Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Catalonia Puerta del Sol 4 stars

Atocha, 23, Madrid City Centre, 28012 Madrid, Spain

#50 of 327 hotels in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1938 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Loved Madrid and the hotel.

    This hotel did not disappoint. The location is fantastic. Within walking distance of Peurto del sol. Lots of bars and restaurants near by. The hotel itself is lovely. A mix of old and new. Our room 316 was so big. The staff very friendly and helpful. And loved the free tapas daily between 5-8. Very nice touch. Would def come back here and would recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are many smokers in the city and although the hotel did not allow smoking, the smell still permeated the air. We were unable to keep the window open at night because of the smell of smoke.

    Comfortable bed, good facilities, walking distance to museums and places of interest. Close to the hop on hop off bus route.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location - short walk to the Prado and the main shopping areas. The room was lovely. Really enjoyed our stay there. Special mention to Celia the receptionist who was extremely efficient and professional.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was excellent. We would chose this hotel again for sure. The staff was so helpful in all aspects, and as a small, but very nice surprise, the hotel offered free afternoon coffee, tapas and cake.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was loud outside at night but I think that what it would be like anywhere else.

    Location is at the Center of Madrid so a lot of places are within 30mins walking distance

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room looked out onto a courtyard and I would have liked a window that I could open and see the daylight. Also at night the noise in the courtyard could be heard clearly in the room.

    Central Location with easy access to shops and restaurants. Within easy walking distance of the main parks and bus and rail station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we didn't realise is when booking a standard double/twin room there is not kettle or coffee machine for a morning or late night hot drink. However it is available when booking a superior room which we have noted should we head back to Madrid. However, there are cafes just a stone's throw away and of course you could always order from room service.

    Staff were friendly and helpful, we found some lovely hidden gems thanks to their advice. Rooms were clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk personnel need more staff. They were very kind, but they need more staff working for check-in, check-out, and general questions. The only thing I didn't like about the room is the bathroom door...it's a frosted, swing-style door, so there's not much privacy.

    Super comfortable beds, lots of counter space in bathroom, strong Wi-Fi, and FANTASTIC location!!! Very kind and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little pricey. Otherwise everything was great.

    Beautiful spacious room. Very friendly and professional staff. Amazing old building full of charm and with modern updates.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing, couldn't fault anything

    Absolutely everything, the staff, room, service and location all amazing. The staff went above and beyond for us and we hadn't a word of Spanish

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives whatsoever

    Lovely hotel right in the centre of old town Madrid. All places of interest are within walking distance along with plenty of bars and restaurants. Bed was very comfortable. Very good choice of breakfast. Found food & drink in hotel bar very reasonably priced. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit dark due to overlooking the hotels internal courtyard.

    Excellent location. Only 5min walk from Plaza Mayor & Puerta del Sol where you can get the tour buses, metro, shops etc.. Plenty restaurants & shops nearby. Superior room on 3rd floor was stylish, clean & comfortable. Bathroom had both shower over bath and a separate shower cubicle. Reliable WiFi connection in room. Staff always helpful and polite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The construction noise next door caused us to vacate our room for over two hours. After complaining about the disruption we were told nothing could be done and the company had a license to work. We wrote a letter of complaint suggesting some reimbursement and also asked why we were put in a room a wall away from a construction site. Management only offered us a free breakfast to compensate for our inconvenience.

    The location was good, the breakfast was good and the room was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is ideal to explore the centre of Madrid. The staff were attentive, efficient, friendly and fun throughout our stay. The hotel is well-presented and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, they did gluten free options for breakfast which was great, first time I have ever had that at a hotel. Great location and walking distance to all the tourist hot spots, good hotel bar and good restaurants close by.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room view to the atrium, although that might be the good thing since it is more quiet than the street view. Construction works nearby which might wake you up in the morning, but that is the temporary thing.

    Excellent location, nice stuff, spacious room with modern look (superior room), good beds, excellent WiFi coverage.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly and helpful reception staff. Excellent location. Lovely old centre to the building - they don't seem to make enough of that as a featyure. Safe to walk around. Easy access. Comfortable hotel. Limited but good facilities. Didn't try the food or drink so can't comment on that.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lobby staff is not as nice as they could be. Additionally, though the breakfast was good, it was a bit too expensive for what it offered.

    The bed was significantly larger than what I am used to and was extremely comfortable. The breakfast is good and varied and rooms are spacious, with a nice view over Calle Atocha.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Terrible heating, there was to cold, awful service, we need to request again and again toiletries and other things, staff tries to avoid any contact, they do not want to help. rooms are not sound proof.

    Great location, easy access to main plazas and restaurants, everything is on walking distance. Rooms are clean. Good breakfast but expensive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of air conditioning due to time of year apparently so had to open windows and because of inward facing rooms privacy was compromised. This hotel lacked experienced staff. Uncomfortable bed.

    Central location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    this is my second stay with them within 8 month and they are amazing. Staff is friendly on top of things and helpful. Und yes, they speak english and it helps since my Spanish is not great :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra wide double bed was very comfortable. Staff were polite and very helpful. The hotel's location is excellent for the Metro and for visiting a number of Madrid's attractions. If you want to visit the Prado, book your tickets online to save waiting inline.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hated the coffee maker you need to get a Keurig and have free Gevalia coffee pods. We couldn’t figure out the machine and the cups were tiny tiny.

    Bed fantastic!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps a kettle in room would be good, but fridge in room allowed drinks to be stored, so maybe that’s being a little picky

    Location great, good size room, well serviced room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Biggest problem was our plane arrived early morning and we were not able to access our room until 1pm. It was raining and we spent over 4 jet-lagged hours in the lobby area, albeit in a warm comfortable sitting area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise of people talking and walking around the rooms but nothing very bad!

    Location, very central to the main turistic placas of Madrid! The room very spacious, very clean, loved the amenities. Everything super! Strongly recommend! I was very well received in the reception, in my check out I was very well treated by Diana! Thank you so much. I’ll come back for sure in my next visit to Madrid :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Major construction works for adjacent building. Lot of noise from the street at night, at least on 4th floor

    Nice hotel in good location. Close to Plaza Mayor and Sol

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasn’t made aware that there was building working next door to the hotel and on my last day I wanted to lay in but was woken up by 8:30 by loud drilling and banging. A kettle in the room would be great or at least the option of having one

    Location was perfect and staff were amazing. This trip was a surprise for my friend for her birthday and she loved it, the hotel is beautiful and I would stay here every time

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    EVERTYTHING WAS GREAT. THERE WASN'T ANYTHING WE DID NOT LIKE.

    MANY CHOICES OF HOT & COLD BREAKFAST ITEMS , EXCELLENT QUALITY , EXCELLENT SERVICE

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were all very polite and helpful. The hotel is well situated within the heart of the City and has a Metro station close by. Had a comfortable nights sleep and cannot fault the room at all.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have loved a kettle in the room

    Tea and tapas in the evening, the overall comfort of the hotel and sense of discrete professionalism from staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival Staff are extremely helpful and polite. Breakfast is fresh and continually refreshed. They will even do your eggs how you like them. My parents got a free upgrade to suite on arrival. My sister and I had a Superior room. Both rooms were spacious and immaculate. One of the rooms had view of street and the other to the courtyard. Both rooms were quiet. Location is excellent. It was also my sister's birthday and at breakfast hotel arranged cava and cake for her. There was also a bottle of cava in the room on our return for day out. We also used the bar in the courtyard and again the young man on the bar couldn't have been more polite and helpful. They provide tapas between 5 and 7 which is with their compliments. 5 mins walk to Plaza Mayor and further 5 mins to Puerta Da Sol. Lots of shops and streets to wander around. We went to the terrace at el Corte ingles for drinks. We did the same at Gran Via on 9th floor. Fabulous views of the city. Worth getting the City Tour hop on and off bus. Can't fault anything and will be making a return to Madrid and this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was not anything I did not like

    Location was excellent, hotel was very clean and staff were friendly and helpful. It was especially nice to have a Spanish looking hotel rather than a corporate business feel to the hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaner can’t speak English but only Spanish. Well, she had a good attitude although she can’t understand me, So it’s all good at the end.

    Wonderful tea time service. Clean. Great spot. Friendly people.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about .I have only one Recommendation , there isn't enough Closet space ,just put a few Hook's on the Wall (we had Winter Coats)this way you can hang up , some Jackets

    Great location , everything is in walking distance . Spacious Room . Sparkling clean Hotel and Room . Every Afternoon they offered free Tapas and non Alcoholic Beverages . All of the Staff is very friendly and helpful .A special thank you , to Miguel ,the Bartender .He was extremely friendly and helpful . The Train Station is near by. We will definitely be back

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was in a great location, it was very central to all the attractions in Madrid. All the staff were very friendly and welcoming with a great knowledge of the city.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds not comfy, pillows were way too hard and high. Aircon didn’t work. Blew hot air even when you set it on cool, which meant the room got way to warm to get a comfortable sleep in.

    central location, nice old building with a courtyard in the middle and nice touch with free afternoon tea.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing to complain about.

    We arrived a little early and we were shown to our room which was a bonus. The room was very comfortable and warm which was super on such a cold day. We were also offered free tapas in the afternoon with coffee in the courtyard. The hotel is so close from fabulous restaurants and bars and a short walk to the major sights so we were very please with its reasonable price. A very comfortable place to stay

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was as expected,nothing to dislike

    The location was great,ideal for shopping and sight seeing.The hotel staff were friendly & professional .It has a beautiful courtyard seating area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was great.

    Everything was perfect, from the location to size of room to cleanliness to free tea, coffee and snacks at "teatime" to comfort of bed to strength of wifi...couldn't have asked for a better stay at a Madrid hotel, and we've certainly stayed in many over the years!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast good but a touch expensive.

    Central location, good facilities with everything very clean and presentable. Free non alcoholic drinks and nibbles 5-8 for you and your guests.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    very pleased overall

    We did not have breakfast, thought it way too expensive even with the discount. room so peaceful and bed so comfy. Restaurants so close around and a Supermarket accross the street. Loved the supper each evening and free!! The staff are so pleasant and nothing was a problem. Thank you Ladies. Thank you also to the lady who made up our rooms every day, brilliant. One thing, for the hotel to note: towels have seen their day, too hard. Convenient to all sights, activities, shopping, super! Reception staff, so beautifully turned out, credit to the training of the hotel. They were also so helpful, nothing a problem. Would really recommend this hotel without a problem. I will be back to visit Madrid some time again and look forward to staying in Catalonia Puerta de Sol hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com cancelled breakfast and amended the booking to room only. We had to pay for breakfast when we arrived although we had booked breakfast. Not the hotel’s fault.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar is a bit lacklustre with awful Muzak playing.

    The staff were exceptional. Really helpful and friendly. They recommended an excellent restaurant on our first night. On departure,I left my phone at the reception counter. They immediately called the taxi driver who drove me back to get it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very very very simple, some even have no windows.

    The staff were very helpful in trying to accommodate me, giving directions, calling cabs, etc.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Everything we could hope for in a hotel. The staff was amazing, you barely thought about something and they had it done for you. Close to everything you want to see and why you go to Madrid for vacation.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bit noisy from the corridor in the mornings

    Great location with easy walking distance to Plaza Major, Plaza Santa Ana and Plaza del Sol. We had a room on 3rd floor on the road side with nice views across the street. Road noise was not a problem at all. Good cafe across the road for breakfast if not having in the hotel. All the staff we encountered were very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was advertised on booking.com as having breakfast included, however, It wasn't included and cost an extra €16 per person . I wouldn't have booked it if it was advertised as not included. Very disappointing and misleading .

    Bar area was very comfortable and the staff were very pleasant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    everything good

    everything was lovely no problems with anything. lovely staff and they upgraded our room because it was my birthday and cava and fruit in the room a very nice gesture. would stay again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Could not fault it.

    Very helpful staff. Very clean spacious and lovely room. Also very well positioned so could walk everywhere we wanted to see. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not comfortable for us and so our sleep was not the greatest. Soundproofing of rooms could be better. We were woken up every morning by housekeeping and their trolley walking down the hallway.

    Fantastic and friendly staff! Location near Puerto del Sol was perfect for us. Daily afternoon tea time with a nice variety of free appetizers. Room was a very good size and clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was 5 minutes from 2 metro stations. A bus stop was closer.

    The staff was helpful. From 5-8 pm there was free food. The bar and lounge was very popular.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was not one negative.

    The location was excellent and staff extremely courteous and helpful! We loved the fact that there was a coffee shop right across the street and a grocery store as well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Super location, easy access to city and sights! Lot´s of nice cafes, bars and restaurants nearby. Very friendly and helpful staff, clean and quiet hotel. Recommandable!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't understand and we were not explained properly about whether or not the afternoon tea and snacks were complimentary

    The location good and room were alright

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very good though I forgot choosing it during booking the room so I was charged €16 each for my son & I for two days.Overall it was pretty good & the excellent hotel service

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ideal location when traveling as a tourist and want to explore Madrid. The hotel is right in the middle of "all" what you would like to see. Afternoon tea and tapas free of charge was a nice surprise

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Great hotel in perfect location. Walking distance to most places. Lots of good tapas bars and plazas nearby. Friendly staff. Nice that they offered free tea with snacks every afternoon. Room was quite large.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is located in the centre of the city, near the metro station and within a walking distance from many sightseeings. The building dates back from the 18th century and carries an interesting history. The staff was very kind, effective and professional. They gave us all the information about the city in a few words. The room was spacious and pleasant (we were upgraded to a superior room). The bed was comfortable. The wi-fi was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!

    Great location! The hotel is at the heart of the Madrid city center. It close to the major tourist sites. A lot of eating options around the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of our family room up on the very top floor seemed to make it a little hot and stuffy. Access to the hotel/ parking is difficult for people unfamiliar with the area and narrow streets - even our GPS was confused! Could detailed instructions to the parking station ( which was excellent when we finally found it) be supplied when booking online?

    Location - convenience and proximity to Plaza Mayor, World Heritage Site and restaurants and shops. We also liked the small, boutique atmosphere of this hotel and it's historical nature. The breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Everything was perfect!

    Catalonia Puerta del Sol is the only hotel in which you don't have to ask for anything simply because everything is there for you. The cleanliness of the room, the availability of the personnel, the proximity to the major sights, even the 'sweet dreams' chocolates make the tourist addicted to this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could offer cheaper way of having breakfast as you don't need a full buffet breakfast every day, and you can get it just over the road...so competition is not far!

    Just about everything, and perfect location to visit Old Centro

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very comfortable with extra large pillows and nice linens. The breakfast buffet was very nice with more choices than most other European hotels. The hotel staff was very pleasant and accomodating.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room, no windows which made it stuffy. Description states roofed terrace. This is not a roof terrace !!! Free tapas not worth hanging around for.

    Perfect location, beautiful property. Handy for all of the city.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Always stay at this hotel when we are in Madrid as the location is great if you are travelling by train or using the Metro. The staff are very helpful and the hotel is clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    The location is very good. Close to Puerta del Sol but no so close to be irritated by the city noise. Also close to metro station. The hotel looks nice and is clean. Staff is friendly. We did not have any negative experience to speak of.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing comes to mind

    The hotel history and style, the staff were delightful and so helpful. Good size room and bathroom, quiet location but very central

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Can't think of anything, really

    This is the second time I stay at the hotel due to its superb location and friendly staff. The hotel is situated 10 min from the El Rastro Sunday flea/antique market, 5 min from the Plaza Mayor/Sol and approx. 25 min from Museum Prado. Again, the staff were very helpful and knowledgeable in pointing me to the right direction (in taking buses/trains to the nearby Toledo/Segovia). My room was clean and superbly furnished to a very high standard. Buffet breakfast that cost EUR13 was a bit steep but having said that, the quality of the food was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On our trip it was the best hotel. Nice room with space. Breakfast was excellent with a lot of choice. After 17u when you command a wine or a beer they offer you several tapa's free in the bar. When you ask for agua con gas, this was also free. Even they offer you water, water with gas, free till 22u.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice room, comfortable bed and comfortable, attractive social spaces - I really liked the inner courtyard of the property that has been developed in to a space to sit (there is a glass roof over it). I spoke with reception staff, room cleaner and bar staff and all were very helpful, courteous and friendly. Hotel is about 0.7k from Atocha rail station (I arrived here by airport bus from terminal 1 but also possible to come by train from terminal 4 - use internal transfer at airport first). A little tricky to get my direction when I got off the bus and the walk was up a hill on a hot day - fine on a cooler day I would think but perhaps a taxi is better in the heat - very cheap taxi fares in Madrid. Location excellent though for museums, transport and tourist areas. Free coffee and tea was available between 17.00 and 20.00 hrs - provided with snacks too - I was very impressed by this. I would stay here again next time I am in Madrid.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is clean, well maintained, with big, modern bathroom, breakfast is a little expensive but excellent food varieties. Very conveniently located in central Madrid, with a bakery and grocery store literally across the street. This is my 2nd time staying in this hotel, Both times very enjoyable, staff very polite and helpful. I chose room with Atocha Street view, a little noisy but I don't mind it at all, find it very interesting to watch the busy traffic and pedestrians below.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I liked everything and couldn't wait to get back there and feel like a queen.

    Everything was elegant and lovely. The location was perfect and the hotel was beautiful. They even had a complimentary afternoon tea with sandwiches and beverages available. It was top notch beautiful. I will stay there often. I went again at the end of my trip and they remembered me and were so friendly. First class hotel!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel in an very central area. The room is modern, spacious and comfortable. I particularly enjoyed the common courtyard and bar, very cozy! Breakfast was very tasty and had lots of options to pick from.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff was very nice, they let us check in early as we arrived from overseas in an overnight flight. Hotel is nice and clean and it's walking distance to everything.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Catalonia Puerta del Sol traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: