Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Catalunya Ribes de Freser 1 stars

Sant Quintí, 37, 17534 Ribes de Freser, Spain

#11 of 22 hotels in Ribes de Freser

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 610 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    An olde world hotel - almost Fawlty-like. Completely loved the very senior proprietor who has been there for 85+ years. Everything dated but wonderfully so.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath towels were a little thin and worn.

    We had an early morning departure which meant missing breakfast. The staff kindly provided us with a picnic to take with us. So kind and thoughtful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shutters didn't work - although we were offered a room change. Parking not that close. Sister hotel was closed on Monday evening so we couldn't eat there on our second night. Thin walls meant we heard more than we wanted from the next room.

    The best bathroom of our trip: absolutely splendid when we returned from an afternoon in a thunderstorm. Evening meal at the sister hotel was very appetizing and excellent value. The granddaughter was exceptionally helpful in overcoming the language barrier. Although the score comes out at 7.1, we were not really that unhappy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was a bit difficult to park when we got there but was fine later when we sussed everything out.

    There was no one around when we arrived but 'grandma' came when we knocked on a door. She got our key and was very kind. She kept appearing during our stay to make sure we were OK. It was very sweet of her. The young girl - possibly her granddaughter - was also very kind and did speak some English which is also very helpful. Thanks to you both.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above. Terrible management, terrible and incorrect system, terrible customer service, terrible room. Completely and utterly awful! Not fit for service at all!

    We could not access the building. We stood outside in the pouring rain for more than 30 minutes, trying to get inside. There was absolutely NO staff on site. We made a very long and expensive telephone call to staff, who could not understand English very well at all. Eventually we got inside, but there we no keys for our doors, so, we were unable to secure our belongings when we went out for supper. The rooms smelled badly of damp and were VERY run down. We used the inside telephone to call again for service, the person could not explain to us how to access keys. I checked the automatic dispenser, but the derbies for our booking were completely wrong ( should have been TWO single rooms - instead their booking claimed ONE deluxe room! No one came to help, even though I called twice. They had my mobile telephone no and my e mail address, but made NO effort at all to assist! I contacted Booking.com, but, still, no one helped to resolve the situation! This is completely and totally unacceptable. I want to make a complaint

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Supposedly quadruple room is extremely small. Stuff doesn't speak a word in english (really not a word). No one to be found at reception or nearby beginning early evening. They don't accept credit card (if you insist, they will send you walking to pay at another hotel). There is more like that... Seems the only words they know in English are "family run hotel" and they believe this is a good excuse for bad service.

    Nothing really.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived there was no one on reception. I telephoned the hotel from their reception area and had a very confusing conversation with a lady, who did not seem to understand that I was IN the hotel and that I had already booked a room. I thought someone might then turn up to book us in, but no. After a while I peeped into a doorway and saw there was a TV on and someone watching it. I knocked on that door and finally a little lady appeared. She did give us a key to a room and took my passport, but communication was difficult as she knew very little English or French, and I do not speak Spanish. The room was very basic, and in desperate need of decoration and up-dating. There were cobwebs around the balcony doorway and the bathroom was just adequate. We were in need of an evening meal and the details on the hotel say they have a restaurant, but it was closed up and still no staff to ask where we might eat. I walked through the town and could not find a single restaurant. We had to go to another hotel just along the road where we did manage to get a meal, although it was nothing special. The beds were comfortable and clean, but the noise from the road was very loud and as it was a hot night (no air con) we had to have the window open. In the morning there was no hot water in the bathroom, so we had to abandon the idea of a nice shower - and STILL no staff to ask for help. We went down to breakfast - what a let down. It consisted of a pre-packed plain cake, pre-packed small 'biscottes', a pre packed butter pat and pre-packed jam. Then the old lady brought us a slice of bread with two slices of processed ham and two slices of processed rubbery cheese. We made do with the slice of bread with butter and the jam. Very disappointing. Another lady arrived to help with breakfast and told us the old lady was 94! She was very good for her age, but it did not take away the fact that the standard was poor.

    There really was nothing that I liked

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is a family business, which makes the staff wonderfully kind, attentive, and friendly. Beautiful balcony and view. Good breakfast. Great location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms need repainting, but not a big problem.

    Perfect stay with family. Rooms basic but big enough, shared living room is available with games for kids. Just a short walk from the Cremallera train up to Vall de Núria. Staff is absolutely wonderful, and their home made dinner menu is worth every cent!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Street parking could be challenging. Dinner is not suitable for young children (they couldn't cook the well done meat even after we've asked them to do so). The triple room was very small.

    Good location in the middle of town and close to the train for Nuria valley. Nice helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    The people. This is a family-owned hotel which also runs the nearby Catalunya Park Hotel. The family granny and the 2 granddaughters are very welcoming to their guests. We had dinner at the nearby main hotel and noticed the granny went from table to table talking to all the guests. Her granddaughter even knew our room number despite not having met her before (imagine our pleasant surprise)! She must have taken pains to look at the guests list. Impressive! Dinner at the Catalunya Park is excellent. Location - near Renfe station and the rack railway.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very helpful staff, made me an early packed breakfast as I was leaving early the next day. Very helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had considerable noise from the street. Should have asked for a room away from the street.

    Clean room and good location to train and road.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are extremely helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service, friendly staff and an amazing location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike.

    A very pleasant hotel and exceptionally polite staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    unpleasant smell from the street

    very kind and helpful stuff. comfortable room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very nice breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No hair dryer

    Friendly staff. Good breakfast. Comfort bed

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice and efficient staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hotel with clean and comfortable rooms. The staff were extraordinarily friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend it to everyone.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice staff. Perfect location for catching cremallera to Nuria.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very professional and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is in the middle of Ribes de Freser and 5 minutes away from the train station. Parking is not a problem. good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Fantastic family run place bang in the middle of Ribes de Freser. Being run pretty efficiently and with multiple generations working together to make it work perfectly. Laura was really helpful with a lot of local information. Thanks to her we could visit some of the hidden gems nearby. The dinner in the hotel restaurant was one of the best we had in Catalunya. The breakfast spread was quite decent too. There is free parking just outside the hotel or about 100 mts away there is a huge free parking place.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It would have been nice to see a smile at breakfast, but not to worry - we brought our own!

    Most of the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, though the breakfast staff seemed a little harried. The hotel had a very family run feel. Breakfast was good (continental style) and there was an option for evening meal. The games / reading room is a good alternative to spending the evening in the hotel room with small children. Location was excellent and value for money was great.

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was really cold in the end of December and this wasnt the coldest time of the year, so better to choose another one in the winter period.

    Views are great, location is good

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The attention of the staff at check-in, during our breakfasts and dinners and all the information provided to have a week end in a beautiful location.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hospitality of the people here is first class, it really made our stay a wonderful and memorable experience. Location is a good base for visiting Nuria during the day.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Smelly entrance Uncomfortable beds One socket in the whole room (in the bathroom)

    Staff were very helpful and friendly Free wifi Allowed us to change rooms Perfect location

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Entrance of hotel (floor 0) smelled bad (sewer smell), but we stayed on 3rd floor and it was very clean.

    The triple room was big and had a double and two single beds. Bathroom with big bath tube, awesome to relax after a day of ski.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owner was very nice and helpful. Room was clean and cozy. Delicious breakfast and you can also order a dinner if you want.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Solo traveller

    Closed hotel on Sunday until 5

    Very clean, nice standard room, great location for everything in ribes

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Excellent Value - perfect for what we needed.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There was only one person to attend all the guests at breakfast, it tool forever to be served.

    The location, the price, the reception

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location and nice view, friendly staff who spoke English ? Perfect for one night.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing, all was great

    We were looking for some hiking in the Pyrennes. You did not give a choice to match our type of traveler- two retired women.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No complaints

    Staff nice.great locatiin

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room is too small

    The service is very nice

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A fan in theroom would be good in hot weather

    All the staff were lovely

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent value evening meal at 13 euros. Good shower. Lovely staff.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Dinner. If you have young children is convenient but you can find better food walking around the village.

    Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    All the people of the staff is very friendly and helpful.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Guests also reviewed these properties: