Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Chiqui 3 stars

Avenida García Lago, 9, 39005 Santander, Spain

#14 of 32 hotels in Santander

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3306 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    9.6
    really comfortable and enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have like tea and coffee available in our room. You did have 24hr room service if you wanted that. However it's not the same.

    The beach location. The hotel staff. The food.The hotel was clean and modern.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    8.8
    The general atmospherei in the hotel is very professional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can;t think of anything for 68 euros for a double room. Note that you can turn shower head - you can move it about! Hotel is a bit outside town but frankly I loved that about it, as I went there to get away from things. Bus ride is very pleasant too if you dont want to walk. Thought the receptionist could have given me a bottle of water to take with me when I asked for one upon leaving, rather than direct me to the nearest shop!

    The general atmospherei in the hotel is very professional. You feel a bit like James Bond when you walk in with all the sliding doors and long sofas! Reception is very efficient and pro. I LOVED the balcony in my room overlooking the sea, and the cool lounge bar next door. Found the dinner menu translations into English hilarious and that was a highlight. "old cow" for dinner!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    10
    Overall excellent apart from my comments about directions from the ferry terminal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had downloaded the instructions of how to get to the hotel but it was really difficult to find as we don't have GPS. The hotel is only a short distance from the port/ferry terminal but it took us 2 hours to find driving around with difficulty looking for the names of the roads, roundabouts etc. The following morning when we were going to Biarritz it was so easy. I don't know if there is some way that you can simplify directions for some people of our generation - in our 70's - who are not so technically adroit as others.

    We had a very nice room overlooking the bay. It was spacious and excellent for our overnight stay. We thought that area of Santander was attractive. the staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful generally.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    10
    Lovely Chiqui
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace and Sea view
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    . Maybe it is us but wish the restaurant would open earlier by the time you get your meal 9pm is to late for us.

    The Staff , the rooms spotless, the views next to the beach, a great hotel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water not boiling in machine at breakfast...couldn’t make a decent cup of tea! Would have liked tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Cooked breakfasts weren’t hot either and didn’t attract us.

    Excellent views of the beach, comfortable beds, balcony seating. Friendly reception staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    7.5
    I WOULD USE THIS HOTEL AGAIN IF I SAILED FROM SANTANDER PORT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace and Sea view
    • Stayed 1 night

    THE POSITION OF THE HOTEL IS GREAT. IT'S RIGHT ON THE BEACH. THE HOTEL LOOKS TO HAVE BEEN RECENTLY RE-FURBISHED AND NOW HAS A NICE MODERN FEEL. ROOMS AND PUBLIC AREAS WERE CLEAN. THE BEDS ARE COMFORTABLE AND THE STAFF ARE PLEASANT AND HELPFUL

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    7.1
    Lovely Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is poor. The choice very limited compared to other hotels, the cooked items need replacing more often, I do not want to eat cold, congealed, broken eggs and the bacon is of poor quality and again cold! I don't bother with coffee as again it is of poor quality.

    Clean, comfortable bed and large balcony overlooking the beach.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    8.8
    A good hotel we would use again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dinner was a little spoiled by the waiters who were very much under stress on the Sunday evening we had dinner with them. This compared with the better welcome we had in this hotels restaurant the previous Saturday.

    The check in staff were very welcoming and helped us feel we were being given full attention.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    8.8
    Ideal one or two night stop over with wonderful beaches and coastal walks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could be improved with more fresh fruit. Very busy on Sunday morning and more staff could have helped.

    Location is excellent. Sea view room worth the extra. Private parking good. Quality of food in restaurant at dinner very good and value for money for a city hotel. Good service.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel - fabulous views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace and Sea view
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I did have a problem several times with my electronic key but there was always someone on hand to help, Call me old fashioned but I do prefer a key!

    The hotel and staff are excellent, very helpful. The location is superb and an easy journey from ferry and into the beautiful town.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.3
    Big comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is a bit chaotic Check in and check out process was very slow and the staff kept getting interrupted taking phone calls.

    Big comfy bed. Great breakfast. Helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.8
    Great Location - Shame About Aircon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite surprisingly there was no aircon so we opened the balcony door and wedged it with a suitcase.

    Location great, next to sea. Staff charming. Reasonable value for money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning came on intermittently throughout the night causing us disturbed sleep.

    Fabulous location. Amazing beach views. Generous sized room. Lovely luxurious overnight stop after 5 weeks of camping!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Great location, comfy rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace and Sea view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    We use the Chiqui most years as our first nights stay after arriving on the ferry from Portsmouth. It always meets our needs, a comfy room, great position and safe parking. The motorway south is also very easily accessible from the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.3
    Sure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just said......

    Sure. Lovely area. But.......... hotel dinner didn't start til 2030. And no room service!!!!!!!!!! Despite hotelinfo saying it was 24 hours"....... ...

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    6.7
    Give it a go but be careful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is a car park however it is with additional cost, and it is not good that you are not told before you park your car! there are loads of spaces around the hotel which were free...

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.6
    We would definitely stay again if we ever returned to Santander.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant food was indifferent although the service was good. The shower head was not detachable and only dispensed an adequate stream of water. The shower controls were good, including a good tap outlet for washings ones feet but not not so good for rinsing ones private parts.

    Location, location, location. Excellent expansive beach with small beach coves nearby. Rooms overlooks beach. Good front desk staff. Checked out 5.45 AM and taxi to airport arrived at exactly 6 AM as requested. The ride to the airport was a little expensive (38 euro) but the driver was safe, courteous, and spoke good English. For those who enjoy walking, DO NOT MISS the walking path behind the hotel leading to the lighthouse, it is the must and take your camera. The restaurant at the lighthouse is quite good for a tourist location and the service was very good. Anyone who likes Hawaii beaches a light blue ocean waters will enjoy the walk. Other eating place and a supermarket are 5-10 minutes walk away. A good location for those not driving an automobile.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    5.0
    Extra costs applied to the credit card
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel charged my credit card using a different currency and applying drastic exchange rate which increased the overall bill by more than 10%. The bill was in EUR but the hotel charged me in USD. When I raised the issue with a senior hotel representative, she expressed total indifference to solve the problem and did not even make an apology. I had the impression that such conversations happen on a regular basis. Good location turned into nightmare when I had to find a parking place during the day. Lack of air conditioning added to the overall dissatisfaction. For the same money I could book a 4 star hotel near the center of the beach.

    Restaurant has nice interior, see view and nonstandard dishes. Prices are moderate. Food is not delicious but worth a try. There is no need to stay in the hotel to visit the restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.0
    Nice position , but expensive .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    11 euros for breakfast , no air conditioning , and 22 euros to use the garage as there was no available parking spaces outside .

    The rooms were clean , and the position beside the shore was lovely .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    Enjoyed our stay, access from hotel to Santander easy on bus, also peseant walks from hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace and Sea view
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Parking is a problem in high season, hotel parking very expensive. Street parking is free but you might have to be patient looking for a space! We thought it was god value.

    Room was spacious without being large with plenty of storage space to unpack for a longer stay. Rooms were spotlessly clean and desk staff were very helpful. Location overlooking beach was perfect but make sure you ask for a terrace room We ate twice in the Panorama restaurant and were very pleased with the choices and quality of the food. Once again the service was very good and the staff helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    5.4
    The restaurant menu was varied and in most cases the food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel doesn't have air conditioning, which made it less than comfortable given the heat and humidity. The hotel does not have a pool. As such it is not an ideal property for a stay where you just want to relax.

    The restaurant menu was varied and in most cases the food was very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.3
    Great one night stay with restaurants and supermarket close by. Hotel restaurant was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficulty parking as it was a hot day and the beach was crowded.

    Room had an excellent view over the beach and bay. Lovely coastal walk from hotel. Staff extremely helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable 5 day stay in a wonderful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air conditioning in our room. This is apparently only available in the larger rooms or suites

    Very comfortable beds and hotel has a beautiful location next to Sardinero beach

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    6.3
    We defintely wouldn't stay at this hotel in the summer again. The beach was overflowing with people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We could hardly sleep because of the heat - there is no A/C and keeping the balcony door open in that heat didn't cool us down. We found the staff in the restaurant/bar very detached and unfriendly. On the day we left, we wanted a small sandwich at 12:00 before we drove off, but the head waiter told us rudely that the kitchen was closed until 13:00 and there was nothing at all to eat.

    There are absolutely no free parking spaces in or around the hotel during the summer. apart from an expensive garage. However, the Hotel did offer someone to park the car for us, even if he drove around 13 times until a space became available.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.9
    Chiqui chiqui
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon, however we were lucky as it was cool and raining. No tea coffee facilities in room, no iron

    Beautiful location right on the beach , 10 minute walk to restaurants and bars, comfortable sleep , great view however would choose sea view room as you get a balcony

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.1
    Don't expect a free car park!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We booked this hotel because of the parking. However, there was very little parking on site; you had to use the free parking on the street which at times was hard to find. Also, the police moved our car overnight because they feared a high tide - they nor the hotel informed us! We actually thought our car had been stolen on the day we checked out!

    Restaurant was very good. Bedrooms clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    Great views, wonderful beach, lots of fish to see!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restricted view from 1st floor room. Ask for 2nd floor or higher. Get a balcony room if affordable. Parking an issue at times but reception staff are a great help with this.

    Excellent location. 2 beaches right by hotel with warm clean seawater and great snorkelling, also surf. Very helpful staff. Good breakfast, cafe and restaurant. Views and lovely walks.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.1
    Member of staff who greeted us when we arrived - lovely view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very hot 30+ degrees and no air con in the room . We paid for our meal separately and when we checked out the staff didn’t believe us until we proved it by showing the credit card slip. They offered no apology for the mistake

    Member of staff who greeted us when we arrived - lovely view from the room and comfortable bed Food in the restaurant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    Everything was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bottle of wine was supposed to be taken off of the Credit Card like we had previously discussed before the check in. It was supposed to be like this, because it was a surprise for my mom. They sadly charged us for the wine afterwards at check out with our mother present. This could have been handled a lot better.

    Staff was really great. The young guy who helped us at the reception at check in on the 24th of july, was really amazing. Extra thanks for him! The bottle of wine we ordered was ready on the room, they helped with directions and gave us great tips for the neighborhood. Restaurant manager was amazing. El personal fue más que excelente. Gracias adicionales por el chico en la recepcion y el manajer del restaurante.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice, fairly simple, beach hotel, a taxi ride away from bars and restaurants in the centre of town
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room overlooked a parking area, so needed to keep balcony door shut and there is no airconditioning - so check location of your room carefully. Breakfast buffet was rudimentary and unexciting (and there are no alternative cafes nearby)

    Nice location, beautiful flat beach right across from the hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    6.7
    Will not go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the Hotel was full of smokers who often smoked and threw their fag ends over the balcony onto the flat roof outside our room. No Aircon so we left early

    The location is excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.6
    Peaceful work by the sea
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I had a lot of work to do in Santander, and a lot of studying, and the balcony in my room enabled me to retain that holiday feel, whilst working hard from early morning till late at night. Also, it was so close to the beach that, during my breaks, I could go for walks to the lighthouse or dip my feet in water. Amazing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.2
    Loved being so close to the beach and having a sea view.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought the restaurant and bar service was lacking. Not coming up to patrons and being proactive and asking about orders for drinks and meals. Pleasant enough when able to engage them. Quality of food and drinks was very good.

    Loved being so close to the beach and having a sea view. We had 3 single beds- one was a temporary bed but still very comfortable. Very modern room and lovely bathroom. Supplied beach towels with a returnable deposit. Front desk extremely helpful and helped us find a car park.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    Very good modern hotel - would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very limited hotel parking. Most guests will have to compete for spaces on the street.

    Magnificent location overlooking Santander bay. We had a room with balcony which is a must! Spacious lounge and indoor/outdoor bar and restaurant with wonderful food. Taxis ordered from hotel reception were quick, efficient and cheap (6 euros to centre of town),

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.8
    Lovely clean and modern hotel with great staff just outside a stunning city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Terrace and Sea view
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The evening meal times.

    The hotel itself and the rooms were very nice with stunning views, evening meals didn't start until 8.30 which for us was a little late, we did however have dinner one night and it was worth the wait. All staff were lovely, the reception staff were very informative and helpful. The hotel although is right on the beach is a little away from things but has a bus stop with plenty busses going into the city for 1.15. The actual city is just stunning with a beautiful building to admire round every corner. the shopping was also amazing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.5
    Short one night stay but very memorable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms should have air conditioning

    When we arrived there was limited car parking, there was also a wedding, the lady on reception went out of her way to facilitate our parking, absolutely brilliant she is a real credit to this hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.3
    Bad experience sleepwise.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible room. Looks nice but no Ac, light bulb on the terrace not possibl to turn off. Very irritating, cause had to leave door open for ventilations. Lots of noise from restaurant.

    Nice location, nice reception

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.5
    Good choice for off season.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace and Sea view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is an opaque pricing system for this hotel. We paid extra on an already high price for a 'room with sea view' only to find that although we had this, we did not have air conditioning as it was not a 'superior room'. Most other rooms did. The hotel admitted that none of this was explained online and that they were sorry it was not clear. Parking outside is chaotic and the price for parking in the hotel garage is 22 euros a day. There is little local atmosphere at the Hotel Chiqui.

    This is a lovely location at the end of the strip and with direct access to the sea. Snorkelling along the rocks at the edge of the bay is interesting. The breakfast was good, if overpriced. View from the balconies is excellent. Staff helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.7
    Location is top, rooms are clean, breakfast is ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace and Sea view
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking very expensive no airco in room. If you take half board be aware that the meals can be very good or ... very bad. It's not buffet but you have to choose out of 3 dishes. Some dishes stay on the menu for some days and some of these dishes are not very good.

    Location is top, rooms are clean, breakfast is ok.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.3
    Basic summer weekender at best
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon in the room nor the hall way for a summer day. Guests smoke at balcony and forced us to close door without any other ventilation. No self control of balcony light for sleeping but it seems to switch off at 1am (by the hotel).

    View to the beach is great. We drove so chose the beach location away from the city center.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.0
    A perfect 3 night stay before catching ferry home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fine.

    The beach which our balcony overlooked was outstanding and minutes away. The room was well furnished with very good bathroom. Handy for buses into the city. On street parking next to the hotel was free. Amazing walks from the hotel. Perfect location with or without car.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Superior venue in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This may sound trivial, but it was annoying that the bathroom door was either completely shut or wide open. And if you forgot to shut it when you went to the loo, it would swing back and bang your knees! Annoying!

    Room with a view! We had a balcony with a view over the beaches - superb! The room was a decent size, the beds very comfortable. We had lunch in the restaurant, and enjoyed that too. Good selection in the breakfast buffet. An easy walk to the nearby beach.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.9
    Would like to return and take in more of the area... We were always in too much of a hurry!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was lovely, staff very friendly. Made two visits, one going on to Portugal and second going back to uk, but both visits were enjoyable. Great terrace bar if you want to just sit and enjoy the ambiance.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    Would stay again for sure
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In my room, there were two twin beds and it was not possible to unite them. It would be also good to have hotel slippers in the room. The duvets and the blankets were not very comfortable. Good breakfast, but some different dishes might be added. Water boiler and tea/coffee can be put to the rooms.

    Very kind reception staff. Very good location and all rooms have sea view. The rooms are cleaned in depth every day. The restaurant serves good food and the prices are fine. Room size is more than enough. In general, really recommended.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Location was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace and Sea view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was excellent! Right at end of the street with view point. Beach right across the street. Great restaurants within walking distance. Beautiful view from our balcony! Staff was great and friendly! It exceeded our expectations! Highly recommended!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Great location right on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location right on the beach. Bus stop 5min walk for bus to Santander, 7min. Friendly staff. Great food in restaurant at good prices. Get room with balcony. Will be back

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Was upgraded to suite which was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was upgraded to suite which was lovely. Quiet at night. Parking for motorbikes. Lovely staff. Beach towels. Great breakfast and restaurant. 2nd time staying will stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing apart from location and ambience of position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace and Sea view
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air con in room. Very basic décor in room considering price. Small bathroom. No mirror near plug point in bedroom. No tea/coffee making facilities. Not all staff on reception helpful and friendly.

    Location, bar and restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Great location overlooking the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shortage of parking

    We were upgraded to a room with two balconies overlooking the beach. Only disappointed that we were only staying one night, so were unable to fully take advantage of this

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Terrace and Sea view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower/bath installation was not the most comfortable. The restaurant was very nice but the staff there were a bit inattentive.

    Ideal location with view over the Sardinero beach. Even if it is a bit far from the centre of town it is easily accessible with bus or you can take a long but pleasant walk along the beach. Pleasant and relaxing, comfortable beds and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location, warm and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only minor fault would be that my elderly father couldnt shower as it was in the bath. I'm sure if I had requested a room for him earlier they would have obliged

    This hotel was just so lovely, lovely location and the staff were very friendly and spoke english, very helpful. I would definitely book this hotel again . Food in the restaurant was good too

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyed our stay very much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    The staff are aware of dietary needs such as coeliac ( son gluten). I would like to see the chef offering customers boiled potatoes as a substitute for French fries as I was offered nothing, not even extra vegetables!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    we loved the terrace in our room which overlooked the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace and Sea view
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we loved the terrace in our room which overlooked the beach. At night the hotel was really quiet which made for a great sleep. Lunch in the restaurant was delicious. we'd certainly recommend this hotel. Great bus service into the city meant we had the best of both worlds.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location, ocean view with sound of the sea,...
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Terrace and Sea view
    • Stayed 1 night

    Equipment of the rooms is quite basic - no water boiler, no tea/coffee, no drinking water, just one plastic chair, rooms are rather badly soundproofed - had a bit louder talking neighbours and could understand every word till after midnight, bathroom was a bit bonkers

    Excellent location, ocean view with sound of the sea, friendly and helpful staff, good mattresses, nice breakfast, fair prices

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    can't beat the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    outside lights didn't go off. so light pollution into room

    beautiful location with sea right in front of hotel. nice food and bar balcony with sea view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent, I would definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would have been nice to have tea and coffee facilities in the room but easy enough to get one from café/bar downstairs whilst taking in the amazing sea views.

    Fabulous location, right on the beach could see for miles along the coast. Really comfy beds and very helpful staff. Spotless clean rooms. The restaurant had delicious food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Hightly recommended and would definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would have been nice to have tea and coffee provided in the room but there was a fantastic restaurant downstairs and great breakfast buffet provided.

    Absolutely fabulous location right on the beach with amazing views. Super helpful staff, the lady on reception really went out of her way to help us. The bed was really comfy too. Absolutely loved this place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    I loved the view of the beach from my hotel room balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can not think of anything I did not like.

    We loved this hotel! Very clean room, great staff, awesome buffet breakfasts and very reasonable rates! Will return when I am in Santander again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    6.3
    Hotel situated and it was close to most of the things love...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there is no in room coffee need to go down to get it , and they did sweep the flood , only made the bedding and clean the bathroom .

    Hotel situated and it was close to most of the things love it. It is clean and quite friendly staff .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Super location with great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only problem in this hotel is the bar manager, Carlos. He is extremely rude to the guests and acts like they are an inconvenience to him. He also treats his staff badly - they appear to be afraid of him

    Super location with great staff. Our room had a fantastic sea view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyed location and food
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Terrace and Sea view
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The very thin walls and ceilings. Their refurbishment a year ago should have included some soundproofing not a difficult task with materials that are now available. The “coughing” coming from both sides of my room was unbelievable I had to laugh!!

    Location for those who like to have sea views. Their restaurant The Panorama was superb with good food and excellent service, plus the breakfasts provided me with everything I like.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Great beach location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and comfortable. Overlooking Sardinero beach. Reasonably priced. Good transport links. It's an hour's walk along the front to the town centre, train station and ferry port. €10 in a taxi. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Great value hotel in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lights on balcony come on automatically in evening and stay on till about 1am. Means could not see the lovely moonrise from our bed as well as we might have liked - but it was still good.

    Good value at hotel for the room we had with veranda on the front of hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite far away from city center Windows could only bei opend unlocked (Not comfortable for first Floor)

    Great place to stay: Friendly & helpful staff Good restaurant Close to beaches & cliffs Easy parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    Localised on Sardinero beach, at the end of a quiet street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Localised on Sardinero beach, at the end of a quiet street. Rooms with sea view. Cleaned daily. Buses to the city centre within 5 minute walk. Car park outside. Good breakfast choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel,been our favourite for twelve years .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking almost impossible to park near hotel,especially during weekends/holidays.

    Location .esspecially for beach,and seafront.also for ferry port.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would’ve liked a double bed instead of twin but no problem. The coffee in the machine at breakfast, not great.

    The staff were extremely friendly. The room very comfortable, we didn’t want to leave it. The breakfast excellent with great variety

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    7.9
    A number of niggles.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise from other guests at about 7am. Seems to be less parking available. Also restaurant and bar have been modernised. Is very popular with the Spaniards. For English people the food choice is not very good. We always liked staying here over the last 7 years, but will go elsewhere in Santander in future.

    Comfortable room. View from the balcony.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    We enjoyed our stay and hope to returned soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had a balcony with a fabulous view across the bay. There is a cliff walk at the back of the hotel about a one hour round trip, worth doing. The area is very quiet so no noise at night. We enjoyed our three night stay, good value accommodation.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.8
    the setting is spectacular and the hotel is very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better. The bread was stale and what was available was uninteresting.

    The staff were lovely. The rooms are comfortable with stunning views and the evening meal that we ate was delicious

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    Beach heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is right on the beach, close to excellent restaurants and we took.a wonderful walk to the palace and castle. Don't miss the seals along the way. Sunrise was the most spectacular I have ever seen. Helpful happy staff made our stay in Santander a pleasure.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    Really excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    A quite exceptionally nice and good value hotel. Reception helpful. Room a good size, very comfortable huge bed, good bathroom, usable balcony. Evening meal ( on half board deal) really good and included wine, excellent service. Location excellent. All most impressive. Really recommend, especially if arriving late on ferry.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    10
    Would always recommend, staff, location and facilities are excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the new lounge/dining area we felt that the staff were in need of some in house training in speed of service and health and hygiene activities, service at times was slow with hot drinks sitting and as such cool or cold when brought to your table and tables in need of clearing and wiping. We felt that the evening menu was not reflective of the facilities,the chef or management were setting their sights too high in the menu presented, for the time of year (winter) it would have been nice to see a selection of soups included in the starters to go with their excellent bread.

    The facilities at the hotel and the staff were excellent as always, the refurbishment to the lounge, reception and the breakfast area were an added bonus to the hotels already superb status, breakfast staff superb, attentive and professional. Will always choose this hotel when in Santander because we are always make welcome and we know the high standards of service.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    8.3
    Location, friendliest & value with secure parking for an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked because we’d had such a good time before but this time didn’t quite live up to the standards. We booked dinner, bed & breakfast, good price, but the food wasn’t very good, although the restaurant has a nice atmosphere.

    Location, friendliest & value with secure parking for an additional cost.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.8
    Very nice, comfortable hotel but let down by an extremely rude attitude of one member of staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Assumed the radiator would automatically turn off as there was no way of doing it in the room but Very little sleep because maximum heat coming from the radiator less than a metre from my face. Engineer called in the morning to discover the regulator had been REMOVED. Complained at reception but met with a “what do you expect me to do about it attitude “.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: