a little too firm for me xx Antonio and his wife couldn't do enough for us although they spoke no English x

    Breakfast had everything we needed to carry on with our journey

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    7.9
    Nice elevated location,friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - 1 o 2 Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower cubicle was too small and would benefit from a thermostatic mixer to control water temperature and a light above.

    Nice helpful staff, good location,pleasant room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    10
    Don't hesitate to stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - 1 o 2 Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owners are very friendly caring and helpful. Loved the evening meal and breakfast. Free and easy parking, unusual in Spain, easy drive up to the hotel. Don't miss the Mudejar bell tower close by.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Good staff & food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - 1 o 2 Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff very helpful, gave us advice for visits. Home-made food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    Home cooked food
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Home cooked food Staff very friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - 1 o 2 Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked kettle for tea/coffee.

    Very pleasant place with castle, stork's nest, indoor courtyard and good restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Fab
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff and friendliness plus good food

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel in an interesting building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - 1 o 2 Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Very interesting building. Good, comfortable room. Friendly owner.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful people in a wonderful place. Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - 1 o 2 Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi not good.

    Very special location: 9th century castle. Very hospitable and friendly people. Good dinner.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    8.8
    Very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - 1 o 2 Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff and location. Good value for money and very good evening meal and breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    10
    Very friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - 1 o 2 Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hospitality- great meal and wine. Loved the gin and tonics .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    10
    EXCELLENT 11/10
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was EXCELLENT

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    8.8
    nice breakfast, grat view in the morning, very helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nice breakfast, grat view in the morning, very helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    9.2
    Tour of the chuch was a
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    7.9
    Staff were helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Being elderly, we found the location difficult to access, but realise this cannot be altered !

    Staff were helpful and friendly. Food was very good. We were given a ground floor room, which was very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    8.8
    Fabulous location in terms of views.
    • Couple

    Getting to the hotel was a bit precarious as we had a fully loaded car but I guess it was worth it for the views.

    Fabulous location in terms of views. Nice friendly staff and comfortable room. Good food at dinner and breakfast. Lovely courtyard and the best gin and tonics in Spain!

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    8.3
    Hotel Castillo is family run ,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The streets are very narrow and steep making it very difficult to manoeuvre the car both in and out . Also many steps .so would be difficult for people with walking difficulties

    Hotel Castillo is family run , They was all very friendly and helpful And made our stay very comfortable Nothing was too much for them . My husband had the set evening meal which was excellent but I was not hungry and asked for Egg & Chips which was cooked to perfection and delicious.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    9.2
    I liked being in a castle that has been done up modestly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I liked being in a castle that has been done up modestly and tastefully as a hotel. It's nice that it's not part of a mega-international chain, it has more character and I mean that in a good way. The young men and women working there are very nice, and the restaurant was EXCELLENT for dinner.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    7.9
    Willingness and helpfulness of staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The approach to the Hotel was manageable though the alley -ways were narrow and signed directions absent. No bar and lounge area not too inviting.

    Willingness and helpfulness of staff. Location in an interesting elevated position in quaint old town, with extensive countryside views. Meals were OK but thought the freezer was main supplier! Could not fault cleanliness of room and facilities.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    5.8
    The supper was excellent and the building nice.
    • Couple

    The access to the hotel from the parking a little bit cumbersome. Rooms to expensive in comparison to other places in Spain.

    The supper was excellent and the building nice.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    5.4
    Good breakfeast, staff was nice
    • Couple

    Room was dirty

    Good breakfeast, staff was nice

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    9.6
    Straight forward, comfortable and not pretentious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Straight forward, comfortable and not pretentious. Great food and selection of wine. Really helpful people.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    7.9
    Charming, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a very interesting town but this did not matter for an overnight stop.

    Charming, helpful staff. Nice local cuisine.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    9.6
    Enjoyed staying in an old converted castle, beautifully laid...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike

    Enjoyed staying in an old converted castle, beautifully laid out

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    8.3
    Good for an overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good for an overnight stay

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    8.8
    Nice old Spanish village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too hilly for the elderly who are not completely fit

    Nice old Spanish village

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Browse Hotel Castillo de Ateca traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: