Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Catalonia Born 4 stars

Rec Comtal, 16-18, Ciutat Vella, 08003 Barcelona, Spain

#74 of 516 hotels in Barcelona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2399 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.4
    The night reception staff and the F&B was unfriendly and...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The night reception staff and the F&B was unfriendly and very unlike the hospitality I expected from a 4 star Barcelona Hotel. I would not be staying or recommending this place to anyone.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful bed, great location and a nice evening tapas treat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Coffee cups in the room although obviously used, were not taken out or replaced for 2 days.

    The location was terrific. Steps from a Metro station and near great shops, restaurants and bars. EXTREMELY comfortable bed and blackout curtains that not only kept out light, but sound. Great,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have like a better blanket for the bed. Was just a sheet and the room aircon would turn off and on randomly when it reached certain temperatures.

    Excellent location. Right in the center of all the key locations. Great restaurants and cocktail bars within walking distance. Big spacious rooms which were clean and a great (small) rooftop pool.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.3
    It was a comfortable and convenient stay to recharge and ready yourself for the next day.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping could be a little more consistent.

    There was a bathtub for a nice soak after a full day of walking around and exploring the city. It was also extremely conveniently situated at a location where bus, metro, pet store, vet, cafes, taberna, restaurants, farmacia, small markets/convenient stores were all very near.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    We enjoyed our first stay in Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower could have been better, as fitting on wall was loose. More English speaking channels on Tv would have been helpful, especially news channels.

    Location was excellent for many facilities and near a Metro. The pool was enjoyable after a lot of sightseeing, and it was lovely to have a swim early morning. Staff were helpful and friendly, and room was very clean. We would certainly stay again. The free evening snacks were tasty.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.5
    Good location, nice hotel, very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Wifi did not work properly in either my room or other areas in the hotel I tried. It was not connecting half the time, and if it did, was extremely slow (so slow that most webpages failed to load completely and those which didn't took about half an hour to load).

    Good location, nice hotel, very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.9
    Bed was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swiming pool is small but IT was visible also on the photos on before.

    Bed was very comfortable. Location is good, close to the CITY centre. Good airconditioning

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.3
    Ovrrall this is a great place to stay in El Born. Amazing location, clean and comfy rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to pay extra fees we didn't know about upon arrival. Also we booked a double bed but ended up with two single beds. A little disappointed by that. Also the hotel called a taxi to take us to the airport and told us it would cost about 35euros and it actually costed around 50 euros because of "extra fees". All those extra fees were an annoyance.

    Nice terrace and pool area. Great location. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Quiet street near the Arc de Triumph, metro and gothic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet street near the Arc de Triumph, metro and gothic quarter with sights, shops and restaurants. Elysa and Fred’s across the street is great for breakfast, lunch and dinners. Clean, quiet basic room was perfect for sleeping.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.3
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location. Size of the room. Bottle of water every day. I forgot a jacket the day of my check out in the bedroom, few days later I called to the reception and luckily my jacket was there :)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Great hotel, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was wonderful.

    A beautiful,clean, hotel with friendly staff throughout. Good size room with comfortable beds & large bathroom. Breakfast was one of the best we’ve had in our travels, served in a large breakfast room from 7am-11am & spread out so there’s no waiting. Lovely rooftop pool area with extra sunbathing area just below the pool. Restaurants,shops & a laundromat at your front door. A few minutes walk to metro & buses . An added bonus are the free sandwiches,cakes,tea,coffee & juice available in the bar area from 5pm-11pm each day.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.8
    Great location for shopping sightseeing and beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar area didn't have much of an atmosphere and had football on TV all the time.

    Great location for shopping sightseeing and beach. Staff were helpful and top floor rooms with additional terrace were worth the extra money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.6
    Great staff, lovely pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast expensive so we didn’t get it, which actually worked out great as there’s lots of places nearby to grab breakfast or have a sit down brunch. View from room wasn’t good as it was just a wall.

    Good rooftop pool to relax next to. Staff very attentive and helpful. Beds comfortable. Lovely free afternoon snacks from 5-11. Close to El Born but set back enough to be peaceful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Place was great & location was brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Place was great & location was brilliant. Within 200 metres of Metro station & very close to zoo, Placa Citudella, Arc de Triomfe & a nice walk to Las Ramblas & the harbor & beaches. The breakfast was sensational & really appreciated the fact they brought food out after 5pm for those staying there for no extra charge. I love the city & already planning my next trip & as much as I love staying near Placa Catalunya as I have done in my previous stays, I hope to stay in the same area next time & definitely will look to stay at Catalonia Born again. I haven't stopped telling my friends about the hotel & the surroundings. Thank you so much.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.3
    Room, location, staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a room for 4 days. I asked to stay longer and the staff wanted to charge me for 4 more days more money than the first 4 days. I found the policy of the hotel unfair and unacceptable and I booked another hotel for the upcoming 4 days. Also, the pool was too small. Actually it cannot be called "pool" something with 1m depth. An adult cannot swim there

    Room, location, staff. The breakfast was also ok.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel, somewhat absent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar closes at 11pm; however, I was standing at the bar with a friend for close to 20 minutes at around 8pm, and no one came by at all. It also took about 10 minutes for someone to come check us in with no queue whatsoever.

    Beautiful hotel in a good location. Small but very comfortable and well-furnished clean rooms. Roof-pool is lovely. They offer free tea and coffee at the bar

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.8
    It is great located and they have a very good breakfast,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff who is at the front desk is very rude, it looks like they don't even care that you are a guest. The staff who are at the bar + breakfast place are very kind and always willing to help you or recommend you things.

    It is great located and they have a very good breakfast, with several options. Rooms are clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    Hotel is located in the Nice and quiet neighborhood, right...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is located in the Nice and quiet neighborhood, right next to arch de triumph, and subway. 10 min walking distance to plaza de Catalunya. Awesome restaurant across the street. I was very happy with the choice of this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel, very efficient and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All good. There wasn't anything not to like. Travelling as a single female I felt safe and secure.

    Great location. Breakfast was great. Really trendy property in a really hipster neighborhood. I would certainly stay again when visiting Barcelona.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    One of the best hotels we have ever visited.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ./.

    One of the best hotels we have ever visited. Definitely the best one in Barcelona. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful and always greet you with a smile. The pool is fantastic! Excellent location, lots of restaurants and bars around. Try La Candela around the corner!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.6
    Hotel was very clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee in room was not replaced every morning however asked at reception and they sent a porter straight away with more coffee for us.

    Hotel was very clean and comfortable. Terrace and pool area upstairs was lovely, pool was small but still nice to jump into to cool down. Breakfast was great with lots of choice and high quality food (also lots of gluten free choice) and was given to us at discounted price.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    Great place in the heart of the gothic quarter
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is expensive relative to options outside the hotel.

    The beds were very comfirtable , the staff was very freindly and helpfull. Tea time is a cute consept. And the location is perfect

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trying to get a seat/bed around the pool for an hour! Why are people visiting a city and staying around the little pool all day!!!

    Amazing location close to bars and restaurants, 10 min walk from La Rambla. Very clean, free drinks and snacks from 5pm, friendly helpful staff. Absolute bargain!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.3
    Great location, comfortable beds, great bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool up the top is VERY small. The pictures were quite misleading, and there was also 10 or so people which meant you could not sit around there.

    Great location, comfortable beds, great bathroom. Staff were warm and welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    4.6
    Not worth the hype
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first we arrived, we got a room that was dirty, unfinished fourniture especally the sink was fallen apart! There was a huge smell of humidity so we ended up complaining at the reception where the receptionnist kindly gave us another room. But the streets are very noisy, The walls of the rooms are too thin so that you hear when the cleaning staff begins their shift. Not worth the money and was very dissapointed because the picture they show are far from being like that.

    the placement of the hotel was good and the food snacks around especally the Dues Sicilies!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con in our room was a bit pathetic. Had to leave it on all day to maintain a reasonable temperature. Only one plug socket outside of bathroom.

    Great location. Super clean. Bed was massive! Complimentary afternoon tea was a great touch. Breakfast was fantastic and worth paying for at the special rate of €13 on arrival. Roof pool area was a nice addition.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay, lovely hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing negative to speak of. If being super picky, having two beds pushed together rather than one wasn't ideal, but not a real problem.

    Everything! Lovely, friendly staff, great service, spotlessly clean and in a fantastic location with everything you could want or need nearby.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    The hotel was spotless and the decor was stylish with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The hotel was spotless and the decor was stylish with a beautiful rooftop pool and terrace overlooking the gothic quarter buildings. The staff were all so friendly too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.7
    Great for quirky bars and tapas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Given the cost of the room it was small. We were given a room opposite the lift, this meant it was quite noisy and not very private. The location is a distance from the main attractions and the beaches

    Roof top pool very pleasant it is near some excellent bars and restaurants and the park

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything , very nice and clean. Amazing view and pool on the roof top. Close to yummy food and shops breakfast at the hotel. Great shower and bath comfy bed, just perfect

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    The hotel was clean, room was smaller side but we did have a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing was a beautifully located hotel. The roof top pool is small but good fo just quick dip in a city!

    The hotel was clean, room was smaller side but we did have a huge terrace which beautiful views!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.6
    Best choice for BCN stay !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although my stay was almost rated perfect, the only con is cleanliness. It is very good but not perfect : room floor was not cleaned each day and the laychairs on the rooftop neither. But it is quite a detail.

    The location is great: 4 min walk from metro station, 12 min from Catalunia plaza, in the Born (alternative, design, modern) and just near walk from Gotico. Room was beautiful, bedding was excellent. The rooftop lovely pool is a real plus after a long day walking thru BCN. Breakfast is very variated, excellent to begin the day with.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.5
    As my niece lives a stones throw away from Catalonia Born it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As my niece lives a stones throw away from Catalonia Born it is the perfect location for me. The rooms are always clean and have balconies which are great to watch Barcelona life. The beds are extremely comfortable and I love the crisp white sheets. We will be back again. Oh and there is a great bistro opposite 'Elsa and Fred's' which I would highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Excellent Hotel in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great Hotel, good location for walking to various areas of interests. Close to excellent restaurant where we had a superb tapas meal. Hotel has good facilities with a roof top pool. Staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.2
    Perfect place for a city break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lighting in the bathroom could be brighter.

    Lovely, clean and comfortable hotel in a central location. Gorgeous refreshing plunge pool on the roof with clever semi-private areas for sunbathing. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    5.0
    Expectations not met for what we paid!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - The room we stayed in had a pungent smell to it after we walked back in once it had been cleaned. The smell appeared to be marijuana but we could not pin point where this was coming from. The smell was not present upon check in. - Air con didn't work very well and considering the summer temperatures in Barcelona, it made for a very uncomfortable sleep. - Rooftop pool is tiny and if you have more than 2 or 3 people in there at the one time, it feels crowded. When we tried to enjoy the facilities we had children jumping in and play fighting which impacted our leisure time. There was no staff on hand to monitor the activities in the facility. - Booked a double room but on arrival were given a twin room with two singles joined together.

    - Location was good in terms of walking to restaurants, bars and tourist attractions.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.6
    Great boutique hotel with all the amenities for a great visit to Barcelona! A+
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There is not a view from any room that I can tell....On vacation, I really enjoy a nice view of something. A park , a hill, a bay...it is really a city property within walking distance to all the great areas you want to visit in Barcelona.

    We really loved the breakfast buffet! It was all really fresh regional items with a little bit of crossover so that my kids didnt starve! Juices were all fresh squeezed and the hot out of the oven croissants were amazing many meats and cheeses with Catalonian flair. We really enjoyed it. Location and excellent AC made a difference in the heat of July. Location was perfect!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    A good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is close to the Metro but a 10-15 minuets walk to the centre. Fine for us but depends on mobility.

    A good hotel. Nice, well appointed rooms and polite staff. In the chic area of Born, with narrow back streets and ally ways.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel at a nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room was rather disappointing, especially for the price that we paid. Small and dark on the ground floor....

    Great location, friendly staff, good breakfast and quite neat. The roof terras is also a nice place to relax, though the pool could have been a bit bigger.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    good value. central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the only thing i didnt like was the excessive use of air freshener

    excellent service especially from the staff esp barman ricardo. very relaxed pool area. good value drinks. comfortable rooms. would definitely recommend

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Really enjoyed my stay & would definitely recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing , couldn’t fault a thing

    room was spotless, bed very comfortable, serviced daily by the staff. Separate towels available from reception for the pool area, free of charge.Location was perfect couldn’t have picked a more centrally located hotel, beside bus & metro stop .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.9
    My first visit to Spain and loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. It met my expectations from what I had read about the place.

    The location was just great. Walking distance to so many shops restaurants bars and tourist attractions.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.3
    A good hotel, in a great location, not far from the beaches or the old part of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor WiFi reception in my room unless I was standing near the door. The pool is very small, it more of a splash pool and feels crowded as soon as 2 people are in it

    Rooms have large beds and are decorated in a contemporary fashion. Good breakfast selection and good coffe (Nespresso machine), also the hotel offer free afternoon snacks.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Great location for a 2 day Barcelona adventure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location for a 2 day Barcelona adventure. Easy to catch Hop On Hop Off bus and lots of restaurants nearby. Great area for walking and photo ops! Pool is small, but nice rooftop area for an evening drink before dinner.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    Most enjoyable, Barcelona is a lovely city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had booked tickets on a bus tour. When I asked on the desk if they knew where it went from they said just down the road. But there are two that operate in the city and ours was not that one but another so we wasted over an hour chasing it down. I’d expect the staff to know the different two. But they told us a much easier way to get back to the airport.

    The hotel was fine. Clean and comfortable in a good location. Really handy for the metro and lots of great places to eat nearby. The breakfast place opposite was amazing and very good value. Don’t book breakfast in the hotel! The pool was ok, much smaller that it seems in the pictures but that’s to be expected.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Brilliant city break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    A fantastic hotel! Check in was friendly and very fast. The room was great, on the ground floor, very spacious but the lighting was a bit dim. The rooftop pool was fabulous, lots of seating areas for sunbathing and the pool was cold and refreshing. Breakfast was reduced to 13Euros on check in so we had it once, very good selection of food and drinks. The area was very trendy, with local bars and restaurants and not touristy but walking distance to anywhere you would need to go. Excellent stay!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    The location of the property is ideal for those wanting to...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the property is ideal for those wanting to experience Barcelona city. The staff were all friendly and accomodating and allowed us to check in earlier which was great coming off a long flight. The rooftop pool was great to relax in with plenty of seating and lounges. The hotel is close to a bus stop and metro which makes it easier to travel away from the city if needed. The rooms were very clean and large and had a variety of amenities available.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.3
    We would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The woman who provided snacks at the bar and supervised the breakfast was not as friendly as we would have liked.

    The rooftop deck is a great place to hang out and see the Barcelona skyline. Coffee is available relatively early in the morning (7 am). The location is fantastic -- near Mercado Santa Caterina and the unique shopping streets of the Born-- you can be sure if you buy something here, you will not see your friends wearing it. It is near a large park with beautiful sculptures, the Picasso Museum and the MEAM, and about 1.5 km from the beach.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Absolutely fantastic. Loved every minute.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooftop pool could do with somewhere to buy drinks.

    Great locations with great places to eat near by. The rooftop pool is ideal to chill out after a long day of sightseeing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    Great small hotel located in a historic district.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room a little noisy at night.

    Excellent location in a historic district. Hop on hop off bus just around the corner. Great to come back to complimentary cold drinks and nibbles after a long hot day of site seeing. Very helpful staff and we would stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Excellent location, comfortable and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very comfortable, beds were fabulous, great night sleep. Ideal location.Staff were very helpfull.Free food in the bar around 5pm was a nice touch especially for anyone arriving in at that time.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    6.7
    I like this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked the double room through Agoda and got the bang for our buck. We booked the triple room through booking.com and got charged twice the amount we paid for the double room for a small additional bed. That is an absurd price to add another small bed. The bed for the third person is so small and the mattress is so hard. I don’t think it’s worth to be double the price as the double bed. Also the pool is so small that looks like it’s only good for one person. We checked it out and there’s one person swimming and if feels crowded if we decided to join that person.

    I like this hotel. Quite affordable compared to other hotels within the same location. We got two rooms; a double room and a triple room. The rooms are clean and they have good sheets. They also offer complimentary snacks and drinks from 5pm-11pm.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    6.7
    Great but could do better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main shower in the room was dark. It felt like showering in a closet. We found a cockroach on night 1 but we didnt get any more. The shower over the bath had a broken hose that barely let any water out.

    Location was great. Breakfast was excellent. Pool area was very clean and tidy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location which is very convenient to public...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a 20 euro supplement for a second guest, even in the same room. Breakfast is a little expensive.

    Great location which is very convenient to public transportation to/from the airport & beach. It is also within walking distance to the gothic quarter and offers a nice retreat just at the border of the buzz. There are many nice restaurants, bars, and shops close by. The rooftop pool is the cherry on the cake!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    4.6
    There are much better hotels with more friendly stuff in this particular price range.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stuff was very unfriendly and not interested in helping. The bathroom was not cleaned well and the air condition was not functioning properly. In addition, there was a very bad smell in the room when we arrived. All in all, very disappointing for a 4-Star hotel.

    The location is quite good, you can reach lots of bars and restaurants within 5-10 minutes.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.9
    Great location, good spots for food and drinks near by.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t adjust the fan for the aircon in the room and temperature generally stayed about the same so was a bit warm.

    Great location, good spots for food and drinks near by. The hotel give you free snacks and coffees between 5 and 11 at the bar which was really nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    A great hotel and area to experience the best of Barcelona from.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only down fall was that most taxis could not fond the location. We were picked up and dropped off close by, but only twice in 10 rides did we actually get dropped off in front.

    The Hotel Location was great. The staff was extremely friendly. The hotel was clean and provided many amenities. The breakfast was outstanding and the bar drinks were plentiful. Also from 5 to 10 they had free finger food. The rooftop pool was perfect for relaxing and cooling off with a quick dip.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.9
    Really good location, great for exploring El Born and easy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No real complaints, one day the tea/coffee wasn't replaced in my room but I'm sure this would've been resolved no problem if I'd asked.

    Really good location, great for exploring El Born and easy enough to get to the beaches. Roof terrace was lovely, pool is small but nice to cool off in. Friendly staff on front desk.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel & would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Brilliant hotel for quality and facilities - loved the rooftop space and pool was great, even though it was cold. Rooms were large for city centre and bright. The bathroom was great - huge separate walk in shower. Loved the free buffet snacks in the afternoon (although food the same each day and could have been improved!) and free juice/water as well. Location was right next to the Arc de Triomphe and metro stop. Hotel in a residential area with a variety of bars and restaurants near by. Hotel around 20 min walk to beach and 20 mins to Las Ramblas.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Great hotel, one of my favourites!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wish the pool was a bit bigger for swimming, seemed that way on the photos but it's very small, really just for sitting in.

    Perfect hotel for me. Location was great, close to everything including the Aerobus stop without being in the thick of the main tourist streets. Rooms were modern, super clean and comfortable and provided many extra touches. Staff were fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel. Staff that checked us in was not helpful or welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our flight was delayed to next day and we called them to let them know that the day before our stay (about 18 hour travel time from bay area). When we arrived the next day we explained this again to the person checking us in. Unfortunately this person was not very friendly and insisted on charging us over 200 euros for the night we did not stay. While I understand the hotel's point of view that they "saved a room for us", most hotels refund this as they are more interested in having happy return customers than making sure the "saved room" got paid for. Speaking of "saved room", we had another couple walk into our room a few hours after we checked in with a keycard they were issued that keyed into our room. This couple was as shocked as we were and apologized saying they had just been given the room downstairs and would go back down to sort it out.

    Room was great and appeared as advertised. Location is awesome. Fantastic views from the rooftop and generally an awesome rooftop area with lounging and pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    An excellent hotel, very comfortable, clean and modern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just wish the pool was as big as it seemed in the photos! Too small to swim.

    An excellent hotel, very comfortable, clean and modern. The staff are very courteous and helpful. I took the bus from the airport so a hotel close to the last stop was important, without being too much in the party and shopping zone. Perfect location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.3
    very good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There were a number of problems in the rooms - first of all, the flow of water is relatively weak, secondly, the location is close to attractions located in the Gothic Quarter but in Barcelona, the attractions are quite scattered. The hotel payment is in advance (this is not a problem but it is not written in bocking). There is no table in the room, so you have to go down to the lobby if you want to work on your laptop.

    This is definitely a good hotel, we took two superior rooms and got a huge bed. The team is definitely welcoming and helping. The free lunch in the lobby is after 5 pm and definitely good. The location of the hotel is pretty good. We had a problem that one day they put water in the room, one day they didn't (we just did not know whether to buy water or not, and that created a problem because we had to go down to the lobby or buy water outside when we were dying of exhaustion after a day tour).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.2
    Dog friendly and close by a place to let your dog out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dog friendly and close by a place to let your dog out. Parking garage closeby. Unfortunatley my ticket didnt work when leaving. Late check out was no problem and without extra charges.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Excellent, no negatives!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Staff were friendly, room was spacious and clean. Breakfast was great, and free tapas in early evening was a lovely bonus! Was only a short walk to attractions. Definitely recommend 😃

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    A wonderful, fun, boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If I had to say anything negative at all the only thing was that I had to ask for the milk to be replaced for the tea and coffee and they did not really accommodate some toiletries for the occupancy of 3. However, this was easily rectified upon request. I presume they do not usually have 3 adults in the room.

    We had the triple room, which was lovely as I took my adult daughters so we could all be together. The bathroom was wonderful with room for us all - 2 showers. The pool area was lovely also. Everything was clean and the staff all friendly and helpful. Upon entering the building, we were on holiday - the smell, the welcome and the speed with which we were dealt with. I would thoroughly recommend Catalonia Born.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    A very satisfactory experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A good clean hotel situated within walking distance to most old town attractions. The Arc de Triomf metro was also conveniently located if you want to explore further afield. Excellent, vibrant restaurant over the road

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.0
    Short and sweet vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room size was a bit small for the price paid.

    Good location with public transport and the city centre all a short walk away. The room and services were good and the staff polite and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is in an excellent location: on the western end of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is in an excellent location: on the western end of the Gothic Quarter, very close to the Arc de Triomf. It's a bustling neighborhood, but the room was very soundproof.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    The staff was very pleasant and professional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was very pleasant and professional. Very clean as well! The area was perfect and we loved walking thru the streets around the hotel in the evening. Would highly recommend staying here.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Extremely pleasant 3 days in Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful staff, convenient location with great tapas bar (Elsa y Fred) directly across the street, nice room, excellent (if a little pricey) breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.8
    A very quietly located hotel with spacious rooms, and close to all the main sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Although there was a kettle in both of our rooms, most days the staff failed to leave any coffees or teas or milk! We had to often ask for these at reception.

    The hotel is ideally placed, being in a very quiet side-street, yet really close to main sights in the city. Our rooms were very spacious. All of the staff were always very welcoming and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    The best harbor in Barcelona :-D
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    I have been in Barcelona 3 times (In 4 hotels), but this stay was the best! Excellent localisation, delicious cuisine (fabulous breakfasts - yum yum), nice service :-). I recommend it heartily!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Great out of the way location yet still walkable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't feel there was much of a concierge. When asked for restaurant recommendations, we were told to go across the street to a pub or walk the neighborhood

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, local neighborhood, good dining nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very quite hotal, lovely roof top pool area, also within walking distance to some tourist sights. Restaurants on street were plenty and two I dined in were excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Catalonia Born traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: