Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Casual Madrid del Teatro 2 stars

Echegaray, 1, Madrid City Centre, 28014 Madrid, Spain

#162 of 350 hotels in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1669 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    6.7
    good staff, good breakfast good location but not so comfortable room and bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    not so comfortable room, furniture was not well placed, bathroom was not comfortable due to placement of old bathtub which was slippery and we had to take shower in that no other option.

    perfect location to see madrid on ur feet, staff was very nice specially the lady at breakfast (sorry i dont remember her name) but she took good care of us. and yes Ammar who will welcome you with a story to tell.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    6.7
    due to the central location there is a lot of noise...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    due to the central location there is a lot of noise throughout the night making it difficult to sleep - although this probably depends heavily on which room you are in

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    6.7
    Location was great and the hotel theme was interesting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needed better lighting as it was too dark. Also it would have been nice to gave3tea or coffee making facilites and a small fridge

    Location was great and the hotel theme was interesting

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    All I all, a great value Hotel in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike

    Such a quirky Hotel, from the moment you enter through the door to opening and seeing the bedrooms. Great value for money, would definitely stay here again, absolutely no complaints whatsoever 👍🏻👏🏻😀

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    8.8
    Heart of Madrid. Excellent staff, breakfast view from patio. AC asking for retirement time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only one what we don't like. They need something to do with air conditioner. Old and so noisy. At night time periodically they screaming and asking for retirement for them. It's wake you up. And you can't setup temperature less then 24 C.

    Location is perfect! Staff is very friendly. Isabel and Elena helps with all requests. Breakfast very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    8.3
    Fun decorations .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airco didn’t seem to work . Truth to be told , we were too tired to spend the time to go to front desk to have it checked . Just be aware ( we were) that’s on a busy street.

    Fun decorations . Old wallpaper but nicely distracted by huge wall decoration of beauty and the beast . Beds clean . Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    9.6
    Will visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Will definitely book this hotel if I decide to visit Madrid again. Incredible rooms, central location and the staff new perfect English. The breakfast is great too!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    10
    Everything was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything was perfect. We enjoyed every moment of our stay. The location is perfect, the rooms nice, clean and comfortable. The staff at the reception very kind and helpful. They were very nice as they helped us with some extra requests. Thanks a lot Jose!!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.5
    A great base from which to explore Madrid. Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was a bit smaller than we would have liked, but to be fair the location more than made up for this. The drinks machine wouldn't serve a cafe con leche which wasn't already sweetened, but other than that breakfast was fine.

    Location fabulous. Room really nice. Nice bathroom. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Very Cool Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing all was perfect.

    This hotel is fantastic. The old converted Theater kept and themed with a Theater/ Show Business concept is simply fabulous. The staff are so nice and helpful and cheerful especially Riccardo at the Reception :) Fully airconditioned and wifi available everywhere. Comfortable, spacious and clean shows themed rooms, ours was 'Cats'. Thery are also equipped with a Pillow Menu (I have never seen this before) :) The hotel is very central adjacent to Peurto del Sol and Puerta d'alcala and Gran Via. Very Good Breakfast on the Roof Terrace.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.6
    Quaint Hotel in Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location. Loved the room & Hotel themes. Nothing to fault! P. S. There's a lovely bar near the hotel called Viva Madrid. Definitely worth a visit!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Completely lovely . Thank you
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air con was a quite noisy, and not that efficient for us Britts

    The hotel was very warm and friendly on arrival, giving us a little of the history of the building, and unique decor . We are looking forward to returning. This is about my 8th time in Madrid and the only place I would stay in again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast. Excelent service and very friendly staff. Close to almost everything . I will recommend this hotel, and also stay there next time I visit Madrid.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Oscar Wilde room we were allocated was tiny and drab, there was little or no storage. There was nowhere to hang anything and just no room to move. The shower was over the bath with a flimsy shower curtain. This room is not for you if you have more than a backpack.....we didn't actually select this room, it was selected for us, the concierge said it was a surprise for us, well it certainly was. In fact, it was so poor that although we had paid for 2 nights we checked out after one. Incidentally, I have never felt the need to leave a bad review before.

    The theatrical theme of the hotel was quirky

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    What a find!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Wonderful welcome from a gentleman called Anton (?) who also outlined all the best places to visit. We walked and Scootered them all! Lovely little Hotel. Quirky and different too, which is what we wanted. Perfect location in the heart and soul of this magnificent City. Totally smitten. We'll be back to stay here for sure. Thank you for making us most welcome. Your staff at this Hotel are a credit to you.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    My girlfriend and I stayed in Madrid for 5 nights and we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My girlfriend and I stayed in Madrid for 5 nights and we loved everything.. room was really nice and clean, breakfast was good and staff was friendly!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.6
    Life is a Cabaret, old chum.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    What a fun hotel! All rooms based on themes to do with theatre, opera, musicals etc. We had the Cabaret Room, which has a light spelling out CABARET with many lights in the style of the film's title, and a big poster of Liza Minelli on the wall. Made us want to go and see all the other rooms! Breakfast was great value - an extensive buffet on the roof terrace - perfect start to the day. Staff very helpful. Also the street has some great places close by - Venencias is an amazing sherry bar about 4 or 5 doors down and a little further is Cardomomo which was an excellent intimate flamenco venue. Ole!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.5
    Good price-quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you love to sleep it’s complicated because from 8 o’clock it’s so loud ... and climatisation system is old ,it’s not possible to make a regulation of a temperature by yourself and it makes so much noise

    Original hotel and rooms, Ricardo on the reception is really great and helpfull guy! Hotel is situated in centre ,so every place is accessible by foot!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.5
    Quirky Hotel in fabulous location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel is in a fantastic location....walking distance to everything.....rooms are quirky and fun with some larger than others. Staff super friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.6
    The location was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was right next to the lift so was noisy during the night as people came and went. Breakfast not worth the money

    The location was perfect! The staff were very friendly and helpful, hotel very clean, good sized rooms and a lovely terrace

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    When I checked in the guy was not very kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I checked in the guy was not very kind. He did his job but he didn't even look at me. I know this is not the usual treatment to clients at this hotel chain. When I checked out there was another person and she was really nice. It's a pity all the staff doesn't keep the high standard

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.6
    Movies on the wall
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was noisy by night because the window looked out onto the street.

    Friendly staff,clean room,close to the city centre,check out time at 12:00 am.it was better than I thought

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.9
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was awful, the room temperature was uncomfortable. They should buy better A/C units before next 2019 summer.

    The decor and the friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    Perfect for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we first arrived the signage for the hotel is misleading, the front door is not on the main road under the sign but in fact it is around the corner down the side road. The hotel is quite compact which is what we expected but the rooms are a little too small, not enough shelf space. The walls are also very thin.

    The hotel is in an excellent location, just a short walk to Plaza del Sol and the metro. We walked to the Palace which is a longer walk but a nice way to see the city. Staff were friendly and accommodating. Very clean throughout the hotel and we also enjoyed the breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely Madrid at Hotel Casual Madrid Del Teatro!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location nearby. Of course not the property's fault. I was pickpocketed along Calle Echegaray because I was not at the moment and was complacent about Madrid's security situation.

    Reception guys were very helpful. They were nice and super kind. They spoke English but were accommodating during the times when I practiced my elementary Spanish in conversations with them.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    Staff great, darling hotel with clean spacious rooms, great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The other guests seemed to treat this place like a hostel: yelling in the halls, being loud in their rooms until 2am, slamming doors, etc. I didn’t sleep much 😕

    Staff great, darling hotel with clean spacious rooms, great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    The staff was very friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The position of the TV was a bit uncomfortable to watch...

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very complete, and you could have your coffee in the terrace, which was very nice! In addition, the location is very centric, close to Puerta del Sol (5 min walk!) and many nice restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    5.4
    Ok hotel. Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn’t very nice at all. Was disappointed as it wasn’t anything like advertised. No mirror in the main room. Could do with a lick of paint and some new furnishings in the room we had. Checked out before breakfast so can’t comment.

    Location was good and friendly staff. And the bed was comfy which after a long day of walking was very welcomed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay, we would definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could do with additional electrical sockets

    This hotel was very comfortable and the staff were wonderful particularly Anmar who greeted us on arrival. This hotel is rated as a 2 star hotel but was much better than that in my opinion. We stayed in a room for 4, with 2 adults and 2 teenagers it felt spacious and comfortable. We would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Everything was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great! Room was nicely decorated, clean and comfortable. Great breakfast with quite a lot options. Location was very central, 5mins away from Sol metro station. Stuff was very helpful and attentive. Great value and highly recommended!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    The hotel was very near places of interest and the staff was...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator is really small and can barely fit 2 people with 2 large suitcases

    The hotel was very near places of interest and the staff was very friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.3
    Location is good, staffs are very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t any big light in the room. Also it was difficult to put my stuffs because of no table.

    Location is good, staffs are very friendly. Nice design of the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.3
    location is good and staff is very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    stay for 2 days, but the bath amenities didn’t supply after first day.

    location is good and staff is very friendly and helpful. The decoration is nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.8
    Located in very central, everything by the walking distance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Thin walls. You can hear your neighbours and everything in the corridor. City center also noisy but that`s not hotels fault. Sleeping quality wasn`t good enough but Madrid is not for sleepers.

    Located in very central, everything by the walking distance. Helpful personal, clean, decorated rooms, good breakfast and fast wifi. Comfortable beds with pillow menu in reception.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location - small room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was quite small, would not like to be a big person so just able to move around the bed, no closet but that is probalbly because our room had a big balcony.

    Excellent location - Nice and quiet but walking distance from all landmarks and 5 minutes away from Sol and Santa Ana. Lucky to have a room with a balcony -would be lovely with warm weather

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.9
    Excellent value hotel in a superb location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The person who checked me in might like to try smiling. Other than that, all was good.

    The location is fantastic - a 5 minute walk from Sol and in the heart of everything, yet nicely tucked away down a side-street, so is not too noisy. The facilities are in line with what I paid - perfectly adequate. My overall impression was that it was excellent value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.6
    Very good cost benefit.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Team working at reception desk is very helpful: when I arrived my room was not ready and she could manage to find another room and quickly I was in another room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    Goood location walking distance to Sol.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weird paintings on the wall in our room ( a person hanged herself) which gave us nightmare!! Not enough light in the room. Very dark.

    Good location. Helpful receptionists .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    Comfy central stay in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive due to Easter ..

    Very central to the bustling centre of Madrid. Nice newly renovated room, basic and tidy accommodation for a city break. Helpful, friendly staff on arrival who gave out a map and tips.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.2
    The location doesn't get much better than this
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Somewhere in the property must be an event or other rehearsal room, because in the evenings between 21-23h there was some noisy group activity going on, which could be heard load and clear in our room on the 1st floor. Also be aware that the hotel is in the middle of an entertainment district. So if you have a room facing the street, note that there will be noisy groups pasing by every once in a while throughout the night.

    1. Very interesting design of the room and the hotel in general. 2. Excellent WiFi 3. Fantastic location with virtually anything in walking distance and loads of bars and restaurants near by. 4. Excellent value for money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.5
    We have booked for another ten days soon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It costs us more than similarly appointed places in the district would.

    We have used the hotel on this location, first as the Santander and now, three times, as the Casual Teatro, three or four times a year for well in excess of twenty years. We choose it mostly for its location. It is within walking distance of many of Madrid's great cultural sites, feeding places of all kinds, the Madrid transport system. It is home from home to us and the staff are pleasant. We have tried other hotels, there are plenty of similar ones around, but always drift back here.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.1
    Convenient location with minimum facilities !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and did not have any beverage facilities. Being Madrid I guess this was a good deal, but I guess I expected a bit more. We could not adjust the temperature in this room and the tv was placed at a location which wasn’t too comfortable to view.

    The hotel is located at 10 to 15 mins walk from the plaza, close to the metro station sol which is a 8 to 10 mins walk. The room had a balcony, which was good but not with any views. The room had good natural light and ventilation.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.5
    A nice hotel, great staff but very noisy during weekends
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy. We were on the first floor and couldn't sleep because of people shouting in the street. Badly isolated windows and a narrow street with a lot of "activity" during weekends. A pity, because otherwise a very nice hotel and location.

    Welcoming staff, nice design, in the city center. Staff allowed us to check out at 1 pm to compensate for the sleepless night

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.6
    Friendly, comfortable & well-located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As it was winter a spare blanket or two in the room would have been useful & better bedside lighting for those of us who like to read - an almost universal hotel lack everywhere.

    The staff were very helpful if on occasion a little slow but I think that is a Spanish characteristic as we met it elsewhere & it taught us to relax. There is only one two-person lift so it would probably be difficult when the hotel is busy in the summer. The location is ideal for access to the great art galleries & the Royal Palace which is why my daughter & I were there. Madrid is full of wonderful old shops & shop fronts as London was in my youth. A knowledge of some Spanish would help as few people seem to speak any other language, even English, although members of the hotel staff did. We shall return to this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.2
    Good place to stay in the centre of everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Design is a bit weird to me, but that's the matter of taste. Also, when it was raining in the night, we heard water going down the pipes and it was annoying.

    Great location - easy to get everywhere on foot. Downstairs is a bakery with good bread and croissants. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.8
    Friendly hotel in the centre of Madrid, next to practically everything.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would it be possible to add some foreign channels to the television, all 89 channels are in Spanish?

    Friendly, informal ('casual') cosy hotel in the centre of Madrid, next to practically everything. Room was spacious and quiet. Good beds. Welcoming reception.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.2
    brilliant --pity about the constant rain!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    street noise outside in the early hours--this quirky hotel needs double glazing to stop noise in the bedrooms

    being very central--friendly-helpful and quirky. simple but good breakfast--nice sized rooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    6.7
    The staff was very nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom smelled like hell. We couldn't see anything from the window because it was covered with white plastic. We complained but they didn't manage to give us another room,

    The staff was very nice and helpful. One of the receptionists tried to do something with the horrible smell that came out of the bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    EXCELLENT LOCATION & VALUE
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is construction in area but only during day

    Location is perfect as it is near everything and near Plaza de Santa Ana which is a Tapas Central. The decor is so fun with each room decorated like a theatrical production. FUN

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.2
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not entirely sure about the decor!

    Right in the middle of the city. Close to the museums, palace, cathedral, parks, restaurants and bars. Really friendly receptionista.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    5.0
    Skip this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Extremely noisy, you cannot sleep without earplugs. No possibility to change the heating (even though we called and they promised us someone would come to check it). Poor breakfast --> not much choice and very small room! I would definitely not recommend this hotel, you can find better hotels for the same price.

    Convenient location nearby several metro stations.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    Just the job!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    In a great place only 5 minutes from Sol. Rooms cleaned superbly each day. Huge bathroom and comfy beds and curtains blackout ones ensuring a great sleep. Quick Wi-fi too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    A lovely hotel with the art design of every room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A lovely hotel with the art design of every room. Great staff. ready to help always and in everything. Surprise for us was a large patio in our room with chairs, table and views of Madrid. And it is located in the center of Madrid to 2 minutes from Plaza Sol.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    8.8
    Just a short 2 night stay and despite the chill and a bit of noise, we enjoyed it very much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating for the room was not keeping up with the December temperatures and the drafty windows. There are a number of nightspots in the area and it seemed like each and every reveler had to pass our window with a shout.

    The staff was especially friendly and helpful. They spoke English very well, which helped with directions and advise. The size of the room seemed almost excessive compared to most European rooms. The theme for the room was the reason for us renting the place. My wife loves the theatre.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    9.6
    Stunner!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing!

    Very friendly staff, told us interesting facts about the building and the environment. Lovely designed rooms with unique styles about the theme movies and theatre. Great Location, very close to nice bars/restaurants and Puerta del Sol. Will definetly come back!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    6.3
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of triple room. Did not meet expectations.

    Room didn’t match photos on Booking.com - much smaller. Bathroom not great. Location fab. Staff pleasant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.6
    We will definitely stay again when we return to Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A 5 minute power cut one morning was a slight inconvenience, nothing else wrong

    The welcome at the hotel was very friendly and our room was very comfortable although I had hoped we might get the Mamma Mia room which would have been fun. We didn't have the breakfast in the hotel as Madrid is an excellent place to eat out for breakfast and as it happens there is an excellent cafe/bakery right next door. The biggest advantage of the hotel is its location, only a few minutes walk from the most important sites in the city and some of the best places to eat. There was a 5 minute power cut while we were in the bathroom one morning, with no windows the bathroom was in total darkness which was fun, but it was only a short problem. The quirky decor in the hotel is a particular attraction for us. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and we will definitely stay there again on our next visit to Madrid.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.2
    Would highly recommend this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some paint chipping in the bathroom and we could not adjust the a/c.

    Very convenient to everything.....we walked everywhere! At check-in, the staff took time to point out sights on a map, marking things we might be interested in. Love the funky style of this place! Friendly and helpful staff at breakfast. Very comfortable room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although not the fault of the hotel. It was very noisy when trying to sleep. throughout the night and early morning due to sheer number of people being loud.

    Anmer on reception when checking in was very helpful and friendly, gave us the history of the hotel and pointed out where to go and see whilst in Madrid. The location was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    8.8
    Positive and negative
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise factor from street and other residents coming back at night

    Location and staff excellent. Loved the property but wouldn't stay again as it's too noisey

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    5.8
    Hot and cold
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly lacking in amenities. For example: no fridge in room is fine but no ice available from front desk. Front desk staff not knowledgable about phone in room or about local shops. Also they made a mistake with room- they gave it to someone else (at a much lower cost BTW) and we had to wait awhile while they evicted them.

    Fantastic location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.3
    An enjoyable short stay in Madrid, with good food and plenty of attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was quite noisy, from outside until 1 or 2 am and then inside after about 8am. The room lighting was poor; for example, it was difficult to read other than by the bedside lamps even during daytime. The buffet breakfast was not good value.

    The room was clean and comfortable and black-out blinds meant that it was nice and dark at night. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel design is interestingly quirky (theatre based). The location is very good, being near to Puerto del Sol but not right on it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.9
    Clean and comfortable and perfect if you are only spending a couple of nights in the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from room was a brick wall, with slight view of offices. OK if you are spending minimal time in room

    Clean and quirky with pleasant staff. Very central.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    A fun hotel with attractive room rates in a very central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lift only takes two people with cases but in a building of this age it is understandable that lift options are limited.

    Really novel theme and room decor and a great location for access to all main city centre attractions.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.8
    Great value in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only negative thing is the lack of soundproof isolations in the rooms, as it is an old building (even though it´s all renovated and looks nice), you can hear everything from the corridor, but especially disturbing was the noise coming trough the water pipes from other rooms (not sure if it was the room next door or the room above, but woke me up at night every time someone opened the water). Air conditioning also a bit too noisy, but wasn´t too bad.

    Very central location, easy to walk to many attraction, and also close to the metro. Staff super nice and helpful. Great value for the money paid. The extra good thing is that you can rent at the reception a portable internet device, so you have 24 hour internet in Madrid, for only 1.5 euros a day - this was really a great addition to the stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.1
    Great location & facilities for money but noises from air conditioning disturbed sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud buzzing noise in our room (not sure if this occurs in every room) about every 30 mins. Staff reported this was due to the air conditioning & occurred because of the heritage building (although we have stayed in multiple air conditioned heritage buildings which did not have this issue). Resulted in a very disturbed nights sleep for me. Would not recommend this if you are a light sleeper or easily woken by noises

    Excellent location, clean rooms, good facilities for the price paid

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    Very good stay, for visiting Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a little workers'noise in the street, but it is just temporary and not due to the hotel. So? Nothing bad :)

    Very friendly people, warm welcome and nice place to stay in. Rooms are well decorated (Theatre and Musicals themes). Very good location in the center of Madrid.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.2
    Pretour overnight in Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish we had a blanket for the bed.

    Great location within walking distance of Prado, Retiro Park and Plaza Mayor. Jose was wonderful at check in. He gave us a map and highlighted the main attractions. He showed us were we could find restaurants to eat. He was very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.2
    The location was good and very central and it was value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was basic. Better choose the non-breakfast option and go instead to the café next door (delicious food -very reasonable cost). No English non-dubbed tv channels. No CNN or BBC World. Bathroom towels are not changed daily.

    The bed was very very comfy and room décor as it looks on the photos.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    2.9
    Better rooms and not chemical smelling rooms.
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Better rooms and not chemical smelling rooms. Our both rooms was smelling like was used a strong chemicals to clean. Very bad - was not able to sleep. Rooms 209 and 201

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfasts in Spain are not a an exciting culinary experience per se., so I didn't have any, and thought they were a bit dull. They don't have a common lounge area to chill and apparently you can't have visitors, which was a bit inconvenient as it was bloody hot out there and my friends who were visiting me had to sit in a cafe instead.

    Perfect. It was in the best location you could possibly seek. The quality of room. hygiene and the value for money etc... ticks all boxes. Friendly staff and always there to help.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    We didn't want to leave!!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is beautiful and the photos don't lie. There were 4 of us in room and we weren't cramped. Staff are very welcoming and helpful. Must see is cardamomo flamenco next door (ish). Great central location to explore city from and find somewhere to eat and drink.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.1
    location ofhotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    that the staff was very strict about having a xtra person in the room, I understand the charge but when we asked for a roll away bed for the xtra person WHO WAS STUCK IN MADRID DUE TO FLIGHT XCLATIONS they refused a rollaway bed. yet charged us 50.00 xtra for the person (and this was not for a meal for xtra person)

    location ofhotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    Fun, creative hotel in the heart of Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room could have had a better design for flow. The tables were crammed together and walking past other guests eating became an issue

    Clean, creatively inspired rooms great for a fun vacation in the heart of Madrid. Hotel has good bone structure underneath the renovation. Helpful staff. Hip area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.6
    Great city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Traffic noise at times but then again got to be expected to some degree in a busy city. Was quenched though with an internal shutter door. No English TV.

    Location was quite good with plenty of surrounding cafes and restaurants. Themed rooms based on 1920's theatre with a box office on entry. Our room was quite unusual and very spacious with a comfortable bed. We loved it.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Casual Madrid del Teatro traveller photo gallery