Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Catalonia Plaza Catalunya 4 stars

Bergara, 11, Eixample, 08002 Barcelona, Spain

#140 of 516 hotels in Barcelona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3754 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.2
    An interesting thunderstorm experience didn't spoil our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Leaky ceiling (top floor).

    We received a room upgrade after a severe thunderstorm caused a rain leakage. Breakfast was very good. Staff were attentive and responsive.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    4.5
    Communication problems between two hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we arrived at Hotel Plaza Catalonia, the staff (woman) who was working at the desk was very sorry to us because our room had some problems of electricity. So she recommended us to move another hotel (Hotel Catalonia Rhamblas) and said our room would be upgraded to superior room and breakfast included. We went to Hotel Catalonia Rhamblas and confirmed our room was upgraded superior room and included breakfast. However, we couldn't check in (because of not preparing a room) so we took a tour of city. But when we re-visited the hotel in the evening after a tour, the situations were totally changed!!! The staffs (two women) didn't know our situation and said our room was just standard and breakfast was not included. So we re-explained our situation again and they confirmed our breakfast was included. However, they didn't know upgraded our room. Then she called a staff who was working at Hotel Plaza Catalonia then she said the person at Hotel Plaza Catalonia also confirmed our room was not upgraded!!! My friend and I were very upset because we explained again and again and again. But they recommended us they would check our status the next day. We were upset and the staffs at Hotel Catalonia Rhamblas were also upset, too. They repeatedly said the room at their hotel is better than that of hotel plaza caltalonia. But it was not real superior room!!!. Anyway, our feeling went bad due to communication problems between two Hotels.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.8
    Overall, it is certainly a comfortable, clean and safe accommodation. Would certainly stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the entrance felt bare and not maintained even though it had some interesting doors and paneling but the effect wasn't optimized.

    Value for money as it is a decent hotel in an extremely ideal location. Stone throw to La Rambla and Paseig de Gracias. It felt very safe walking back to hotel whether it was early morning or late at night. Would not hesitate to recommend to friends.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.9
    Excellent Location and very friendly staff , particularly at...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Despite paying the whole amount for stay in advance and mentioning that I will pay as I go , Hotel insisted on a deposit .

    Excellent Location and very friendly staff , particularly at the restaurant

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace & Spa acces
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location!! can walk to most attractions in 15-20 minutes. Tour bus stop is right in front of the plaza and the Aerobus (A1) from the airport drops you off across the plaza. Stayed in the room with terrace view, not noisy at all at night. room was clean and cozy and staff always came to check if needed anything else. Nightly chocolate left by the bed which was a pleasant touch!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    6.9
    I think that for next visit we will choose another hotel.
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Private Pool & Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast were poor in compare with our last stay (4-6 times). While at breakfast worked Spanish people they did not say :” the manager allowed use only one bottle of cava” but people were so much.

    We were checked at 11 am ( more early then it was possible). Thanks to officers of reception.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Everything was great, the location couldn't be more...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was great, the location couldn't be more convenient, I got a room on the first-floor modern and conf with a 10 stars shower. overall I would stay in this hotel again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    Love this Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish you could change the water temp at the small pool.

    I got a free upgrade to the top most Suite... excellent location... super love the view, it is amazing... I’m obsessed with my room that I’m hoping to get the same room back when I visit Barcelona again on my Birthday...

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Just perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s not a single bad thing I can say about this hotel, honestly.

    Beautiful hotel. Just walking up the marble stairs to my room, the whole stairwell was a work of art. The room itself was equally nice. It sounds weird, but I feel that the door itself tells you a lot about the hotel room and the hotel itself. It felt solid and looked good. The room was nice, comfortable, and quiet even though it was right above the madness of Plaça Catalunya. The staff were great, and the pool was very relaxing. The location was super convenient. Take the aerobus to the main stop, and it’s just across the square, drop your luggage off, and tou’re right at the top of La Rambla.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Loved it and will stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't have any bad things to say!

    This was my second time staying here. The first time I stayed there with my small dog and loved it so much that I came back with a friend this time. The staff are so warm and friendly, it's so clean and the location is amazing!! Will stay there again in the future!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.2
    Ideal for a quick visit to fit in key sights and easy airport transport
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fresh coffee at Breakfast would have been nice given that Spanish coffee is so good. Note breakfast starts at 7:30 on the weekend.

    Location is ideal for walking up to Casa Batillo or down the Ramblas into the old town and port. Airport bus is 2 minutes across Placa Catalunya. The room was as a smart hotel should be, clean, nice and cool, with tea, coffee facilities and good sized shower. Rate was good the day before.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace & Spa acces
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not get complimentary coffee refil Andrew had to request couple of times. Also some guest mentioned they got chocolate left at their room daily we did not.

    great location. Clean and well maintained. The breakfast was amazing and worth every penny.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Perfect location in Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in this hotel for the second time with my family, we are all pleased with the service in reception, clean and big rooms, my daughter loves her own bed , I love the bathrooms and bidet 👍 we were surprised by the Champagne and fruits on the bed waiting for us. Thanks for pampering us on our stay . Breakfast is satisfactory , loads of choices, show cooking , assorted drinks . And my partner really likes the apple slices , easy to check in and check out and all staff are very courteous, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    2.5
    Do not stay at this hotel, it hasn’t mold and managers are rude.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor layout of room. Bed was right next to bathroom. Bathroom does not have a door, it swings open and there is zero privacy. Electricity went out when we tried to iron some clothes. Upon waking up and taking a shower, noticed there was mold in the shower ceiling. Spoke to Assistant Manager Alberto about the mold. Due to the inconvenience of having to pack our bags and move to a new room asked if we could be compensated with a free breakfast. Alberto denied the request and further stated we should be greatful we had a bed and washroom to use for the night. Not sure how this comment is relevant as we paid a ridiculous amount of money to stay at the hotel with terrible conditions. Hotel refused to compensate us for the night even though they risked our health with MOLD IN THE ROOM! One of the guests staying in the room has several health concerns and hotel did not take this seriously. Alberto refused to allow us to speak to the manager. Word of advice to the owners, Alberto needs training on how to handle customer concerns appropriately and hotel needs to close down until mold is treated.

    Absolutely Nothing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.5
    The staff of the reception they are very good and deals with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beads was not good and not comfortable at all and no compliments water available

    The staff of the reception they are very good and deals with guests very good way

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.5
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location very good,staff excellent,rooms are comfortable and clean,but the chairs on the terrace are terrible you can’t sit on them for more than 5 minutes .food very good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.6
    The location was great - the size of the room is perfect...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed - I booked a king bed and they took 2 single beds and stuck them together. The bed was constantly moving - not comfortable at all.

    The location was great - the size of the room is perfect with a beautiful balcony

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.8
    Having all the lounges and chairs way, way too low.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having all the lounges and chairs way, way too low. People who are older or have issuses getting up from a chair impossible. 4 days asked for a Margarita sorry out of spirit, not good, therefore you lost a lot at the bar. Waiting for sauce in the Restaurant for more than 10 minutes hummm.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Great location, easy access to the metro, Hop on Hop off...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, easy access to the metro, Hop on Hop off site seeing bus, and Aerobus to the airport. Lots of great shopping and restaurants within walking distance. Short walk to the Gothic Quarter and the beach. The staff was very friendly. We arrived early the first day, they let us check our bags and we were able to do a little site seeing while waiting for our room to be ready. They had even already delivered our bags to our room when we checked in. Good value for the money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Toppenbra läge
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No critique to the hotel, however we have stayed here three times this summer and you booking.com have stated in all these bookings that breakfast is included. This was only correct in one of them. Please correct this in your commmunication with the hotel.

    Toppenbra läge

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    5.8
    Staff was very helpful and friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property isn’t well maintained. Room keys kept on failing. Room door rubber wasn’t fixed. Had my fingers trapped few times. Sink had water draining problem. Paint was coming off in shower. On our first day cleaners were cleaner rooms and they made so much noise that we couldn’t sleep. Overall good location but not at all comfortable

    Staff was very helpful and friendly. Location is very good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    6.7
    A bit disappointing based on the cost.
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Undercooked lobster and prawns at the restaurant which were then returned like rubber. Being given the wrong food at the restaurant. Room not serviced on our return from sightseeing on two occasions, not ready at check in and one with the wrong bed configuration. Having to go to reception to explain our room service order and an unhelpful pool bar waitress.

    The pool. The size of the rooms and comfortable beds. The location. Some negative issues being resolved quickly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    5.8
    Location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Well the extra bed was placed inside the room was not comfortable ( not worth the price what we paid for )

    Location was perfect... Just behind the Zara store and next to Catalunya metro station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was excellent, very friendly staff and overall an excellent hotel. The pool was great and lovely breakfast too. Would definitely stay there again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location for exploring Barcelona with ease
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a little dated but was always clean. Maid forgot all our amenities but it was a very minor point

    Excellent location for exploring Barcelone and brilliant to have a small pool for a dip when returning on a hot August afternoon. Hotel is on Place Cataluña which is 3rd drop off Fromm airport bus, it’s at the top of Las Ramblas and is the first stop for both routes of hop on hop off bus, was recommended by a friend and she was spot on, would return to this hotel next time we go to Barcelona

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Excellent location and great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location, helpful and friendly staff, nice pool and well presented. Would recommend anyone to stay here who wants a well located and clean hotel for a reasonable price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.3
    I had a great experience in this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Private Pool & Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pool in the suite should be heated in summer nights because the water was cold for us. It might seem weird to heat the pool in summer but it is the fact that the hotel had a private pool was the main reason for us picking the place and I think it should always be in best condition. Moreover, the private pool should always be well maintained. Once we asked for it to be cleaned and they didn't do a good job at it. The coffee machine was broken.

    The Terrace was great and spacious. The fact that it had a private pool was the main reason for choosing this hotel. Very clean and well kept rooms throughout our stay. Comfortable bed and sofa. The location was beyond amazing because there was a lot of services and entertainment around us.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    5.4
    Only location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner has bad condition. At a hot day, you can be annoying. I did. Last day, My flight time is in the evening. And the day before checking in, the staff said we could have checked out late. But another staff said me have to check out. She didn’t apologize and I was very embarrassed. At that time, my mom was sick but we were waiting for taxi for 2 hours at the lobby. I think we will never visit your hotel.

    Only location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    5.4
    They had to move my room due to noise of neighbors who had screening chicken.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are VERY WORN in need of a refresh. Peeling wallpaper and torn drapes. For what I was paying.....

    The employees were trying so hard to please. I felt the bartender in the lobby needs a helper, cocktail runner.... many people were unable to get service and ended up leaving. He served in the hotel bar, outside and room service!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.8
    Central Barcelona Hotel - 4 Star Value At Best - Good Deal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms off of the main floor backing onto the rear pool and patio have a high noise level throughout the day due to all of the traffic directly behind them. We had specifically requested a quiet room both verbally and in writing. Also, the bathroom shower rain head was leaking from above the fixture and damaging the ceiling. Although we made the hotel aware of this upon arrival, we were not offered another room nor did anyone attempt to fix the issue to the best of our knowledge at any point during our stay. Instead we had to use a shower that had paint chips dropping in it which we felt was completely unacceptable. This is not a major fix and damaged rooms should not be pawned off on paying customers regardless of how busy you are.

    The location was great as was the overall value. Very clean but lacking professionalism.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel in the heart of Barcelona. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The elevator is very very very old and slow. Almost scary to step in it.

    I booked this hotel last minute due to the cancellation of my flight. Staff was very helpful and understanding. Breakfast was excellent. Very clean room and could not be located in a better place.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Would return in a heartbeat
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Private Pool & Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was ok but I'm used to Asian hotel buffet breakfasts and this doesn't come close. There are some gf options but generally the breakfast didn't match the standard of the hotel. I'd save your breakfast money and walk out to the local organic supermarket/cafe for good coffee and Spanish breakfast.

    Location is superb, customer service is fantastic and if you can get a suite with its own plunge pool it's really worth it. Having somewhere private to cool off on a hot Barcelona day is fantastic, the views from the pool terrace are great too. Family sized rooms are really good for a hotel in such a central location. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.3
    workable
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the photos showed in the booking was not the same one, seems like the hotel use only one set of photos for all types. and the sound of air conditioning is like in old hotels. and the bed is right between the bathroom. a bit of smell coming from nowhere always

    the showering is good. the breakfast is good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.7
    I chose them because of the location, pool and gym.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I chose them because of the location, pool and gym. The pool is too small and location is central but too much crowded and full of tourists. Next time I will stay in Gràcia or Av. Diagonal.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Fun sta at Plaza Catalunya,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While our room was functional - it was a bit dated. Our travel companions were in an updated room- more outlets with USB plugs.

    The location was great - close to city center and transportation options. The staff was also very nice and attentive!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    I liked GM's immediate actions to satisfy the guests: we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I liked GM's immediate actions to satisfy the guests: we booked the standard rooms (location is perfect and the city is running 85%, but the standard or old rooms you can not pay 200 Euros per night without breakfast!!!! Its 38 Degrees and the AC is hardly working.... `Rooms are too old) the GM decided to change us to renovated rooms that were perfect and followed us daily that everything is fine

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.9
    We particularly enjoyed the location with a great restaurant recommendation from
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool gets a bit crowded and not always staffed. The pool closes at 8:30pm so no option to have a drink in the evening.

    The location was excellent. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    The staff at the reception, the room as were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the reception, the room as were very comfortable and include all the necessary which I thought it was a 5 stars hotel. The restaurant served such a perfect and delicious 3 course meal which was beyond my expectations. And never forget the service there from nice lady. I will for sure come agin on my next visit to Barcelona.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location, good hotel for a short trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff weren't overly helpful. And there was a very strange noise that seemed to come from the person in the room above flushing the toilet, but it sounded like our bathroom was flooding!

    Really good location just off the Plaça de Catalunya. The room wasn't huge but the bed was comfy and the shower in the bathroom was lovely. The hotel was clean and tidy and despite being close to Plaça de Catalunya we didn't hear any street/road noise.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.9
    Room was okay apart from AC issue and location was also good but far from beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace & Spa acces
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breke wasn’t all that, gym was small and my room ac didn’t work last 2days of stay

    I had room 704 which is one of two rooms with a little private pool and terrace and this was by far the best room in the hotel and I did enjoy tanning and relaxing on top of the hotel ;)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    Would stay again
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the adjoining restaurant. It was full of salt so I sent it back. Didn't stop me getting sick that night though.

    Staff were really friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had asked for a double bed, however it was two twin beds joined together, so it was uncomfortable.

    The breakfast buffet was amazing. The spread was just large enough that you feel spoilt yet everything was of very good quality. The pastries were especially yummy. The staff were great. The location was first class

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.4
    I really like the location if you are looking for shooping...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is not cooperative I asked for late check out they just give me half hour and there is a hard sound like generator from the pool side its really noisy Breakfats should be better and more option should be added.

    I really like the location if you are looking for shooping and visit the rambla its the beat place

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful location, great room with a nice balcony with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful location, great room with a nice balcony with a view to the pool. The room is clean, there's room service twice a day and the staff is very kind and helpful for any request. There's more toiletries than most hotels I've been to and good quality as well. Water stream in the shower- Wonderful, just like home :) On our first day we got some nice treats, fruits and champagne (Cava). Would stay there in my next visit and would recommend my friends as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Close to the centre of Barcelona for Las Ramblas, port...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrace rooms are overlooked by pool bathers so no real privacy on terrace.

    Close to the centre of Barcelona for Las Ramblas, port shopping etc., located 100 m from tourist bus ports and short walk to the main parts of the tourist areas such as La familia.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Nice but not what we expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Balcony had unpleasant vista. Door didn't lock securely. Noisy housekeeping staff. Price higher than quality warranted.

    Location was excellent. Front desk staff went out of their way to be helpful. Spacious room with good layout. Access to restaurants and shops. One block to airport bus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    Absolutely perfect Location, the hotel is nice, the room was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Walls between the rooms and bathrooms are really thin. You can hear the other guests

    Absolutely perfect Location, the hotel is nice, the room was quote big and Aldo the bathroom! Certo good Breakfast Service even if the rate is high! From 16 to 20€

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Great experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We asked for bacon during breakfast and never came back into the breakfast table. They said nothing.

    Location is great if you are a tourist. Friendly staff. You feel safe in the hotel. Good breakfast. I stay there every time I am in Barcelona and I have been going for 5 continuous years and the quality and service has not change. different types of rooms I have experienced and all of them are great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    Not up to expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel, in consideration of the high price paid, was not up to expectations. I would rate it three stars. The towels were hard.

    The location was excellent and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful place! We had a room with a small private patio and it was lovely to sit outside and enjoy the sunset. The room was spacious and very clean. The complimentary welcome drinks were a nice touch and the location was perfect. We'll definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    The complimentary water and chocolates.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My door was left open once. That was very unprofessional. Also, they charge to use the pool. 10 £ every 45 min. Awful.

    The complimentary water and chocolates.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel, staff, room facilities and really comfy beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace & Spa acces
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely hotel, staff, room facilities and really comfy beds. Brilliant location in the centre of the city. Close to all amenities, shops, attractions etc. Will definitely return. Added bonus we were upgraded to rooms with terrace and private pool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    The location was very good - In the center.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was very good - In the center. Every -like shops, some tourist attractions, restaurant etc is around the hotel. Good breakfast as well. Good to stay ..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Excellent location . Hotel very clean comfortable and very accommodating would definitely recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no shower facilities in the spa area.

    Excellent location . Hotel very clean comfortable and very accommodating would definitely recommend this Hotel and would stay there again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    The elevators didnt work too well and we were staying on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Private Pool & Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevators didnt work too well and we were staying on the 7th floor and we had to walk down to the 1st floor on many occasions as the elevators didnt work!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Great stay, brilliant location & lovely hotel, especially our Junior Suite on the 7th floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was hard to find the safe & coffee machine as it was behind a hidden/unmarked door but this is a minor thing.

    The view from our Junior Suite on the 7th floor was amazing & the location of the hotel is brilliant. Staff were all super friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    The room had a very nice balcony.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The parking is public and very expensive, so if you have a car be forewarned. The pricing in the bar was weird/uneven. Food was better than expected though.

    The room had a very nice balcony. This is a 4 star hotel and the prices reflect that, but it is pretty much what we expected.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no safe key. We asked for one when we arrived and every day after but never got one. Therefore We had to lock our valuables in our suitcase which is not ideal.

    Fabulous location, very central for everywhere we wanted to visit. The bed was very comfortable and staff friendly. The barman was always very attentive and polite.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Simply the best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No faults whatsoever.

    Great hotel in a superb location in centre of town 1 mins walk away from Las Rambles and a host of bars and resteraunts. Airport bus and open top tour buses are a few hundred metres away. Staff friendly and super efficient. Buffet breakfast had good choice of hot and cold food and drinks. Extra special touch was the free bottle of prosecco left in the room as a birthday present for me. Went down well. Will recommend this hotel to my friends and family and definitely use again if we return to Barcelona. Big thanks to the staff from both of us.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    Great overall accommodation with pleasant design and amazing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dislikes

    Great overall accommodation with pleasant design and amazing location!! The staff was exceptional and really made our stay as comfortable as possible; from the complimentary upgrade to the daily cleaning service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    5.0
    This is not a four star hotel....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner did not work at all when we checked in. The staff kept saying we just needed to wait for it to kick in. We finally insisted on being moved to another room. It was hot also, but the air did work somewhat. I asked for a fan and they did bring that, which made it bearable. Also, the room they moved us to had not been updated like the first one. Overall, it was only tolerable at best. There’s no way this is a four star hotel.

    The only thing this hotel has going for it is it’s location. It’s a block off the main square that is considered to center of Barcelona.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    I'll be back...soon..
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I really don't think anything could have improved my stay.. On top of that I feel that the quality of this hotel is excellent value for money, and that also adds great satisfaction.. ten out of ten.. well deserved to staff who are very pleasant and helpful. why would you award anyone a nine .. to my mind it's all or nothing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    Overall great position, glamorous entrance, nice comfy bed and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No service at the pool. Pool towels were not always available. Bar service very slow! Some of the towels provided to the rooms could be replaced.

    David at reception was very helpful and gave good suggestions for dinner. We received an upgrade and a welcome drink! Certainly Nice surprise.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Really enjoyable and so convenient to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Room fantastic, street view with glass balcony. The bed very comfortable, housekeeper Therese done an excellent job. Gentleman Xavier extremely helpful and an early check in was facilitated which was brillant. Well done to all

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.0
    Location was perfect, less than a minute to catalunya plaza.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was perfect, less than a minute to catalunya plaza. It was easy to move with luggages after getting off from Aerobus (coming from airport). Room was clean and neat. Perfect place to stay if you visit Barcelona!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    Location is within a 5-minute walk of a Starbucks and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Location is within a 5-minute walk of a Starbucks and the Plaza de Catalunya, from where you can walk the Passeig de Gracia in one direction, and La Rambla in the opposite. Our room was very clean and comfortable, and the balcony was a distinct plus. The staff were gracious and helpful. We look forward to staying at the Hotel next time we’re in Barcelona.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.0
    summed up above I guess
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Did not use hotel for food. The staff at reception and Bellboys were very helpful . One in particular went out of his way and sorted my mobile phone issues .I am a travel writer for women above 50 who venture out on leisure( single travel can be an ordeal) and enjoy well earned discovery moments internationally..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.2
    It was perfect! Close to the plaza but on a quiet side street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were near the Plaza and nothing was more than a 20 min walk in any direction. You will find it easy to get a tour to of the Civil War, a bus to Montserrat, catch a cab to Camp Nou or just walk in a direction and be out for hours as you taste, see and sip up all that Barcelona has to offer. The Mediterranean is just as close. 5€ for a cab or a nice walk down La Rambla.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The inside spa was only one small Jacuzzi which fit 4 persons and the hotel charges 5 euro per person to use it, which is a little bad for a four star hotel.

    Great hotel location. Cozy and clean room. Easy access to Metro and Aerobus shuttle to the Airport. Definitely recommended!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    the hotel is in the excellent location just off the Place...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the hotel is in the excellent location just off the Place catalunya, but on a quiet street. the service from staff was excellent. i stayed in 605 room with terrace. the room and the terrace were spacious and clean, bathroom had everything you needed in terms of toiletries. very limited view from the terrace but plenty of sunshine it being the top floor of the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.1
    I didn’t like that after i check in i went to the room in...
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace & Spa acces
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like that after i check in i went to the room in sunny day and turned on the A.C and it’s not working good and then i called them to send someone to fix it ( no one come after 20 min ) i went down to tell them again the said (( the A.C is not working from May 2017 !!!!!!! Why then it’s in booking.com say it’s with an a.c and also why they didn’t tell me before i check in ?!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay in a great hotel. Would recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negative comments.

    Superbly warm, friendly, helpful and professional staff in every department. Location of hotel is very central. Very comfortable room with huge walk in shower. Fantastic choice of breakfast foods and drinks.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location to venture out on your tourist adventures in Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location is perfect for a tourist, a 2 minute walk from Plaça Catalunya which is where you'll find the hop-on, hop-off city tour busses; the start of La Rambla; and near the Gothic quarter and the amazing St. Josep Markets.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.4
    Worst hotel I’ve been to in Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt like I was going to suffocate in my room! When you open the window it’s like there is absolutly no air flow. I had to sleep with my door open so I could get some fresh air! It was so hot inside. Looked at the temperature, 28degrees. When I asked if the airco could be switched on, they said that it was only possible during summer time! I tought april could get hot in spain... And when I asked for a ventilator in the room, they said that they had already given them to other rooms. I will never book This hotel again!

    The people working were very kind. The hotel had a decent location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    Barcelona stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all. However, my room was at second floor, street side, could be a little bit noisy at nights.

    The hotel is located at one of the streets at the catalunia square, it is one of the most touristic centers of Barcelona, which is close to almost everywhere. The room size was, not spacious, but not tight either. Didn't have the breakfast, for this reason can not comment about the food. Every afternoon housekeeping stop by to ask if something you need and dropping a chocolate in the room. The room was clean, the bed was fine and the modernly furnished. As a result, it was a pleasant stay;

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Catalonia Plaza Catalunya traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: