Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Posada Real Castillo del Buen Amor

Carretera N-630, Km 317, 37799 Villanueva de Cañedo, Spain

#1 of 1 hotels in Villanueva de Cañedo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 686 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the fittings within the room could be updated - eg. rugs and shower - although we have mentioned this to the hotel and they have responded with the intention of updating. Apparently the food in the restaurant is good but they had limited options for vegetarians so we ate elsewhere for dinner - breakfast was great though.

    The setting of the hotel and pool is stunning in the heart of Spanish countryside but not too far away from Salamanca. We were driving through to Portugal and it was the perfect stopover. The building is beautiful and the bedroom was large and comfortable. There were many different areas to relax both inside and outside the castle and the pool was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    History of the place, the turrets, swimming pool in the moat! Amazing food and wine from their own vineyards! Staff where lovely and it was so clean. Would recommend completely, and hope to return one day!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like,a couple of door hinges need oiling,very sqeaky when trying to relax.

    Everything was very good, fantastically furnished throughout, amazing place

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent food and staff. Beautiful castle. Beautiful rooms. Lovely patio and historical. Just watch your hard if you are tall as was are 10 feet thick and very low in places. It's like a maze inside.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The choice of breakfast was very limited the same each day. Service was very poor hardly no staff, one person running between restaurant & bar it was like fawlty towers. The reception staff very good pleasent helpful & good knowledge of area. Other staff could do with some customer service training.

    Lication

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly nothing

    It is not often that I think hotel and location in fact the whole experience was fantastic and cannot rate it highly enough defiantly on my stay again list. Not only was I treated well but also my pets :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Indications to reach the place with Google maps are totally false and force you to drive 30 km too far. Exit on motorway from Salamanca is the jail (penitenciary).

    Exceptional Hotel, with antiques decor all over. Good restaurant, a bit expensive with excellent service. Very quiet environment.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When booking on booking.com there was no indication the the pool was out of use.

    The building was stunning and grounds well maintained. Highly recommended.The staff where very friendly and helpful better than most Hotels.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Music in restaurant was awful Food in restaurant not up to standard Smell of fertilisers from nearby farms was overwhelming Lack of outdoor eating and sitting area

    The grounds

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fabulous building and interiors. Warm and cosy rooms. Good breakfast offering. Dinner was good, but perhaps not as great as I had hoped. Dog-friendly (lots of them).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More personalized service to enhance the stay in such a lovely place.

    Great historic building not far from Salamanca town. It is a very unique experience worth staying for a few days. Will return as they make pets most welcome.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only that the room was rather dark, we understand we stayed in the dungeon but the dark red walls would have been so much better white to lighten it up!

    Thoroughly recommend this lovely castle as a stop over, not far from the main road and situated in the countryside so no town to negotiate. It has a much more personal service than a Parador and the food is so much better, in fact one of the best meals we have had in a hotel in Spain. The staff are friendly and it has a comfortable atmosphere. We found it deal for our two small dogs, plenty of space to exercise them and there is grass right the way round the castle. We will certainly return.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    SAT NAV will take you across fields but if you just stay on the main road until you see the sign post.

    The very ambiance of the castle was amazing. If you like places away from everything this is the place to stay. The pool was very inviting and the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a function on in the courtyard that evening with there own band/singer - it was quite loud. The good thing - they finished up at about 10. Dinner started late for a family with two young children - 9pm, which meant it wasn't served until about 10pm.

    Because we could not have four to a room I specifically requested our kids (11 and 9) have a room next door to us. I suspect it resulted in our room being upgraded. Thankyou

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A couple of the meals in the restaurant that we ordered, were huge amounts of meat, tasty, but too much. We could have split them between too. Ask for more information before you order!

    The atmosphere, the history, the comfort. Lovely place to relax. The food was very good, especailly the breakfast, an amazing range of things to choose from.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Next time I would choose a room that's not on the lowest floor, moat level. The food was good, but please, the extra charges for eating anywhere except the restaurant and charges for bread are not justifiable.

    Wonderful castle and very relaxing. Swimming pool and pool area are great for chilling out.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The gentleman that decided to launch a drone... however it was soon stopped!

    Wow and wow. What wasn't to like, this place is sooo special. We got lost in the charm and quirky nature of this amazing place. This is magical and right out of a book. We drove here from the UK through France and are definitely coming back it's that good. But keep it a secret otherwise everyone will know!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm so impressed with the staff here. We had a problem in our room and we really appreciated how the staff took care of it. I'm not sure the name of the woman at the front desk but we want to say thank you again for accommodating us. There was no hesitation in making sure the problem was solved and it showed how much they truly value the care of their guest. It's rare these days to get this kind of service and it was very unexpected so we truly can't thank you enough for your generous hospitality! Overall the room was comfortable and very charming. Dinner at the restaurant was absolutely delicious and watching the stars at night in the courtyard was something not to miss. We had an excellent time escaping and enjoying the beauty of such a place. The welcome drink and the pool are also nice added touches when staying at a romantic Medieval Castle. I would highly recommend not passing up experiencing a place like this. It's unforgettable!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    After parking we had to carry our luggages through the cobble stones. And it's not a short way! It shouldn't be so difficult to pave a small flat surface area for carry ons to make it a convenient entrance. After check in we had to move our luggages up two floors. I understand the fact that an elevator would be incompatible with the charasteristics of the property but management could consider having bell boys. This is a hotel not a reality show in castle. It is very inconvenient for elderly customers and familes with small children. You need to go through alleys and an inner courtyard, floor height changes so it is a real struggle to reach the rooms with luggages. The same at check out. No bell boys, front office people just watched our struggle with luggages with curious eyes.

    The room size, comfortable bed and nice views from the terrace.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was in the basement with the only emergency exit out of a 30" square window into the moat. The room was so dark we needed lights on all the time. The dinning room has NO WINDOWS AT ALL and is like a dungeon. Dinner is not possible till after 9.0pm and breakfast is not officially served till 9.0 am but in practice is not available till at least 9.30 which is totally useless if driving through Spain. Be very careful before booking here.

    Spectacular building

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WIFI was not available in our basement room no 9 - the router was changed but still didn't work! We had to sit in the Reception area for 2 hours to catch up on our emails etc. The Hotel offers WIFI but it only works properly in the Reception area

    Breakfast is good - some cereal choice would be nice

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was a little claustrophobic within very thick walls and one tiny window. Previous stay we had much brighter room with balcony. So be careful which room you book.

    Bed very comfy and food excellent.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The time we spent in the check-out. I suggest to add other person in the front desk to have to lines at noon, at least on weelends.

    The castle, the surroundings.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing every thing was perfect.

    Fabulous old building tastefully updated.Rural location with views across countryside. Great facilities.Very friendly staff. Excellent food both evening meal and breakfast.Will definitely stay longer next time and there will definitely be a next time.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only disappointment: menu in the restaurant was uninspiring, restaurant staff were fine but food was mediocre, value for money: expensive; tried it 2 nights, but would certainly not have a meal every night if we'd stayed longer.

    Tranquility, possibility of walking on the premises, and certainly the lake where our dog could cool down and enjoy himself.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maintenance in general excepted the rooms Poor breakfast Lack of staff

    Old medieval castle Remote Very clean and comfortable rooms Nice dinner

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant could open slightly earlier in the evening (e.g. 20.00hrs)

    The quietness and style.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The interior. It's big and you'll really feel that you are inside the castle.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was under maintenance and closed, the maze was torn down.

    Great castle and deco, totally different experience!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was a little patchy.

    Loved the atmosphere and staying in this beautiful castle.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Wonderful location and facilities, helpful, friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard of food at dinner wasn’t good

    Atmosphere of the castle and great furnishings Staff very friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really friendly staff. Room exceeding expectations.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room had steps which did not suit my wife The breakfast area was congested

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was outstanding

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner starts too late at 21:00.

    Quite location. Fascinating place. Subtly converted to a hotel. Great service. Easy to drive to Salamanca.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great place to stop no problem at all

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was a bit tense, and the breakfast buffet did not flow well.

    The building is a spectacular renovation, truly breathtaking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was very below par. Canned corn, canned asparagus, boring food, no imagination.

    The medieval castle atmosphere was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Good size comfy beds. Wonderful old castle and interior. Good food & wine.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely weather we could have eaten outside.

    Charming castle north of Salamanca in the heart of the country side. Good for dog walking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    flexibility in terms of restaurant hours

    the room was enchantingly romantic

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was ll positive.

    The building, the pool, the food, the wine and the ambience.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - everything really lovely

    Amazing building, lovely grounds and setting, comfortable room, helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The placement of the restaurant in a cellar, booring Food not interesting Breakfast quite poor.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Atmosphere very historic!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and Castle are oustanding. Fantastic place for a stop over from and too ferries. Very pet friendly!!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water in pool

    Character

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could ear some noises at night. Sometimes they were wild animals, but some were manmade.

    Unique setting and environment! lovely place!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Confort

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was extra comfortable and the food in the restaurant was exceptional .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very historic and beautiful old castle. A very comfortable place to stay. With a good restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the atmosphere & comfort.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Magnific travel back in time to middle age with all the comfort of a recent 5 star hotel. Very good breackfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast only starts at 9am, this is very late for us

    Really kind staff and amazing decor

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a beatiful castle near Salamanca. The staff, the rooms and the meals are amazing. It's really worth the visit

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    everything

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashioned rooms

    Fantastisch place, fab pool, romantic setting, good food

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Todo! Una joya!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    timing of breakfast which was only from 09:00 which is considerable late

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The smell from the birds is very overpowering - perhaps if the pigeons were encouraged to feed elsewhere this will improve

    Very friendly staff - excellent food and local wine - good size rooms - very comfortable bed - good bathroom facilities

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hard to find, get good directions from hotel by phone. My GPS wouldn't recognise the off road bit.

    Friendly staff, lovely setting , good breakfast, magical castillo.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the food was terrible, overpriced and lacking quality, no other places to eat nearby. basement rooms are very dark.

    Ambience of the place & surroundings. swimming pool.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is a fascinating place to stay and as it is not too far from the motorway makes it convenient for travel between uk and Spain or Portugal. Tne staff are extremely helpful and when I had problems with my car called a mechanic from Salamanca and stayed with me until the problem was fixed. A great place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We left the window of our room so let in lots of flies. We should have known better as very rural position of hotel.

    Very quaint lovely old castle full of character Excellent breakfast and dinner in the dungeons ! Very close to Zamora motorway so handy for through travel to Spain or Portugal

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The portions at dinner were overwhelmingly big, and therefore we left a lot of excellent food. Given that meals in the restaurant are relatively expensive, we would have preferred smaller portions, with lower prices to reflect this!

    This is a wonderful location, full of history and character, with a lovely swimming pool, a splendid maze (needs a feature in the centre!), and impressive views from the turrets. We had a very attractive, spacious room and bathroom, with beautiful windows opening almost to the floor. We loved the decor throughout the Castillo, and found the staff to be extremely helpful.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A long of concrete stairs so I would recommend a lower level room. I upgraded and it was well worth it.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. As soon as I reported a light bulb not working and trouble in using the room safe the male receptionist came with me and resolved the safe issue and identified a faulty plug socket and made the room better for me. Also, on my final morning when I said to the female receptionist that I wanted to take the best photos of the castle she gave my precise instructions on how to reach the top turret. Again excellent service.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    not so easy to find with sat nav but that's not the hotels fault .

    its different from your average hotel , its out on its own allowing you to get away from the world .

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolutely fabulous characterful property, it could not have been bettered. Staff friendly. Everything spotlessly clean. Food Michelin standard and far too plentiful!

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    rooms and bathrooms are less comfortable. anyhow it is a very good value for money.

    The castle is very nice and well preserved stuff all the public areas are very nice

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Definitely not suitable for anyone with a walking disability. Guests cannot avoid the need to climb and descend many steep stone steps and stairs.

    Peaceful surroundings to a stunningly beautiful historic castle. Internal courtyard magnificent, and all the public rooms filled with genuine antique furniture.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The castle is impressive but welcoming, the grounds are impressive but homely. The rooms are large and had we been staying longer we would have requested a superior room with a view over the vineyard and pastures. The bath was large as was the separate shower with lashings of hot water. The food was very good and the quantity large. This is a taste of luxury on a modest budget. The family who own the castle are trying really hard to make your stay special and they are doing a great job.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No tea and coffee making facilities in room.

    Plenty of free parking. Lots of room to walk dog. Dog made welcome with dog bowl and bed. A lake, maze and vineyard to explore. Fantastic views.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The castle itself is very nice from the outside. The day staff did their best to make the stay nice and comfortable. The room (in the old outside wall) was big and nice coloured. The picture (our booking was based on) is wrong. The pool was empty; the green with the relaxing area was not existing (ompletly closed, no chairs etc.). The hotel is mainly a party location, the upper rooms were blocked by an event and life for hotel guest took place in the cellar. Breakfast is also downstairs. As hotel rooms are also in the cellar it is a bit like living under earth. On top of this Situation there is no international TV and no WLAN in the rooms.

    The castle itself is very nice from the outside. The day staff did their best to make the stay nice and comfortable. The room (in the old outside wall) was big and nice coloured.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We were disappointed that the pool was open as that was one of the main reasons for going, i.e. to sit and relax by the pool. Having said that, the wind was cold so I doubt we would have wanted to actually swim. It does say seasonal on the website, but for a Brit, seasonal means when the sun is shining, so I think dates would be more helpful. As pescatarians, we were quite restricted food-wise, the menu mostly meat, but then this is more cultural that castle specific.

    The castle is absolutely lovely. Decor etc was authentic, not a castle wannabe. Would have loved to snoop in all the rooms! Location is lovely and peaceful, very pretty countryside, lots of wildlife.

There are also 32 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: