Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Catalonia Diagonal Centro 4 stars

Balmes, 142 - 146, Eixample, 08008 Barcelona, Spain

#317 of 516 hotels in Barcelona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1977 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant stay, great breakfast, but not cheap!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My daughter’s rooms were not as nice as mine, - she changed the first one as it was noisy from the metro, on the first floor and had very little natural light as well as having 4 beds! - and the other room on the fifth floor was a bit better but overlooked the busy road at the front. The swimming pool was tiny and really only suitable for young children. I’m glad it closed at 9pm each evening or it could have been noisy with people sitting around talking and drinking. The hotel is rated as a 4*, but some of the furnishings, bathroom facilities could do with a facelift and the windows are mostly single glazed.

    The breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice - fresh fruit, hot dishes, cereals, vegetables, yoghurts, jams, cheeses, hams, pastries, breads, juices, coffee (from a machine), and we never felt rushed and the breakfast room was never very full. My daughter used the gym on a couple of occasions and found it small but more than adequate. We ate one evening meal in the hotel and the food was well presented and tasty and we were the only ones eating at that time. My room (611) was quiet, and very pleasant. The bathroom had a window and was large. The bed was very comfortable. The air conditioning was very effective and efficient, which was very necessary given the heat! The location was really good, very near the metro and many sights were within walking distance as well as the stop for the tourist buses being only 5 minutes away. There was plenty of choice in restaurants, cafes and bars within minutes of the hotel. The staff were all very helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect base to see the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was larger than we expected and the pool was small but a definite bonus. Located yards from a metro station and many bars/restaurants also nearby.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    The staff is very nice, breakfast was amazing value for...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff is very nice, breakfast was amazing value for money absolutely no complaints there, as a business traveler I would suggest it because its in close proximity to the city. All in all 9.2 because the WIFI didnt work on my phone.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Beds were so comfy, it's in a really safe, vibrant area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no downsides to this hotel.

    Beds were so comfy, it's in a really safe, vibrant area. Close to shops and lots of attractions. Pool is a little small but fab to cool off in.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Overall, my stay at the hotel was wonderful, only the food and the microwave I had issues with.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There wasn't much to choose from as a vegetarian. Also, I asked ahead of time if there was a microwave in the room, I was told yes, but none was there. For this reason, I had difficulty getting someone to warm up my Sabbath meal.

    The room was lovely and the staff was courteous and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    This hotel is thoroughly recommended
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is little to dislike. Minor points: no coffee or tea available in the room and couldn't get BBC World on the television.

    Very comfortable hotel in an interesting (central) district of Barcelona. There are many good restaurants in the locality.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.9
    The staff were really nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are small in size - family room had two double beds (side by side) in it and not much room for anything else. Bathrooms clean but probably need a bit of updating soon.

    The staff were really nice and helpful. Free WiFi, good breakfast and the pool (whilst a very small area) was clean and stylish.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    Very well situated for the centre of Barcelona and metro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was some noise from the metro so rooms on the higher floors are preferable but nothing too bad once you realise what it is.

    Very well situated for the centre of Barcelona and metro. Few nice restaurants locally. Small pool not heated. Few sun lingers with umbrellas available. Friendly helpful staff. Room clean with a lovely little bslcony

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Very nice hotel, I would like to come again and will recommend to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No toothbrush, no slippers

    Very large room, very large bed. I booked an double room, there are two 1.5m beds in the room. I was really shocked when I see the huge 3-meter-bed! The bath room is big and clean as well. It is quite quiet, the beds are very comfortable. The front desk staff were all very friendly and nice. The breakfast is delicious with quite a lot of choice. The gym is not very big, but ok for travelers. It is very convenient to take subway. I love this hotel!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    Beds were extremely comfortable, the location was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was too cold probably because of the time of year and I think the rooms just need a little updating before they start to look dull and old fashioned.

    Beds were extremely comfortable, the location was great(right by the metro station with lots of cafes and lovely shops close by) and the staff were really helpful and accommodating. We had two rooms and both rooms were of a good size and very clean. The hotel has a small gym and as I was the only person using at the time it was very handy to get some exercise. I would stay here again as it’s a good area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    I enjoy my holiday very! much, will return again to Catalonia hotel on my next visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff at Catalonia Hotel was very helpful and always smiling, and no problem understanding people from english speaking countries. i also so find it very ok for families with children, and great for shopping

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.9
    Good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a bit old looking with some wear signs. It’s not the best 4 star but its still not a bad 4 star hotel to stay. Not impressed.

    Very helpfull staff, grat location al walking distance of many bcn atractions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    Good value for money, great location. ideal if you wish to spend time outside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view through my hotel window was facing what looked like poor people's homes.

    I did not have breakfast at the hotel. The best thing about the hotel is its proximity to the Passig de Gracia shopping street where my wife could visit all the fashion stores. We also travelled to Barcelona via a train from Madrid, the hotel is 5 mins drive from the train station. The hotel is also close to Camp Nou (the Barcelona Football team stadium), which made it nice to go watch soccer. There are also many restaurant next to the hotel and you have many options for food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    We did not eat in the hotel as there are many excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are rather small and there is limited space for luggage.

    We did not eat in the hotel as there are many excellent eating joints within a five minute walk. The location is ideal, away from the crowds and still within walking distance of major shopping centres and tourist attractions which are nearby. The staff is very cooperative and all of them also speak English which was helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.5
    A good choice for a holiday break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise in our room from the subway train was a little disconcerting until we realised what it was

    Nice clean airy rooms. The breakfast was excellent with touches like lacto free milk and a toaster that worked! The staff were helpful and polite. The hotel was situated away from the mayhem yet near a number of nice resturaunts and bars

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.3
    Great position near lots of eateries and ahops
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoking, by other guests I assume, was very evident. Our room was nearest the swimming pool .... Was noisy when the pool in use and people could see in our room from the pool.

    Very comfortable beds. Delicious breakfast with lots of choice. Lifts that work quickly. Very obliging staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    Vety Nice Hotel close the city ,room was nice big Clean,with...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was not super clean for 4 stars hotel ,And the Man behind the reception was not super friendly

    Vety Nice Hotel close the city ,room was nice big Clean,with Bar en drink

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    The bedding was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedding was excellent. All the receptionnist was very helpful The localisation of the hotel is very good, there is the station "Provença" at 1 min. The hotel is very modern and clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    Great staff and support
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view wasn’t too good from my room but that’s all about it really. Maybe they could provide a coffee machine at least kettle in the room for a complimentary service like they do in any other hotel.

    I would like to thank Gabrielle at the reception for her assistance and support. She is an excellent help! I must say the beds were really comfy (seriously they are!)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.1
    Absolutely lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is ludicrous that in a four star hotel there are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. No one wants to order room service or traipse down to the canteen first thing in the morning! And then have to pay for your tea or coffee. Barmy.

    Very spacious, very quiet room, very clean. Amazing shower. Hotel gym adequate. Great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.6
    Pit stop for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No possibility to make coffee or te on room.

    Room good. Enough space even for three adults with extra bed. Small ftench terrace also in room with double doors to keep street noise out. We left the breakfast because thought it's price was a bit high

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    Top location, excellent choice for 3 persons.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, right next to Diagonal metro station, direction Balmes. The room was clean, cosy, and the stuff was helpful and very fast at check-in & check-out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.6
    I will return for the location and restaurant selection:
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    coffee was a little weak, lobby was a little strange with furniture settings

    perfect bed: best I have ever slept in very good breakfast: fresh juice,hummus,Spanish tortilla,and other options best location for restaurants in Barcelona: close to many areas out of major tourist crowds lunch was a good deal at the hotel restaurant and very good very nice hotel staff and easy access to room and breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.9
    Very comfortable, ideally located, and would definately stay there again! :-)
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was good value for money but there were just a few things that needed to be addressed; such as the sealing around the shower door and the skirting board in the room was a little tatty. However that didn't spoil my stay.

    Hotel was very good and the staff were great; Gabriela who checked me in was very friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Great value for price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was so friendly and very helpful. Our room was really hot when we arrived, despite turning off the heat, and we told the front desk before we went out and when we got back it was perfect. Really great value for price!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    Comfortable room. Execllent location. Nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed is comfortable. We stay at the room with terrance and it is very nice. Staff is very nice and helpful. The location is great and just a minute walk to the metro. Many restaurants near by the hotel. The price of the breakfast for eur11 is very reasonable. There are many food and taste good!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    wonderful STAFF, ROOM.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing!!!

    WONDERFUL!! My kid had a fever on the first day, and we were looking for an hospital. Staff was VERY helpful that he call the hospital, call for a taxi. Fortunately, she got well in the next day. We want to stay here next time too! The room was great, too

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    comfortable stay in downtown Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room is very spacious for three adults (using the comfortable sofa bed), location is great access to the shopping area and many major attractions, metro access and pharmacy access are both within proximity. Hotel provides refreshing drinks and hot water upon request.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    3.8
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Iwas not treated well by reception staff and their manageress.i was given a smaller room while ihave booked a larger and when i discovered their trick,they were also hesitant to move me until I insisted.After a long argument the made the move for the 2rooms. The other bad thing is that the building on the metro line and you cannot sleep because of the metro’s noise regardless of your floor.

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    5.8
    A hotel with a good location close to a metro stop and with very tasty breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Premium Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were informed that the swimming pool was open, but after one day it was closed for maintenance work for the rest of our stay (half of our stay we had no access to the pool). It was not fair to inform us that it was open, since the availability of an outdoor swimming pool was the main reason why we chose this hotel. No duvets in the beds, just sheets and blankets. It is old-fashioned and not so hygienic

    The breakfast was tasty, good supply of local ingredients/dishes. Fresh and quick refill of empty plates. The beds were comfy

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    Very good hotel nice located.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good hotel nice located. The only thing I would like to point out is that my room (104) in the first floor was a bit noisy with the traffic on the street. Except that inconvenient the rest of the facility was good. I highly recommend it and probably booked the next time I visit Barcelona.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    4.6
    Overpriced and for some an unacceptable place to stay at any price given the noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was almost constantly noisy from the rumbling underground (6am to 1am) and from hotel noise from guests, luggage traffic and cleaning traffic. The room window had no view it just looked out into an enclosed shaft. There was no English TV channel as the only one, BBC World, did not work. There were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. No one was attending the restaurant until we asked for some service after 15 minutes. The mini-bar was not checked and refilled. The “swimming pool” was so small one could probably swim just two strokes in it and the water was freezing. Although the impression was given that the pool was on the roof, it was on the second floor roof in a seven storey hotel. Allegedly a four star hotel (one notch below five star!!!) but in reality a tired and flawed three star. Booking.com should amend its description to at least accurately reflect the important noise issue.

    Comfortable bed, hot shower

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    3.3
    Crap
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After arriving the night audit told us that they had to charge our credit card because we took their very last room and they had to make sure to not lose any money! First impression of the room and special the bathroom was like a public restroom in a train station, dirty and over used! The hotel was obviously built above a metro tunnel because every 2 minutes the room started vibrating with a loud noise. Sleeping impossible! Before booking we read reviews, but sorry, they must be fake in 100%! We cannot recommend it to nobody! Except the location everything was terrible!

    Staff gave us a coke for free after complaining

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.9
    A good location and nice facilities do not compensate for poor management.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was asked to pay when checking in. Very unusual for a 4 star city center Hotel. I came with 4 pieces of luggage but no help was offered at the reception.

    The location. The room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.1
    Good breakfast, but pool disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Premium Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool, I booked the hotel especially because had a pool for the kids, but turn out to be a fiasco, the water was terrible cold, not enough sun, they had told me that in summer, it was going to be ok, but no such a thing, so I regretted to had booked there.

    Breakfast very good, delicious fresh orange juice, good variety of food and fruit, the room was nice, they gave u s complementary slippers, water, and coffee in the room, also the little fridge was a bonus, more when you travel with your kids.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.1
    Location is great for getting to various attractions but a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is great for getting to various attractions but a little off the main avenue so still has peace and quiet. Ferran at the front desk is great!! Bathroom and bed was comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent city , fantastic restaurants and a well located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing

    Attitude of the staff was professional but friedly and the breakfast was very good. The pool area was small but adequate for us and all in all the hotel was very clean and well maintained

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.1
    Beds were extremely comfortable, air con was effective, room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pool was very small, but good enough for the mornings, and sadly, no view

    Beds were extremely comfortable, air con was effective, room had fridge, staff were helpful and friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    8.8
    A good hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The swimming pool looked on pictures much bigger than it is in reality.

    Great breakfasts, good position in Downtown, clean rooms and common facilities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    6.3
    Location is good, very easy access to subway station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Glass door to bathroom looked a weird considering the overall rather simple style of the room. You cannot lock the door to bathroom which might be embarrassing :) Did not try the breakfast though we thought that 17€ per person is too much whilst there is plenty of cafes and bakeries with breakfast opportunity for half of the hotel's price. What we did not really like is the shower, hot water was barely noticeable although the hot water tap on the basin had no issue with pressure. This was really disappointing as hotel staff must check such basic functions proactively and fix them before the complaint came from guests. As I said above we have only stayed for a single night so did not really have chance to escalate the issue to hotel services. Another disappointment was related to beds, I have asked for king size bed but in reality we got room with two smaller beds which are not fixed to each other which mean that the beds will be sliding away and your body is going to get in between :) We did notice some vibration and a bit of noise from the subway trains which was not a big deal for single night. I was not able to find a simple bottle opener for the bottle of beer which was annoyance.

    Location is good, very easy access to subway station. Room was clean, toiletries provided. We only stayed there for single night so not much to complain or notice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    5.0
    Laut, unbequem, Lärmbelästigung von der Bahn..
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is right above a subway line, so you can hear and feel the vibrations from all subways passing through. The subways drive until late night, so it was horrible!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel close to metro
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionists are very nice, but could use a brush up on their English skills. Bath room a bit worn in places, and very damp.

    Very comfortable bed, quiet AC, quiet room, nice breakfast, situated super close to metro and a bus stop across the street. Small but refreshing pool in the back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.5
    Practical and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception team leader not the friendliest and most helpful.Expected more from her.Rest of reception staff were exceptional and professional.Very accommodating and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    7.1
    Good air con and staff were helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a double room with a king size bed but we were given two separate singles which then got pushed together,the gap between made them uncomfortable when either myself or partner rolled into it when asleep.

    Good air con and staff were helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    PERFECT FOR A GREAT CITY BREAK
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    CHECKING IN TOOK TOO LONG. POOL COULD BE A BIT BIGGER BUT HAVING SAID THAT, MY 2 TEENS PRETTY MUCH HAD THE POOL TO THEMSELVES MOST OF THE TIME

    STAFF VERY NICE AND HELPFUL. THINK THEY NEED TO DEAL WITH GUESTS AT RECEPTION QUICKER. ROOM WAS VERY NICE AND CLEAN. SHOWER LOVELY. LOVED THE BALCONY - GREAT TO PEOPLE WATCH AND ENJOY THE VIEWS OF THE CITY. BREAKFAST WAS TOO EXPENSIVE SO WE ATE OUT ROUND THE CORNER WHICH WAS GREAT. HOTEL GREAT FOR A CITY BREAK. FELT VERY AT HOME THERE. FELT SAD TO LEAVE. WE'RE MISSING IT ALREADY.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.8
    Affordable and extremely convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are small for a family of four. They accommodate the two queen beds, a couple of suitcases, and not much else. That didn't bother us since we were always out but keep that in mind if you are the type to hang out in your room. Also, they should stop calling it a swimming pool. It's a swimming sink. Basically for one family to fit in and that's about it. And there is not enough room to actually swim so you get the picture.

    Location! Location! Location! Walking distance to many sights, landmarks and dining options. Convenient to the metro and to the city tour bus stops as well. Very friendly and helpful hotel staff. Surprisingly comfortable beds and a large bathroom with his and hers sinks; even a large bathtub. The breakfast buffet offers a delicious variety of hot and cold options including pancakes, eggs, sausages, bacon and all types of fruit and pastries, fresh fruit juices, yogurt...and every morning something different. You make your own coffee with a barista machine so you can't go wrong.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.2
    Confortness, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel charged the stay before we arrived, that was not the deal. Booking.com is clear that it will only charged at front desk at arrival

    Confortness, location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.9
    Especially in the metro stop, the city can easily be reached...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price may be a little high, but since the city is already quite expensive, there is no need to hang out.The pool area was very small but there were enough places for 2-3 people just to enter the aqua.

    Especially in the metro stop, the city can easily be reached from anywhere. The rooms are clean and wifi works well. Morning breakfast is quite successful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.1
    Catalonia Diagonal Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite small & they did not provide duvets to sleep with. The beds were quite comfy.

    The staff were friendly& helpful& location was very central. Neat & clean although the room was a bit cramped for a family

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel, okay staff. Misleading pool. Perfect otherwise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It seemed like some of the staff were rude before we managed to pay any money. After that they were happy to speak to us properly.

    The room was exquisite and clean and well decorated.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    8.3
    Good location for tourism!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room backed up on backyards where parties lasted into the night and the windows did not keep out the sound!

    Location was very good for sights, restaurants, shopping, and transportation! Room staff was very helpful when asked for bedding for extra bed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    6.7
    greatly located, nice breakfast, decent-sized-room, clean,
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very very dark room, with a small window to the courtyard, hardly any light entering. extremely thick pillows, some may like it this way, i could not manage to sleep on them. asked the reception for a flatter pillow for the next night, they friendly promised to bring me one, but nothing ever happened.

    greatly located, nice breakfast, decent-sized-room, clean,

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    6.7
    Good price for family and little close to tourist...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Airconditioner didn't work well 2nd day. We called 2 times to fix then finaly it worked. Little smell bad in bathroom.

    Good price for family and little close to tourist attractions. Close to the shops and some restaurant. The exterior is old, but the interior is refurbished and clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were great especially the porter.i missed my flight and arrived late after booking at last min and they couldn't have been nicer. The room(i was also upgraded)was fabulous and the bed spectacular and so comfy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    9.2
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a great selection for breakfast and 17 euros per person was abit expensive. Quite a few breakfast shops within walking distance so not bad. Only one mirror in the room which was in the bathroom but this is a minor issue.

    Great location. Many places are easily accessible either by taxi or metro. Lots of different places to eat around the area. Room was spacious and bed was comfortable. Hotel is just outside city centre so no outside noise at night, great for a good nights sleep. Hotel staff very polite and helpful. Overall great hotel if you don't want to be in the centre but not too far from everything.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.9
    The room size was very big!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In terms of cleaness it could have been better, for the price one paid.

    The room size was very big! And the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast had plenty of food and staff was nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    8.3
    The bed is extremely comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I asked and paid for a room with a terrace, only to be given a room with a small balcony. Not a major problem, but it wasn't what I asked and paid for.

    The bed is extremely comfortable!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    7.1
    The location was perfect .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    room was clean but there was not mirror in the room except bathroom ..

    The location was perfect ..room was clean .The hotel was close to metro staion and walking distance to attraction streets

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.6
    Private terrace, location
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just 1 minor thing: Check-in said 2 pm, but room wasn't ready and had to wait an hour in the lobby until 3pm. Not a big deal, but receptionist could have at least apologized for the inconvenience or offered a drink or something while they made me wait. Apart from this staff were really friendly though.

    Private terrace, location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you can, choose a room to the backyard - its disturbing with the metro vibrations under the hotel on the front side.

    The location is good, central. The staff is very helpful and friendly, nice and clean rooms. A good spot for shopping, with cosy restaurants. A metro station is just a few meters away. Not long walking distance to Casa Batllo og La Pedrera

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    7.1
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was so-so. Room temp very warm; had to turn thermostat down to approx 18C & set to highest fan speed but still fairly warm. Might be too hot during summer.

    Location! Great breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    9.2
    Great location, lovely hotel and fabulous friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only a mirror in the bathroom and none in the bedroom meaning that it held up everyone getting showered and ready each day.

    Staff were fabulous, cleaners came in every day and the rooms were spotless. Great location for all site seeing, bus tours, shops and restaurants. Would definitely go back,

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.2
    This location was in the center of Barcelona.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This location was in the center of Barcelona. We walked everywhere from here, but the metro and buses were options. We would most definately return again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    6.3
    I like the spaciousness of the room and the shower and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff in breakfast area spoke little english so when you talk to them they seemed a little bit cold...

    I like the spaciousness of the room and the shower and toilet. I like the pastries in the breakfast restaurant, they are the best. I was tempted to ask the staff if they were being baked by their pastry chef since i wanted to praise him/her for the very delicious pastries but then while walking going back to the hotel we came across this pastry shop where we saw all the pastries that we have been eating during breakfast in the hotel..though the hotel are just ordering those pastries, it was still a very memorable experience to be able to eat for a few mornings such yummy pastries which never happened in 5 star hotels around the world based on my experience.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.2
    Good location. Good breakfast. Small parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking is small and difficult, however the price is half compared to nearby public parking lots. If you have a medium or large car or if you plan to use the car every day, I would suggest that you pay the extra money for the public parking lot. Sometimes you can feel the vibration of metro/train. This is very common in Barcelona. We didn't use the pool, but it's very small for swimming.

    We liked the location, and the buffet breakfast. Room is large enough for three people. The third person gets a real bed (not a portable one).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.2
    very nice stuff (reception!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    we came for 4 nights. the first night we spent in room 109 which had noise every time the rooms above us used the toilet or the sink. after one night we changed to room 514 which was quite.

    very nice stuff (reception!) ,clean room, large shower room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    7.5
    Staff were friendly, welcoming and helpfull.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were friendly, welcoming and helpfull. The breakfast as stated was a good breakfast with plenty of choice. We could hear the metro but not enough to cause discomfort or to interfere with sleep, the window looked out onto a well/shaft so no view apart from that very comfortable, good shower/ bathroom, within a short walk of Barcalona central, a metro stop very close all in all very pleased

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    8.3
    Stylish and well-located
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym and pool modest/reasonable rather than 'wow'. Would expect two bottles of complementary water in a 4* hotel (rather than none).

    Slick modern executive room. Very quiet - excellent sleep. Super WiFi. Read a few complaints about breakfast before booking....but actually it was excellent. They even had a gluten-free section. Great!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    5.4
    Reality don't fit pics.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stuff not good, not as friendly as expected. Room is not clean and not good condition of bathroom.

    Location is ok! Good bed. Fast elevator and nice restaurant on the ground floor.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    5.4
    Family room extra small
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely hot! We spoke to the management and they said it was non controllable because it is mid-season...We had to leave the windows open during the night!

    Location was excellent

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.8
    Barcelona a great visit for short stay. Expensive in comparison with other Spanish cities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little noisy as it was at the front of the hotel. No other negatives come to mind

    Great location in the city. A good walk from the Ramblas which I think is a bonus. Short walk to Pl de Catalunya for City tours, airport bus etc. plenty of nice bars, restaurants and shops around. Room good standard.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was a little over priced in the hotel would recommend trying local cafes 'El Fornet' being one.

    Overall hotel was excellent/ clean/tidy and friendly staff, perfect for a weekend break with the family, our son was brave enough to try the ice cold pool (not quite pool weather sure in the summer water would be warmer). Hotel is walking distance to cafes/bars and into the main shopping district. Also good location for Sagarda Famillia Loved Barcelona will definitely be visiting again

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    7.5
    Staff friendly and room was clean and well maintained...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost of breakfast 17euro per person even for my 5 and 7 year old who eat minimal. No coffee or tea in room and overpriced mini bar. There was a drinks machine by the pool but purposefully empty and much cheaper than Mini bar.

    Staff friendly and room was clean and well maintained throughout our stay.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    9.6
    Feeling like home
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room was very big, with couch and sofa. The bathroom spacious but a little bit cold inside. Even though we faced the street, there was no noise, the room was so silent. We slept very nicely. Staff was good, but the best man that treated us at best was Will... Hi will!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    8.8
    Perfect location 5 minutes walk from the top shopping...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although I specifically requested a street view room, my room was overlooking a backyard which was a bit annoying. The room was on the third floor and I still was able to hear some of the noise outside.

    Perfect location 5 minutes walk from the top shopping districts and very close metro station too. Clean spacious room and very nice bathroom too. Perfect value for money!

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Catalonia Diagonal Centro traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: