Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Catalonia Portal de l'Angel 3 stars

Portal del Angel, 17, Ciutat Vella, 08002 Barcelona, Spain

#64 of 516 hotels in Barcelona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1938 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room we booked online looked a lot better. When we entered the room it was too dark without any natural light. We had to change our room and pay an additional amount for getting natural light

    Great location, helpful staff for touristic activities and clean service. Also the breakfast was quite convenient and lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and great facilities including the free smartphone was invaluable for using maps etc. Perfect location close to busy centre but also very quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I would add would be a small light in the corner of the desk. It was spotless with the exception of the bathroom floor- dirt showed on the underside of the bath mat. I can’t say enough positive things about my stay

    It was fabulous- I had a room with a terrace complete with a small cafe table and chair.and the view was gorgeous! The American chain hotels -Marriotts- should follow their lead. Very comfortable, elegant. The breakfast had an amazing selection! It was so nice to come back to an elegant room with sparkling white, beautifully pressed sheets!! I can’t wait to go back! Signed, Marriott rewards platinum member

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We did not like the first room offered (the balcony was very old with flaky paint - not enough room for a chair). However, we were upgraded to a room with a terrace at no additional cost. Not a great deal of choice for meals. Expensive, but maybe that is more a reflection on Barcelona itself rather than this hotel.

    The location was excellent. 200m from Las Rambla, 100m from Place de Catalonia and 200m from the old Gothic Quarter. Reception / Concierge service. The quirky / rustic interior (lots of mural art).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rooms were a little small for this price range; for some reason they had to move us for our last two days; they gave us room upgrade but new room was actually smaller and felt cramped, though it added a balcony with table and chairs (hotel did give us complimentary breakfast buffet for the last two days to offset this inconvenience to us); the doors are very noisy when shut but fortunately this did not interrupt our sleep

    Terrific location; wonderful front desk staff (especially Cristian and Xavier); beds very comfortable but typical lousy, too soft pillows found everywhere we went in Spain; breakfast buffet very good and staff there also very attentive; we were there 5 nights and would stay here again. Hotel felt very safe. Walking distance to shopping, restaurants and many Barcelona attractions. Close to metro stop and the Aerobus that takes you to airport.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room has no view

    I did like much the Hotel, Location is great, near everything in the heart of Barcelona good for fun, shopping, tourist, and food, Hotel style and architecture are very nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1, too noisy in the room because of thin doors and cleaning in the mornings starting 8-9am. 2. No bidet shower

    Ambience and service were very good! Room equipment and breakfast were also good in general, though minor things to be improved. Smartphone with unlimited internet and local calls is really a great idea and a very useful device.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel and staff was very nice I cannot fault anything about the property.

    Clean and today. Clean towels daily. Hotel upgraded us to suite for our anniversary trip. Prime location in heart of the town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to ask for bathrobes, they sppeared very quickly

    Excellent location for our needs, we wanted to explore the Gothic Quarter, very central for all amenaties

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every day the good choice of cooked breakfast was spoiled by the fact that the food wasn’t that hot and the plates were freezing not a good combination.

    Location, hotel and staff were very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The perfume in the lobby was repulsive. When the room was cleaned the dirty glasses were washed in the sink and polished with a towel, very unsanitary.

    The breakfast buffet was well worth the price. Great selection

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes some of the staff members were slow on giving service

    Location is top, cleanliness of all facilities, comfortable rooms and friendly staff. Looks like a higher ranked hotel than it is !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin wall. You can hear all the voices next door. Can’t get Uber at the front door of the hotel. Need to walk a bit.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First place we stayed - found that there were no wash clothes (face clothes). When I asked they brought more towels. There was never wash clothes at any of the 6 places we stayed. So don't they use them in Spain. We sure would have appreciated some

    The breakfast was stellar. The court yard outside the breakfast restaurant is little, but wonderful. The building is in a great place for the Barcelona Cathedral, Sagrada Familia, etc and to walk the streets with locals and tourists. A good spot to be at in Barcelona.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like that the king size bed was really two twin beds pushed together. Also, there were no washcloths available. Just hand towels and bath towels.

    The lobby area was beautiful, clean, and smelled incredible. As soon as the doors open you notice a very fresh, appealing scent. I also liked the courtyard/pool area. Very pretty, relaxing atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I stayed in was very nice. The location is great, if you want to easily access the most important locations in Barcelona. Didn’t use it, but the phone offered for roaming-free calling could be useful to many. Overall, the staff is professional and the interior of the hotel and rooms feels elegant and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the balcony is in great need of repair. I would like it to be corrected.

    location is excellent! all nearby - attractions, cafes, shops. The room is clean. It's nice to spend the evening on the balcony with a cup of tea or a glass of wine. It's nice to spend the evening on the balcony with a cup of tea or a glass of wine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Freezing room

    Beds are super comfortable. We, however, were quite upset about our room being freezing- we were very cold and were told the heat was set at a specific temperature and nothing could be done. We froze the first night and I believe the maids were able to adjust the thermostat the following morning as we came back to a warm room. I was subsequently told by someone staying in another room that there was some sequence to be done to the fan setting to warm up the room. We actually thought of going to a store and buying a space heater.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the luxury and details in the room . the architecture of the hotel. the matress. the bath. the breakfast. the location. the fact they provided a smartphone with no roaming charges for free.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is expensive so we didn’t try it.

    We are return guests and the hotel never disappoints. We like the location off Plaza de Catalunya, the old beautiful building, the spacious, lovely room with its balcony overlooking the busy almost pedestrian street and great sound insulation, comfortable bed and complimentary water bottle, the functional bathroom, the patio with its funky wall paintings and small swimming pool which we haven’t tested yet. Dogs are not only allowed (for a fee, and with a refundable deposit), they get a bed and bowls for their stay. Staff is always polite and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is very nice hotel, good location. But I picked up the wrong time there, mobile world congress, which I did not know, so the hotel rate is double than normal . But overall, very good hotel, clean, friendly staffs.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioner in the room was malfunctioning, but other than this everything was great.

    The location of this hotel is amazing, the interiors and decor are really beautiful. It also smells very good inside the hotel, almost like good a perfume. The minibar was very well stocked and the staff was super friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room temperature was much too warm the first night & not quite so warm the second night

    Location is great for exploring Las Rambla & convenient to catch the Metro & sightseeing busses that take you all over Barcelona. The room, including the bathroom was nice size & clean. Front desk staff very helpful. Most spoke English well. Alba & Manuel we’re especially helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great. The staffs were friendly and the breakfast was very delicious. The room was very clean. Thank you for helping me make good memories of Spain. If I come to Spain again, I will definitely choose this hotel again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff wasn’t professional, the WiFi very weak and the shock is about the breakfast also wasn’t fresh food and bread .

    The location was perfect and comfy beds

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved staying at this hotel! The room was very clean and met our expectations. The location was excellent, close to the metro and also walking distance to many sighted. I would definitely recommend this hotel!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is great and near public transportation. Being in the gothic district, you’re close to the la rambla & born areas. The 24 hour staff is there to answer any questions you may have. I received great directions from Alba on how to take public transport to the Sagrada Familia and Park Guell. There’s plenty of food options so don’t get stuck on most tourist areas. Explore the neighborhoods and immerse yourself in the sights, sounds, and tastes that this great city has to offer.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner menu room service didnt have alot of options.

    Breakfast was lovely. Terrance was lovely and spacious. Room was good size, Nice bathroom with lighted mirror great for makeup!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately the elevator shaft was endorsed in my room and the noise it provoked when moving was disturbing. They could simply not rent these rooms along the shaft at all floors.

    Breakfast was excellent, combination of American style and local tastes. The location is adequate for probably everything you have planned in Barcelona, close to shopping area, local bars and restaurants and the Aerobus to and from the airport.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    As this was our Third time to stay at the Catalonia Portal I'Angel, we were offered a free up-grade by the hotel which was very much appreciated. Wonderful location in the heart of the main shopping area and close proximity to an array of lovely restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The hotel smelt amazing 😂. Staff were extremely helpful and polite. Room was very clean and well stocked with free water and toiletries. Location was perfect!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room could have been a little bigger but as we didn't spend too much time in the room this really didn't matter.

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and even took the effort to remember my wife's special birthday. The hotel is closer to La Rambla than I thought which was perfect. Only a two minute walk and with lots of good restaurants near by.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one bottle of water in room for duration of stay

    Excellent breakfast very good location everything close by and good location for aerobus to airport

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It was awesome!

    The breakfast buffet was excellent, the coffee was excellent and the milk was hot. Croissants tasted like they came fresh from France. Really the buffet was an excellent way to start the day.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our room is on 1/F, overlooking the courtyard. The courtyard has tables and chairs for guests to hang out. As we stayed there in winter, it was quiet as no one stayed outside. In summer, it might be different.

    Good location, Near to Metro and Sofia Museum.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We were unable to adjust the bedroom temperature and found it too warm and stuffy for our liking. The weather was unseasonally warm during our stay so perhaps this had an effect.

    Beautiful building. Superb staff. Ideal location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our first room was too noisy. Thanks to kind staff they changed our room but the second room was too cold and heating system did not work properly.

    Location was great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant wasn’t much. Breakfast was expensive but didn’t offer very much.

    Hotel was in an historic beautiful building. Centrally located so it was easy to walk to all the attractions and restaurants. Rooms were very quiet even though it’s on a Main Street. Beautiful courtyard for outdoor relaxing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    room size is really small Cleanliness level wasnt as expected

    having a terrace in the room was good but the view wasnt that good the breakfast was amazing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only slightly negative aspect was the lack of ironing facilities in the room although many hotels do not have irons/ironing boards in the rooms. These may have been available at reception to hire for example but we didn’t get round to asking for them.

    The room was fairly spacious and was cleaned everyday. The bed was a good size and very comfortable. The bathroom was also very large. Staff were very friendly & helpful and receptionists spoke excellent English. The city Centre location of the hotel was very good and around a 2 min walk from the Ramblas.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The choice of meals from the restaurant- very basic. Surprising as breakfast was so good.

    Staff excellent. Breakfast excellent- very good quality ingredients. Room adequate. No frills but perfectly acceptable. Fabulous location in old town. Would definitely return.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dark, with internal facing window. Only one chair for two people.

    Fantastic position close to plaja Catalunya? Bar served gluten free beer. Nice courtyard seating area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the security at the airport was miserable as police could not help.

    every thing could have been great if they did not steal my back-bag at the airport. can you help me get back the documents and data in my computer? let go of the money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Inaccessible by car (located in the old town) so don’t even try it!

    - Perfectly locates near all major attractions and shopping locations - Very easy to reach from the airport - Friendly staff - Amazing breakfasts!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!! We would recommend it highly.

    Location location location !! The foyer and coffee shop were lovely. We had a nice room overlooking pedestrian street, cute small balcony.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I needed stamps for my postcards and the hotel doesn’t have any on hand so I had to buy from the local tobacco store. It wasn’t a problem but be nice for the hotel to offer this service since I was mailing out from there. Just a suggestion

    You can take the aerobus right outside the airport to plaza de catalunya and then it’s a five minute walk to the hotel. Great location for shopping, seeing the gothic quarter and 7 minutes from the great La boqueria market!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need to get coffee machines in all rooms!

    Location is brilliant - so close to everything interesting, including atmospheric little restaurants in side streets. Hotel is quiet due to excellent triple-glazing. The public spaces in this converted old building are magnificent! Lovely courtyard garden and pool too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    All was wonderful but room service was limited and the splendid breakfast was not included. Given the price, that seemed a bit cheesy, not worthy of a high class hotel.

    it was a great haven.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Asked for double bed - got twins. A/C a bit unreliable. Front easy to miss at night as street frontage is narrow and not that well lit. It is directly opposite Benneton!

    Very quiet considering location. Very centrol and excellent breakfasts. The interior square with the pool and loungers was bliss for half an hour after pounding the streets. Bar prices reasonable also. We had to insist to settle the mini-bar also! The check-inn staff recommended a tapas bar for us that was easily the best we tried too. 200 yards from Placa Catalonia.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only complaint is that the only window in our bedroom opened onto the atrium in the hotel. A room with a window to the outside courtyard would have been preferable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    We stayed at Catalonia Portal de l'Angel for two nights September/October 2017. Excellent accommodation, large bathroom, very clean and well positioned. Extremely helpful staff. Well recommended.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con noisy and ineffective. Lack of local information in room. No food or drinks outside. During recent civil unrest no support from staff. Full Payment required on arrival prior to checking in.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive breakfast. Who can eat 20 euros of food for breakfast? That said lots of options nearby?

    Historic area near the Placa de Catalunya. I loved the walkable pedestrian streets. The hotel staff I met were helpfully and professional. Beautiful room though small, but I spent very little time in my room. Easy walk up a gorgeous staircase though there is an elevator. I prefer to walk.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom wasn't well laid out which made it a little difficult to get in and out of the shower. Breakfast was expensive so we just had coffee in the bar in the morning. Were too full to eat breakfast anyway after late night tapas. Had to walk a few blocks to find restaurants which was really not a problem.

    Stayed 4 nights. Hotel was unique, very clean, and we had a good sized room facing the pedestrian street. Sound proofed windows really worked! The pool area was nice but didn't have time to sit there with all there is to see in Barcelona. Busy area, always felt safe, even late at night. Very convenient to transportation options and nice to be in the old city center but also close to the more modern section. Airport bus drops you off close to the hotel. Bus to Park Guell close also, as well as metro to Sagrada Familia.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom had no hooks for clothes/bathrobes. Otherwise we were happy with the shower/bath arrangement as the shower had both a rain and adjustable shower hose attachment. It would be helpful if the hotel had laundry facilities for the guests to use.

    The location is excellent, central and in the old town and close to Placa de Catalunya and La Rambla with many good restaurants within walking distance.The staff were very helpful and assisted us in every way. We arrived by car late afternoon amidst a large protest rally. Several streets were closed and after circling the city for nearly an hour trying to reach the hotel (inaccessible to traffic in the Old Town).... we didn't realise this) the police allowed us through to the Placa de Catedral where we parked the car in the underground public parking. The hotel arranged a discount for the parking with their neighbouring 4star Catalonia hotel. The hotel is older style but very comfortable and the terrace off our double room faced the pool/outdoor area at the back of the hotel. This was a real bonus to enjoy fresh air and sit outside at the table. The breakfast was excellent value for money at 15Euros with choices of hot dishes or continental breakfast. Our bed was one of the most comfortable experienced during our many trips through Europe. The room was cleaned daily and the towels changed daily. We highly recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was spacious, clean. Room was on the main pedestrian street but not noisy. Lights all night, however windows had darkening shades. Not good if you wanted some natural night to wake you in the morning - all or nothing. Small but quiet, lovely courtyard for relaxing or reading with a small pool. Can't beat the locale- 1 block's length to Placa d' Catalonia, taxi stand, buses, etc. Taxis can only enter the street before 11 AM. any arrivals after that time, you will be dropped off at the top of the street at the plaza-easy walk with rolling luggage.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't think anything to do with the hotel, but would get other visitors to check out costs for taxis to and from Airport. We paid €35 from the airport taxi rank through the taxi marshal. However when we left we booked a taxi through the hotel. I knew to ask how much as soon as we got in the taxi to be told about €50. I said it only cost €35 to the Hotel to be told more than one Airport who were we flying with and ok. At the Airport the Meter said €24 then the driver made it up to €37. I queried what he did he and got was told supplement from hotel ?? Bag surcharge?? We had two suitcases both cabin size one was in the back. I told him I knew should only be charged for case in the back and asked how much, only €3, I accused him of trying to over charge us, he got abusive said I was trying to get for nothing. I said I was happy to pay what was fair, so paid €35. We were two women travelling alone and we both felt scared as he got abusive, he said we were wasting his time. I couldn't see his taxi register details and just wanted at this stage to get out of the taxi. This probably has nothing to do with the hotel but would hope that they would help guests agree a price through them when a taxi is booked by them to save anyone else feeling threatened and scared.

    Staff were helpful, polite and professional. Room was exceptionally clean. Room had a safe. The hair dryer in the room wasn't working, they sorted it within 5mins, excellent service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tempature in room too warm and our room 3rd floor window opened to lobby, quite noisy through night

    Staff excellent helping us find places we wanted to go to

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Air con made the entrance lobby very cold!

    The hotel had gluten free options for my celiac daughter. Excellent breakfasts. Friendly staff and very clean hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    They don't have a restaurant area, just a corridor next to the bar with some tables. Menu very limited. Despite emailing and calling in advance to confirm I'd have my 6 year old daughter with me, this wasn't logged on the system and caused some confusion on arrival. We got totally lost on the way from the hotel to the car park - would be good if they could give you a clear, printed map (ideally in advance, as it's only 3 mins walk from the hotel). NB: the hotel is in a pedestrianised area (we drove up to it to drop off our luggage, wonder whether that's still feasible now).

    Amazing location Great breakfast Lovely internal courtyard with pool Nice room with lovely terrace No parking on site, but you can buy parking vouchers for nearest underground car park from them Helpful, friendly staff while there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seems common practice even if you Have waited a long time to be served in the bar that Spanish can be served first

    Having the area with sun beds and somewhere to relax

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is too expensive so we had breakfasts in surrounding coffee places.

    This hotel is very well located and has a very nice swimming pool. The staff was extremely helpful and the rooms with balcony are very comfortable and perfectly clean. We will definitely return to this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, we will stay there on our next trip.

    Perfect, as usual (great location, nice swimming pool and terrace, great breakfast, helpful staff, ...). Our favorite hotel in Barcelona !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and helpful and the location of the hotel is perfect for seeing all that Barcelona has to offer, with most things within easy walking distance. The variety and quality of food available for breakfast was unsurpassed in my experience. The pool and sun terrace areas, whilst compact, offer an excellent alternative to sight seeing and were a pleasant surprise in the middle of the city.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had two rooms. One was very large , ours was small. We would have liked a larger bedroom.

    The hotel building itself, location, staff, swimming pool, garden area , excellent breakfast & lunch, the bar.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect. We enjoyed our balcony onto the street, and very impressed with the double glazing as the room was silent at night. We ate out at lovely cafe's very close, so did not try the hotel food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel breakfast could be priced better (lower for what it offered) The pool is very small. The wifi speed is very slow and unstable connection in the room I stayed.

    Good location. 5 min walk to Plaça Catalunya and Gothic quarter. Building style and design. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was quite expensive but had no exterior window whatsoever, only a window on to the stairwell where people pass by within reach - so although all the fittings were fine - good bathroom, comfortable bed - it was a pretty awful claustrophobic experience.

    Great position. The pool is tiny with limited opening hours but nice to have somewhere for a splash in the heat

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had no hot water one evening after a very hot day and then a thunderstorm we could really have done with a hot shower before going out to enjoy our evening. No explanation was given and we could not shower until the next morning. If the breakfast was at a better rate would gladly have eaten it in hotel. More sun loungers instead of tables and chairs near pool area. Maybe advice on the fact we had to book to see certain landmarks before tickets sold out and a reduction via the hotel for bus travel. Also a mirror needed near the dressing table

    The location is excellent and street noise not noticeable due to triple glazing. The free water for hot drinks. Adequate size pool for cooling off. Ability to leave suitcases after vacating room safely. Position near to transfer for airport bus and tour buses. Bar staff and pool area staff helpful. Reception area clean and appealing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was in room 101. I didn't like the layout of the room and was very disappointed. First, of all its extremely dark. You walk in to a long railroad and the other side has the bathroom way to close to the bed. There is no extension close to other mirror so if you need to blow dry your hair you have to wait for bathroom to be free.

    The hotel had a great smell to it. The pool was great . Angel was super helpful and the location is great .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although the room was nice, the view was not great, but it was quiet.

    The hotel is in the perfect location, just minutes from Las Ramblas and Placa De Catalunya where the buses, airport buses and metro are all based. The hotel was very comfortable and clean. Good tea making facilities and fresh bottled water provided every day. We did not eat breakfast there, because it was a little pricey, but also because the location was so great we wanted to sample the local delights instead. There were some beautiful features in the hotel - sweeping staircases and traditional tiles, and the pool area, although small was quaint.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit over priced especially with breakfast. Water bottle was not replaced daily.

    The location was great. On the same street as all the major shopping area, parallel to las ramblas. If u don't want to book with breakfast some cafes around for breakfast. Just two minutes walk from catalynia square. Hotel was nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Position of this hotel was ideal, right in the middle of the Gothic quarter. So close to the sights and shopping everywhere! The pool area was really very nice. An oasis in the middle of everything. Also the beds and pillows were super comfy!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing comes to mind

    The whole experience from start to finish was great. The best thing about the hotel has got to be the lovely outside pool area. Not very big but ample for a city break. Lovely and clean and not too busy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chair and table on the balcony terrace of our room.

    Beautiful, comfortable and spacious rooms. The location was amazing. The pool and breakfast room were wonderful.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Catalonia Portal de l'Angel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: