Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Spain hotel reviews
  3. Community of Madrid hotel reviews
  4. Madrid hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Catalonia Goya

Reviews of Catalonia Goya This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Goya 49, Salamanca, 28001 Madrid, Spain

#231 of 353 hotels in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 2542 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2019

    7.5
    Catalonia goya
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When I got to my room the bath was full of water, with someone's hair. It wouldn't drain, so I told the reception and they fixed it for the time being, but hairs in Bath were not cleaned.

    Location is great

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2019

    10
    Location is Fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Location is Fantastic. Good shopping nearby for all & good range of cafes, restaurants & bars close. Transport is great as a taxi rank outside & subway & buses on the main road.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2019

    6.3
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The size of the room and the bed too short. I.m just 5.9" and my feet was out of the bed The minimum window in a wall facing the street

    The location. The access to the city

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2019

    5.8
    Poor Wifi and service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nobody would be proactive or help when asked for help.

    Wifi didn't work at all and the staff was unable to apologize but to question my laptop connection. Also, I've ordered some food from the hotel but didn't get what I wanted... again, they didn't apologize.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2019

    8.3
    We didn't like the light in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We didn't like the light in the room. There wasn't enough of it, i don't know if it was because our room haven't a view so maybe that's why it was way too dark but you should check that.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2019

    8.3
    Great location and good value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room can be very different one from another. It’s the second time I stay there (def. not the last) and some of the rooms are tiny whereas other are huge.

    Great location and good value for money.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2019

    7.9
    comfortable room, good breakfast, close to the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Goya View
    • Stayed 1 night

    if you travel with your pet you have to tell the hotel about it before arrival, otherwise they may refuse check you in! however, they don't tell you that in the process of booking. then when you check in they require 200 euros deposit only in cash (!) in case your pet damages anything in the room. they charge 10 euros per night for your pet's stay.

    comfortable room, good breakfast, close to the city center

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    7.9
    Welcoming and upgrade as I am a regular client
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room not completely clean, with night table with traces of drink spilled. Shower not functioning properly, only the big one was usable, in room 705

    Welcoming and upgrade as I am a regular client

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    7.5
    Lotation, in the middle of Alcalá neighbourhood, being a few...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lotation, in the middle of Alcalá neighbourhood, being a few steps away from parque del retiro, puerta de Alcalá, la gran vía de Madrid and many other amazing places.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    5.8
    Hmmm wouldn’t stay again unless was desperate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No double beds, no hot water ( their idea of hot was tepid and they said all the rooms had that temperature and in the height of winter I. Madrid you want a nice hot shower! Not good enough. Noisy also.

    Location was great - and the fact we could park in front of the hotel - clean enough - heating worked

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2018

    10
    Hoy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    N.A.

    Cleanliness, spacious room/bathroom, breakfast, friendly staff, restaurant/shopping/metro locations, and quick access to Barajas airport.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    7.1
    Will not stay again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room - Goya View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The smell from the bathroom was awful. It seems that something was wrong with the sewer draining system. It is very noisy both from the street and from the neighbor rooms inside the hotel.

    The location is good, close to everything you need. It was so kind of the hotel to have a free bottle of water every day.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    9.2
    Very clean and modern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We unfortunately got two small beds instead of a big double bed. Additionally, the water in the shower didn't always get as hot as desired and it depended on what time one showered at.

    Very clean and modern. Absolutely fantastic location.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2018

    9.6
    Great location (and right on a metro station).
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room - Goya View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location (and right on a metro station). Clean architecture (no foyer to sit, but ok really), renovated. Clean rooms with very nice bathroom. I would certainly revisit, nice stay, and great value for price I thought. Their gym is really a small room with one treadmill, one bicycle and a weight-pulleys station - nevertheless you can go in there and have a basic exercise.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    8.3
    double glazing worked well and the noise from the busy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    we only tried to use the bar twice, once at 23:30 and once at 17:00 (different days) on both occasions the bar was shut

    double glazing worked well and the noise from the busy street was non existent. Beds very comfortable

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    9.6
    Location of the hotel is perfect.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location of the hotel is perfect. It is in a center of Goya. All restaurants, pubs and shops are within short walking distance. A hotel was recently renovated. All facilities are new and nice. It is a comfortable place to enjoy Madrid at a very fare price.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    5.4
    The price of a 4 star hotel for a 3 star hotel experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was pretty old and out of style. Rooms were so dusty we were sneezing all the time, thankfully we only stayed there one night. Also there was no lobby at all, only a tiny passage and a small counter for the receptionists and there was only one lift. In addition, if you want slippers, bathrobes and free water bottles in your room you need to pay extra €20 and get upgraded.

    Location was really good and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    10
    Clean, good food, brilliant staff and a very modern place to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Barely an issue but I had to go to the front desk to grab a travel toothbrush. I wouldn't class it as a problem though.

    Staff were very attentive and Elizabeth who was working on the bar in the evenings helped me learn some Spanish. Nothing was too much for the staff to help with.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    9.6
    Location is excellent, in Salamanca which is the nicest...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Entrance very unattractive, just a long corridor, there’s no lobby, not even one chair to sit if you need to wait there.

    Location is excellent, in Salamanca which is the nicest neighborhood, but you can walk to most places you need to see, like Plaza Mayor, or the main museums. We had a suite, which was comfortable as we had a lot of luggage. The bathroom was very modern, very comfortable, with separate bathtub and shower, lots of light due to skylights. Very comfortable bed, huge flat tv in bedroom plus another in sitting room. Nesspresso machine Excellent breakfast Staff very attentive

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2018

    8.3
    Great location : only steps from the subway , and in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had to change rooms during our stay due to poor plumbing . Accidently left an electronics plug in the wall on check out. Returned a few hours later to collect it, but it was gone .

    Great location : only steps from the subway , and in the midst of shopping and cafes

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    10
    Good quality room, friendly and efficient staff, in great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Single elevator in morning gets busy and can cause delay.

    Good sized room. No noise from street despite overlooking busy Goya...v effective double glazing. Large bed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    8.3
    Good for shopping and the train.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room service was very limited. Being on my own I did not feel like going out at night and there was nothing else for me to eat.

    The room was very comfortable. Lovely balcony over looking the road. Very handy spot for shopping and the park. Close to the train to get into the city. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2018

    10
    The day I booked to your hotel was my 85th birthday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As I am returning to Madrid after visiting the Basque Country, I requested to leave one piece of luggage in your custody It was denied abruptly by the day manager without any explanation. A kind explanation like security reasons would have been welcome and understood.

    The day I booked to your hotel was my 85th birthday. Javier, the receptionist sent a plate of fruits and a cava as a gift which I enjoyed and appreciated. Thank you very much.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    7.5
    The hotel was quite clean and attractive. Our room was spacious and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked this property partly because it was supposed to have an airport shuttle. However, it did not have one. Also the drain in the bathtub/shower drained extremely slowly.

    The bed was very large and comfortable, the check-in process was very easy, and the room was quite spacious.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    9.2
    Advantageous hotel in central Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms that view to back yard create a little bit negative feeling. The lighting in the room for the table is not suitable.

    Good location in central part of Madrid. A metro station is nearby. Polite and helpful staff. Spacious and comfortable room and bathroom with a lot of accessories free of charge. The double bed is huge. Very good ratio price/quality. Very rich mini-bar.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2018

    7.9
    Central location and easy access to the Metro (100 meters)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As mentioned by many reviewers the air conditioning even if functional would sometime need a bit more power. We visited the hotel when the weather was not so warm and felt however a bit warm in the room.

    Central location and easy access to the Metro (100 meters) Appreciated the hotel staff to offer umbrellas when rain started Staff brought the luggage inside the room once it was cleaned and ready while we were visiting the city

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2018

    9.6
    The room is quite big and comfortable to stay for a small...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room is quite big and comfortable to stay for a small family with a baby. Location is good with walking distance to the biggest park of Madrid and luxury shopping street.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    8.3
    Ok for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room - Goya View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The AC didn’t work that great so it was quite hot in the room all night long.

    Hotel is very close to the metro station (literally steps away), room are small but comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Goya View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We echo the comments about not being able to order coffee or have access to coffee in the room, although there is plenty of coffee right outside the hotel. My husband when down to the Bar for a glass of ice. But the water provided in the room was very nice.

    Wonderful breakfast. A bit pricey at 17 euros, but one can order in advance for 11 euros. Very large selection of food and omelets made to order. Location was very pleasant and convenient - great Salamunca location. Convenient to several subsways and Retiro Park. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating -- printed our City Tour bus tickets, etc!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    9.6
    Would come again, especially if I got the same room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing much

    I upgraded to a better room at the front,which had two small balconies one open and the other enclosed with glass. It was a nice room with a great view of a lovely white church opposite.The air-conditioning was a bit too strong so I turned it off no problem.The staff were very helpful and friendly throughout.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bar constantly had no staff and when he did arrive, he only served one round and disappeared again, we used this hotel to meet up with a lot of friends from around the UK for a gig at the wizink and it would have been better If the bar was manned

    The hotel is in an excellent location and right outside is a metro station. It is a 10 minute walk to the Wizink arena and 10 minutes the opposite way to the Hard Rock Cafe. The room was very clean and modern with a massive comfortable bed, the only thing that let it down was the bar

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    10
    Great place, great location with loads to see and do locally.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.....my room was at the back, so the view wasn't a panoramic vista, but I really don't care about that sort of thing....and the room was air conditioned, which was nice as well.

    Great place. No problems with any requests either. The staff were all great as well. Importantly, I was at the end of a corridor, so it was also pretty quiet as well...No complaints at all.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    10
    Location was excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Price per night fluctuates a lot. You don’t get one price for your stay, it’s financially calculated for each night. Breakfast is 30% cheaper if you buy it there when you checkin, rather than buy the rack price ok booking. I felt that was a bit unfair, penalizing me for having thought and bough ahead of time.

    Location was excellent. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    7.9
    Great hotel especially for concerts at the WiZink Center. Ten minutes from the beautiful Retiro Park
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Goya View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only downside to the hotel was the bar. The service was just terrible. We gave up waiting for the barman to show up and just went to another bar

    The location is great, very easy to walk to a lot of the attractions. We visited for a concert at the WiZink Center which was a 10 minute walk away. The city centre (Sol) is a few minutes taxi ride away, and easily reached on foot too

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    9.6
    Good location,clean comfortable rooms and little noise from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was difficult to get a drink from the bar as nobody was there a lot of the time

    Good location,clean comfortable rooms and little noise from any other rooms

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    8.3
    The size of the room was excellent for this price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The toilet was not the best, the glass door is not comfortable and the WC top was repainted or repaired not well and shall be replace... check room 703. As an architect, I prefer more white than darker colours for bringing more light inside the room...

    The size of the room was excellent for this price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    8.8
    Very nice hotel in Salamanca, comfortable accommodations,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A coffee machine in room would have been nice, but there are plenty of coffee shops just steps away.

    Very nice hotel in Salamanca, comfortable accommodations, friendly staff, they even upgraded us to a triple room since we were traveling with a toddler. Excellent location and value for the price. I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    8.8
    Location, Comfort, and Value for Money!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The noise! I had seen comments before about the noise. I had requested a quiet room and my room was located at the back of the building. I think the problem is that the building is old and that the noise is due to creaks and thin walls. You can't hear everything but if people aren't being entirely considerate, you could end up with less sleep than you'd want. A tip though- if you're going for business/work- request a quiet room!

    Location, location, location! The location is really great. There are so many shops around the area, and the Metro station is only a short walk away. The room (standard double) was comfortable too, with a large double bed which was glorious for a solo traveler! The room was clean, and the bathroom was spacious complete with a bath which was great after a long day of meetings. I would recommend adding bath/shower gel to the rooms as I noticed this was missing and something which would be appreciated by travelers.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    9.6
    Super stay! Will recommend hotel to friends and family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When checking in, person at reception was very young and spoke hardly any English. That needs to be improved.

    Excellent breakfast. Very good location, very close to metro station and various shop. Excellent hotel, good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    7.1
    Location and size of room and wc
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noise (you hear steps in other rooms/bad floor surface in room) and the showerhead was broken (did not stay stable, one would need to grab it)

    Location and size of room and wc

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    5.8
    Below my expectations. Our experiencie in Catalonia Avinyó was great but Goya was very disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had to request in several times for soap, shampoo and toilet paper which are basic elements for a hotel service. Air conditioning noisy and not efficient. We had to pay in advance even before checking the room. Catalonia is the only hotel with this payment method. We asked for a car rental service to the staff and they just said the hotel didn’t provide this service without any help to find a place for rental. Finally, because our flight was at midnigth, we asked since the first day for a late check-out and staff told us we should request for this the last day in the morning. When I asked for it the staff answered no way without offered any alternative.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    2.9
    Not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They charged us for the entire stay at CHECK IN!!!! The AC didn't work. The room had spider webs and looked rundown. It seemed that they change the bathtub but not the backsplash. To me and my sisters, it was a 2 to 3 stars hotel. Booking.com was very helpful and we change to a very nice hotel nearby,"NH". We only stayed one night at Catalonia Hotel and they reimbursed what they charged us.

    The location was good but there are many good 4 stars hotels in that area of the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    7.9
    centrally located with good services but some room for improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    noisy street (choose the room oriented away from the street), room smelled like smoke, problem with key cards, no ventilation in bathroom

    very good location - right next to Metro station, clean room, friendly staff, enough space in our room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    6.7
    Worst place to travel with a pet.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Worst place to travel with a pet. They make you leave a 200 euro cash deposit for the dog and they are not even allowed on the bed. The place is extremely noisy, specially the house cleaners in the morning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    7.1
    Only issue not serving food on the weekends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We checked in on a Sunday and we were informed by reception that there is no restaurant in the hotel and that we could eat at the bar after 7 in the evening. Knowing that we returned at 10 o clock very hungry yo find out that the bar would not make any food as it was Sunday...I have never seen a 4* hotel not serving food to his customers. The option we were given then was frozen pizza or sushi. Another issue was that we had to go down to reception 4 times to get our keys as they were not working at all and we were unable to open the door. we were given new keys 4 times before a staff member opens the door for us

    Very clean hotel and nice staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When you upgrade your roo; the extra amenities were kaç kez and you had to aşk numerous times.

    Excellent location. Small but very friendly front desk.Leisure

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    8.3
    FANTASTIC MADRID
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little problem with my free cancellation reservation since they charged my credit card with the first night and it was not a pre-authorization but a real charge. Anyway Andrea one of the guys of the staff was really professional and solved it immediately, but not all of them are so skilled for a four stars hotel like Andrea. I hope they will be in the future.

    Position was great, downtown and face of Velasquez tube station.It was my seventh time in Madrid and position of this hotel is really perfect. Our room was nice and silent as I asked. Good cleaning

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    8.3
    It is a very convenient location for the attractions in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room climatization was not working and it was a bit hot. At night we opened the window to cool the room before going to sleep.

    The location was superb and the staff very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    6.3
    not really worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the room wasnt super clean it had bad cigarette smell, nobody mentioned that is was a smoking room the bath facilities changed only every 2 days and only on request the room itself was not cozy, dirty PU leather pillows on the bed restaurant personal not really friendly, if you want to enjoy your late breakfast just before its end and drink another cup of coffee, that will be an issue - the personal acts like they want you to leave just when the breakfast is officially over not worth the money we have payed

    great location and nice view on the church good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    7.1
    Okay for a short 1-2-night stay if you're here for shopping or visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sound isolation in rooms is poor. I could hear music, people stepping in the rooms around me and above. Pillows also weren't very comfortable. I stayed for 2 nights and couldn't get proper sleep.

    Excellent location: upscale neighbourhood, Retiro park is close by. A lot of shopping malls for different budgets, depending which direction you will go :-). And, finally, lots of awesome restaurants nearby (do reserve before!).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2018

    6.7
    Era importante para mi, un late check out.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Era importante para mi, un late check out. Lo solicité al reservar pero la respuesta negativa de parte del hotel, no la leí. Eso me causó inconvenientes

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    9.6
    Due to personal circumstances I needed to travel home...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Due to personal circumstances I needed to travel home earlier. Nights ahead where skipped. Didn't need to pay them. Excellent service and understanding.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    9.6
    I would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The floor is creaking.

    It’s in a very nice and safe neighborhood, the subway (metro) is right next to the hotel. Restaurants and supermarkets are around the corner. My room was big enough, even with a sofa. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast isn’t cheap, but very good (fresh made omelet).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2018

    8.3
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Every morning there was a lot of noises on our floor, I am not sure if it was the maid or some children slaming the doors. We couldn't sleep untill late on any of the 5 days stay.

    Service was great. I lost one of my earrings and they found it and left it to one of my friends return to me. The front desk and restaurant staff are really nice and helpful. The location is perfect, close to metro and the Retiro park. The rooms are updated and clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2018

    10
    Very satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The receptionists were very nice, in check in we were offered an upgrade for a superior room. The room was clean, with a comfortable bed and big bathroom.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    9.6
    Great location and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The mattress is a bit on the soft side, and I felt some stiffness in my back after the second day.

    The location is perfect for visiting our friends and shopping. The shower is particularly well designed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2017

    10
    Excellent location to really enjoy Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bar is a little characterless & in need of some refurbishment.

    Ideal location, very close to the Metro, a brilliant choice of restaurants very close to the hotel & an easy walk to the Prado & all the other wonderful galleries & sights in Madrid.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2017

    10
    Great find in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It would be nice if breakfast didn’t cost €17. And for those of us not having breakfast, it would be nice to have a coffee or tea stand near the lobby.

    My bed was great, my room facing the back was very quiet, everything was clean, the bathroom was nice, the price is reasonable and the location is very central.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2017

    10
    Hotel Catalonia Goya excellent choice for Madrid visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    N.A.

    Velazquez Metro station only steps from hotel, in Salamanca neighborhood with lots of shops, restaurants, etc., good buffet breakfast, easy taxi access to Barajas Airport.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2017

    6.3
    Not worth the money I spent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They do NOT have an airport shuttle. They will call you a cab for which you have to pay (and I was charged for the amount of time the driver had to wait for me PRIOR to the scheduled time of departure). The room was nice. I would have loved to take a bath, since there was one provided in the bathroom, but the plug mechanism was broken.

    The bed was comfortable and the staff were generally helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyed this hotel very much & would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No lounge style area in or near reception to sit or wait. Not really an issue but would have been nice. No designated smoking area - had to stand on the street.

    Great location, very helpful & friendly staff, junior suite perfect for a 4 day stay, metro station almost on the doorstep

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2017

    9.2
    Very good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The price

    Staff, breakfast and location. The price was too high for a 3 star hotel. It was a very busy week in Madrid . Most probably they offer lower rates when there is no such high demand.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2017

    9.2
    The staff were very friendly and helpful;
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The staff were very friendly and helpful; the room was spacious and comfortable for the price. Great walking distance from the National Library/Archaeological Museum, the shops of Serrano, and the Parque del Retiro. Steps from the Velázquez Metro station. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2017

    8.3
    Hope it was a misunderstanding? That it turns out well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room - Goya View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    See above.

    I am still waiting to get answer for an extra charge of €30 after I paid and checked out. Without ordering, a bottle of champagne was left in my room on my 2nd day. I thought it was a generous gesture of Mariano whom I knew he brought his sister. I do not drink, therefore I did not open the bottle. In general, staffs were helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2017

    5.4
    Good for cheap short stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air conditioning unit was so load that it couldn't be left on throughout the night which meant a restless night. Staff were very slow on check in when I arrived late and just wanted to get to my room.

    Reasonably priced for good location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2017

    8.3
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    AC did not function well. Despite of everyday report to reception area, it was not repaired.

    Good location. Taxi stand is just a few steps away from the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2017

    4.6
    Unfortunately never again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - upon arrival reception was occupied by helping to one guest. There were three employees of reception to help one guest?! It looked a bit unprofessional that so many people were dealing with one request leaving other guest waiting in the queue. - breakfast in the hotel is really bad. There is not enough healthy option. - Reception employees could use a little bit less ?Chanel? perfume. Constant strong flavor at 35 degree heat is not pleasant. - Due to the heat key system stopped working.

    - Room was clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2017

    8.3
    A good place to stay in Madrid's Salamanca neighborhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a nice property in a good area of Madrid. There is a Metro station a half block away and plenty of restaurants within walking distance. Worth the money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2017

    7.5
    Ideally situated for our needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms need updating. Bathroom tiles were very badly cracked and it was very difficult to get out of the shower as the toilet was in the way and the glass shower panel was perminently fastened to the bath.

    Very clean, comfortable beds, lovey helpful staff. This hotel was ideally situated for our needs as we were visiting family in Madrid.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2017

    5.0
    good hotel for a 1 night crash if needed but price is too high for the product. no ambient at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no promised drinks and/or water as compliment. Only one person working which was doing all the work. no bucket for ice, they gave it in a plastic bag. entree smells too much of ambiantador. Television bad quality.

    no comments

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2017

    7.1
    Great location should be rated 3 star
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor lighting in room. Need overhead lights or stronger light globes. Bar area not inviting at all.. the atmosphere, cold and clinical. I walked in and straight out.

    Location location location.... was brilliant

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2017

    4.6
    Beat up place, noisy and unsightly cleaning staff, too expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Goya View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor housekeeping- working station right in front of our room, but problem beyond our room, all their equipment left in hallways throughout the hotel, bulky equipment and bins, we shared same elevators with service staff that would be transporting trash bags etc, unsightly Shower clogged- was a problem that never got resolved. To pay 300 USD a night for this place was robbery. Just because location is great, but otherwise this should have been a 150 doll/night tops. Nothing special. Old building, beat up facilities

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2017

    8.8
    Short stay in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be great to have complimentary water in all of the rooms. Other than that - great place overall.

    Great location (next to the metro station, so it's super easy to got to and from the airport). In walking distance to the arena for concerts and all other sorts of different things (shops, restaurants etc). Neat little hotel in the heart of Madrid. Nice room overall with all the necessary amenities. I was able to check in early when I got in, so that was very nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2017

    6.7
    I will not return ever nor will recomend this property to my clients,I did advise that I was an agen
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not like the small reception, poor service in a long corridor, full of noisy clients that have just arrived, only one lift , and having just arrive fron an international flight of 12 hours obviously we were not given our room till we pay extra 20 euros and then yes we did have our room ready, worse when I return to the hotel for a last night and we arrived to the hotel at noon again small reception with lots of clients waiting and Elena again informed fully booked no room till 3 pm, but she did ask for our passports and credit card so as to be ready once room was clean. We return after lunch at 3 pm, again lots of clients waiting for rooms, I asked Elena, do you have the room? Not only the answer was no, but she asked me to make the second time in the day a long queu! I will never return to this hotel even if the location is very good, rooms are correct, but really I will not return to a corridor hotel without reception. No need! There are lots of similar options. Besides they do not include breakfast in the tariff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel with great location and neighborhood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Major negatives are the high prices for the rooms and for in-hotel breakfast. The room prices seem to vary wildly depending on the dates. Maybe this is the new normal for Madrid, but if you catch the prices on the high end, the value is not so great.

    The staff at reception were friendly and helpful. The location is superb, as others (including the hotel) have noted. Metro station on the same block. Further, taxis line the street in the same block. Nearby to El Retiro, plus Salamanca-style (meaning high-end) shopping and eating. Easy to get to other Madrid locations.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Catalonia Goya Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: