Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Catalonia Las Cañas 4 stars

Carretera Logroño-Mendavia Na 134 Km 99, 31230 Viana, Spain

#2 of 2 hotels in Viana

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1118 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    6.9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.8
    Good stay. Poor breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast, despite a favourable review was not good. We are a family of six so we paid €66 for the privilege of having a pretty crappy breakfast. There was plenty of food but most of it was pretty poor. That was our only complaint.

    Staff, cleanliness, location near supermarkets, easy parking. Reasonable price, apart from the breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    Clean and comfortable hotel with pleasant helpful staff good breakfast selection
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was remote and restaurant had limited menu for evening although breakfast was very good

    Located far from Camino route on a retail site comfortable clean with room with helpful staf

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.2
    Extremely helpful front desk staff (Sandra) who gave us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far away from city in an industrial part of town.

    Extremely helpful front desk staff (Sandra) who gave us incredible directions for exploring the city. Room and bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Much better than I was expecting. Good place to break a journey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant food lacklustre at dinner time. Restaurant open very "Spanish" hours - ie. 8.30 start. This is not very convenient if you have been travelling all day and just want to eat and sleep.

    Clean modern rooms, secure underground parking, charming helpful staff. Excellent breakfast. Will stop here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    8.3
    Great breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Dinner buffet could be improved and offer more choice in my opinion. Location isn't great if your on a holiday (unless you have a car), but for our business trip I have nothing to complain about.

    Great breakfast. Awesome surprise to find a little present when I came back to my room on my birthday!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    6.3
    It was adequate.
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was not very helpful initially. The environment of the hotel is sterile in appearance. One of the staff was able to give us excellent directions to reconnecting to the Camino without having the need to walk back to Viana.

    I liked that the property was located between Viana and Logronos, however the location is far from any restaurants, bars, etc. The mall had a cafe and a restaurant, however it did not open until 9pm. Fortunately the mall had a grocery store inside and we were able to purchase premaid salads, etc.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.6
    Would book again
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location in a large shopping center outside the city is a little odd but otherwise I cannot complain as the hotel itself was great, clean, and the breakfast buffet was very good with lots of options also for vegetarians.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    5.8
    Hotel as part of the outlet shopping center should be much cheaper than hotels in the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I got a room for the disabled, I would not mind, but the showers adapted for wheelchair entry, leak water all over the bathroom. In the room was savebox, unfortunately locked and I could not use it, and than I asked at the reception to fix it, nobody came, although they promised it me. Lack of fruits for breakfast, also out of a fried egg, out of water... you have to ask for it Hotel as a part of Carrefour shopping center

    comfortable beds,

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    7.5
    Almost a very good hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No smoking room stank of stale tobacco, including the sheets. Bedroom floor very slippery if feet are wet.

    Excellent breakfast, good parking, friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    7.1
    Stop Over Hotel Only.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That the power supply went off in the room when you removed the key card. Caused issues charging phones, laptops and turned the air con off. A couple of issues with the room - loose toilet seat, the towel rail in the bathroom was unsafe and the curtains didn't quite close. Shame as it let the hotel down. Reception did apologise for this when we reported it.

    Location was good for us on our way back to the ferry port plus Logrono was a great area to explore and good for shopping. The hotel was clean and tidy. The staff were helpful. Breakfast was buffet style and was adequate. I would only recommend it as a stop over though as it is definately a budget hotel. We ate our evening meals in Mr Woks next door. All you can eat buffet as the hotel restaurant menu didn't appeal to us as a family.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Shanes stay ducati
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All good grate for motorcycle parking smart rooms hotel wife loved it

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is quite a bit outside Viana and situated in a retail park.

    Clean and comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.1
    Nice Hotel, location,good staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location could have been better

    Nice Hotel, location,good staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    10
    Nice people.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice people. Breakfast was delish ever mornings

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.5
    Suited our requirements for a break in our travels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was comfortable and clean. The buffet breakfast was good value

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    9.6
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean, good beds, nice staff...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful breakfasts.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was a bit hit and miss.

    Wonderful breakfasts.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    7.5
    Modern hotel, comfortable room with bar fridge
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location not nice at all, as adjoins a large shopping center. Way too far off the Camino path for us.

    Modern hotel, comfortable room with bar fridge

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    4.2
    Modern and fresh room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad sound insulation, remote boring area, no public transport to town

    Modern and fresh room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed signs in the roads leading to the Hotel as it was difficult to find on my sat nav.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    Best cost-benefit relation ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best cost-benefit relation ever.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable and quiet despite being in a commercial centre. Staff helpful. Good base for us to visit the region

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    7.5
    Too far off the Camino
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far from the Camino. Not a good hotel if you are walking the Camino

    Beautiful, private, quiet

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.1
    Restaurante para cenar horrible
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurante para cenar horrible

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    6.7
    Air conditioning didnt work
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning didnt work

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    10
    Best place to stay to explore Rioja
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    staff knowledge of local poi is great.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    8.8
    check in
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Que el check in era a las 2

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    10
    Excellent stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The beds are clean, large and comfortable. The staff are all very friendly and accommodating. We have no complaints and will return.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    9.2
    Good accommodation. Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hot food on the breakfast buffet was a little cold.

    Extremely spacious and comfortable room. The beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    8.8
    Very good spot for Camino
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet didn't fill properly so I could hear it all night long

    Excellent location. Lady waited up until 10:30pm as My bus was delayed. So nice!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    9.6
    Excelente.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Todo en general.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    8.8
    Very difficult to find even with Tomtom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not much choice in the restaurant, and nowhere nearby to eat either. What we had to eat was ok and reasonably priced

    Very difficult to find even with Tomtom. Once located it was easy then driving to Logrono And back. Staff very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    7.5
    - comfortable big kingsize bed!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Depending on your room neighbours, it can be quite noisy. The walls are paper-thin and all rooms are equipped with laminate floor. Easy to clean, but with horrible effects in a hotel where you expect a silent environment.

    - comfortable big kingsize bed!!! - silent during the night - spacious bathroom - big flatscreen TV - fitted wardrobe - always warm during January - very good parking facilities - carrefour supermarket round the corner - friendly helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2016

    7.1
    Nice, big room with a good bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing, you can't change the fact that the building isn't new anymore and that it is situated in a shopping mall.

    Nice, big room with a good bed. Staff was helpful and friendly. Price.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    7.9
    Large room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Large room. No view at all. Clean. No restaurant open during our stay. Part of shopping mall which had cinema but poor food choices. Difficult to find.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    10
    Very spacious rooms - very clean and very friendly abd...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is a bit funky: the hotel is located in a mall near the industrial area.

    Very spacious rooms - very clean and very friendly abd helpful staff. The restaurant was also very good.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    9.2
    Comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Booked this hotel because address said "Vianna" we are from Australia and booked through booking.com. and I cannot find any information stating this hotel is not in actual town of Viana. In now reading other reviews I'm not the only person fooled by the address .Keep in mind we are walking the Camino so what should have been a 22k day ended up a 28k day. When we realised this hotel was not in Viana and way off camino track we couldn't cancel due to the no refund cancellation policy. We walked the extra kms and luckily we were able to figure out going via the bird observation route would be the most direct and less kms. Perhaps a direction sign for the hotel could be erected at the highway where the sign for bird observation is.

    Comfort. Staff extremely helpful. Walking the camino and despite our arrival time was out of laundry service hours they still did our laundry and even delivered it back to our room now that's service.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    5.8
    Great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's a really odd and out of the way location for Logrono. The hotel itself is situation in an industrial mall. (a home supplies store, a large market etc.

    Great staff. Incredibly helpful.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    4.2
    The shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The vue from the room, only to a high metal wall. The comfortsones was totaly abcent.

    The shower. The place where it was situated. In the biggest shopingcenter in Spain

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    8.3
    Hotel very modern, with everything you would expect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    My own fault I Know! After a long days walk on the Camino, I looked for a hotel in Viana, was surprised to find such a luxury one, booked while walking and didn't pay proper attention. On arriving in Viana, was dismayed to find it was 15 Km away, so a €15 taxi there & a €20 back to the point where we had finished walking! Got there about 5 wanting a meal, tried the hotel restaurant, my son speaks excellent Spanish so their was no misunderstanding, was told their was only pizza or omelette, he asked if their were any other restaurants in the shopping centre and was told no. So omelette it was only to discover 2 in the shopping centre.

    Hotel very modern, with everything you would expect!

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    10
    The friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    The friendly staff. The giant, comfortable bed. The lovely bathroom, and the ambiance of the whole place. Admittedly we didn't have breakfast, but the cost at just 50 euros for the night was marvellous!

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    8.8
    A large, modern hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One thing that lets this place down, is the restaurant! It is only really a snack bar, selling pizzas burgers etc. no good if you want a nice meal at the end of a long day. Breakfast in the morning was fine though.

    A large, modern hotel. Not easy to find though, the sat nav didn't like it! What they need, is to tell people it is on the Carrefour supermarket site!

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    7.9
    air condition did not work in room very warm in night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    air condition did not work in room very warm in night

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    10
    Very good service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very good service No parking problems

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    9.2
    Pleasant staff, good size room, quiet location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pleasant staff, good size room, quiet location

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    9.2
    Far enough from the noise of the city, still close enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Far enough from the noise of the city, still close enough.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2015

    9.2
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    no tea/coffee facilities views are of car park or roof of shooping mall

    Friendly staff Clean Comfy beds Great value for money

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    7.5
    Air conditioning unreliable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Air conditioning unreliable. In my room it worked fine, however, from comments of other guests in other rooms it was broken.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2015

    10
    Good shower and bath
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good shower and bath Good TV

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Browse Catalonia Las Cañas traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: