Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Spain hotel reviews
  3. Community of Madrid hotel reviews
  4. Madrid hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Catalonia Gran Vía

Reviews of Catalonia Gran Vía This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Gran Vía, 9, Madrid City Center, 28013 Madrid, Spain

#102 of 364 hotels in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 821 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2019

    9.6
    Very nice rooms, modern bath & furniture, tiny pool on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No dedicated towels for pool

    Very nice rooms, modern bath & furniture, tiny pool on roof top. Very quiet despite very central location. Welcome water in reception area. Very nice staff.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2019

    10
    The most amazing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cleaner came early while I still was in the room

    Absolutely amazing hotel with the friendliest staff. The rooms are great size with huge beds as well as the views from the room. I would recommend this hotel to everyone

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2019

    8.8
    Location was easy access for walking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    First room space plan of bathroom...shower was so wide that toilet was crunched between sink and shower with toilet paper holder jammed into space. Black and blue marks from stay. I know what happened as I am an interior designer. The shower floors were all precut to size without taking into consideration the overall size of each bathroom. The shower could easily have lost a few inches in width to accommodate space for toilet. The second bathroom we had was great. Secondly, I had wanted to leave my one larger suitcase while I travelled to Granada and Seville for a week. I have done this many times. The room used was a locked room. I would have appreciated more effort by the reception staff to accommodate this request. Initially they were abrupt in saying no and the suggestion for Lock and Be Free was a difficult solution. I would have paid to leave in hotel. Darius, the only staff that seemed to care ended up offering, on his own time, rolling the suitcase to the storage facility. As a senior, I greatly appreciated his help. He was always cheerful and caring. I am traveling for a year, therefore, have more with me for changing climates. Reception areas in hotels usually are the most caring pleasant staff. I was not impressed with some of the staff. The second stay was better.

    Location was easy access for walking. he rooms were generally comfortable and well designed. Breakfast was superb!!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2019

    9.6
    Great location. Great value. Would recommend ❤️
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room had weak walls and you could hear people and especially the cleaning crew in someone’s room.

    Hotel was in a great location and friendly staff and the downstairs restaurant was great to grab a drink before we left for the evening.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2019

    7.1
    It is well located, nice pool on rooftop terrace, modern and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Service and spa Don‘t think the whirlpool on the rooftop (see pictures) is for everyone, it is of a certain room; you have to pay extra for using spa (incl. Sauna that is not mentioned in hotel description); cleaning lady didn‘t bring new towels - used towels from pool were just laid on the heating

    It is well located, nice pool on rooftop terrace, modern and big room, nice lobby

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2019

    8.3
    Very central location, modern and clean hotel, room and bed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Facilities were not quite as hoped, fitness centre very basic with 3 machines. Roof pool was smaller than looked and lack of space up there. Would expect breakfast included for the price and hotel grade but was $17 extra and not as good as hoped.

    Very central location, modern and clean hotel, room and bed comfortable with big shower. Staff were friendly and helpful allowing luggage to be left. Spa facilities nice and relaxing. Nice bar area and big screen for football that was on

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2019

    9.6
    The hotel was very clean and modern, staff were very helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was very clean and modern, staff were very helpful also they spoke great English which I wasn't sure they would prior to arrival. Location couldn't be more central. Had a real 4 star hotel feel. would definitely go back.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2019

    5.8
    Brand new modern bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was placed in a wing very far from reception. The corridors and room doors were really old. Rooms are stuffy. The staff did move me to a less stuffy room but the odor was still prevalent. I will not stay at Catalonia hotels again as the bathroom in Catalonia plaza Barcelona had major problems. Gran via metro has major construction right now so rather wait a bit before booking any hotel in the area.

    Brand new modern bathroom. Good location.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2019

    8.8
    Great location, can walk to pretty much anywhere, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Felt the room was perhaps a bit small and lack of facilities for the price (no tea or coffee unless you upgrade?!). All water chargeable too... Also, the room service food was terrible, don’t get it!

    Great location, can walk to pretty much anywhere, very central. Staff were lovely and the Bloved cafe is amazing!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2019

    10
    Everything.
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Everything... the staff were so friendly and helpful, the facilities were great and the location excellent. We would definitely recommend the hotel and would stay again.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2019

    10
    Best place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We liked Everything. We opted for the breakfast also. It was wonderful. We love to walk and found it easy to see the different sections via walking. Great location for culture, fine food and activities.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2019

    8.3
    Great location right in the centre of Madrid on the Gran Via.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Check-in was friendly but very slow and not efficient. They insisted on us paying in advance but didn't take a credit card for extras … as a result, I think they forgot to apply some charges when we were leaving (but it wasn't clear from the extras bill they presented us with). Also, a used room service tray was left on our floor for over 24 hours!

    Didn't have breakfast in the hotel (too expensive compared to the great little coffee shops all around this area). Loved the location - couldn't be better. Very comfortable beds.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2019

    9.6
    Well located and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Somewhat odd selection of toiletries - shampoo, body cleanser but no conditioner and no body lotion. But it had a shoe tongue and some sort of polish or scrubber. Poor reception on the English tv channels. The gym also needs an upgrade - the treadmill was wobbly and one out of two bikes didn’t work. The weights machine only partially worked also.

    Well located in the main part of the city centre, close to restaurants, shops etc. Our double room was super clean, bed comfy and shower was great. Plenty of wardrobe space as well and easy to work air con. Most staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2019

    10
    Got the superior room with the jacuzzi - the room was as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace and Jacuzzi®
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only stayed one night so didn’t notice anything negative

    Got the superior room with the jacuzzi - the room was as expected in a good hotel, clean, stylish but nothing spectacular... the terrace with the private jacuzzi was fantastic!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2019

    9.6
    Looks like a classical, but provides modern facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I tried to find out some problems, but failed.

    Looks like a classical, but provides modern facilities. All personnel did their best to provide satisfactory services. The location and breakfast were more than my expectation.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2019

    9.6
    Highly recommended for midrange $. Great hotel with optimum comfort, location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little nuisance: there was a metal doorstop in the room which we stubbed our toes on more than once!! Also the corridors and stairway were ugly! The restaurant/lobby downstairs only had one tiny bathroom.

    Location was convenient and central. The room was well lit and the shower was very nice. Each room came with a smart phone to use during our stay which helped us find our way with Maps etc. Lighting in room and bathroom was very good. The private room terrace with a lounge chair and little bistro set was very convenient. We could easily control the AC and heating in our room. The towel heater was very helpful when we washed socks and had to dry them quickly!! Hairdryer was full size and better than most in rooms.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2019

    7.9
    Convenience and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The standard double room don't have kettle for hot water.

    Location is excellent almost close to everything. sta are friendly and helpful, room was clean.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2019

    3.3
    Worst experience in Spain, rude staff and dirty rooms
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff are the worst I've experienced in a long time. Check-in was a desaster and the guy called David insisted on getting the VAT no without using the English word or saying what it is, when I showed the number he said he doesn't speak my mother tongue and refused to help me. Afterwards he gave me on purpose a downgrade (on my receipt I got another room number!) and I got the worst and loudest room in a floor under construction, even though I asked for a quiet room already when booking. It was getting even worse: the room was FULL OF HAIR, on the bed linen, pillow, the shower and bathroom full of hair, I called the reception, someone came and checked it and left. That was at 10:00 pm at night, and NOTHING happened, I waited for 40min if I get new sheets, if someone would clean the bathroom or if I get another room and NOTHING. So I had to asked the next morning for a new room - again, I received another loud room towards the street even though they had many other rooms. In both rooms the wollen blakets underneath the bed linen were disgustingly dirty and again long hair everywhere... Even though I gave my company address the day before and asked to have the invoice ready at check-out, early in the next morning nothing was ready, the guy started to put the address in, made mistakes, didn't know how to change it in the system and it took 15min to receive a bill while I was in a hurry to get to the airport! I do not recommend this hotel to anyone!

    the location is in the city center - though directly at a very loud, big street.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2019

    6.7
    Pleasant but over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was basic hotel room - no tea/ coffee facilities. One chair . No seating area( or seats to relax in Bar basic lounge area basic Roof top pool small

    View of grand via

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2019

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurant / bar in the hotel was lovely but pricey.

    The hotel was in the perfect location on the main Gran Vía street meaning shops, restaurants & bars could easily be found within a short distance. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was the best I’ve had!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2019

    9.2
    Great stay, friendly staff and the location 100 %.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One of the elevators had a bad smell. I think it was something with the new wallpaper and the glue that was off. Much of the hotel were under renovations so the corridors and the doors at some of the floors didn´t look as nice as all the rooms that were great.

    The location of the hotel was great. The showers were fantastic and the cleaning was very good. The view from the hotel was also very good.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2019

    5.8
    Let me down
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not a nice place.The receptionists are not doing much and are not there to help you, very slow. The spa at the hotel was not available for the WHOLE trip as they were painting the walls!! Nowhere was it mentioned obviously.. manager not available..the rooms itself are ok, breakfast is ok, nothing exceptional compared to other hotels.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2019

    10
    will recommend
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    spacious room and bath room is top clear and new .

    breakfast : did not hv location perfect to Sol and shopping area , also not far from train station liked most the cleanest and perfect hospitality :)

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2019

    8.3
    The staff is dynamic and easy-going
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The toiletries is incomplete and they didn’t provide slippers. If we needed that, we need to spend more money per night. I didn’t expect that from a four star hotel at all.

    The staff is dynamic and easy-going

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2019

    7.5
    Catalonia Gran Via
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Were kindly upgraded to a superior room as this holiday was a birthday present so my Sister had emailed ahead. Shame we got home later that night to find ants coming out of the bathroom door frame. Cannot fault the hotel staff though. It was mentioned and our room was swapped and given a junior suite at no extra cost. Luggage was transferred over for us whilst we were out so not much hassle at all.

    Junior suite was lovely but room very warm. Unable to open windows!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2019

    5.8
    Deceitful, thieving with a mix of toilet stench
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This hotel has lots to offer, all starting with deceitful staff (straight up liars), thieving cleaning personal and constant toilet stench in one of the elevators. We started off with upgrading from a regular room (was way to small), we upgraded to one of their “top class” room on the 7th floor (with jacuzzi, guest room and “balcony”). David who checked us in, assured us that especially with the birthday which we had upcoming, “special attentiveness and a bottle of champagne” was guaranteed in upgraded room. What we got was slightly different; starting with the small things; excuses and frankly put fake sorry-speeches, unable to find a vase for flowers, breakfast room-service on the birthday was accompanied with incomplete deliveries, more excuses and unnecessary phone calls and more delays (no sense what so ever of prudence), then on the birthday evening instead of the promised bottle of champagne we were surprised with a large bottle of water (otherwise nothing was complementary, not even water). Over to the larger and grotesque things; from our room disappeared a silk nightgown and last but not the least when confronted the concierge regarding the broken promises and the ill experiences we had to simply settle with yet more callous / numb-faced excuses.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2019

    3.8
    Overpriced and rude staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom was not clean. Our sheets were not changed having asked twice. Staff were rude and defensive when any issue was brought to them. Hotel was loud. Facilities were poor and not as they looked in the photos. Would not recommend this hotel. Overpriced.

    The only positive was the location.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2019

    7.9
    Rooms were large and beautiful with balcony overlooking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Construction on upper floors. Cocktails at the bar were packaged mixes versus craft made. We couldn't finish our drinks as they were just super sweet, unbalanced and gross. The DJ was playing really generic top 40 music in the lounge.

    Rooms were large and beautiful with balcony overlooking Grande Via. Beds extremely comfortable. Staff always helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2019

    8.3
    The hotel is having renovations completed and the floor we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is having renovations completed and the floor we got placed on was very dusty with builders around during the day. There was also no carpet down which made it noisy when people walked the corridors.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2019

    9.6
    Amazing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Junior with Terrace and Jacuzzi
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was alot of static on the terrace we kept getting shocked out there

    Everything apart from that it was so lovely. The jacuzzi was our favourite part well worth the extra. We loved the location of the hotel too very central to everything and very accessible.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2019

    10
    Location was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Location was amazing!! Madrid is an amazing city and the hotel could not be in a better spot. Everything was extremely clean, and staff very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2019

    9.2
    An excellent stay we would definitely recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was great. No complaints

    The room was very clean. The staff were very friendly. It was quite a luxurious hotel in a great location. The staff also spoke excellent English which was very helpful for us.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2019

    9.2
    The room balcony, location and friendliness of the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No coffee machine, no slippers, no bathroom robe. If we needed that, we need to spend more money per night. I didn’t except that from a four star hotel at all.

    The room balcony, location and friendliness of the staff.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2019

    10
    Perfect central location for weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    View from the balcony at the back rooms was directly into a big office block and noisy recycling bins.

    Massive bed in a lovely modern room. Amazing and clean shower.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2019

    8.3
    The location was perfect.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No coffee making facilities in the room, charged for eating the biscuits in the room and the gym wasn’t very well equipped,

    The location was perfect. The room was very clean and the staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2019

    8.5
    Staff are great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The time I was staying there were lots of groups who were very noisy I couldn’t sleep well for the first two nights They should work more in the sound proofing and isolation

    Staff are great Location is great

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2019

    9.2
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’d be great to have an electric kettle in the room

    Location is great. Friendly staff. Bathroom is new and modern. Bed was comfortable. They let us in way before check in time.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2019

    7.1
    Really lovely stay and central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The size of the gym, the fact you have to pay to use spa facilities if your only in a basic room, the beds wasn’t really comfy.

    I loved the hotel, the smell when you walk in the reception is amazing! Rooms are clean

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2019

    10
    Fab location. Fab hotel. Exceptional value. Highly reccomend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pool was freezing. Too cold to swim in. Pictures of the roof top was misleading. It appeared that there was a hotube on the rooftop. I had contacted the hotel numerous times through booking.com and had no response.

    I really enjoyed my stay in the hotel. EXCELLENT location. Fab interior. Great staff. Comfortable beds. Very clean.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2019

    7.5
    Great location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Closest parking lot is two blocks away and very expensive. The hotel doesn’t have even a spot where you can stop to load or unload the car or drop off your family which in a rainy day is really really terrible and the staff is not helpful about that at all. If you are using a car to visit the city this is definitely NOT your choice of a hotel.

    Great location; room was renovated, comfortable and clean as expected for the price.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2019

    4.6
    Not trusted Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    i booked 2 rooms ( 1 suit & 1 room ) they surprised me in the day i will arrive Madrid that they cancel my suit booking which i booked before 3 weeks and the reason is i have to update my cridet , i called the hotel and told them my credit is working because i use it everyday they told me to call booking.com , i called booking but they didn't help .. the question mark is : if the reason was my credit , why they didn't cancel my other room booking .. i know that they cancel my suit booking because they want to sell it for higher price .. i will never get back to this hotel again and i will never recommend it to friends

    Location only

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2019

    8.3
    Would definitely come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was very gloomy. No view. Although they offered to upgrade for a charge.

    Location is perfect. At a walking distance from all Madrid's sight seeing. Rooms are very comfortable and clean. People on reception very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2019

    9.6
    Javier was such a hard worker and very efficient at his job.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When we tried to store our bags because we were too early to check in, the woman behind the counter said to find the bell boy and then took the next customer.,I was dismissed and had to track him down the hallway and wait until he came back. Javier, when I spoke with him, was great and helped right away.

    Javier was such a hard worker and very efficient at his job.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2019

    6.7
    great location but ultimately not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Upon booking this hotel my search criteria was for a hotel with a pool. This search only brought me a handful of hotels in Madrid including the Grand Via. The description on both booking and if you google the hotel states this has an outside HEATED pool and an indoor hot tub. The hot tub is stated as a facility includes and NOT an extra charge. Upon attempting to use the pool we quickly discovered it is not in fact heated as stated and as it is on the roof (open air) we could not use it un heated. We then attempted to use the hot tub but were told this was an additional 20 euro charge. We questioned this with reception staff, even providing photographic evidence of the description used on the website but they refused to admit it was incorrect and told us we would have to pay. The staff were very defensive about this and ultimately rude. We did not end up using either facility which was unacceptable to us when this had been the main reason we booked this hotel and at over £115 a night, without these facilities included (AS STATED) it was not worth this price.

    The hotel is modern and the bar area especially is lovely. The room was clean and well presented. Good location for several points of interest in Madrid. One member of bar staff with short brown hair was the saving grace of the all the staff we encountered. She was lovely, kind and helpful and a credit to the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2019

    7.1
    Bring your passport!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I felt like David on reception was being awkward and judging me as not being good enough for his hotel. He was going to make my daughter’s friend travel back on the metro to get her passport. She is 17 and it was ten o’ clock at night. He was not very welcoming and gave us a negative feeling about the hotel. I was so disappointed .

    Location was absolutely fabulous. Couldn’t ask for better. A great base to visit all the wonderful sights in Madrid.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2019

    9.2
    I liked the location and the spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no body who would help us with he luggage and show us to our room like the usual 4 stars room. We managed as we were 2 people. However for a family this service is really valuable The pillow were really hard (bot in thsi hotel only but through our stay in spain’s 4 stars hotel) i recommend to get the pillow out of it’s leather case for better pillow option I choose this hotel because my friend told me about a free churros they gave. Maybe because it was in winter they weren’t serving them bu that’s fine

    I liked the location and the spacious room

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2019

    4.6
    Good location but not worth the money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Paid extra for spa access but you cannot use it if the person in charge is giving a massage. Also the took money for the first night from my credit card 10 days before arrival even though I could cancel 2 days before arrival for free.

    Room had a balcony.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2019

    9.2
    The Hotel is very central and glamorous, designed in an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The spa not included in the deal.

    The Hotel is very central and glamorous, designed in an international style. Room very spacious and the shower in the bathroom was amazing. We just stayed one night as we went for a very short trip but we would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2019

    10
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was great, we had a lovely room overlooking Grand Via. We were in Madrid to celebrate my partners birthday and see Cirque De Soleil. The house maid who cleaned our room on that day, saw her birthday card on the side and when we got back that evening, found she had left birthday greetings too, a card and some chocolate. Thank you Emely, sorry you weren't working the following day of our departure as we wanted to thank you personally.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2019

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff so helpful lovely atmosphere at hotel. Great food and location.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2019

    10
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. Everything was perfect

    Excellent location. Excellent staff. Completely beautiful

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2019

    6.3
    Very overpriced!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very overpriced!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2019

    10
    Location was amazing, and the food very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location was amazing, and the food very good!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2019

    9.2
    Location, rooms, bar, breakfast choices
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Need a bit more space between the breakfast tables!

    Location, rooms, bar, breakfast choices

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2019

    10
    Excellent hotel on an excellent location in the center of...
    • Business trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent hotel on an excellent location in the center of Madrid. The staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2019

    10
    Amazing staff and amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing was perfect

    Amazing staff and amazing location

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2019

    10
    Excellent, many thanks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent staff, very friendly, helpful and charming.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2019

    6.3
    Location
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking

    Location

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2019

    9.6
    Better chairs would be nice at the pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Better chairs would be nice at the pool. They were uncomfortable and the set up made it hard for multiple people to enjoy it

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2019

    10
    Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noise from outside

    Room Breakfast

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2019

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Gentillesse du personnel

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2019

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Superior room had an old bath tub rather than walk in shower. Room key had to be reset a couple of times.

    Great location

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2019

    10
    Couldn’t recommend enough!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Super friendly staff Amazing location Has everything you need

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2019

    9.6
    Our Stay was fabulous and so enjoyable. The staff were also very friendly and helpful .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no dislikes.

    The room was so comfy and the air conditioning was great. The bed was also comfy and a lovely shower!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2019

    9.6
    Everything else
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room at back of hotel was very noisy and office block looking in your window

    Everything else

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2019

    6.3
    It's too small for big people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's too small for big people

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2019

    9.2
    Atention
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Atention

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2019

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was uncomfortable and the bathroom is old.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2019

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom was old and needed updating.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2019

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fitness Facilities were inadequate.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2019

    7.1
    Great location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The communication quite slow.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2019

    9.6
    Location , staff shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location , staff shower

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2019

    8.8
    Nice quiet hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom was a little dated.

    Nice quiet hotel. Large rooms. Convenient location. Worth upgrading to a superior room.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2019

    7.5
    Friendly service and fab location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Spa was small and communal area was also small.

    Friendly service and fab location.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2019

    7.5
    Unproblematic check in/out. I got what I've expected for the money, can recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The speed of WLAN could be a little better.

    Excellent location, almost all, for me relevant, points were within walking distance. Nice clean rooms

    Stayed in April 2019

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Catalonia Gran Vía Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: