Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Catalonia Gran Vía 4 stars

Gran Vía, 9, Madrid City Centre, 28013 Madrid, Spain

#192 of 327 hotels in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 5224 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel, lots of renovations since the last time I was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing much. A free ice vending machine on a floor would be handy.

    Nice hotel, lots of renovations since the last time I was there. The reception lady was kind to upgrade my room at no additional costs. Pool area was small and cozy, and nice to chat with other people. Very clean and friendly housekeeping staff. Centrally located on Gran Via, not much noise at all. Beds are comfortable to sleep in. Would stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely 30th Birthday Trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in an older style room which had a funny smell. Pool area was small at busy times couldn't really get near it. Bar prices are really high and didn't have much stock at all.

    Location amazing right in the center of everything, hotel is really clean and spotless. Staff were lovely and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyed my 4 night stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A drinks machine is needed on the roof terrace

    Friendly staff,good atmosphere in the bar area,food was great, perfect central location,and the rooftop small pool was a bonus

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.5
    Location and design are great.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that some rooms were redone and modern while ours was still in the old style.

    Location and design are great. Staff was amazing. Clean and good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    5.0
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very friendly staff. This can be understood when you have a small problem. Hotel is not what it appears on the fotos. Nothing went OK for myside. I would not go back there for sure... I was not happy at the reception, they even do not try to help. They want you to pay and leave them in peace. Pitty for them...

    Nothing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.0
    Ok, but wouldn't go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    room very small, asked for a double but got 2 single beds pushed together which moved apart really easily. Very small windows with a view onto a small inner courtyard; very little natural light in room. No sound insulation with the hallway and can hear people walking past (especially because the pool terrace was very close to our room). Terrace and pool are VERY small. Absolutely impossible to even get outside due to the terrace being completely overcrowded.

    Central location. Nice bathroom and clean rooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    3.8
    Poor, expensive, mean and rude
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above. Not a very good hotel at all

    Worst hotel room ever especially for the price. Dark, dismal, one soap for 5 days, no iron, inadequate toiletries, rude and disinterested staff. Definitely not worth the money

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.8
    Good stay, I would go back if visiting Madrid.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My biggest complaint was that the gym was not really a gym and that the pictures make it out to be much bigger. Only 2 machines worked correctly and the pool was also not big enough to swim in. It’s just an escape from the sun. The bar coffee was also terribly week and tasteless.

    Great location, very helpfull staff and very clean hotel. The bar food I tried was very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    Clean, spacey, centric
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in particular. I have to no note I didn't have the chance to taste breakfast or try the swimming pool.

    Clean, spacey rooms Superb bathroom

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.8
    Not a good choice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are old and very noisy. The swimming pool is tiny and there is no bar or anything at the rooftop. The hotel needs renovation.

    Location is centric.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Great location! The accommodations were comfortable . The roof-top pool was an extra bonus !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The message therapy was fantastic! The bar offered excellent drinks and foods. Everyone was friendly and welcoming. The bed was comfortable and the complimentary toiletries were an added bonus.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.9
    Great place to stay for one night in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sink had one of those push down plugs that was stuck closed so we couldn’t really use the sink.

    Great hotel and location is excellent staff were friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location, helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool looked a little green. Pool and terrace closed at 9 PM.

    Nice bar with food, great atmosphere, close to Gran Via, helpful staff, cool roof terrace.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The swimming pool is a bit small but it's nice to have one. I had to change two times the keycards because they were not working anymore (maybe I just wasn't lucky).

    Wide room, nice bathroom, quality of the bed and soundproofing of the room is great. The reception and bar area is very nice. Location is the best point of the hotel, you're really close of everything.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful room in heart of Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was spacious and clean. Location A+ in Madrid city centre. Shower and bed was amazing. Reception staff were very friendly and were happy to hold my bags until I checked in later in the afternoon. Had lovely churros and hot chocolate at the bar.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    6.3
    great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we reserved room for 3 people and when we got in we got a smoking room. the hotel didn't have any other room to put us in so we had to choose between switching hotels in the night or to sleep with the cigarette smell. the gym was realy small. and some of the machines weren't working. the air conditianing wasn't cooling the room enough. we were realy dissapointed from the hotel and the expirience.

    great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    The room was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was not accessible because groups of people took over the small space.

    The room was wonderful. The staff was friendly and helpful. Thecstay felt very luxurious but not over priced.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.9
    Good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms need maintenance. The terrace is too small. Check-in process was too long. It was 2pm peak checking in time, while the que waiting for checking in was long, but one of the only two receptionists, a lady was on the phone for over 20 mins. Not sure how important that call was.

    The location and breakfast were very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.5
    Catalonia gran via
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities a lot smaller than they look. Pool is really small and you need to pay to use the jacuzzi and steam room. The gym has 4 pieces of equipment in it. A treadmill and a weights bench.

    Was very clean, staff were all superb, given a very nice room with a balcony and apart from.the facilities being a little small the hotel in general was perfect. The location is absolutely ideal if you are planning a stay in the city centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    6.3
    Good location with some key problems
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Previous room users thong still in the bathroom on arrival. Spa run by a single person so long waiting times, spa facility are very small. Sunbath are fixed so do not lie flat also only a hand full of spaces. Pool 2m x 5m so full with a couple of people or one child.

    Located in the heart of the centre, good quality rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    6.3
    What a bad day.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    6-18-2018 Room had black mold on tile grout & on calking. molding behind door was frayed, pup spilled water just after we got in & I wiped it up with toilet paper, it was black! Made us take 2 rooms on arrival as only 1 dog per room. Not notified prior. My pup was only with me for less than an hour n sent back to breeder because of a airline booking error. Refused to credit back second unused room. Second room never used at all. Had to wait 10 to 15 min for hostess to arrive in restaurant. She was very attentive to single gentleman but not us. Gave him a pitcher of water free n charged me for a bottle of water! Desk staff in evening non caring. Am staff alright. Still waiting on return of 2 $200.00 dog deposits. 6-23-2018

    Dog bowls & dog bed in room. (Dog bed was a disposable bed.) Menu and Food in restaurant were excellent. Service poor to ok.i gir doing desk & restaurant. Only 1 other person in restaurant besides us. Came up to desk after us seated, took order, and served first!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Fab location, staff very friendly and upgraded our room on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fab location, staff very friendly and upgraded our room on arrival. The rooftop pool was cute and perfect for a short stay. The bar and restaurant were so so nice we really enjoyed staying here!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Great hotel, highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was great. We really enjoyed our stay here

    Bathroom is amazing, that shower! The bed was so comfortable, best nights sleep I have had in ages

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.4
    Restaurant dinner is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace and Jacuzzi®
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Jacuzzi is in the open air terrace. It needs to open 2 glazed doors to get access. One is sliding door and the other a swing door. They are very tightly set together. It needs dexerity. I caught my finger in one of the attempts.

    Restaurant dinner is good. They cook steak tartar on a large piece of bone marrow.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location, spacious rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite Junior with Terrace and Jacuzzi
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a little work on the terrace would make it a lot more than just a rooftop spot with a whirlpool. Some decoration here and some nice light there, add some pillows and I'd pay double to stay in that room again...

    Great location - Museo del Prado and Puerta del Sol in easy walking distance. Rooms are spacious and well-equipped, the staff is friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    An excellent modern hotel with first class facilities and food in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast buffet was excellent but there was a bit of a delay on a couple of occasions to replenish milk or cutlery for example

    Excellent location with first class facilities. Beautiful comfortable modern rooms. Friendly helpful staff especially at reception.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Great balcony and room
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived to check in we were told we could upgrade to a superior room and then told it would 23 euro. Upsell was poor form in my opinion. Everything worked well but some of the fittings like toilet seat door handles were loose. Not best look for this otherwise really nice hotel.

    Size of room bathroom and balcony was fantastic. Beds were great as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location. Caring personnel. Big thank you for the reception host for their attention to our complicated logistics and suggestions regarding our flights.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    The staff and the location were my favorite parts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room view.

    The staff and the location were my favorite parts. Made friends and were very friendly. They provided me a lot of assitance with getting around. Good suggestions too. The room was small and my view was gray walls of other buildings. So I never opened the curtains, but i was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location and very nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pricey drinks and breakfast

    14 of us arrived very early on Friday 10th and the hotel greeted us warmly and took our bags off us so we could go explore the city until our rooms were ready. The rooms were all spacious and very clean with well stocked minibars. We were 3 to a room so one of us in each was on a couch bed which was really comfortable! Great shower which is always a bonus. The common areas were all beautiful and we only had drinks (no evening food as we ate elsewhere) and they were a little pricey. 2 of us had the €14 breakfast and really enjoyed it. The rooftop pool is small but in the city centre it's great to have a pool ! Great location, I will be back with my fiance in the future.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.5
    Very nicely located hotel,modern design ,extremely helpful...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very nicely located hotel,modern design ,extremely helpful staff ...breakfast was included into my rate.But I decided to eat at the hotel. Amazing croissant and delicious coffee served by always smiling staff,thats the best way to start good day!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.3
    Nicely located at the heart of Madrid, good for the museums and IF you have kids, the pool is small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Well, you cannot always have a front street view... but so what you're visiting the city anyhow...

    Location nice, food and restaurant fine, pool cool (just a little rusty posts)...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a mistake in the checkin process, but when we produced a hard copy of the booking, this was rectified. We had a room at the front overlooking the Gran Via. While this was a great outlook, despite the double glazing it was a bit noisy at night from the traffic

    The location was great... walking distance to museums and main attractions. Our flight did not leave till 10pm so we were able to pay a little extra and have a later checkout at 6pm. We really appreciated this availability... so that we didn't have to wander the streets all afternoon. the centrality of the hotel made it a matter of seconds to find a taxi to take us to the airport (set rate E30)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Amazing staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite Junior with Terrace and Jacuzzi
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stay in this hotel almost every time I visit Madrid. Staff is just amazing. Super nice and friendly happy to help you with everything you need. They did very good job with refurbish. Rooms with jacuzzi are perfect to chill

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Great area, nice bar area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice reception and bar area, friendly check in. We were a group of 10 with different rooms, Some rooms didn’t have tea/coffee facilities so check when booking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.1
    There are two types of rooms - renovated and old ones.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are two types of rooms - renovated and old ones. In the pictures you can see renovated rooms that are nice. We stayed for two nights and got the old room, that was small, dark, didn’t small good and had view to the wall. We went to complain and had to pay extra 23 euros to upgrade to superior room for that night. The next day they moved us to renovated standart room with no extra cost. The room was nice but we were very disappointed about the service received before. The swimming pool and area around it is very small. Location in perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic and. Dry comfortable stay and very friendly, helpful staff. Beautiful building in centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would like tea and coffee facilities in the room.

    Stylish hotel right in the centre of all the action in a Madrid. Easy walking distance from lots of attractions and shops. Staff in hotel were very friendly and helpful. We didn't eat in the hotel as we wanted to try local restaurants, however the restaurant in the hotel looked lovely. The rooms were lovely and very comfortable, so much so we over slept a couple of times. Outside terrace with pool area is small but if you're lucky you'll get a seat. One suggestion would be for coffe and tea facilities in the rooms. Would definitely recommend and return in the future.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyable stay with lots of things to do
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We overlooked other rooms as we were at the back of the hotel

    The phone provided in each hotel room that we could use for maps and it was very informative

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    If you’re after a budget stay then this hotel is not the one for you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace and Jacuzzi®
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The continental breakfast on room service wasn’t the best, the toast wasn’t toast it was more like warmed up bread which was still soft, the rest was okay, however be prepared as it was quite expensive. We didn’t try the hotel restaurant for breakfast after the room service experience, however the bar had a good choice of breakfasts if you are open to new things (my boyfriend is picky so we didn’t try any). Also be aware that the items in the mini bar are slightly expensive, but they are all good quality.

    The location is perfect literally a short walk to most of the attractions around. Although it’s on a busy street it is relatively quiet and definitely a very safe place to be. The staff were lovely and most spoke relatively good English. Madrid in general is quite cheap for food, drinks can be expensive but meals are relatively cheap depending on where you go.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.9
    Location location location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit pokey, but probably to be expected in an inner city hotel , good breakfast and also a lighter breakfast available in the bar if needed although that didn't open till 8 am. Staff helpful although there was a mistake with the booking. They had booked us in 2 rooms each night instead of one.

    Position in excellent, on major road so can walk everywhere

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent all round - the perfect stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was in a great central position and the room was extremely comfortable and the beds were very comfortable and the bathroom and shower really great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location, excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Minor quibble: the gym is very small and one of the machines was out of order, it would be good to have more weights in there. However, the rest of the facilities more than made up for this.

    This hotel was spotless and the staff were all delightful. I would be very happy to stay here in the future.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.1
    Hotel in good position but don’t eat in hotel go across the road to Steakburger which is excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea and coffee making facilities in the room no bidet in bathroom.cold scrambled eggs and bacon.there was a special celebration of rice dishes we paid 16euros each for what amounted to a handful of rice 3 prawns and a little piece of octopus,plus it didn’t taste good.disapointed as we have enjoyed payella many times.lady on the next table was also disappointed.

    We liked the position of the hotel, staff were friendly and helpful,maid service was good .breakfast was good but not very hot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    The hotel is great, very comfortable, elegant and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is great, very comfortable, elegant and clean. I had a small room but it was still very comfortable with a very good bed and great bathroom. Natural light via an atrium at the back of the rear rooms. Reception staff were great - very friendly and helpful to a first-timer in Madrid practicing her Spanish! : )

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Recommended! Fantastic location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was comfortable Swimming pool was smaller than what it appears in the photos. No sun loungers. limited space. Great views though! Staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Stay would have been fine if not for that room location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stayed in room 221-this room is located on a street that has dumpster loading and unloading all night long. Absolutely unable to sleep due to noise outside.

    Beautiful hotel and great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    3.8
    100 % bad option
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    VERRY BAD HOTEL WITH VERRY UNPLESEND STAFF ! I let my mobile phone in one taxi and the taxi driver come back to the hotel ant let the phone to the staff. When I ask the reception 10 min latter they tell me : no, nobody let the phone here. I explain them I speeack with the taxi driver by phone and my aplication show me the phone here ! NO ! WE DONT HAVE NOTHING was the answer ! The telephone was disconected after this discution and the last position in the map was in the Hotel !

    Nothing !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    3 days in Madrid!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location on Gran Via. The hotel was clean, modern and the shower was amazing!! From the minute we arrived the service was amazing, from reception staff, chambermaids and bar staff. We weren't in Madrid long enough to get use of the spa.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.8
    Staff is very very helpful and smiling
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small, with nothing inside: not a welcome chocolate or bottle of water and, what is really relevant to me, there was no kettle to hot water to prepare a tea or coffee---there was absolutely nothing. Not something you would expect from an expensive 4 stars hotel.

    Staff is very very helpful and smiling

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.4
    Dark in hallway no lights you need to use your phone or a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark in hallway no lights you need to use your phone or a lighter to see the lock at night. The room I stayed in was facing back of street so nothing see except walls and you don’t know if it is sunny rainy etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Fabulous staff, beautiful hotel, rooms are functional
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms really let the property down, our room was clean and functional but in need of updating and repairing.

    The common areas of the hotel are fantastic, beautiful bar, fab lounge area, gorgeous restaurant and a lovely little roof top pool!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location, nice place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture was a bit old.

    Walking distance to all the site-seeing places, very nice staff and everything I need. Restaurant bar on the first floor was a bit pricy but nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location, nice hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast buffet could have been a little bit more comprehensive.

    Location was excellent and I think I must have been upgraded as I had a roof top terrace with an empty jacuzzi but the room was very nicely decorated and very crisp and clean. Classy hotel bar.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.9
    Overall, very pleasant and enjoyable apart from the awful twin bed arrangement
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The reconstruction of the bathroom left a lot to be desired. The wash hand basin was far too shallow and the room cramped and an inordinate amount of space had been given to the shower.- very poor design work. I did not like the twin bed arrangement.

    The dining area and restaurant were an improvement on the previous arrangement and the dinner menu was extremely tempting.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    3.3
    During the night there was an annoying noises coming form...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    During the night there was an annoying noises coming form the air conditioning system. I called the reception at 9.30 pm to work out the problem, they told me that at 11 pm a technician would have come and he arrived around 1 am, after I needed to call again. BY the way he was not a technician. Paying 150 Euro for a night, without sleeping and with this poor service quality has been very unfortunate, also for Booking.com

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.3
    Not really good value for money. I think you are paying for the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom had somewhat musty smell. Noisy pipes. Bed hard, not very comfortable. No tea/ coffee facilities in room.

    Excellent location, right in city centre. Can walk everywhere. Staff helpful. Updated bathroom with great shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.8
    Family trip to Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in the restaurant and bar was very expensive.

    Location was amazing, couldn't get more central if you tried. Pool was lovely, if a bit small.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    One of the best hotels I've ever stayed at!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite Junior with Terrace and Jacuzzi
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, it was truly fantastic.

    Fantastic time at Catalonia Gran Via - amazing facilities with the Jacuzzi outside, but the spa as well indoors. The room itself was gorgeous and large, which is fantastic considering where it was situated in the heart of Madrid. In addition the staff was absolutely at the top of their game - friendly, helpful and always willing to provide the best guest experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Location of hotel was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is very expensive for a city hotel Plenty of places to eat that we found so much cheaper

    Location of hotel was perfect Hotel very clean and the room was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable stay, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were initially given was not nice and very dated. You could see most the money had been spent on the communal areas of the hotel. Stains on walls, vents hanging off and very noisy, when we requested a quiet room. We chose not to accept the room based on what we paid and the condition of the room. The receptionist was accommodating with this and showed us the few available rooms left, but we would have had to pay extra which we were not happy about. Eventually he found another room on the top floor which was what we imagined we would get, even complete with its own sun terrace, at no extra cost.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.1
    Everything is cool .
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet and relax

    Everything is cool ... if you open a lityle more about other cultures like emarati or dubai.... we come more often to madrid and like the hotel and the people but the non smily atitude and not opening exchanging conversations is not good ... the faces of staff too serieos gives negative impretion to us .... other points is the prices .... for example one week raye 100 afte 4 days another rates... when we asked the reciptionest his answer was because of the markets... which was non convincing ... the people are educated ... this gives very bad reputation... Antway we like your hotel very much we wich things gets alwyas bettter

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    6.7
    Excellent location and good value, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Better trained reception staff. Kettle in the room.

    Excellent location and good value, good breakfast. There was a delay checking-in and the reception staff kept me waiting about 45 minutes while they adjusted the computer. There is no kettle in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    I enjoyed staying at this hotel & its unique location at the city centet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room does not have a sleepery shoes, i was told it is not a superior room and thats why the sleepery shoes is not provided.

    I like all the hotel staff they were very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.9
    Hotel is located in centre of Madrid, good access to transport, sightseeing, resturant etc
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bath towel were a bit worn

    easy to book, great location Bus to and from airport very near to hotel Hotel very clean Room very spacious Luxury bathroom Good check out time 12.00

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    6.3
    adequate hotel - But a 4 star is debatable - more like a good 3 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Unable to get a kettle for the room unless we paid out 200 plus euro to upgrade the room - also refurbishing work going on which we were unaware of. Pool area needed a good clean - rubbish left there by guests from when we arrived - empty beer cans, food wrappers etc. Still there 5 days later - Not what is expected from a hotel with this rating

    Location was excellent - Breakfast selection very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic location for heading to some amazing areas of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite Junior with Terrace and Jacuzzi
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location for heading to some amazing areas of Madrid, and the room was absolutely fabulous - so much space with an option for a third bed. We stayed in junior suite which had a terrace with a hot tub - very well thought out as In the sun all day!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.1
    Average at best
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are outdated and need refurbishment. Room key was frequently not working. Gym was quite literally pointless.

    The bar area and front of house areas were good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.1
    Wonderful hotel and great location let down by customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were not as welcoming or friendly as you would expect.

    The location is excellent and the rooms /suites with terraces and hot tubs were fab.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    5.8
    Strange view across what seemed to be an airshaft.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff forgot to resupply with soap. After hearing of my concern, the front desk supposedly sent someone, but no one came. After 30 minutes, I returned to the front desk to again complain and they were very accommodating, but this was about an hour after my first request. Front desk appeared to be understaffed during busy hours of check in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    6.3
    Overpriced for what you get...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were promised one thing and given another a few hours later (queen-sized vs. two twin beds, not even attached). Room switch the next day, but both bathrooms had a strong odor of sewage, and the wifi was not very strong, either.

    Hard to beat the location, and the lobby area is bright and modern. Our first staff contact was very friendly, too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable weekend on the whole !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy due to being on Gran via. A bit pricey compared to other places I have stayed. But would stay again.

    Location was great, room was very nice. Shower was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    Gym was small and I paid for a room that had tea n coffee...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym was small and I paid for a room that had tea n coffee facilities but they weren’t maintained daily, not sure if meant to but I think it should since you pay fo it

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.0
    Hotel facilities were generally good, the location is...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The bed was not comfortable. Bathroom smelled of sewage. Air-conditioning system was not switched on as it was early spring which caused the room to become hot in the afternoon. There was too much noise on the street which disturbed my sleep.

    Hotel facilities were generally good, the location is perfect and staff are friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    6.3
    The location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we checked in we were offered an upgrade at 23 euros per person per night, we declined and when we got to the room we soon realised why! There were two lovely large windows that looked out on a brick wall. When we booked the standard room it didn’t state that there would be no view whatsoever and this would be the view. The room was very dark! Also the roof top pool is not much bigger than a jacuzzi! We were due to fly home at 21:45 so on the last day we asked for a late checkout which wasn’t available which I fully understand but there was not a curtesy room to freshen up either very unusual for that standard of hotel! We went to the spa and a very kind lady said we could use the facilities we explained that we had asked the receptionist if we could use the spa and she said NO. The reception staff were not very friendly and some quite abrupt!

    The location was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    5.4
    Overall, this was a disappointing weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I specifically chose this hotel to swim. Unfortunately, the 'swimming pool' was just an oversized bathtub. Further, the room was incredibly small. For almost 300 EUR per night, it is ridiculous that there was going to be an extra charge to use the sauna area.

    The location is really good.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Catalonia Gran Vía traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: