Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Catedral Almería 4 stars

De la Catedral, 8, 04002 Almería, Spain

#3 of 30 hotels in Almería

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 585 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    Short stay in Almeria.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noice from the street

    Our room has a sun terrace looking into the cathedral square. One can have breakfast delivered to the room and enjoy it on the sunny terrace.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The roof terrace was a bit stark

    Had suite room 31. Pleased that the clock doesn't strike at night though. Great coffee machine and complimentary bottle of cava

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Good hotel, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea and coffee facilities in the room would be nice.

    Buffet breakfast great. Location amazing. Room was comfortable and had its own balcony/ patio which overlooked the cathedral square. Bar prices very reasonable for a city centre hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    6.7
    Not a pleasant stay having spent over 600€ for a 4 night break for my wife's birthday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is poor with car park around 10 minutes away, I am disabled and the hotel state car parking under cover, not a walk away. Also quite expensive. The room was appalling with a small window overlooking the cathedral wall! I complained about the room but was told the hotel was full. It was break for my wife on her birthday and not even a glass of wine was offered - poor show.

    The restaurant was good and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel with great tapas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Another stay at this lovely hotel. Good room with a comfortable bed. The breakfasts were great, food was cooked as we asked for it. The staff were all friendly, helpful and attentive. We had some very good and original tapas.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    10
    Fantastic overnight stay in comfortable and attractive location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath screen leaked a little when taking a shower, causing a small puddle.

    Fantastic buffet breakfast, a huge selection, all fresh & delicious. Exceptionally good value for money. In general, all staff we encountered were friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.5
    I would not stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For a upgraded room it was nbot value for money although the bed was very comfortable.

    I ordered the cooked breakfast and I was expecting a freshly cooked Spanish Omlette. What I got was two lumps of Spanish Omlette from the buffet which was warmed up in the microwave.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel in Almeria, in the heart of the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Interior
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only negative was the street noise at night. Although the square, where the hotel is situated, is free of traffic, and usually very quite, in the Week-End the square was busy with partying people, which could be noisy at times.

    Very nice hotel, beautiful building, right in the old town, on the square next to the cathedral. Great breakfast. The staff was very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    6.7
    Nice hotel room, but disappointed by Almeria
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was away from the hotel in a multi storey which proved difficult to park in due to the size of our vehicle (VW Transporter) and was at an additional cost of 16 euros overnight. We were hoping to find a nice restaurant in the area around the hotel where we could celebrate my husbands birthday but unfortunately we couldn’t find anywhere as most of the bars and restaurants were closed or boarded up, so we went back to the hotel to eat. The food was awful - we left most of it. No tea or coffee making facilities in the room. We expected more from Almeria. If you are looking for a city break it does not have much to offer.

    Nice property in the Cathedral square. Lovely welcome from the lady on reception. Stayed in Almeria for my husbands birthday. Hotel staff put a bottle of Cava and a birthday cake in our room free of charge which was great - thank you !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.6
    Really great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's pity that the rooftop jaccuzi wasn't heated, as that would have truly completed the experience :-)

    Wonderful location on the Cathedral square, quiet yet nearby the lively city center. Our room had a magnificent terrace from which we could virtually touch the cathedral walls! Complimentary champagne and chocolates were very welcoming. Nicely decorated, modern and stylishy equipped room. Great breakfast. Classy place that offers good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.9
    First time in Algeria - interesting town, but not a `Big Hitter´ like Malaga.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good location for the historic centre - right on the cathedral square and a short walk to the Alcazaba. Plenty of places to eat and drink nearby although many places close on Monday evenings making the choice more limited.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    7.9
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for a room with a view via booking.com to which they never responded, and I was given a room with no view. Some staff members are not really friendly.

    Location. Staff at the hotel restaurant are very nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    8.8
    A lovely, centrally located and comfortable hotel to spend the last night of my holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Interior
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely view from the rooftop terrace over the Cathedral square. Spacious bedroom with a little fridge. I did try out the tiny pool - a bit chilly but it was November! Great central location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    Nice place and a great hotel one week is probably enough unless you want lots of beach time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No Genius perks offered.

    Excellent room overlooking the cathedral square. A boutique hotel lots of outdoor seating and a rooftop terrace with a plunge pool, The staff were exceptionally helpful. The cathedral bells only chimed during the day. We travelled from the airport by bus to the central station around 1 euro and then by taxi to the hotel around 5 euros journey back to the airport by taxi 20 euros. The Tapas was excellent. The beach was wonderful and very long. Nothing not to like you can book with confidence.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.6
    A lovely hotel, just needs to sort out the breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was extremely poor! The serving staff were not very attentive, tables were dirty when we arrived. Poor choice of food, fresh items were very limited. No pots for the tea!

    Excellent location in the heart of Almería. I always look for rooms that are a decent size and I was not disappointed. Pleasant bar for a nightcap.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.6
    A perfect location to explore Almeria
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For once I have no negative views.

    The hotel was fantastic and in a perfect location for exploring Alemeria, both old and new. We were upgraded to a junior suite which was ok as basically there was just more floor space but no extra facilities. The bed was HUGE, big sofa, PC in the room, although not really used it. A nice touch was the complimentary champagne and chocolates delivered to the room on our first night. The breakfast was excellent with enough choice to satisfy most appetites. The sun terrace was a real sun trap despite the bells. On the subject of bells they are not intrusive no matter what other reviewers have said.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.6
    A beautiful hotel, perfectly located to explore the Alcazaba, Cathedral and numerous tapas bars.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing could have been better, apart from the little panic we experienced when we needed to check out early in the morning to catch our flight and found no one present at reception and the front door locked. We had to frantically ring a bell for ten minutes before someone turned up. I guess this was an exception though.

    Everything was amazing. We think we had the best room in the hotel, a vast high-ceilinged and gorgeously furnished space on the second floor, with chandelier and two French balconies opening onto the Plaza and the Cathedral. The 4 x 2m jacuzzi on the roof terrace was very welcome after a long drive along the coast/ mountains exploring the entire area from Mojacar to Almeria city on a very hot day. So was the bottle of complimentary Cava and box of chocolates awaiting us in the room upon arrival.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    A lovely old building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great. We had booked a normal room for two persons but we got to change to a Junior sweet by paying little more and the room was wonderful and spacious. The staff was great and helpful. The breakfast was ok. The hotel is very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.1
    Probably the best location in town but could tighten up on service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Interior
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decor, bed very creaky, blocked sink. Staff ok - but needed reminding of orders placed. Parking could be tricky if you're nervous of one way systems in old cities.

    The hotel opens out into cathedral square. There's seating area that serves fabulous tapas. Just remember to ask for the 'free' ones when ordering a drink. Pay a little more for some really tasty bites.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel in a beautiful setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb room, and surprise from the hotel. The view of the Cathedral Square was fantastic. Future guests don't worry - the cathedral bells stop from midnight to 8am !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    No parking in the immediate proximity of the hotel but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking in the immediate proximity of the hotel but public multi-storey parking less than five minutes' walk away, The hotel was excellently placed by the cathedral with a pleasant square in front of it where drinks and food were served. The rooms were large, light and well furnished and the bathroom was well supplied with toiletries. The restaurant served high quality competitively priced evening meals and breakfast was substantial. One of our group left an item in her bedroom and the hotel very helpfully packaged it and sent it on. Something not to be taken for granted.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.9
    Really enjoyed Almeria city. Nice atmosphere, bars, restaurants. We also walked the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very noisy Friday morning with a machine cleaning the square. Saturday morning was quiet. Staff on reception had very little English. Air conditioning was not cold enough in the room. We would have liked a later check out as we had a late flight but there was a reception on so not their fault. They should have a room where you can wash up & change your clothes. There is no lobby to sit in, had to sit in the cafe. I had to haul my suitcase to the public toilets to change which wasnt ideal with other guests coming in & out. There is no swimming pool, just a jacuzzi on the roof.

    Lovely room with 2 large windows overlooking the square and the cathedral. Breakfast had a good choice and staff were friendly. Very comfy bed. Good location. Nice touch with welcome bottle of bubbly & small box of chocolates. Bells from the cathedral on the hour but not at night. Room was too hot.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.2
    excellent experience and would visit again when next in almeria
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    help to get to front door to unload- ended up parking a couple hundred yards away as satnav doesn't get you to the front door. its a pedestrianised area. - no big deal though.

    great location- on the cathedral square- great balcony overlooking it with easy access to Jacuzzi /pool on the roof terrace. helpful staff in reception to suggest places to eat etc. good breakfast and excellently priced bar/tapas area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    A very relaxing and delightfuly pampered birthday treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There wasn´t anything that we didn´t like.

    First class hotel, service first class and food excellent, well cooked, well presented and imaginative. v. good (English) bkfast if needed. Terraces in or off Cathedral square lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.8
    A good hotel in a fantastic location. Just 5- 10 minutes walk from the Alcazabar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture not to my style with office type furniture in centre of room but I'm sure it would be very useful for some people. Couldn't get tele to work even though followed instructions. Would have been to have tea making facilities.

    Lovely large room and big comfy bed. Complimentary Cava and Chocolates was a wonderful surprise. Great roof terrace and use of jacuzzi.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel right in the centre of the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were directed to a public car park by the hotel which was not the closest. They have a special rate there but you pay 16 euros per night even if you take the car out for some time during the day. Better to pay 17.50 euros per night at the other car park which is closer and you only pay for the hours that you are actually there

    Very nice hotel right in the centre of the old town. Great English speaking staff. Beautiful building in lovely setting next to the cathedral. Nice big room with good bathroom facilities

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    Good hotel - perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is in a great central location, right next to the Cathedral. No need to book the 8 Euro breakfast, you can have coffee & tomato toastada for 2.5 euro on the hotel terrace - perfect. We paid for an upgraded room, it was a lovely big room but no view- would prefer a smaller room with view over cathedral square. Lovely roof terrace with small swimming pool & bar. 🍷🍷🍺🍺🍾 The best Tapas bars in Spain are within a few hundred metres, dozens of Tapas bars to visit with an amazing free tapas included in every drink.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.8
    Lovely week in Almeria.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Some small maintenance issues with the room should have been dealt with although they were not serious enough to raise with the staff.

    Bar area was lovely and the breakfasts were good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.2
    Good quality hotel in Almeria
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooftop pool is really only a plunge pool but I didn't feel the need to use that facility.

    Feels very smart with modern internal decor. Close to nice restaurants and authentic tapas bar. Be careful of the step down in the room although to be fair it is well indicated. Excellent staff. There is a car park nearby with huge spaces. Daily cost is €19 but hotel guests get it for €16.Worth it as my hire car picked up on street parking damage in Granada.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    7.1
    Good hotel for a over night stay whilst on a road trip...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You had to park in a local multi storey but the hotel did you a deal on price of it. In the evening there was a large party in for dinner and there was not enough staff to serve at the bar.

    Good hotel for a over night stay whilst on a road trip around Spain.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.2
    Nice city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing other than could have stayed longer

    Great location in cathedral square. Helpful friendly staff. With there only being 20 rooms hotel was quiet Even the cathedral clock did not start chiming until 8.45. Sat nav took us past a good carpark 200 meters from hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.3
    Great hotel will return on next visit to beautiful city of Almeria.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pool is small and could do with better furniture on the roof terrace. Needed spruce up for people to enjoy beautiful vistas with cooling drink .

    Friendly helpful staff. Excellent location for all amenities restaurants, shopping sight seeing. Lovely large room with comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    9.2
    Great location for exploring Almería
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Interior
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from our room was into an internal walled-in section of the hotel. The pictures of a beach scene affixed to the glass panelled sliding door somewhat made up for the lack of view.

    Great little atmospheric boutique hotel centrally located, perfect for exploring Almería. Right next to a square with a large church, complete with bells ringing the hours out (they don't ring them after 11 at night!).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    Highly recommend it!
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking cost 16Euro for less than 24hours, but the hotel room evened it all out.

    This hotel was awesome! Had the best view (room #24), with two french balconies looking towards old buildings and central square. Room also was very impressive, large and super nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was Book Fair in the Square so it was noisy on Saturday night but that's to be expected.

    Situation excellent. Staff from reception ,bar ,restaurant and chambermaids were all extremely welcoming and professional.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    10
    Stunning residence - feel like a bishop!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a non-slip mat for the shower/bath would be a good idea. It would also be nice to know the provinence of building itself - its' original purpose / use, when it was renovated. Maybe this information was there somewhere and we didn't see it - maybe it could be more prominent if so.

    Location and decor - beautiful. It may have been an eclesiastical building of some sort in its day - right beside the cathedral in the plaza - the bishop's residence maybe? Beautifully restored / modernised. Friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    6.7
    The last night spoilt it for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Interior
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was quite dark. Being a single traveller, we are given the worst rooms. The service was dreadful in the dining room on our last night. We booked a meal for 8:30 pm which arrived at 10:00pm. There was only one poor man taking orders and serving at the bar so he was run off his feet.

    Some of the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    7.9
    Super location in the old town with views across theCathedral Suare and to the Alcazaba fortress
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in the restaurant was disappointing. We were a photographic group numbering 13 all staying at the hotel. Staff were friendly although service was rather slow in cafeteria and restaurant.

    The location in the Plaza de Catedral. The comfort of the accommodation was very good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    7.1
    Eat elswhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service in the restaurant. It opened at 20.30 and we (a party of 11) sat down at 20.30. It was 21.05 before our order was taken, there was nobody else in the restaurant. One staff member to take the orders, run the bar, deliver the snacks and meals to the bar and the meals in the restaurant. Far too much work for one person. It was 21.45 when the first meals came to the table and the last member of our group was served at 22.40. Just the staff member on at night although the hotel knew that we were dining, three staff on for breakfast.

    Central location, good for the cathedral, just outside, and 1/2 mile to the castle. Town was very clean and very popular with tourists.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    6.3
    Return to Catedral Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scince our last visit a few things have changed you use to be able to get free bottoled water from the floor halways but they now charge 4 euros for a small bottle which their are two in your room fridge dso bring your own or by from shops down the road. Breakfast very spanish tons of sweet things breads and meats fine . Resteraunt does not do real evening menu so if you want to ear properly eat out. Apart from that its still a lovely lcation to stay in distance of some classic Tapas Bars.

    Nice comfy room not a massive hotel so not alot of people staying. We stayed in a junior sweet which had everything you would need with a lovely view of the dathedral staff polite and efficiant

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    9.6
    Hotel, a lovely house, was situated in a very beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Interior
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was at a distance and even depositing luggage at hotel entrance was quite problematic.

    Hotel, a lovely house, was situated in a very beautiful square.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    9.2
    Excellent small hotel in the heart of Almeria
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is not a disadvantage, but car parking is about 100m away in a protected garage.

    The location is oustanding in the heart of Almeria beside the cathedral. The style of the Hotel is great and the restaurnt is excellent too. Staff very friendly. We will come back ...

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    7.9
    Lovely Hotel & Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found the cathedral bells ringing at least every hour until midnight very noisy. Would have been fine if stopped at 11pm instead. Also we booked a 'romance special' superior room as it was our anniversary, but did not receive the advertised 'gift', which was disapointing.

    The location was excellent in a lovely square, near to tapas bars and shops. A great quality breakfast was served, with very good coffee.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    10
    Glorious position, great hotel, unexpectedly interesting city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some confusion due to our lack of Spanish and not much English in the hotel but they were very willing.

    Great position, friendly staff, fantastic room with terrace overlooking plaza. Plenty of space, really nice bathroom, great food in restaurant

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    7.5
    Rooms need rejuvenation. Average accommodation, cleverly disguised to look good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No parking, but you can park close by. The church bells ring from 8:00am until 12:00pm.

    Location is great. The church bells ring from 8:00am until 12:00pm.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    9.0
    Comfortable enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower flooded bathroom when I switched it on had to hold it in my hand to shower so very awkward also furniture too basic

    Bed extra comfy staff extremely friendly & professional

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    8.8
    Very comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor in our room was not clean when we arrived, but they sent someone to clean it as soon as we said it.

    The hotel is in an excellent location and a beautiful spot in Almeria. The room was super comfortable and had everything you might need. Shame we're not in spring or summer otherwise the jacuzzi on the rooftop would have been awesome!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    9.2
    Right in the centre...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom needed double glazing with festive activities outside! The breakfast was too help-yourself with no staff to help...maybe they were still recovering from their late night!

    Excellent location right next to the wonderful Cathedral and heart of this interesting and historic city.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    10
    Loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Without exception, friendly helpful staff. Comfortable, spotless room. Good, interesting food. Right on the Cathedral plaza, 15 mins from the Moorish alcazaba. A perfect rest!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    4.2
    Has Potential shame about the poor position of the Superior Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The nightclub next door. Poor double glazing. Terrible bed. Blocked Sink. Broken Lounger. Lack of response from Management. I could go on, but you'll thing I'm just moaning.

    The shower was amazing. Bottle of sparkling wine and chocolates on arrival.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    7.9
    Smart little hotel in perfect position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bar/Restaurant staff hugely uncommunicative during my stay.

    Smart little hotel in a perfect position almost touching the Cathedral. Spotlessly clean and comfortable large rooms. No.50 & 53 have direct access to a huge terrace overlooking the square with great views of the Alcazabar.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    9.2
    Honeymoon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was very clean and well kept. Breakfast had excellent choice from continental to full cooked breakfast of your choice. Excellent location and would highly recommend. Will definitely be revisiting.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    9.6
    A beautiful hotel in the prime location of Almeria.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room designed by a man!! No mirror at all in main room.No shelves or anywhere to put toiletries in bathroom,3coathangers each,no bedside table only minute shelf. Worst was no net curtain at all in bathroom so you had to have dark curtains closed all the time as room was seriously overlooked and neighbours could see everything!!!! Didnt get any "genius" complimentary drinks.

    Large room,excellent bathroom with bath and shower.Service in bar amazing,nothing too much trouble.Breakfast was excellent value with everything served good quality.Outlook towards the cathedral was stunning.Rooftop plunge pool and loungers were an added bonus.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    10
    Fantastic location and views, lovely rooms, great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only possible downside was our room's proximity to the cathedral bell tower - which times the quarters as well as the hours - but with the baclony door shut (and very effective aircon on) it really wasn't a problem. And when we had the door open we always knew the time!

    The hotel's location is fantastic - facing into cathedral square with a brilliant view, and at the heart of places of interest. We had a great room on the 5th floor, with direct access onto the roof terrace and the little pool/jaccuzi from which you can see the Alcazaba. Big comfortable bed, big bathroom with nice toiletries. Friendly helpful staff. Would love to go back!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    8.8
    Comfortable bed with the hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We stayed for only one night in Almeria, so didn't get to see very much of the town. The hotel was very central, next to the cathedral. Our room was soundproofed, spacious and very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    6.3
    Great location, hotel ok -prob best in area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff not very welcoming. Beds bit uncomfortable and had to ask for room to be cleaned again. Very noisy on first floor as wedding on first night we got there.

    Bar staff very helpful, happy and wine and tapas fab!. Cathedral is amazing so a must to pop your head in.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel, expensive ice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bucket of ice to chill a bottle of water cost 4€!!!

    Amazing huge bed Beautiful breakfast including some of the best bread I've tasted in Spain Hot options available at breakfast for no extra cost Amazing location, absolutely beautiful next to the cathedral and close to everything

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    10
    Underpriced for its value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect stay! This Hotel is underpriced for its value! Great interior, superfriendly staff, excellent breakfast. Location is right in the middle of City Center. WE will be back to beautiful Hotel Cathedral & Almería!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.6
    Short stay in Almeria
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound insulation! We stayed on a Friday night and were kept awake until 3 or 4 am with all the socialising outside in the square! Ask for a room at the back if there is one!

    Very pleasant, helpful staff - especially the waiters. Lovely location on the square.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    7.5
    A nice stay......
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasnt ready on arrival. Didnt offer us a drink while we waited. Had to go for a walk around for 20 minutes until it was ready. Cereal selection at breakfast poor. A choice of corn flakes or coco pops. Rooms would benefit from an extra pillow. Hairdryer not poweful enough to dry long thick hair. Complimentary water should have been provided in the room each day. Bar service on the front terrace exceptionally slow. In the end had to ho inside and order at the bar.

    Lovely location. Very easy hotel to find. Nice gesture of bottle of water and fruit first evening.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.3
    Great locations and elegant rooms next to the Cathedral.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool is small and closes at 7pm (very early on a hot Spanish day) the rooftop area needs a little TLC. More loungers and some colour perhaps.

    The rooms had lots of light and high ceilings. Onsite café and restaurant are good. Roof terrace has great views. @piccavey

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    10
    An excellant place to stay which i hope to return to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were very helpful and friendly. served excellent tapas. lovely treats in the room on arrival . lovely spacious rooms which made it very comfortable. I am Irish and rate friendliness very high.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    10
    Brilliant location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very poor. There was only two choices of cereal and very little of anything else, a few slices of ham , cheese and very limited fruit. Considering the standard of the hotel it was disappointing

    Loved the room, it was,spacious modern and had everything we needed. Located right beside the cathedral in a lovely square it was in an ideal location, easy access to all the attractions. We also were treated to some cava and chocolates and there were even bath robes. Very relaxing two days.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    6.7
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival directed to the car park a map would be helpful or better still valet parking after a long journey! no offer of help with bags. Room not as lush as depicted on web.

    Breakfast was good bed was comfortable good central location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    9.6
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No swimming pool just small jacuzzi. Would have liked a choice of hot breakfast.

    Helpful staff, complementary wine & strawberries, spacious junior suite.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    10
    Spacious rooms, with lovely kingsize double bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Spacious rooms, with lovely kingsize double bed. Aircon good and very quiet. Champagne and tapas booked for the double room on arrival also generously applied to the occupants of the twin.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.5
    Style of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise at night from local streets

    Style of the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.9
    Very central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small pool

    Very central location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Interior
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unhelpful abrupt receptionist

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel in fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in particular

    Great location comfortable room good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Totally brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dressing gowns would be good!

    This is such a superb hotel. Our room was magnificent and the staff, so polite and attentive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    9.2
    Would stay again but would not have breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Interior
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast rubbish . Bacon cold and under cooked.

    Location and quietness. Staff excellent rooms satisfactory. Breakfast rubbish !!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    Fabulous and luxurious hotel. The perfect location in Almeria!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel service was great... restaurant was very very nice and accommodating to our needs.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    8.3
    The location was brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was brilliant. Excellent value.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.8
    great location for short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Interior
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom smelled of damp

    location great and staff very helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: