Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Castillo de Ayud 3 stars

Avenida Diputación, 8, 50300 Calatayud, Spain

#1 of 10 hotels in Calatayud

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1257 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 61

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.1
    Bad choice of hotel,some people learn by their mistakes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were staying in the annex,which was a very old building with poor lighting.When one of the light bulbs went,I asked at reception for a replacement,the receptionist looked at me like I had two heads,she said there was NOTHING SHE COULD DO!! I said that I could not believe that a hotel like this didn’t have any spare light bulbs.She just shrugged her shoulders and said sorry but that’s it. The following day,another bulb had blown,making it worse in the room,a different receptionist said”the bulbs don’t normally break,we don’t have any spare”.I expressed my disgust,and left,as I knew I was wasting my time.However when the cleaners came to service the room,they brought two new bulbs. I think the staff on reception could do with some training in customer service.

    Breakfast was OK,snack bar was OK.Staff in bar were very good.The lady in charge of bar could see that my wife was distressed at breakfast,without even asking,she brought a cold drink to help her,so a big thank you to her.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.8
    The location, wifi and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed at the castle for one night and to walk from the reception to the room there is too many stairs and you walk throu corridors under the hotel. I don’t think the room was very good for the value.. tv was in a bad position as only one could watch it. Maybe the spa should be free for people who stays there or at least for the ones who get a superior room. Some things in the spa didn’t work.

    The location, wifi and breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    A convenient stopover for the ferry at Santander
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was rather hard, a better selection of cereals would have been appreciated at breakfast.

    Good location just a short walk from the city centre. Good and reasonably priced menu del dia.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    Very nice hotel and the car parking is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The barman was a bit off hand when I asked what time food would be served in the café. Even though it says 7.00pm on the website etc, he insisted that the time was 8.00pm. I gave up and went somewhere else - they are lots of local cafes nearby.

    I did not use the restaurant for a main evening meal but the breakfasts are very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel, slightly out of centre, not very peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are quite thin, I could hear the person next door snoring. Wifi was slow on laptop. All the tables at breakfast were dirty, the staff cleared the tables by banging everything together - not what you want when you've just woken up. Had to pay extra to use the spa and parking which wasn't on the listing.

    Hotel very modern and newly refurbished. Receptionist very helpful and kind. Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.2
    Ecellent stop-over for travelers on the Zaragossa-Madrid autovia.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As with nearly all hotels the room was too hot. Very minor niggle was how slowly the bath filled!

    Easy to find from motorway for overnight break with all you need half-way through a two-day drive - bar, food and comfortable room. Accommodating staff found us a table to eat at despite being extremely busy on the night of the Epiphany holiday.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.2
    Convenient and comfortable. I personally appreciated having a sheet and blanket not a duvet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't know till after I had booked that on site parking has to be reserved and cost E7.5 a night. However, there was space in front of the front door at no charge. So no problem. There was a broken bed side reading light. But generally very good.

    Comfortable spacious facilities, air-conditioning and fridge, handy for the A2 motorway.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.2
    Definitely on our "regular" stopover list
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only observation that we could possibly make was that the decor was a little tired but.....for the price we couldn't complain

    It was modern, clean and oh so very close to the centre. A big bonus was their own underground parking. Also in our travels, we think that we have not come across a better shower.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    5.4
    Not a place to stay in the summer under any circumstances.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When arriving at the hotel the street temperature was 32 Celsius. When checking in the room temperature was 26 Celsius Went down to the lobby and asked if it could be regulated (controlled by office) to about 20 or 21 Was done and it became quite comfortable.. Went to bed at 10.30 PM and by 2 AM the room temperature was back up to 25. Called and nothing could be done then. Next morning spoke to manager and was promised that the Air Conditioner would be left on and would work all night with the temperature set at 21. Did NOT happen. Second night same story, 2 AM room at 25. Complained when checking out - shrug of the shoulder was the only reply. A DISGRACE!!

    The hotel is ok, the rooms are acceptable and most items do work properly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast had good hot and cold variety and was good value. We ate dinner at the hotel also and enjoyed that and the choices available. The hotel's position is excellent for going into town and also onto the motorway.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    10
    Always great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got a good room but it overlooked the town. We would have preferred the side where we know we can see the hills and also the storks nesting on the chimneys.

    Everything, the position is excellent near town centre,good breakfast with hot choices, and good dinner in the evening.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    9.2
    Very welcoming staff in modern hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was opposite the lift and with most Spanish guests eating late it meant that we were disturbed when they returned to their rooms chatting loudly.

    The room was spacious and the breakfast was good. We also used the underground parking and it had a high level of security.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    7.1
    Convenient Stop Between Barcelona and Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk and wait staff weren't rude, they we're just disinterested.

    Though the room had dark wood and furnishings which made it a little gloomy, the room was modern and clean, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was generous.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.8
    Secure parking, rooms and bathroom good for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Secure parking, rooms and bathroom good for the price. Restaurant offers great value supper and breakfast very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.3
    close to the main highway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    close to the main highway

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.3
    recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    very good, well located, 5 min walk to the center. comfortable, clean. good price/quality relation

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Excellent value evening meal!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent value evening meal!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.9
    Excellent Value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea kettle or coffee machine in the room

    Excellent Value

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel. Excellent value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good.

    Modern hotel. Smart, clean room. Although it was next to a busy road, it has excellent sound insulation and so it was quiet. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    3.3
    Room was on the 6 th floor,long way down to take dogs out...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was on the 6 th floor,long way down to take dogs out for a wee and room a little small for 2 adults and 2 dogs

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    10
    All aspects of the hotel was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All aspects of the hotel was very good Pleasant staff and nice surroundings The directions to get there were very good too

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    A perfect mid point stopover on my journey back up through Spain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.A perfect stopover

    Friendly helpful staff, comfortable warm room, good breakfast, on site parking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.8
    Great experience. We'll repeat for sure.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and comfortable. Good location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.5
    Frustrating
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in poor condition. Had to pay for secure parking.

    Good location with on site restaurant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.3
    en general tot correcte
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    en general tot correcte

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel, conveniently located for a quick stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice hotel, conveniently located for a quick stop. Straight in from the highway and just a few minutes walk to several bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.5
    Incredible value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast a little pricey so had it at very good cafe nearby.

    Very reasonable price for modern hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.3
    Great place to stay in Calatayud
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was ok

    Great location with good parking facility and easy access. Quite modern and comfortable

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    9.2
    Confortable hotel a 5 minutos andando del paseo principal de Calatayud
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Limpio, confortable, tranquilo, a 5 minutos andando del centro (Paseo)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Regular stop for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner and breakfast at the hotel were both excellent as usual. There is a good gym and spa although we did not use them this trip.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    9.6
    Warm stay in cold Calatayud.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean warm modern and comfortable. Shower leaked onto bathroom floor but otherwise no complaints. Quite a good little gym and nice pool.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    8.3
    Very good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception less than friendly.

    Very good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    10
    Really appreciated the service provided by the front desk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really appreciated the service provided by the front desk staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    9.6
    Everything was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good. Friendly staff. Spa was fabulous.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    Very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    8.3
    Modern hotel with good facilities for 3 star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking extra, but it was secure... Free and plentiful parking outside. Windows need a good clean.

    Modern hotel with good facilities for 3 star. Breakfast good, although not outstanding. Room comfortable with big bed.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    9.6
    Conveniently placed and a good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was a bit of a disaster. Ran out of eggs and bacon 30 minutes before closing time and were not prepared to produce any more.

    Conveniently placed and a good hotel

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    9.6
    Lovely room, breakfast ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Evening meal was dreadful. No vegetables with main course In a party of 4, no-one could eat the food.

    Lovely room, breakfast ok. Very clean. Pleasant staff

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    8.8
    The staff were very friendly and spoke good English.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were very friendly and spoke good English. The room was comfortable and clean and we could park the car safely in the building. The Dining Room was good and we enjoyed breakfast for a reasonable $7.50 extra. The motel was in a quiet location and easy to find and in a good position for walking around town and to the local restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    8.8
    Modern hotel which is functional, comfortable and a great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Modern hotel which is functional, comfortable and a great place to lay your head. It is close to the centre and benefits from underground secure parking. Very good value

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    7.5
    Bouncy castle, slide and swing set up by outside cafeteria...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Although the hotel was only a few years old - it looked 'dated'. Due to some slats missing on a blind - use of the ensuite was on view to bed area!

    Bouncy castle, slide and swing set up by outside cafeteria area!

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    8.3
    Quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could mot monitor heating in nedroom was set at a specific temperature but staff available to change temperature. Beds extremely hard even for people who are used to harder beds.

    Quiet. Nice staff. Clean. Good restaurant. Great and copious breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    10
    The hotel could have 4 stars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel could have 4 stars. The restaurant had 15 € dinner menu that was really good value for money. We also liked the spa - small but cozy. Overall really really good hotel.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    10
    Not expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing much to tell

    Not expensive Nice pool better than a typical 4 star hotel Quiet location

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    8.3
    wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    wifi

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2015

    8.8
    Convenient stay on our trip to Bilbao
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Convenient stay on our trip to Bilbao

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    8.8
    Location great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location great. Restaurant was good for a meal on an overnight stay en route to Bilbao

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    8.8
    Very good breakfast, friendly and resourceful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very good breakfast, friendly and resourceful staff. Clean and tidy.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    10
    staff are very helpful
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    staff are very helpful

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    10
    Excellent value in modern hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent value in modern hotel. Hotel restaurant offered lovely menu of the day for quality & amazing price .

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    7.5
    Nice hotel on the way from Madrid to Zaragoza.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice hotel on the way from Madrid to Zaragoza.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    7.5
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Swimming pool not open on Sundays.

    Good location. Secure parking. Nice cafe and decent menu for dinner. Excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    8.3
    Very modern good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor water pressure in shower. Not well insulated noise from the hallway.suana not opened long enough.

    Very modern good hotel

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    10
    Quiet hotel just off the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quiet hotel just off the city center.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    10
    the parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    cigarette smoke smell coming through the air conditioning

    the parking

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    10
    La situation, le rapport qualité-prix, le confort des...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    La situation, le rapport qualité-prix, le confort des installations, le rapas

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    10
    Everything,especially the varied and fresh breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything,especially the varied and fresh breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    10
    Temperature in room was too hot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Temperature in room was too hot

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    9.2
    Exercise room, parking availability,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Exercise room, parking availability, cafe/bar/restaurant, proximity to town center.

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 61

Guests also reviewed these properties: